Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Not Ready To Give Up Yet, Either

Good morning, GHers.

My house is so quiet and solitary now that I actually had some time to myself, so I pulled out the laptop and decided to post about today’s GH (Yesterday’s by the time you guys read it).

What a great episode! No fake masked people, or onslaughts of newbies…just good ol’ fashioned beloved GH characters all on the same page over the devastating loss of Edward Quartermaine. As it should be. Even Trey and Starr were on today because of Edward, albeit indirectly. I just love it when my GH feels, looks and sounds familiar.

For the record, Ron Carlivati’s name is always listed as the headwriter, but the credit for each episode goes to the script writer whose name is listed with editor, Elizabeth Korte’s. Today’s script writer, therefore, was Scott Sickles, and considering he is new to the GH writing team, added after the clean sweep of longtime GH personnel, the episode struck a chord with me.

I thought everything about the episode seemed “right”. From the drama and turmoil at the Quartermaine Mansion, to the heartbreak Sam’s sisters are feeling over Sam’s situation, I watched and understood every scene because it made sense. And that is something that needs to be a little more consistent on GH. There are days that I watch and think, “Who are these people?” because the characters that I both love and love to hate are acting completely “off”. If only the feel of today’s show was one that became the norm, I would feel a whole lot more connected to my beloved soap.

Yet, though that consistency is lacking, Monday’s touching episode pointed out one thing for me. Like Sam, I am not ready to give up yet, either. Not on Jason coming home, not on my soap coming out of this alive and kicking, and not on GH in general.

How could I not feel that way after seeing that Quartermaine house filled with…genuine Quartermaines! Not long-lost relations that we feel no connection to, or ghosts of the people we loved, but real, in-the-flesh Quartermaines! Fighting and back-biting and arguing as though they never stopped! I really had forgotten how much I missed Ned, and even Skye doesn’t bug me as much when she’s part of the hullabaloo. And as much as I have detested A.J. ever since he slammed Jason into the tree, it’s nice to have some life back in that mansion again after all these years! I will take Quartermaines over Mannings on any calendar day of the year!

Having Edward’s will read was a classic moment, as we would expect nothing less from Tracy. I loved the bickering back and forth, and Tracy’s true-to-form bitchiness, even in the sacredness of the moment. I did like that Diane, a bitch in her own right, was the attorney to deliver the blow, because she was not going to cower to Tracy…or anyone for that matter. I thought that gave it a little extra. What I am confused about, and what is niggling around in my brain, is what change Heather could possibly have made to Edward’s will, or what it was that “she knew that the Quartermaines didn’t.” I don’t like loose ends. I don’t like inconsistencies, and I guess that is my main bone of contention with GH right now. I need that settled, and sooner, rather than later, please.

I have never been a Lulu fan, but I thought her talking to Sam about wanting to have a baby was something that would happen, and I enjoyed that. I also liked that her scenes with Maxie, mostly because I love that Maxie is the one trying to deal with heartache instead of Spinelli. While I a may not be crazy about the idea, I also thought it was very clever how they walked Maxie right into that corner where she felt her idea of becoming Lulu’s surrogate was a great idea. Personally, I would rather see Maxie getting back to work somewhere – anywhere, but I am just happy to have her back, so I guess I’ll take it. 🙂

I must say I also really, really loved the whole Davis Girls scenes…I hated that Sam and her family left things the way they did. I loved that her sisters made the move and asked Sam to come over for dinner, and I loved that they focused on their nephew, because any aunt would be willing to jump through hoops, even the one they think is denial, in order to be able to enjoy their nephew or niece. Trust me. I speak from experience.

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that the writers are using all of Molly’s romantic tendencies to give her something constructive and smart to do! Having her write a novel was BRILLIANT! I wrote a novel when I was Molly’s age, and like Molly, I did it just for the satisfaction, but chickened out of submitting it anywhere out of fear, so I thought that would resonate with a lot of girls like Molly…and me. It made total sense that she would be afraid of rejection, because unless you have a friend like Starr, who has a dad in the publishing business, it just seems like a huge, lofty dream to have a novel published. Way to go on that, writers! I will take Molly churning out romance novels over hooking up before she’s ready every single time! Molly is jut too smart to make the same old mistakes; especially when the Molly I know and love would have learned from the mistakes of the women in her life.

Finally, Sam’s scenes just touched my heart and made me sad; but in a productive kind of way. Sad, because Sam and Danny are trying to go on with their lives, and Sam is trying desperately to be stable and calm and even happy for their son, but all of that is happening without the benefit of Jason’s presence and love in their loves. *sigh* Just like the rest of us are trying without his presence onscreen. It can’t be anything but sad when we think about how much Jason and Sam love each other, or how much they went through on their way to having everything they wanted, before it was all stolen from them before they could even enjoy it all together. It’s just sad.

I also said it was productive because it reminded me that this is the season of “Believing”. It’s the season on miracles and magic. It made me want to remind you all to take a page from Sam’s book, and in the face of even the best of friends, like Spinelli, refuse to stop believing that Jason is out there and coming back to the loves of his life! Sam’s resolve gave me strength to square my shoulders, tip my chin up, and declare that “I Am Not Ready To Give Up Yet, Either!”

What about you?

Do you still believe that in the end, “Love will win out and that it always does?”

I sure hope so…that is The Beauty of GH.

Angelique

A Heather GEM to inspire your Belief: “I Believe In You & Me” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCJ71VznMvw Credit: aproditebeauty

3 responses

  1. Yes,Angie! Love did win out! Daniel is Jason Morgans son! Either Franco never raped her or she was already pregnant when he did! I love that Sam is not ready to give up on Jason! But I feel the time will come when the writers will have her move on! My own brother lost his wife of 46 years and while he loved her very much and still does,he has moved on. It’s only right. Sam will come to accept that Jason is dead and move on! In true soap form,that’s when Jason will return! Just hope she doesn’t move on with John McBain!! I think AJ might try to get close to get control of her and Danny’s ELQ shares! Hope not! But if he does,he’ll be just like Edward! He wasn’t always the kindly old man we loved. He was a ruthless business man!

    November 27, 2012 at 8:28 am

  2. Lara

    I watched yesterday’s episode and I found myself really enjoying it, but, I couldn’t quite place my finger on why. Your post today made me realize what it was. Your 100% right that yesterday’s episode was the GH that we all know and have missed these past months. The wonderful thing was that it wasn’t filled with cheap tricks or strange Passion esque drama (Duke’s plastic face, anyone?) It was just a wonderfully written episode that showcased the characters the way that we honestly know them. I thought each individual scene was done so well. From Spinelli confiding in Sam (because we know she’s really his mom 😉 to the will reading and even Starr and Molly’s scene (I’m not a huge Starr fan). Kudos to the new writer. He may perhaps be he only good thing to come of all the staff reshuffling.
    Who else loved that Sam is going to have to handle the controlling share in ELQ? I thought that was so funny. Her and Danny are set for life 😉 I do think that A.J is going to try to get close to her and finagle her control away form her. I just can’t get behind that he’s a completely changed man. I think his current personality is just a cover.

    November 27, 2012 at 9:09 am

  3. alwaysaromantic

    You are so on point “Not Ready to Give Up,Yet!!”
    I was glad that Sam said that to her son!She is still holding on! I also know there will come the time for her to move on! Whoever they choose for her and Danny it will NEVER EVER measure anywhere Close to the Love that Jason and Sam share! And if SB does decide to come back Sam will probably be with some one else! And guess who will be waiting with open arms…………!
    Thanks for the midweek Blog,Angelique! How are things going as far as the clean up and everything else? Any progress?

    November 27, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Leave a Reply

