Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Did Someone Say, “Blockbuster?”

Good morning, GHers.

I seem to have caught a stomach bug, and have been out of the loop since Wednesday morning, as any time I get up, I get incredibly nauseous. At first, I thought it was a reaction to what is going on in our favorite fictional town of Port Charles, but it appears I caught it from my dear nephew, who picked it up at camp and then shared it with me. 🙂

Anyhoo, I have caught up on the episodes I missed, and I have to ask, “Did Someone Say ‘Blockbuster?'”  in reference to anything GH, because if this silly mystery injection s/l is the kickoff to the “Blockbuster September”… someone better look up the word “blockbuster”, and refresh themselves with its meaning. Besides, if September is a blockbuster month, then what is this month?

I don’t know…Jerry and a mysterious briefcase? Been there. Done that.

Strange fevers no one can explain? So000 2006.

Sonny’s thug retro-enemy from the ‘hood having a senseless connection to an international maniacal terrorist like Jerry Jacks? Well, that’s just stupid. And senseless. 

If only we could fall back on the one other Daytime TV staple: Romance, but that seems to be out the window, too.

  • Sonny and Kate got engaged, but I seem to have lost any interest, as their story took a backseat to Todd Manning being on every single day to say the same things over and over again for so long, that I cannot even remember why I ever liked them in the first place.
  • Michael finally finds a girl to move on with after losing his first real love, and she has more baggage than Abby, the stripper ,with the abusive ex. *sigh*
  • Carly and Johnny’s “romance” is all about sex and sex toys, and yet – they are the only ones getting any thing resembling romance. How am I supposed to buy into a couple that don’t even have the good sense to carry on like they did under the same roof with Joss? Yuck!
  • And the worst of it all is that the writers decided to play russian roulette with their most popular and enduring couple, Jason and Sam,so that they can try to push a pairing between actors who worked together almost nine years ago and once had a fan base. So, instead of seeing Jason and Sam do what they do so well – which is work together to help those they love in times of crisis, we have to watch them trying to fight the love they feel for each other around while John tries to play hero, and while Liz just lurks and stands around, with barely even a word to freakin’ say.

That last part is probably the most tragic to me, because it wouldn’t be the first time that happens on a soap – that writers try to “capture” the magic of a couple who was once a supercouple on another. Sadly, it also won’t be the last time it fails. Think about Stefan and Catherine, who famously flopped on GH, but had once sizzled on Days  as the beloved Patch and Kayla. The same thing happened with Harley and Gus who were irresistible on GL, but went nowhere fast, even after much hype, on AMC. The same could be said for failed retries for once successful couples such as AMC’s Jesse and Angie now on Y&R, Days’ Belle and Shawn who ended up together on GH as Matt and Maxie. The list goes on and on.

What boggles my mind the most about this is how the writers don’t get that we, as viewers, don’t fall in love with actors, per se. We fall in love with characters. So, though I may have liked Caleb and Livvie on Port Charles, seeing Michael Easton on GH doesn’t do the same for me, because there is no Livvie on our PC.

Viewers become part of passionate fan bases because of the characters’ stories – LOVE STORIES to be precise. Having two actors who were once a couple on another show usually ends up meaning nothing, because the Love Story they once shared is gone. Why doesn’t anyone get this?

It breaks my heart that Jason and Sam have had to go through so much, including going their separate ways (for less than 24 hours), just so that these writers can flirt with the chemistry Kelly and Michael had. While they are doing that, people are tuning out of GH, perhaps never to return. Can GH really afford that risk if it wants to stay on the ai? Absolutely not. It is just senseless.

I am hoping that everyone is continuing to call and write in to make their voices heard. Perhaps RC isn’t listening, but someone is.

Hang in there, GHers! Everything worth having is worth fighting for. Never forget that!

Much love,

Angelique

10 responses

  1. kathydid53

    OH how true Angie!! Michael and Kelly have a little chemistry but that is because they worked together before!! As you said this is GH!!! The only way I could tolerate their pairing is if Steve Burton was gone which he is not —yet!! The way Sam and Jason looked at each other over Alexis stretcher showed how much they still love each other! Liz was there but once he saw Sam,he only had eyes for her!!! They came together last time because of Jerry,maybe it will work again!! Hope so!! Have a great day!!!!!

    August 17, 2012 at 5:43 am

  2. Hope you are feeling better….GH is so lost right now,I just don’t see it as our soap that have our character’s that we know and love…this writer wants to change our show and that is what his doing…soon we will not see scenes with Jason and Sam,cause when they are in the same room you just want to know why aren’t they together,their chemistry is so strong they don’t have to say anything to each other you know they have something.

    August 17, 2012 at 6:23 am

  3. Carol Byrd

    Good Morning Angie and hope you are feeling better with that bug!
    I have to admit I have taken GH off my DVR. I still watch on SN at 9pm but mostly I just do not. I can not watch Jason running after Liz again. I totally dislike Liz and just can not watch her smirky face anymore. I have no problem with Jason and Liz being friends, but lovers, NO!
    been there done that and I don’t feel that Sam and McBain have any great chemistry after her love and life with Jason. Sam is Jason’s wife and all this OCC writing of the character just makes me sick, I wish RC had never come to GH and I am not feeling him or his stupid writing. This is his Agenda and he does not care what anyone thinks. He took Sam’s baby off the canvas for months now so that shows he does not want Jason and Sam to have anything to do with each other. Are we supposed to want to watch McBain and Sam start to fall in love after experiencing the greatest love ever with Jason and Sam? Are we supposed to forget this couple is married and have a child out there while we watch Jason and Liz have “eye sex”. I’m done watching loyally until Sam has her baby back or Jason and sam are back together.

    August 17, 2012 at 7:14 am

  4. I glad you feel better, please answer this for me someone. Why does Sam still have her ring on? The look Jason gave her was priceless and she was caught guard to, with stare like my love I want to run to him. But no were over yet I must explain why I’m here. I’m sorry Liz look like this will take back a second it doesn’t matter what he just told me about them beginning over. Yeah Liz always with the question Jason of are you sure that’s what Sam wants. I would for her ask Jason is he sure that he want. Those asks with expectation that with. Don’t give me that spill about he doesn’t want to hurt Sam anymore that he rather let go and be happy than keep hurting her. Jason and Sam breaking seemed so final. It was as if one of them had passed away with the flash backs. So Angie please explain to me from your point of view what those silly scene meant.

    August 17, 2012 at 10:14 am

  5. jerron

    Fee; better soon!

    I guess as a fan of a well written show I find GH lacking right now. Sadly, hopelessly, lacking. I knew, doesn’t mean I like it, but I knew the new writers were going to “test” Jasam. Fine. Wasn’t needed but whatever. But what this “test” is coming off as, is a akin to trying to jam a square peg into a round hole. They are not doing John and LIz any favors with this story line. Jason either but that’s another post. Liz is yet again coming off as if she has this unhealthy OBSESSION with Jason. (LIke the one Carly has) and it’s so hard to feel anything but disgust for the character. And while they tried to make Jason look so bad with neglect of Sam, they fail to realize that John looks just as bad in his treatment of Natalie! So how could any neutral fan justifiably want Sam with the same kind of man?

    Off topic but the way women are being written on this show which is geared towards women is vexing! I mean is it intentional? Or as Jason would say “you mean they write this way on purpose?”

    August 17, 2012 at 11:55 am

    • I don’t see how LiarSON fans can be happy,Liz once again is the second choice cause he cannot be with the woman he wants, she is the loser, that keeps making bad choices when it comes to men,she needs help,why do we have to keep doing this crap…

      August 17, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  6. Sonia

    Thanks Angelique.. LiarSon fans will take anything just like Liz.. the worst part too every pairing they tried with this actress they fired the men, but she still on GH dont they see who the problem is.. I send off couple letters to RC/FV AND ABC EXEC Victoria her email address ‘victoria.j.dummer@abc.com’

    August 17, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    • beatrice

      I don’t see why many like her she is boring she brings down any male character she acts with, she is a back burner character…why don’t they focus on finding a relationship for her that does not involve someone else’s man…i am just tried of the same crap with LiarSon and JaSam, again i know soap characters can’t last forever that is fine, break them up for something that make sense, make me agree with the break up, not something out of nowhere that has me saying “what” as i see it OUR Jason and Sam did not break up, cause OUR JaSam has not been on since Jason woke up from his surgery.

      August 18, 2012 at 9:41 am

  7. lm cee

    OK so I finally got up enough courage and watched Monday’s episode, I watched it 3 hours ago and I just now stopped crying. I have moved from the heart broken stage to the pissed off stage. How can RC break them up? The flash backs of Jasam greatest moments should of opened his eyes.Those clips show how amazing Jasam are. They couldn’t even come up with those kind of moments for Jiz if they had too. This should make him correct his stupid mistake. I have emailed Vicotoria, I have left a voice message and I have emailed ABC. I am fired up. I am not giving up on JASAM. I will not let JASAM go down without a fight. Jasam are soul mates, they belong together. I just wish RC would realize that and put them back together where they and baby JJ belong.

    Please everyone keep fighting for them. They need us just like we need them. One single person can’t do it alone. Call and email. Let’s show them how many JASAM fans there really are.

    Have a blessed Saturday

    August 18, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • beatrice

      i still don’t have the courage to watch, that eppy yet, i am still 2 weeks behind, if i watch it i think it will be my last time watching GH, i have wactched “the break up in pieces” and it just does not make sense, just want to slap some sense into this writer’s head…what i think his doing is actually getting both sides to watch GH, he left us with the baby thing unsolved, but we know it has to get fixed, but he has given LiarSon hope by bringing them together, so now he has LiarSon watching and JaSam waiting cause we watch in between to see what is happening, little does he know we can stop watching but still fight for our couple, i wish there was a way, the higher ups could see what he has done to the show, or half of the fans of the show.

      August 18, 2012 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

