Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

REALITY BITES

Good Thursday morning, GHers!

I am a bit busy getting ready for a little road trip with the family – our two youngest will finally be done with school on Friday, and so we are planning on hitting the road right after to go check out what MIGHT be our future home: North Carolina! I am so excited, but scared at the same time! This lifelong Jersey girl doesn’t really like change, but I owe it to my family to give it a whirl. I’ll just need to keep my anxiety meds within an arm’s reach. 🙂

Well, I think we can all agree that sometimes it sucks when REALITY comes knocking, and we are caught off guard. Such was the case in good ol’ Port Charles, where REALITY came knockin’ on more doors than the Avon lady!

For Luke and Tracy, REALITY BITES big time! Not only were they stuck with the dead body of someone they were each convinced the other killed, they then LOST the body to complicate things further! I really, really do love the scenes these two share! Honestly, they are about the only reason for smiling we have these days – and even though it’s all about murder, I am happy to have something to be happy about! (HINT, HINT, Mr. Carlivati!) Jane Elliot and Tony Geary have the ability to make you feel like you’re watching good, old-school SOAP, which in this day and age, is saying something! Truly, I enjoyed all of their dialogue, especially the part about Tracy offering up her mother as the one thing she genuinely cared about (even though she is a mother herself). If only the writers would capitalize a little more on these moments that tug at our hearts! We would be in Ratings Heaven! The moment where Luke and Tracy were snagged by the cops while trying to get rid of the weapon was fantastic 70’s kind of cliffhanger stuff, and I cannot wait to “tune in tomorrow” to find out what happens next!

As far as Johnny is concerned, one would think that the current LACK of REALITY is his biggest problems, but look a little closer. Johnny’s biggest problem is actually the REALITY of what he’s done and the guilt that comes with it! No matter what Johnny said, killing his grandfather in cold blood sent Johnny over the invisible line he had once decided never to cross. Add to that the guilt he is stills trudging with over being responsible for the deaths of Hope and Cole, and the fact that he completely manipulated a mentally ill woman, who was already a victim of her own illness, and it’s no wonder John can “see dead people”. Unfortunately for Johnny, though REALITY concerning his grandfather’s living “status” may continue to elude him for a while, it does not elude him when it comes to the long arm of the law. Dante and Delores arrived with a search warrant and proved that REALITY BITES indeed, as they found Anthony’s cell phone in Johnny’s penthouse. Maybe Johnny wasn’t really ready for the ugly part of the business after all.

I think one person who has had to deal with more than his fair share of just how badly REALITY BITES is Spinelli! His hard work, loyalty and dedication to his Maximista and One True Love has finally paid off, and Maxie is now free. Unfortunately, she is not free to rediscover hers and Spinelli’s Love Story,as her freedom, which she linked to Matt’s, came at the ultimate price: Marriage. According to the Prosecutor, as long as Maxie stays married to Matt, she cannot be compelled to testify, thanks to Spousal Privilege. I could barely stand to watch Spin’s heart break over and over as his new REALITY seemed only to get worse the more Maxie talked about it. I know that Spin couldn’t stand to watch his once non-wife waste away in prison, but I wonder if Spin will survive the cruel alternative: to live in the prison of knowing that Maxie is now Mrs. Matt Hunter. 😦

Kristina is proving to her mom and dad, and her unsuspecting sisters, that REALITY BITES hardest when it jumps out and catches you off guard. I don’t think anyone could have imagined that Kristina would ever come home demanding that her family not only allow her to be part of her own reality TV show, but that they be part of it as well! I thought Kristina crossed one too many lines when she began airing her family’s dirty laundry – and I do mean DIRTY, on camera! Especially since Kristina knows first hand how damaging this kind of press could be to her family, especially her younger sister Molly, who is at a tough age to be dealing with the kind of torment this will bring from her peers. How selfish can this girl be? Kristina threatening to walk out and never see them again packed a bigger punch than they anticipated, and left them rather speechless, because it is quite the dilemma. I honestly had to take a moment to think about that one myself, because honestly, I am not sure what’s worse: having my daughter exploit herself and everyone she loves while I stand by and do nothing…OR…refusing to allow it, and risking that she really will walk out and remove herself from my life for an indefinite amount of time. Hmmm… In the end, I decided that neither option would work for me. I am Puerto Rican, so my family would have to help me to lock that little chica up in this house until she came to her senses! (:) ) Sometimes these things TAKE A VILLAGE! 🙂 I honestly think that’s where Sonny was leaning, too, but Alexis would never go for that. Instead, I think Alexis will cave, and Kristina will continue to bash her parents and completely humiliate her brothers and sisters on air. I just hope Kristina remembers that reality isn’t the only thing that bites – so does Karma!

Poor Sam. She is surrounded by babies – and she hasn’t even given birth yet! Not only is her sister a big, fat baby in disguise, her husband is a big, whiny baby, too! Jason goes RIGHT to McBain’s room upon his release to get in his face about tipping off the cops…which John denies. So, Jason keeps going at him – presumably about John coming after him, except that Jason keeps mentioning Sam. If I drank, I would start a drinking game where we took a swig every time Jason said Sam’s name. One of my favorites was, “You’re here for Sonny, but you spend most of your time with Sam.” Ha ha ha!  Could he sound any more childish? Jason is so jealous that he just doesn’t know how to play this game at all! He’s never done this before, because usually, he would just walk way and let the other guy win. This time around, Jason cannot walk away, and he cannot just let the other guy win. Jason is in love with his wife, and he cannot bear the thought of losing her – not to John or anyone else. Even if at the moment he cannot get around the problem that he thinks “Franco’s” baby presents, Jason’s reality is that it isn’t enough of a problem to stop him from missing Sam. Yes, Jason, REALITY BITES, but you haven’t even begun to understand the REALITY of your choices and the consequences they will have! Perhaps if Jason could take a moment to try and get a clear head, he might actually see that he is wasting so much energy on keeping Sam from John, instead of bringing Sam back to him. The problem is that the usually cool Jason is anything bunt cool right now. He is borderline obsessed with John, all the while John, who’s playing this cool as a cucumber, barely blinks whenever Jason comes at him. John really does see this for what it is – Jason freaking out over the paternity issue and not being able to move forward because of it. To John’s credit, he has made things crystal clear to Jason that neither he, nor more importantly Sam, are talking about anything else. I loved the way he put it to Jason when he said, “Even if I were after Sam, you’re the one she loves. You’re the one she wants to be with. “ I liked that so much because he wasn’t backing down from trying to keep Jason on his toes about someone else seeing in Sam what Jason is not right now, but he also was very fair to Sam in letting Jason know where her loyalties lie. I have a confession, and that is that I had a Love For McBain moment when he gave Jason this piece of advice, “If you lose Sam, you’ll be losing the best thing that’s ever happened to you, and it won’t be because of what I did. It’ll be because of what YOU did.” Hallelujah! I’m so glad someone finally said it to Jason! It’s so true! (And a bit of foreshadowing, I’m afraid)

As for Sam, I am glad that she was headed back to her room, rather than to try to find Jason after hearing he’d been arrested and released. As for the Liz thing, I was very satisfied that it was Jason who told Sam about it, unlike what my cable breakdown said, which was that “Sam is surprised by Liz”. I have said it once, I have said it a million times. When Jason is forthcoming and honest with Sam, there is no secret, so there is no threat. Secrets were the one thing that buried their love the first time around. Furthermore, when Jason told Sam, he said he didn’t want her involved, which I took to mean that he didn’t want her having to deal with any of that. Once gain, I hope all of you intelligent, soap-savvy chicks can see that it was a big, old plot point and nothing more. Jason was all about warning Sam to be careful, because Sam is the one he loves. When Jason said, “Please Sam, you have to be careful”, I heard the love in his voice. Too bad that when REALITY BITES this time, it may just be because Jason went after the wrong person, not because Sam trusted the wrong person.

Let’s just hope the damage is not irreparable.

17 responses

  1. Kathy Glagowski

    Once again you nailed it Angelique!!! I too got a good feeling from Jason. He didn’t want Sam involved because he wanted to spare her!! You could hear the love in his voice. I’m glad McBain told him it didn’t matter if he was interested in Sam because Sam loves Jason!! He’s the one she wants. He needed to hear this!! Plus Monica’s words the other day got to him. He’s starting to realize he CAN love the baby that we all know is really his!!!! Hopefully he can tell Sam before its too late. Have a great trip with the family in N. Carolina

    May 31, 2012 at 2:20 am

  2. jasam ff

    Great blog as always angelique. I’m just sick to death of the nonstop angst with jasam. It’s like the only thing they write for them is sad derpessed jasam everyday.I can’t remember the last time they were happy. or had any romance for them.

    May 31, 2012 at 3:30 am

  3. Carol

    Road trip! NC is beautiful and it holds two of my sisters. You will be riding right Virginia on your way which is where I live Angelique. Hope you guys have a safe and fun trip.
    Back to JaSam…lets see, I thought John really got to Jason yesterday when he told him that even if he was after Sam, she loved you…hope the idiot got it….loved he told Sam about Elizabeth, although I still have no clue why he couldnt have called anyone else….of course all they talked about was Sam, which was a good thing…what bothers me is that Eliazbeth keeps asking him if he and Sam are over….she so wants to be the one to comfort Jason if he and Sam are thru but she knows she doesnt have a chance unless it is truly over….I wish we could get some happy JaSam moments but it aint happening anytime soon so we have to just sit back and keep those big girl panties on!

    May 31, 2012 at 5:37 am

    • Kathy Glagowski

      Oh Carol, I do agree with you. Especially about elizabeth. She is just waiting to wrap her legs around Jason again!!!But it ain’t happening as long as Sam is around!!!!!He truly loves his phoenix even though he’s being written as a jerk. I do believe Monica and Mc Bain’s words got through to Jason. Hopefully he can soon tell Sam but I agree with you,it’s going to take a while

      May 31, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • Beatrice

      Lizabitch keep asking him,cause she wants to go in for the kill,you just can’t trust her around men,as soon as they show her a little attention,she gets horny,I just hate her,still wondering why is she around Our couple.

      May 31, 2012 at 10:03 am

  4. Beatrice

    I hope you have fun,during you little trip….I want that brat, Kristina gone,I would be ok with her disappearing,if she does not get her way…why is our Jason so hard headed,maybe Carly will get though to him.

    May 31, 2012 at 6:55 am

  5. Jerron

    This is all new to Jason. While on one hand I agree, he usually does walk away rather than fight, but he has never felt this thing called “jealously.” His women are usually the ones fighting over him. Now maybe part of him can understand how Sam felt during that bloody summer. Maybe now that these foreign emotions are going to led to a more compassionate Jason. A Jason that won’t be so reckless throwing Liz in Sam’s face. (I believe he did that a few times these last few weeks). Unfortunately he doesn’t realize this is what he feeling so it may take a while.

    Question…does anyone else wish the segments were longer? It seems like as soon as they start something they are cutting to something else.

    May 31, 2012 at 7:55 am

    • Kathy Glagowski

      Agree Jerron!!! The JaSam segments are way to short!!!I want to see more of them not McBain or Liz.I loved the scene where Sam told her mother about the rape. Alexis’ emotions were so
      great. The way she was touching Sam and kissing her,like you would a child who was hurt. But I really want to see Jason kiss and hug Sam and tell he he’s sorry for being a jerk!!!

      May 31, 2012 at 8:03 am

      • Jerron

        I still can’t believe they cut off that beautiful Alexis/Sam moment for that Kristina ish!

        May 31, 2012 at 8:23 am

  6. Dear Angelique: As an ex-NY girl I can tell you that, as a transplant, you will love NC- Not only is it beautiful, but the people are kind, loving, and easy to be around. A very different way of life but I loved it, and my heart broke when I was “transplanted” again, to Texas. I miss NC & SC to this very day.
    Just now I am dealing with family illness, so won’t be commenting a lot, but I still try to read the blog and keep up with our couple. Having faith that the love we have followed all these years will bring them through this madness. Stay well, and remember how important you are to all of us. Blessings.

    May 31, 2012 at 10:44 am

    • jasamforever

      awee… that was really sweet, hope everything works out for you & your family sarah. Angelique u too with ur road trip. jerron, carol, kathy & beatrice i so agree with you… i hope liz takes her horny self in patrick’s direction… i hate that everytime she sees jason all she ever asks is if he and sam work things out. i’m sorry but no matter how they write her character i still hate it!!! i hate her as a prop too! i’m waiting for my jasam to find their way back to each other, i’m tired of all the sad / depressing scenes i want some romance again… i miss them.

      stay strong …. they will be back… jasam forever…

      May 31, 2012 at 12:30 pm

  7. rosejasam4ever

    Poor spinelli, my heart broke for him when Maxie married that ungrateful Matt. I miss KS, feel like she would have done these scenes justice but JL did her best. As for Jason I sure hope he listened with his ears and heart to the advice from McBain, he knows Sam is the best thing that ever happened to his ass but he is so hung up on the baby, Jasey poo that is your baby get over yourself. Am all for Mcsiblings, Jason might not like it but you know what he got over Alexis being Sam’s mother and at some point he has to realize the world does not revolve around him.

    AS for Liz she can ask till she is blue, purple but Jason belongs to Sam honey so move along to your next poor unsuspecting target. I feel for Sam this pregnancy has been filled with so much angst and very few tender moments btwn jasam. Basically she has been doing this all by herself so far, glad the Davis girls are now on board but the brat has put all the focus back on herself. I wish sonny would do what you suggested Angelique lock her up till she comes to her senses but nope Alexis is already ready to give her what she wants, uugh.

    Am looking forward to today as Sam is going into labor already, excited and sad at same time as Jason wont be there but am hoping he shows up on a whim. Ok have you guys noticed that Jason has given Sam permission to talk to John twice now, at Metro court and yesterday when he said why don’t you ask your friend John. Love jealous Jason but hope the real Jason pops up soon.

    Angelique enjoy the road trip with the family and hope you like NC

    May 31, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    • Kathy Glagowski

      yes, well Jason better wise up—soon!!! That baby is coming “early”. I don’t think so!!!! Right on time because Sam was pregnant already when Franco”raped’her!!!!! The child is Jasons. Hate the fact that McBain is with her while shes giving birth. It should be Jason but its only Thursday. you know how long these things last in soap land!!! I don’t blame Sam for asking John to stay with her. She is scared and has suffered through losing a baby before. Hope though we see her crying out for Jason though. I think Sonny got to him a little and Carly will tomorrow but will it be too late? He’s going to rough up John much like Sam did to Liz in 2007. And Liz, she’s just waiting to get her legs around Jason again but he wants Sam and Sam wants Jason. glad to have so many people feeling the same as I do

      May 31, 2012 at 3:46 pm

  8. jasamforever

    i miss jasam.. right now what i’d do for them to hug or even for him to brush her hair away from her face … 😦 i really want them to be together again…

    May 31, 2012 at 7:53 pm

  9. Sonia

    You will be okay, change is scary sometimes.. Great post

    May 31, 2012 at 9:53 pm

  10. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers! Have a great road trip Angelique! I too love NC I wish I had taken a chance manyyears ago and moved there! It has a great family atmosphere! RC is tearing Jason apart and building John up! He has changed Jason character like they did with Sam,remember! RC can twist and reshape all he chooses but Sam and Jason are it for me! I’m not even mad at Jason or John! I am totally upset with RC! I’m getting ready to go toYT to check something out! Remember the night Sam slept with Ric! Jason went to see Carly and she finally got through to him about Sam! That scene between them was a good one! Carly was trully Jasons friend! I want to see the timeline if it is close to now! Also I wish Spinelli had another Romantic Interest! Maxie has broken his heart one time too many for me! Soinelli is too good for Maxie (i miss Kristen Storm)! Luke and Tracey brings a smile to my face,who would have thought these 2 would be a good match! Liz and Jasons scenes seemed forced to me too! I hoped that this new Kristina would have grown some I see not,still a brat! I did like Sonnt trying to protect Alexis…..he usually does always! RC seems to be changing Sonnys character,I like it!

    May 31, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  11. Traveler

    Wow…North Carolina!! I hear wonderful things about that beautiful State. I was once a Southern California Girl “only”. But then Me/Hubby/Son made the move to Las Vegas (Henderson). Lots of tears on my part making that decision to move. But not once did I ever regret it 🙂 Home is where the Heart is!!

    I just wanted to Hug Spinelli so bad!! 😦

    *Shakes Pom Poms* Way to go John, Way to go!! *Shakes Pom Poms*
    Loved everything he said to Jason. I have to admit.. I enjoyed Rewatching those scenes over and over again. I can tell Jason is finally starting to see the light!!

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!!! Viva la JaSam!!

    May 31, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Leave a Reply

