Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

ROOTS

Good Morning, GHers!

Thanks to all of you who left words of encouragement for our Sweet Sarah! I hope she feels surrounded by all of us, even if only in spirit!

We Love You, Sarah!

__________________________________________________

Todd Manning is looking to put down ROOTS in Port Charles, but that only means that a whole lot of weeds for PC’s residents! Todd has nothing good or noble to add to the landscape of our favorite fictional town! I mean, he was only passing through, and look at all the damage and heartache he’s caused already! 😦 I wish he would take his newspaper, his abs, and his daughter and hightail it back to Llanview! Like yesterday!

Heather is pure evil, but other than Olivia, the viewers must be the only ones who see it! Is Steven really this clueless about his crazy mother? I don’t even get it! There is no reason that Steven would feel the kind of bond with Heather that might make him show this much faith in her. I just don’t get it! The only ROOTS Heather has ever cultivated in PC are those of insanity and danger. Why is it so hard for people who know this about her to imagine that she might go off the rails again?

Let’s just hope this time, Olivia isn’t her next victim. Liv is getting dangerously close to to ending up like Maggie – especially with words like “nut job” flying around! Luckily for Liv, Spin seems to have returned to his PI ROOTS with a renewed sense of urgency, and hopefully, he will turn up more than whatever root-less things Heather has “planted” out there on the country road.

So Luke and Anna completely eschewed both of their romantic ROOTS in order to hook up like it was 1979! They were barely even awkward around each other the morning after, as Luke was sitting there watching her sleep, and then making mention of their “dirty deed” without either of them blushing! I know there are those who think Anna and Luke are just wrong because of Robert and Laura, but you know what? I disagree. Robert and Laura are their past, not their present, or their future (based on all current indicators!) AND…If there must be a triangle, I am so glad it includes these three, and not a currently married couple!

Although I will say that I feel badly that Tracy is going to be hurt once more because of her love for Luke. 😦 Tracy has proven herself to be more than Luke deserves, as she loves him unconditionally, no matter what she says! It makes me sad to see that Tracy really only has Luke – and well, apparently now Alice, to lean on. The Quartermaines used to have the strongest, most widespread ROOTS of any family in Port Charles, now this once great family has withered way to almost nothing. I wish the writers would come up with a way to turn that around!

I guess the best way to turn that around and to keep the Quartermaine Family ROOTS growing is to add to the Family Tree. The writers did that by making sure that Jason, Jr. is alive, even if they had to tear his poor mother’s heart out in the process. Poor Sam, having to endure another loss, another service to say goodbye to her child, another funeral, another attempt to pick up the pieces of her shattered heart. (I must say that not only do I believe the writers see Sam as a strong woman, I think they see Kelly as the strong actress she is. As much as we all hate this storyline, it has given Kelly opportunity after opportunity to show off her incredible talent. She had me tearing up from the moment she walked into the cemetery, and it only got worse from there! Kelly is an outstanding actress, and I am so proud to be her fan!) 

I have to admit that there is something I must give the writers props on, and that is that we got to see, throughout the entire episode, that Sam has put down and cultivated her own set of ROOTS in Port Charles. I love that the writers allowed Sam to be supported by so many, and not just her family – even though I adore Davis Girls scenes. Sam has lived and worked in this town for almost ten years! It would only make sense that there would be people who get her loss, and wanted to be there to support her! I thought the scenes between Spin and Sam were heartwarming and sweet. Spin telling Sam that he loved her and was sorry felt perfectly right, and made sense. Having Michael want to be there for Sam, and telling her that she would have been a great mother were touching and warm, and really reminded us that Michael would know, as Sam has been such a presence in Michael’s life. The scenes with Carly caught me completely off guard, and left me weeping! While Carly and Sam have never been BFF’s, I am glad the writers chose to show us that no matter what, they do share a connection. Sam needed all the support she could get, and deserved all the support she got, and more.

Because of his family and friends, Jason Morgan has among the strongest and far-reaching ROOTS of anyone in PC. He is connected in some way to just about every family, and everyone. However, as we heard him talking about those connections with Michael yesterday, one thing was quite clear: Jason has no deeper ROOTS than the ones connecting his heart to Sam’s. I will be the first to say what an ass Jason has been throughout this outrageous storyline, but I cannot ignore that Jason seems to be unable to thrive without his wife. I was so thankful for his conversation with Michael, because it was good for me to hear that Jason understands why Sam cannot let him back into her heart right now. It was also good to hear Michael being the voice of reason, and telling Jason what all of us would have been screaming at the TV had he not. Michael telling Jason that what Sam said, was not necessarily what she needed, was something I’ll be grateful to Michael for, for a long time! Perhaps hearing it from the first child Jason ever held was the secret to Jason finally putting his fears and his feelings aside for the woman whose heart is breaking over the child she believes she will never hold again. I am so glad that Jason finally got out of his own way and showed up for Sam. Had Jason let that opportunity pass him by, he would have regretted it forever. No matter how it turns out tomorrow, and no matter what Sam says out of her unimaginable pain and loss, it was crucial to the nurturing of their ROOTS as a couple that he be there during Sam’s darkest moments. She will never forget that he was present. No matter what.

I think it is part of the MAGIC that Steve and Kelly have not only created, but perfected, that Jason and Sam didn’t saw a single word to each other, and barely shared 10 seconds onscreen, and yet, so many of us were so deeply affected by what they did share! In those couple of screenshots, I read so much into what they were feeling: Love, Concern, Need, Fear of Losing Each Other, and again – LOVE. I know that there are still some hard to watch moments and several weeks of tough stuff that will try our patience and loyalty, but it was like a shot in the arm to be reminded by Sam and Jason themselves that they are deeply and totally in love! Thanks for the crumbs, Mr. Carlivati and Writing Team! I will take it!

You know, our love for Jason and Sam has served as the ROOTS of the wonderful relationships formed and nurtured here! It’s so important that we not turn our backs on the thing that brought us all together, and helped so many friendships BLOOM! Keep supporting our couple and their Love Story, even when things seem bleakest. Keep fighting to keep their Love Story going, because this chapter will finally give way to another – hopefully more blissful one. Just think of all the chapters we’ve already experienced together over the years! There have been some we hated along the way, but we must remember that we are working towards a Happily Ever After, and that rarely happens without conflict and angst along the way!

Hang In There – for JaSam and for GH!

Hopefully this will serve as inspiration: “It’s All Coming Back To Me Now” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yV7qhyJuepw Credit: jasamlova1028

We can do this! Together, we can do just about anything!

Love you all,

Angelique

21 responses

  1. SamJasonsHeart

    I loved all the people helping and supporting Sam today.. But when Carly walked up to Sam I also had tears.. Was my favorite scene in the show. Was so happy Jason had Michael to talk to and zjason decided to go be with the woman he loves more than life it’s self.
    This is so sad.. But Kelly is rocking these scenes and I’m happy the writers are showcasing just how amazing Kelly is. Stelly magic as long as I still see that on my screen I will keep watching… JaSam the Beauty of GH!

    Love you tons!!

    June 19, 2012 at 2:23 am

  2. jasam ff

    olivia seems to be the only smart person on the show when it comes to heather. i will always fight for jasam but i need the writers to give us hope and something to fight for.

    June 19, 2012 at 4:47 am

  3. Trini

    Faith is believing without seeing. I have faith in Jasam forever. I believe in their forever love.!

    BTW. KeMo is an awesome actress. Love Molly, such a great little sis.

    June 19, 2012 at 5:36 am

  4. lt4bama

    “Thanks for the crumb” Ha. You are so funny.

    I’m so glad Sam didn’t have to face this alone. In the past when Jason and Sam were on opposites sides people tend to go to Jason, Sam only had her family. It was great to see Jason loyalist still by her side. I would have expected KS Maxie there but Jen Maxie hasn’t shared a screen with Sam so it didn’t surprise me too much but where was Sonny?
    3 best scense yesterday for me were:
    Sam and Carly. For the first time I felt Carly was there for Sam, not b/c it would help Jason but it would purely benefit Sam. The hug was so sincere.

    Jason and Michael. It showed that Jase jas good understanding of his wife and what she is going through by his explaination Mike. And Mike was able to do for Jason what Jason has done for many years and be there for him. He also had wise words. Micheal has really grown up!

    Jasam. I’ve always said and loved that they can have conversations and speak volumes with their eyes and body languague. I saw Love, longing, hurt and fear. I know I said I wanted Jason to beg for a little bit before Sam forgives him. It still pains me to watch them like this. However I hope it will make the reunion even sweeter.

    June 19, 2012 at 6:01 am

  5. Traveler

    Thanks for the Blog. Im still hanging in and hanging on.

    June 19, 2012 at 6:08 am

  6. Lara

    Morning Angelique! I must have missed the bit about Sarah;( ‘m going to keep her in my prayers and hope everything is ok.
    Thanks for another great post! Can I just say that my jaw hit the floor when I realized Luke and Anna had slept together! Mostly because I forgot what happened on Friday, but I gotta say I kinda liked that they are going in that direction. I mean I feel bad for Tracy, but I really like Anna 😉
    On to crazy bags Heather, I too am confused as to Steven’s sheer obliviousness where his mother is concerned. The most I can figure is that he is trying so hard to forge a relationship with her that he’s in denial about how crazy she really is!! All I know is, I have very strong homicidal feelings towards Heather, and I can’t wait until someone kills her!!
    As for our lovely Sam, what can I say other than my heart is truely bleeding for her. As I watched her in that cemetery yesterday, I kept thinking to myself, ” She has 2!, 2! babies buried in this cemetery!” That’s a grief that NO mother should EVER have to face! I wonder if any of the writers have had to face this kind of tragedy personaly beacuse if they have they would NEVER have had this happen twice to someone! The pain of having to bury your child is all consuming and it takes a long time to return to some semblance of your former self.
    With all that I was fine though until Carly hugged her, that hug did me in! I think I was so taken aback by the genuineness of her concern that the tears just stared flowing! You’re right, Sam HAS been in PC for a long time and she HAS established roots. I’m glad that she has people around her rallying her through these difficult times. I’m glad she brought up that she feels like her baby is alive to her family. I think if she keeps saying it others will believe it too. I keep reading that the writers are putting Sam through this because ironically enough they love Kelly. They feel like the old writers made her too soft and a doormat for Jason and they’d like to strengthen her character so that they’ll be on more even grounds. As for Jason, (without giving anything away) I’ve come across some information about him embracing his Q side a lot more, because in truth he really has very strong roots that I think they’ve forgotten about over the years. I’m glad that he went to her because we all know he was the one that helped her through Baby Lila’s death and while we know he has a long way to go before he’s forgiven, this is a time for him to be by her side again. A lot was said in absolutely no words at the end. We know that they love each other so much there’s just a mighty wall they need to overcome first.

    June 19, 2012 at 6:29 am

  7. Kathy Glagowski

    Again,bravo!!Angelique, you really “get” this show!!! I was so happy to see Sam with her family. It was beautiful to see Alexis “mothering” Sam. Hugging and kissing her just like she did when Sam told her about the rape. She didn’t get the chance to mother her as a baby and it was nice to see her love for her eldest daughter come out. Spinelli was so sweet and sincere and I think he will help find and bring home baby Morgan. Michael was great with Jason making him really see that what Sam says and what she wants may be 2 differen things. It was very touching to see Carly go to Sam and be very sincere. I too started to weep at these scenes. I have always felt that these 2 women could be friends. They both love Jason!!! Now Jason. He has been an ass but I still love him!!You could see the love he has for Sam and she for him in just that look. Hopefully we will see a little more of that today but I feel she will reject him and he will seek comfort again from Liz. But once that boy is found,forget it Lizzie===his heart truly belongs to the fair Samantha,his Phoenix and her heart though breaking right now belongs to her Dragon. Thanks for a great blog again!!!

    June 19, 2012 at 7:53 am

  8. Shella

    You are amazing I look forward to your input. Thanks for doing such a beautiful job.

    June 19, 2012 at 7:56 am

  9. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers, Great Blog Angelique Thank You again for your insight!
    Everyone is right that this s/l has allowed KM to “shine” I makes me even more a Fan! I thought the way the funeral was written was done respectfully and believable, The scenes with the Davis girls were very special and real! Spinelli oh my Spinelli he is back and I am gad he is! From trying to help Olivia to being Sams Friend……I adore Spinelli! He always manges(most of the time) to be a True Friend(hes so much more than That) to Sam and Jason! Spinelli has a big heart! Michael has grown so much he impressed very much talikng to his Uncle/Dad! He was relentless in a good way as talk to Jason he would not let it go!
    My greatest surprise yesterday was Carly! Here I go liking CArly again! Carly showed how deep Sam and her realtionship is! No they are not BFF’s but they are 2 woman with a very long history! And usually when it really counts they “show up” for each other! This episode was a good one! As everyone admits KM and SB can do so much in 10 seconds,its a
    priveledge to watch and to be a Fan Forever! Their scenes together just “flow” they always have! I do not know how this s/l is going to play out but when Carly finds out that Todd orchestrated this it is not going to be pretty! All I keep iimagining is Sam and Jason together with there Son. I hope this happens sooner than later!
    I was over joyed that Sam has mentioned her daughter morethan once,GH seemed to have forgotten about Baby Lila! Lara you are so right 2 Babies in this Cemetery its almost too much! We know Little J is alive but his mother does not except………..Sam has great instincts! I was screaming go with your instincts Sam always go with your instincts! I am looking forward to Sams PI skills surfacing again right with her Partner in Crime Spinelli! I am hoping Jason instincts kick in too! They may not search together but let them both seek,search and find their Son ASAP!

    June 19, 2012 at 9:16 am

    • jasamforever

      I agree with you on the Sam/Carly relationship they have grown from the days of Carly hating Sam with the Sonny stuff. Its really refreshing to see Carly & Sam genuine scenes they are two strong women/characters and like Jason always says they are a lot alike each other.

      June 19, 2012 at 10:16 am

    • Kathy Glagowski

      Agree with you!!!Sam has good instincts!!Jason may not believe Sam about the baby but if Spinalli talks to him he may just start to believe. It’s not that he doesn’t believe Sam,he never saw the baby, and it is a little unbelievable for the baby to be switched in the middle of nowhere!!So I don’t fault Jason there. But if Spinelli finds something and tells him,I think he will finally believe and help with the search

      June 19, 2012 at 10:43 am

  10. jasamforever

    Loved today’s blog. ROOTS!

    First of, I’m sorry but I can’t stand Todd shirtless/fully clothed … anyhow I just can’t stand him! I never could stand him I know there are some characters you either love em or hate em, i think that’s how it is with Todd for me, I hate him ( or maybe its this actor because I used to love the other Todd TSJ)

    Loony toon Heather is driving me insane I wish they would just kill her already or send her ass back to Ferncliff in a str8 JACKET! She messed with my jasam, not to mention the way she calls STEVEN LARSSSS is so damn annoying!

    I like Olivia & Spin’s interactions, I have always liked Olivia seems as though after she broke up with Johnny she was placed on the back burner with no real s/l. I hope they find a good s/l for her or maybe she and Sam could be friends. Sam needs friends.

    While I am not a Tracy fan (even though i find her hilarious) IMO Luke & Anna seem very awkward, I don’t know if I need to give it time but the pairing seems very awkward. When they were consoling each other after Robin’s death I wondered where it would lead but when I actually saw it on screen it was too awkward, I am so glad we didn’t have to see them doing the nasty. ewwww!

    Sam/Spin – I really love to see how their relationship has grown, I really like to see them together, Sam is like a big sis to Spin. It was heartbreaking to watch him with her.

    Sam/Michael – I wanted to slap Kristina when she told Michael to leave, I understood it but it still annoyed me! Michael & Sam have come a long way from the kid who wanted Jason to pay Sam off to leave town. I really like how he trusts Sam & his relationship with her. Sam really has come far from the character who started off with ZERO family & no one liking her.

    Sam/ Carly – WOW this one opened the flood gates for me, I really felt the genuineness of Carly’s hug. Even though Carly can’t stand Sam I’ve always liked that when there are times of trouble she always steps up, which is much more than we can say about how she is with Liz. Deep down Carly knows that Jason loves & belongs with Sam. I would like to see a friendship with these two but I guess there is more s/l with leaving them the way they are. On another note, Carly is way taller than Sam lol.. Sam is so little & cute she was literally looking up to Carly!

    I loved how beside the Davies girls, “Jason’s followers” were there to support Sam (Carly/Micheal) that was very nice. Molly was really good so much better than Kristina!

    However, where the hell was Maxie (right now I didn’t care that it wasn’t KS Maxie, Maxie needed to be there), even Sonny… Monica???? I would really like to see more of a Sam/ Sonny friendship, just like how Jason gets to be friends with Liz why can’t Sam be good friends with Sonny. I have seen them in scenes as friends & I really like their friendship.

    Jasam – when Jason came in & saw Sam crying aweee I just cried even more the way he rested his head on the gate, mushy me!!!! I wished he would have just put his arm around her and hug her no matter how hard she fought him! I can’t wait for today’s episode, something about the way Jason says I’m your husband lol. i love to see jasam with wedding rings & them calling each other husband & wife lol!!!

    Stelly’s chemistry is real & off the hook wow!

    Have a good day jasammers, Keep the faith… Jasam forever & always!

    June 19, 2012 at 10:11 am

    • Kathy Glagowski

      Jasamforever you are so right!! I too want to see Jason just put his arms around her and tell her he loves her not just that he still is her husband!!!i read that she asks for a divorce!!!! I hope it doesn’t happen. I don’t want to see them divorce and remarry etc much like Sonny and Carly did.

      June 19, 2012 at 10:38 am

      • jasamforever

        Kathy I’m trying my hardest not to read spoilers they really upset me sometimes even the good ones! I read that as well but I’m keeping the faith no matter what. Jasam have been married what all of 10 months and the D word is being thrown around, come on this couple have been through hell and high water to be divorced after 10 mths, I refuse to believe it! I refuse to give up even in the darkest hours. They will prevail and stronger will they be! I hope they reunite b4 their first wedding anniversary and the Phoenix and the dragon hold true to their meaning! I do not want another carly/sonny marriage/relationship for jasam.

        June 19, 2012 at 11:05 am

  11. Beatrice

    Hi everyone hope all is well,or better. I am still hopeing Todd,will make things right,no matter how hard it will be….so agree with you not sure how the JaSam scene will play out today,but just having those 2 in the same room,one sees the LOVE…I am so ready for happy moments for them.

    June 19, 2012 at 11:14 am

  12. Good day JaSam Fam, I too was so glad Sam didn’t have to go thru this alone but for me it wasn’t NEARLY enough. Where the hell was Monica and Edward who both adore and support Sam as much as we do, and where the hell was Sonny? I would have even liked to see folks like Coleman and the strippers, guys from her sea faring days and PI clients, coming out of the woodwork (the service was announced in the PC Sun) so we would all get to see our Sam is appreciated as much in her world as she is in ours! Plus I kinda have a thing for Father Koates *blushing, so I would have like to see him comforting the crowd. I even think Olivia should have been there she could have met Steven Lars and Evil Personified for a BLT after. Patric who is all to familiar with grief at the present, and seriously owes Sam for what her put her pregnant self thru when she was fighting for Jason’s life (again) should have made is apologies know! My final comment on the attendees is that even though I love the really great job Jen Lilly has done trying to fill our Maxie’s shoes, in my opinion this is a role (like Robin) you just can’t recast. Maxie should have been written as off to Milan for fashion biz until Kirsten Storms could return. In any case Maxie should have been there!

    But oh dear, stop the presses, and apologize to the neighbors for me spontaneously jumping off the couch and shouting OUT LOUD, “Are you kidding me, REALLY, I’m tearing up over this damn Sam-ly HUG? Made my day. However, I really wish Carly had told Todd that Sam lost her first baby when she was filling him in on the facts. I’m not sure he knows and he need to know the full depth and breadth of his CRIME!

    Even though I am a realist; a big believer in facing life’s challenges head on. No matter what, I’ll take my beating, pull myself up by my boot straps if I have to, and I try to live my life with a – what is this supposed to teach me reflectiveness, and an attitude of gratitude, this story line has given me little to work with in the gratitude department. I don’t have to work hard to be grateful for, as you mentioned, Kelly Monaco’s beautiful performances through it all!!! And I too am grateful for the tender moment Michael showed the woman who has done so much for him over the years, including being there for him more than his own mother really. I’m so damn grateful for Jason taking his ass hat off long enough to go to Sam, and for that look we were privy to; OMG THE LOOK!, the connection between them that is undeniable and unbreakable – the look that says it all – the look that made us fall in love with them – the look that keeps us in love with them – the look that says our love will live forever and the look that says here we are…ONE WORLD.
    JaSam forever baby.
    Kathy

    June 19, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    • Kathy Glagowski

      Kathy,
      That was beautiful. But one thing I want to mention, Carly did tell Todd that this was the 2nd baby Sam lost, she told him that at the hotel lobby so he knows. Edward wasn’t there because John Ingle has been ill and I think things had to be rewritten around his absense but Monica should have been. But you are right that look said it all. you could see the hurt and the love in that look on both of them. I think in todays episode she turns him away—again but I hope that he keeps trying. Alove like that is to good to give up!!JaSam 4Ever!!!

      June 19, 2012 at 1:26 pm

  13. Thank you so much, I’m glad Todd knows, maybe that’s why he is regretting his decision. Can’t wait for him to take steps to rectify it, I don’t want Sam missing another minute with her baby, as every mother knows the Baby moments are so fleeting. #givesamherbabyback

    June 19, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  14. lc

    I am the kind of person that doesn’t like surprises. I will search the house if I know by husband has been Christmas shopping for me. I have reopened presents to find out what’s inside and then rewrapped them. I just can’t help myself.I will read the ending of a book before I even start it so I know how it ends. So this story is killing me. I am glad that Jasam have a story of there own. It’s about them not Sonny, Michael, or whoever else’s problems. It’s all about Jasam. But I am so afraid that Liz and John McPain is going to ruin them.I stopped watching when the summer of sleze ruined them and I am telling you I can’t take that again. I am trying to keep the faith but it’s getting harder and harder. I just hope the writers get how incrediable Kelly and Steve really are together and keep JASAM as they should be ENDGAME.

    JASAM 4EVER!!!!!!!!!

    June 19, 2012 at 5:13 pm

  15. TheNamesAnyone

    I guess, I may be the only one not liking the idea of Luke and Anna.
    Luke is adventurous and funny. Anna may have some adventure in her, but she isn’t funny or lively. I honestly think people only want these two together, because Anna has a more youthful look to her. Tracy dresses her age. While Jasam is the main reason I watch GH, they’re not the only couple I like. Tracy and Luke had life to them. All Luke and Anna are going to do is comfort each other every five seconds. There will be no fighting or disagreements, because their relationship now is built on trying to help console each other. Couples that are based around this never get out of this stage. Which makes them boring to watch. I almost feel asleep on those two.

    But, this is not the main couple I came here to discuss. What happen to Ca$h (Shawn and Carly)? I was looking forward to Carly hooking up with Shawn, and they threw it away. To come up with the forced couple that is Carjo. Watching Jasam has showed me how a real Tv couple should be. They should be natural and have strong presence together, and make the viewers believe they are meant to be without trying. I feel Johnny/Carly fans and Luke/Anna fans are thinking like Liason fans. The only reason why Liason fans want Jason with Liz, is because he is the cute bad boy. They would never admit this.

    I wish people would stop pairing, based on petty things like the characters look good together. Or I don’t like this character so he shouldn’t be with her, he should be with the girl I like for him. It’s not about that. It’s about do these characters truly connect. I’m not a Carly Fan (I hate Carly very much. She’s slowly growing on me.) But, even I could see she made a connection with Shawn.

    June 19, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    • TheNamesAnyone

      Sorry, If I offended anyone. I know this is my opinoin, but I’m just gonna miss the funny times. This GH is already sad and dark. Tracy and Luke moments are the only moments that made me laugh and happy. Whenever Jasam moments couldn’t.

      June 19, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Leave a Reply

