Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”…

Good morning, GHers!

Only LOVE could make me watch GH in its entirety on YT! And it wasn’t even LOVE for the show, because I don’t have that anymore…it was LOVE for you guys.

The second I saw Todd in that Friday the 13th mask, I was reminded of why I had told myself last Friday that I needed to find something else to do at 3 pm this week. Ugh…

So many people in Port Charles have been “dumbed down”, that I just don’t understand how anything gets accomplished, or how anyone is successful! Certainly, I could say to just about everyone there, you’re “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”…

  • Kristina is every parent’s nightmare. Sure, all kids her age make stupid mistakes and make parents worry for a while about whether or not they are going to throw their lives away, but Kristina has made this her career choice, now that she’s no longer interested in fashion. *rolling my eyes* It’s as if she only knows how to make stupid choices, and pick the worst possible guys. She is ungrateful to her parents, and selfish to boot! Sonny was so right, except for the fact that he thinks it’s “right now” when he told her you’re “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”… This is not some new stage Kristina is going through. This is her M.O.
  • I feel as though Lulu has reverted right back to her very own post-high-school days. Her maturity level is at about the same as Kristina’s. I am not sure that Lulu fully understands that marriage is a little different than dating, and that it takes understanding, communication and trust. While I get that Dante is acting a little caveman-ish, I also think we’ve gotta give credit where it is due. Dante knows that Johnny is living a dangerous life, and that he is even a little more unstable than usual after Anthony’s death. I could see why that in and of itself might be a problem for Dante when it comes to his wife being business partners with Johnny. Add to that the fact that he walked in on what he did, and who can blame him for being a bit ticked. Lulu not getting that, and allowing him to just leave without making a better attempt that just saying his name three times shows me it’s true: Lulu, you are so “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”…
  • While I admit that I have always been “behind” Johnny, I can tell you that anyone in Port Charles who follows suit is about to look like and feel really, really foolish! It amazes me that all of these usually smart women are backing Johnny so easily and with apparently no misgivings. Ladies, you are collectively “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”…
  • I think you guys know that I could not stand the character of Steven Lars when he last came to town in 2004. The actor back then annoyed the bejesus out of me. This time when Steven Lars came to town, known only as “Steve”, and played by the actor who once played my beloved Ryan McNeil, I decided to give him a chance, even though he was related to “Peanut”. *gag* So, now it’s not the actor who annoys the bejesus out of me. It’s the character! How can someone smart enough to make it through medical school be so freakin’ stupid that they cannot see that Heather is still certifiably insane! Steve, you surely are “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”… Everyone else can see that your mother’s behavior is completely off, except for you! Too bad that the women in your life keep paying the high price of your brainless stupor! If only Liz could be the next one to piss Heather off!
  • Oh, Lord. Why must we watch Todd listen to Heather talk about how “She Knows What He Did Last Spring” EVERY. SINGLE. FREAKIN’, DAY??? Especially when onscreen it’s been the same day for weeks now! How is it that Todd Manning has become to feeble-minded that he does not see that a) Heather really is a crazy bitch, and b) She is never going to stop finding something to hold over his head, or “she’ll tell the world what the did with Sam’s baby”? I mean, really – Todd being at her beck and call for everything and anything is just ridiculous! Todd, you idiot, you are shamefully “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”… Todd should just put them both, Luke, and all of us, out of this MISERY and go to the police. I’d bet that even Todd’s worst lie would be more believable than Heather’s best lie! AND I WANT THEM TO GIVE SAM HER BABY BACK!
  • The dynamic duo of Frank Valentini and Ron Carlivati was given the task of keeping GH on the air. I so often wonder about their strategy, as there is currently absolutely nothing that resembles LOVE IN THE AFTERNOON in the 3 pm EST time slot for ABC. It has been replaced by what seems to be a fraternity of rapists, women who have lost all common sense, men who have lost the thing that makes them men, and there isn’t a rootable couple, or even more than a couple of rootable characters to get excited about. Why do they think that we would care about characters who mean little or nothing to us? Trey, Joe, Jr., Todd, McBain, Starr? Why not stop using those characters to piss us off and alienate us from the fictional town we’ve loved to hang out in for so many years? Why not respect our show for what it was, and stop making it into what theirs was, with all the cheating, and fighting, and CAMP? Why not make our show better, instead of trying to make their show ours? Hey, Terrible Two: You are totally “Not Using The Smarts God Gave You”…or you would realize that your theory that “happiness doesn’t interest viewers” is shot to hell! More importantly, you’d realize that this is about more than just you guys trying to keep your jobs. To us, this is about saving such an important part of our daily lives; such a huge part of our culture. GH is life Family. Stop messing with it!
Most sincerely, 
Angelique
Today’s Inspiration: “For The First Time” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5skpJ5phmVQ Credit: loveepeacee
This Day In JaSam History
July 16
Nada you’d want to see…
July 17
2009: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cHFY7G3vmeY (Technically, Sam isn’t physically in this clip – but OH! she’s in it!) 🙂
16 responses

  1. I can’t believe this writer has decided, to ruin every character for us, they came in and not 2 mins later, everything started going down…

    July 17, 2012 at 7:25 am

  2. user123

    I can. When the writer stated that he liked the GH stories of the 80s and was going to revisit stories that played out in the 80s and 90s, I knew we were in for a horrible ride. I also watched OLTL during the time travel, talking dog, Gigi coming back from the dead and the Tale of the Two Todds. I didn’t watch daily but when I did watch it was enough to know that for me OLTL was too over the top. When it was announced that this writing team was coming to GH, I cringed. I felt he would bring the same type of writing to GH. Wait until the characters start bed hopping, this is what I saw on OLTL not people who were necessarily in love.
    Some people like what I consider a messy soap, I don’t and hope they change the path that they are currently on for GH.

    July 17, 2012 at 8:26 am

  3. jasam forever

    Hey Angelique,
    I’ve lost all zeal to watch GH. Saw people on twitter talking about Friday’s episode (also RC tweeted about Jason on Friday so I thought it was JMorgan) & I eventually checked it out on Saturday ff through majority ended up watching 5 minutes total. Horrible! GH has reached an all now low IMO!

    Kristina – Sonny & Alexis and everyone else in this stupid storyline is letting her get away with too much, it is becoming so much that it’s unbelievable! Trey annoys me as much as Todd does, with Joe Jr. Scully or whatever coming in close behind!

    Lulu/Dante/Johnny – I’m not really a lante fan (I don’t care about them that much either way). I will say I am glad that another couple is getting the same shake up as JaSam, although not anywhere close to what JaSam is facing. Lulu certainly seems to not know what is about she does not even consult Dante on any decision she is making, again this s/l seems a bit contrived at times. I love Johnny & I also hate this for him!

    Dr. Dumbass/Heather & his sister – I too never liked Steven Webber, I think it was because of the actor who played him before & especially when he was into CSI and was found at all of the PCPD crime scenes! I like Scott Reeves just not this character. It’s amazing how with such a background (doctor/csi) that he cannot seem to spot a LOON like his mother! She isn’t really the needle in the hay stack kind of crazy! Ray Charles could sniff this crazy broad out! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TPTB let Nurse Betty piss heather off… give her the ice tea to drink please!!!!!

    Todd/Heather – I am fed up of Sara Michelle Gellar & Freddie prince Snr. (Heather/Todd) with the: I know what you did last… I can’t stand seeing Todd on my screen every single day! & the black mail ish is getting boring & going overboard now!

    RC/FV duo – Writing skills of a sadistic soap! I don’t know what goes through these 2 men’s heads but wow… OLTL survived how many ever years… luckily but I don’t think GH or OLTL viewers want to see the SAME…EXACT storylines play out on GH… use your smarts guys, SEE that it’s not working, give it a rest.

    I’ve tuned out even from you tube these days (don’t go on as often as before), when it gets better guys please clue me in I’ll come back.

    Happy JaSam Tuesday!

    July 17, 2012 at 10:51 am

  4. lm cee

    I so agree with what everyone here is saying. I do NOT recoginze GH anymore. Most of the stories are so far fetched. I get it’s a soap but come on. I am so afraid that GH is going to get cancelled but if it keeps heading in this crappy direction I hope it does. They have ruined my only reason for tuning in JASAM. i also stopped watching live. I check the boards to see if there is any reason too. So far not so much. Hoping and praying that the writers or exectives get a clue.

    Jasam forever

    July 17, 2012 at 10:58 am

  5. rosejasam4ever

    AQngelique thank you for even tuning to YT so u can update us. I have given up even watching on YT but have not given up on my jasam even though RC seems intent on wringing them dry and destroying the best thing to ever happen to gh since Laura/ Luke. Never been a big fan of Steve, he is just there as a filler and waste of space sometimes. As for Heather she needs to go where she came from and take peanut (lol) with her. Hanging on for my jasam and luved the inspirational vids for today.

    much luv

    July 17, 2012 at 1:27 pm

  6. Jo McGee

    RC and FV are trying to recreate OLTLand on GH to finish up their stupid s/l and killing Jasam and GH in the process. Alienating GH viewers won’t GET THE JOB Done! Let the wriers from GH repair the damage and restore GH and especially the beautiful Jasam romance. RC’s stupid angst approach is overkill and hack writing in this fan’s opinion. Please remove him now or there will be nothing left to celebrate on April 1, 2013.

    July 17, 2012 at 3:00 pm

  7. Jo McGee

    I meant to say remove RC as head writer and put Garin Wolf or some other long term GH writer in charge,particularly someone who knows and understands our Jasam story and characters so we are not forced to watch the ooc behaviour.

    July 17, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  8. jasam ff

    you said it best no couple or characters are rootable on this show.
    i think ron and frank are the worst thing to ever happen to gh.

    July 17, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  9. Sonia

    Thanks Angelique for your devotion in giving us something good to read. I just dont see these men care about GH and ABC EXECU or else they would don something.. Gooze was bad but at least he was giving story to watch. I had to turn my TV off too bad people will spending their
    hard earn money to go FCW let these fools think they doing a wonderful job

    July 17, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  10. I cant even make myself watch any of gh anymore. It is hopeless.

    July 17, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  11. alwaysaromantic

    I have been watching just not letting it count! I FF through most of it! I miss the Love in the afternoon! Angelique Thanks for still Holding On,really Thank You! GH WHERE ARE U??????????????
    i 2ND IT JASAM FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    July 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm

  12. aproditebeauty

    Did u guys red Steve’s interview about JaSam, Liz, and Franco. here it is.

    For Jason Morgan, there have been many shocking developments in recent months on General Hospital. The woman he loves Sam, gets raped by Franco! Then she is pregnant, and has a baby, that Jason can’t deal with because it’s his twin brother, Franco’s! But fate and Todd and Heather intervene and that baby ends up in the hands of Tea Delgado, and Sam grieves the loss of her child. However, little does Jason know he is the true bio-dad! As Sam and Jason’s marriage starts to unravel, she turns to John McBain, who Sam has some kind of magnetic pull towards. Sam kisses him. Jason then kisses his old flame, Elizabeth and we are off to the races in the complicated life of one of the all-time most popular characters on daytime television.

    But even more popular than the loveable hit man Jason Morgan, is the Daytime Emmy winning actors who portrays him day in and day out, Steve Burton. On-Air On-Soaps chatted with Steve at the General Hospital on-set Emmy victory celebration. We checked in with the soap superstar to get his thoughts on GH’s new regime, JaSam’s perils, the lip-lock with Elizabeth, and Franco, who even though he is not on the canvas still haunts the cast of characters! After the jump, read what Steve had to share on the myriad of subjects!

    Has it been a big adjustment for you having the new GH regime come in under EP Frank Valentini, and seeing the old regime under former EP, Jill Farren Phelps go away?

    STEVE: Change is always difficult for everybody. For Frank’s crew coming in, for our crew, and for the crew leaving. There is always a period of feeling everybody out and if everyone is jellin’ and vibin’. Some people lose their jobs. Some people get new jobs. We got though that and it’s good. It’s great that the show won the Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Drama Series. To win ten Emmys considering where Daytime is, that is amazing! All around everything has been good.

    Do you think head writer, Ron Carlivati gets Jason Morgan? Have you seen a change in the way Jason is written? Former GH head scribe, Bob Guza was so integral to so many of Jason’s stories and so much of his history.

    STEVE: Yes. I think it is difficult when new writers come in who haven’t written for you before. There is going to be that period of talking to Frank, or talking to Ron, and saying, “Hey we need to try this, and this is where I would kind of go here.” They have been open to it. Frank wants to know. He has said, “You know the history better than we do. So, let’s talk about it.” They have been open that way, which is great. It is what it is, and you move on and do your thing.

    Has it been hard to play this recent beat in the story with Jason kissing Elizabeth, Sam finding solace with John McBain, and the baby-switch drama? Do you think the powers-that-be really needed to attempt to break up Jason and Sam at this point?

    STEVE: Listen, most writers don’t like couples happy. So for us, we were like, “Oh we are going to get a week of happiness!” And then, that ended so quickly. I understand why they did it. But for me, I would love to not play dead baby, break up, kill myself or someone story. I would rather have a week or two of happiness. It’s just a new show now at GH.

    How has it been getting to work again with Becky Herbst (Elizabeth)? There is such passion from all the fan bases right now involving Jason’s gals!

    STEVE: It’s good drama working with Becky. I love it. People are going crazy right now because of everything, and that is what they want. They want people talking.

    Courtesy/ABC
    What did you think of the Franco reveal, when lo and behold, he turns out to be Jason’s twin? Did you know about the story was ultimately going to unravel this way?

    STEVE: No, I didn’t know! That was made up the new regime, I believe. I had no idea. I was like, “What?” It was difficult to get the words out of my mouth, “My bro! You are my twin?” I think I am ten years older than James Franco! (Laughs) That was hard to say. I guess, I could have a worse twin that James Franco, right? (Laughs)

    What can fans look forward to coming up with Jason?

    STEVE: For Jason, Sam, and Elizabeth, it’s just beginning from what I hear! And I yell, “How can it be just beginning?” As I punch myself! (Laughs) We don’t even expect the twists and turns that are coming. I don’t read my scripts till the night before I shoot. So when I look at it I go, “Oh! Wow! OK? How are we going to do this one?” So there are always surprises for all of us. I think it’s been good for the fans. They are engaged. They care. That is what you need. Whether they like it or not, you want them to have an opinion, if they have no opinion, than we suck! (Laughs)

    Courtesy/ABC
    When you and Kelly Monaco (Sam) saw in the scripts that the baby “died” and there was going to be a baby-switch, what went through your minds initially?

    STEVE: Well, it was more that we both thought, “Just give Jason and Sam their baby and let them relax for awhile and then do something.” Let them be a family. We have been going so long to get to this point to have it ripped out. And for me, I did not want to have to play: divorce, dead baby, cheating on me, cheating on you. It’s drama, but that is what we do! That is what you got to do if you are on a soap.
    I think we can safely assume by this nothing good is coming for JaSam. Steve does not sound happy about it either. They won’t be happy until they have them in a full blown sleazy affairs. They have given MCSUCK everything that should have been Jason. He is going full steam ahead with McBAm and Jiz, and I won’t stay and watch that
    So I guess this is goodbye for me and GH and JaSam. A very good source has told me that after Carly and Spinelli set them up for a romantic dinner they decide to divorce and I really didn’t want to believe it but from Steve’s interview it sounds like that it’s going to happen and I will not watch John takes Jason’s place in Sam’s life with their son. So goodbye all of you guys I love ya’ll and JaSam Forever.

    July 17, 2012 at 11:08 pm

  13. lt4bama

    Haven’t watched in days and jasam isn’t on so I guess I’ll catch whenever. I must say loovveeedddd reading this article. Thanks for tweeting it Jerron. I’m happy to know Stelly are jasam fans. Gave me reason to keep holding on.

    Hopefully RC get with the program and fix this mess he made. And once he (or whoever, I really don’t care who does it) fixes this catastrophe, I will not be saying thank you coz we never should’ve been here in the first place. Our jasam family reunion is coming

    July 18, 2012 at 2:47 am

  14. Patty Yocom

    I also read Steve’s interview and agree he doesn’t sound happy. I’ve heard the rumors about possible rewrites so maybe the divorce will be off. If not, I won’t watch on YT either. I already have freed up my one hour in the afternoon. I can’t believe Jason and Sam may be over after taking three years to get back together and finally marrying. They didn’t get a full honeymoon; didn’t get to enjoy Sam’s pregnancy; Jason didn’t get to see his son being born; and it doesn’t appear they will be celebrating their first anniversary. My heart aches for them and for us.

    I’m at the point I want to blast the so-called writers on the ABC board even though it’s been suggested we don’t. However, they need to know that so many fans are tuning out and they will have to take responsibility for destroying GH and it’s eventual cancellation. The ratings are down and ABC does nothing to promote GH at anytime of the day or night. I want them to know how hurt, angry, frustrated, discouraged, dissatisfied, etc. the JaSam fans are. (I can’t think of enough adjectives for this.)

    I can’t believe TPTB are allowing the OLTL characters to dominate the GH screen. I never watched OLTL so therefore have no interest in seeing them on my screen day in and day out. I want GH characters!! I want Jason and Sam Morgan with their son!! I have no problem with the Morgans having problems in their marriage but only after they have some happy time. Every marriage goes through trials and tribulations. But why not show a couple working things out? The writers claim that happy couples don’t work on soaps. I say they don’t know how to write a happy couple and have them work on the marriage without sleeping around and cheating.

    Speaking of cheating, Sam would NEVER cheat on Jason and Jason would NEVER cheat on Sam after what happened last time. Do they want us to believe they never learned anything from their past mistakes? Jason and Sam are not stupid. They did learn and worked hard on their relationship for over three years. That should account for something.

    About Elizabeth. I don’t mind her friendship with Jason; they do have a history. However, Elizabeth has stated many times over the years that Jason’s job is too dangerous for her and her kids. I don’t see that Jason has changed jobs. I don’t see that Elizabeth has changed her mind. Why not give her a stable relationship for a change with someone more her type – Dr. Keenan. They are both in the medical field, like she pointed out many times to Maxie about Matt Hunter. Why continue to make her appear to be someone who cannot make a solid commitment but someone who pines for Jason every chance she gets. Her conversations with Jason are always about his love for Sam and wanting a family with Sam. He has never talked about a family with Elizabeth. Even before, it was always about Jake and not her.

    I don’t want to lose hope for JaSam. I want to cry every time I see the rumors on Twitter or Facebook. I try and keep my spirits up by watching all the wonderful videos of them on YT; I could spend hours doing that. I will wait to write on the ABC board until after attending both Steve’s and Kelly’s events this coming weekend. If the news is not good, I will probably post. I love both Steve and Kelly and appreciate all the long hard work they have put into Jason and Sam over the years. However, a statement has to be made that this crap won’t be watched or tolerated. If story doesn’t change, then TPTB will have to take the blame; not the fans. The choice will be theirs to make.

    Thank you for letting me rant for so long. This has been spinning around in my head for several weeks and I needed a safe place to let it out. I will hope for the best and prepare for the worse.

    Always a JaSam and Steve and Kelly fan forever.

    July 18, 2012 at 3:24 am

  15. TheNamesAnyone

    WOW!!! SB does not sound happy. I think what he really wanted to say was fuck FV and RC!!! You can totally tell, he just wanted to blurt that out, but couldn’t. I

    July 18, 2012 at 4:11 am

Leave a Reply

