Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF?

Good morning, GHers!

That question actually did not start out as rhetorical…we (The Sicks is what we are calling ourselves these days) were just talking about how when your fever is spiking, you can hear yourself “double”. LOL.

But, the conversation stuck in my head, and when I went back to rewatch the show, I found that I was asking the question,DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF? of many of our Port Charlesians, and not just the feverish kind. 🙂

Like…

~ Todd Oh, how it bugs me that I even have to write about this, because I actually couldn’t watch OLTL when RH because the “real” Todd again. I thought it was a slap in the face to TSJ, and to fans, who had to be convinced that TSJ was the real Todd in the first place. The fact that he is now on my GH, and that he will inevitably be part of this blog gets on my nerves. 😛 But really, Todd, DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF? How does any father think they are helping their daughter by trying to convince her that the attempted murder charges hanging over her blonde little head are just going to go away? DOes Todd not see what being his daughter has already cost Starr? Does he not see the influence he has had on her life choices has been toxic? Ugh.

~ Olivia This disappoints me, because if Liv ever had a saving grace, it was her sense of family, and her loyalty to hers. Watching her treat a clearly distressed, depressed, and damnified Kate like some leper was not what I expected. I thought where Liv comes from, family sticks together, even through thick, thin, and handcuffs. It’s gotta take a seriously stiff upper lip to see your own flesh and blood in that condition,a nd not feel a morsel of sympathy. Olivia was just plain cruel, which didn’t really register with me. Liv, DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF?  Liv is doing a better job of sticking by Steve, who she’s known about 10 minutes, and knows for a fact that he really did kill someone! *shakes head* Liv went on to make a really big deal about how Kate tried to leave Connie behind – as if that’s the unpardonable sin, but really Liv better take a closer look at the glass house she lives in. Liv left a whole lot of secrets buried in Bensonhurst once, too. I know she hasn’t forgotten that her son was shot by a man who didn’t know he was about to murder his son! And I don’t know, but if a doctor called me to talk about my cousin, who is freakin’ handcuffed to a hospital bed, you can bet your bottom dollar (sorry for the dollar bill reference again, Kate) that D.I.D. would be a helluva a lot more than a “fancy medical term” to me. Liv owed it to Kate to try to find out exactly what she is dealing with, and how she can be helped. Eh, yeah I know she gave in and hugged her in the end, but it still left me cold. Liv is going to have to earn some points back with me in the family department. She shot whatever points she had straight to hell!

Something definitely NOT leaving me cold? Kelly Sullivan’s portrayal of the tortured, terrified, and truly repentant Kate! I hated that RC was gonna write this s/l again so soon after leaving behind Viki/Niki and Jess/Tess/Bess, but Ms. Sullivan completely changed my mind! She had somehow managed to make me feel sympathetic towards Kate, and yet still make me giggle at Connie sometimes. I hope she knows what an extraordinary job she is doing! *applause*

~Sonny What was it I said yesterday about Sonny’s abandoning Kate? Make that a double after Wednesday’s episode! Sonny is completely in denial about the fact that mental illness exists outside of his own mind, and that other people may actually have bigger, deeper struggles with this disorder. In his narcissistic  little head, he must think that he can be the only one with a legitimate excuse for behaving completely out of character, and for being so out of control that others need to take over parts of his life for him. Hey Sonny, DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF? Because we all did, and considering that Jason’s right in that what Kate is suffering from is worse than what you’re dealing with, you really did sound like an ass!

(I feel I need to preface this with a disclaimer. I am, and will always be, #TeamJaSam. That will never change. When I can find an insight I feel I can share regarding Jason’s less than swoon-worthy behavior, I will gladly do so! However, my loves, there are times, that even I cannot find rhyme nor reason to what is going on inside his head – or in this case – his dialogue sheet. That is why I didn’t even try with yesterday’s post as far as my thoughts on Jason. Simply put – I felt it was lack of integrity of the character, and I could only place that on the writers’ shoulders. Either way, Jason is sometimes going to be on the receiving end of a few choice words from me. He should consider himself lucky – I wouldn’t bother if I didn’t care so much about him. 🙂 That being said, I am not giving up, giving in, or giving them anything but my full love and support! I Promise! *curved pinky* )

Moving right along to my list of people I ask the question of…

~Jason Well, lucky for Sonny, no one sounded like a bigger ass today than Jason! I’ll let you in on a little secret about me. I actually twitch in church when I hear someone preaching about something he has no business preaching about because he is the worst offender of them all. *getting heated just thinking about it* Jason made me twitch so bad, I do believe I threw something at his head, but it could have been a hallucination from the fever. I’m just not sure. What I am sure of is that there was no one who made me ask this question more loudly or more incredulously than Mr. Morgan himself! UUUMMM…JASON...DO YOU FREAKIN’ HEAR YOURSELF? In case Jason, or anyone else missed it, these were Jason’s exact words to Sonny, after Sonny reminded Jason that Kate’s not bi-polar: “No she’s not, what she has is worse. Kate’s in a lot of trouble. Her life is a mess, and it’s nothing she chose! I understand that you’re angry. Can you try to understand that she’s sick?” *twitch, twitch* Oh, Lord, someone hand me a fan, because I feel like I’m at church! I must ask again: Jason Morgan, DO. YOU. HEAR . YOURSELF?

Better yet,  could Jason just stand in front of the mirror, and have that same conversation with himself, inserting Sam’s name in the appropriate places? Here, I will help:

Jason, no Sam’s not Franco’s sister, what Sam is, is worse. She’s his real victim.

Sam’s in a lot of trouble – she’s facing this without your help, and because of this, she is always tripping over McPain. Not only is she in trouble, but her heart is troubled. She thinks you can’t love this baby, and because she is a mother first (Don’t know how you forgot that about her when you watched it happen with Sonny over Baby Lila), Sam will put her baby first. (We are so proud of our girl!) She thinks she cannot be with you if you can’t love “her” baby. Hmmm. Come to think of it, Jason, maybe you’re the one in trouble, because we all know that if you lose her, you yourself are lost.

Sam’s life is a mess – your wife is pregnant. Pregnant! This is a time she should be enjoying moment by precious moment! This is the miracle she dreamed of for the entire time you’ve known and loved her! Instead of enjoying it, she has been stressed, tormented, teased into a false sense of security, feared losing you to death, feared losing you to your jack-ass-ity, teased once more into thinking everything was okay, had her mind blown, felt abandoned, made to feel like it  was her fault, and now fearing the future of her marriage for the sake of her baby. While staying at a motel. Alone. *smacks forehead* Jason! (Or maybe it’s your evil alter ego we’ll call “Ronnie”) Whatever happened to, “You have me, everyday, for the rest of my life.” ????? Do you even remember trying to convince to trust in marriage with you? Meanwhile, you are solving Sonny’s problems, being Kate’s defense attorney, visiting the grave of the son you could never visit at home, and having a pissing contest with McBain over Sonny. GET A FREAKIN’ CLUE, YOU BIG LUG! (Oh, don’t even get me started on the lug nut and what lug was supposed to symbolize!) *sobbing*

And finally…most devastatingly true:

It’s nothing she chose – Hey, ass! Sam didn’t choose to be Franco’s victim. She didn’t choose to “get raped”. She didn’t choose to “get pregnant by him”. She didn’t even choose to be in McBain’s orbit. She chose to be your wife. To stand by you. To love you, no matter what. How you could think it’s okay for Sam to be worrying about anything other than you counting her calories, or her servings of calcium or folic acid, is beyond any of us! Sam deserves to be loved and cared for now, more than ever, for still caring about your wellbeing when any other woman you’ve known would have blamed you for everything that happened to her because of your “life” and your “enemies”. Why can’t you see that?

We get that you’re angry – Be angry! At Franco. At what he did. At how you failed Sam…yada, yada, yada. Be angry at the fact that McBain has been there for your wife, and that she trusts him and turns to him in confidence. Be angry that he saved her and “her” baby because you were too busy solving Sonny’s problems.  Yes, be angry. But first, FIRST be angry at your damned self! Be angry that you keep making the same mistakes with the woman who’s made you happier than anyone, who has loved you unconditionally, and forgiven more than you deserved. Be angry that John McBain could only fill up not just the space, but the ROLE,  you left, and keep leaving, wide open for him. Be angry that you are pushing Sam to turn to him, instead of putting on your big boy underwear and  pleading with her to turn to you, even though you’ve failed her miserably so far. Once you’ve done that, please move on to your own final step:

Can you try to understand that she is sick…and tired – Of Fighting: To stay strong. To seem brave. To deal with what happened. To keep you from going over the edge. To keep you, period? Can you see that Sam’s heart is as sick as Kate’s? That it’s hurting because you are hurting? Because your marriage is hurting? Because your friendship is hurting? Because she fears her a baby will grow up hurting? Can you try to understand what Sam has already been though, so that maybe you’ll stop putting her through so much more?

All of your advice to Sonny was really good stuff. The question remains: DO YOU HEAR YOURSELF?

If not, trust me, you will hear all of us…

Angelique

**************************************************************

Call: GH Comment Lines: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/generalhospital

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Ron Carlivati, Headwriter / Frank Valentini, Executive Producer/Kelly Monaco/Steve Burton…(or any other actor)
c/o ABC-TV General Hospital, 4151 Prospect Avenue, Hollywood, CA 90027

28 responses

  1. Connie Hernandez

    Whatever you said in here Angelique, I WANTED TO SCREAM THAT OUT LOUD! Wish all Jasam fans would stand united in our couple’s mess, But No, others Chose to Blame SAM??? Now, That I can NEVER UNDERSTAND. NEVER WILL.
    #teamJASAM till the end.
    Thanks Angelique for this wonderful thing you do.
    love,
    CONNIE @einnoc115

    May 10, 2012 at 3:27 am

  2. Kathy Glagowski

    As always you and I have the same thoughts!! I am also Team JaSam and no one wants them back together more than me but——- Jason is acting like an ass and so out of character!!! He’s giving everyone more attention than the woman he is supposed to love — no matter what!!! Treating her like she asked to be raped!!! He needs a good swift kick in the nuts!!!! Hopefully he’ll see what he is doing to her and come around

    May 10, 2012 at 3:46 am

  3. Beatrice

    Jason,is becoming harder and harder to deal with…as I was reading the section on him I am like…this has nothing to do with Jason not hearing himself,but everything to do with BAD,writing…this writer want something different for Jason and Sam,they insist on making the baby the problem as a way to get what they want LiarSon,McBam…it is as if they don’t care how it was,but what they want, I keep thinking ok this eppy can’t be worst than the last,but I keep being wrong…they want us to believe Jason just don’t care,his as cold as can be,it is just so frustrating and SAD…I just want to punch Jason lately…it gets more and more insulting,he gets everyone’s PAIN but Sam’s.

    May 10, 2012 at 6:12 am

  4. lt4bama

    I tried to stay up for this last night/early this morning but sleep was the victor. First thing I did the AM was grab my laptop and come here. All I have to say is Bravo!!!

    May 10, 2012 at 6:16 am

  5. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers,Angeligue…….. you are so gifted! I am with in asking JM do you hear yourself as he became the voice of reason for Sonny and Kate! So much care and concern I ask myself what about Sam and the baby! You are so right Sam is just tired!!!! Obviously RC decided to rewrite Sam and Jason to do and say things that go against who they are together and apart! Here we go again! John McBain is so arrogant I would have been happy as heck if Jason could have saw him touch Sam the way he did! Really hes trying to hard for me! I do think it was a cute when Sam try to reassure Jason when he saw Sam in Johns room!
    As much as Jason is being an Ass so is John he is “supposedly” committed to Natalie and Liam! Is John doing what Anna warned of trying to get Sonny by any mean neccessary including using Sam!!!!
    I have enjoyed Sams and Alexis growth in their relationship! It is going to be interesting when Alexis finds about the baby and Franco! I am curious to see how she deals with Jason! I do think this will start the conversation about Sams Dad! When Sam told John her Mom would be there in about 12.5mins or less if she runs the red lights which she probably will was a daughter knowing her mom loves and cares for her! I had wanted Sam to go to her moms so Alexis grandmom gene would kick in! Anyway “TEAM JASAM ALWAYS”!

    May 10, 2012 at 7:01 am

    • Beatrice

      At least give Sam her mommie the writing for this couple keeps getting worst,The writers are not writing for JaSam, they are writing for ME(John)…maybe part of his contract deal was he replace Jason.

      May 10, 2012 at 7:36 am

  6. Jerron

    I could barely watch yesterdays show. I knew it was going to be the same ole same ole in regards to Jason and Sam. I knew as sure as I know my name is Jerron, that Jason was going to catch Sam in McBain’s room. It would have been a nice pleasant surprise for Alexis to have been on the other side of that door. For Alexis to take one look at the situation, and then have Jason come in and cuss his butt out.

    I am giving Jason about 5 more days to get out of his fugue state. Or better yet I need, and I think the remaining Jasammers need to see Jason start to turn the corner on this. Seriously enough! It’s not compelling because it’s so out of character. Especially considering he has loved every other child that looks his way. Writers, wikipedia can be your friend, in regards to character history! He is treating her worse than he did when she was in her dark period!

    And don’t get me wrong, I get it. I understand they wanted to throw some “roadblocks” up on our happy couple. But this is just an overdose.

    May 10, 2012 at 7:34 am

    • Beatrice

      Boy do I agree with you,this is just a bit too extreme,…I would not mind hearing RC,say the JaSam era is over with, all they have to do is watch old clips to understand this couple, but no,want to come in and do what they want, if RC wanted change it should have been done after the baby.

      May 10, 2012 at 7:48 am

    • I agree with you but thinking about it, I can’t imagine one thing Jason can do right now that would make up for him not wanting to love Sam’s baby as if it were his own. He just doesnt have a clue of all the things Sam has been and is going through. I do not want her to turn to another man for support and she shouldnt have too. I am just at a lost right now as a JaSam fan and hanging on by a thread.

      May 10, 2012 at 11:40 am

      • Kathy glagowski

        I agree Carol! i’m hanging on by a thread too. I don’t even recognize Jason any more. The writers have masked who the character is and what Sam means to him. He can’t even look at her. I was so upset that after he rushed to get to her at the Haunted Str he didn’t even kiss her!!!!!!! Then to go off to Jakes grave with Liz!!!!!!!!!I don’t want Sam with another man but John is giving her the comfort and support her husband should.

        May 10, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      • jerron

        I agree with you in regards to not wanting to love Sam’s baby, but where I differ is that fact that he is treating her like a stranger, or like she cheated on him. It’s a situation that while he may hate, it’s even worse for her. I can’t give him a pass just because it’s Franco’s baby. Where did his Sam love go?

        May 10, 2012 at 8:58 pm

  7. Traveler

    Bravo…Bravo..Bravo!! Standing Ovation on today’s Blog!! Totally had me in tears.
    I so wish Jason could read it… TPTB are REALLY the ones that need to be reading this!! For the life of me.. I cant figure out where they are taking this story and our couple? I just hope they dont take it so far that JaSam cant come back together. *Tears*
    I do hope Jason doesnt wait until its too late to be there for our Sam. She really is the best thing that has ever happened to him.

    #TeamJaSam 4Ever!! *curved pinky*

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!! xoxoxo

    May 10, 2012 at 8:40 am

  8. Remember, guys, it’s the WRITING that is making our couple look bad. And I will never believe that SB likes the way it is going at all. He is being asked to play Jason as a thoughtless, clueless jackass, in the way he is treating the woman he said he would “never lose again”, “never hurt you again”, and all the quotes mentioned in today’s blog. Funny, I was thinking of that lug nut today. Yet again, Sam accepted with love and good humor. Never mind that Maxie flipped her ring into the water, and Jason promised to get her another. He never did that either, and that is the least of all that they make him do now. Ugh! I want our Jason back, and our Sam back, and for this garbage to end, Pronto. I, for one, will never accept McPain or ME with Sam. Never. I left before, and will again, but I hesitate to hate on Jason, since that seems to be the goal of RC . So be careful guys, and speak for our couple as a couple. Thanks Angelique for giving us wisdom and get well, everyone in your family. Blessings.

    May 10, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • Jerron

      You know the craziest thing is, even though this is absolute garbage writing, I can still see the love between Sam and Jason.

      May 10, 2012 at 9:45 am

  9. SamJasonsHeart

    I said the same thing as Jason was yapping to Sonny about Kate.. Do You Hear Yourself, Jason!
    Hoping you an Karina feel better soon!
    xoxo

    May 10, 2012 at 9:24 am

  10. OMG! WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH JASON? Please Soap God give me the patience. I wanted to take a gun and shoot Jason yesterday when he dismissed Sam and said this isnt about YOU! My blood pressure will not be able to take much more of this… I can not believe the “WORDS COMING OUT OF HIS MOUTH”!
    Rant over and thanks for a wonderful blog as always my dear friend.

    May 10, 2012 at 11:34 am

  11. Lara

    First off I hope you feel better! There is a nasty bug going around. I’ve had to admit several patients already. Stay hydrated, remember less water, more Gatorade!!
    Secondly, AMEN, for this post!!! I am so stressed and heartsick over what Jason is doing to our girl!! Your WIFE was just held hostage, gun pointed at her baby, and you couldn’t even muster up a hug? A kiss? An “I love you”! I wish you could swear on soaps b/c I so want someone to say to Jason, “WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH YOU?!” It pained me so much to see how happy Sam was when McBain asked her if the baby was alright after the checkup. She’s had so much stress and negativity that any kind words directed at the baby are surprising. This should be the happiest time for these two. Instead, she’s wondering if she might have to leave him b/c he mightn’t be able to love her baby and he’s comforting Kate and telling Sonny to accept her. The way he dismissed her yesterday was just disgusting, like she was nothing, no one. I keep saying she should just move out to Windemere, embrace her inner Cassadine and raise HER baby out there. I have to be honest it’s getter harder to watch Jason’s scenes b/c I get so angry. Steve should think about getting some security b/c most of the nurses here want to kill him!

    May 10, 2012 at 11:55 am

    • Kathy glagowski

      Lara, I too am a nurse and I really agree with you!!!I keep playing youtube videos to remember what a great couple they are. Remember his face when he saw her on the strecher instead of Brenda? how much love he had for her then. Then the wedding and how sweet the dragon and his phoenix were. What happened. why are they doing this?To make them even stronger? I don’t think they can the way Jason is acting;.

      May 10, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    • Beatrice

      LOL…I can’t believe what is happening to us….

      May 10, 2012 at 6:22 pm

  12. rosejasam4ever

    Hope u are feeling better and as always you hit the mark with today’s blog.
    After watching yesterdays scenes on YT. l was disappointed about what was happening on my screen. RC is not shaking things up btwn this couple he is single handed destroying one of the best GH couples. I was watching the show but it was not the GH l knew, it felt like something else with just characters from GH. Never watched Oltl so no idea how that one was but l swear this is not the gh am used to.

    Jason is walking around being everyone’s hero but Sam’s, like really who is this brick wall what happened to the stone cold we all loved coz he loved Sam like his life depended on it. Sonny has always been selfish but for him not to understand Kate’s illness boggles me. The writing has been horrendous, what happened to love in the afternoon, RC seems to have forgotten all about that. We need to remind him that this is GH and not Oltl, there is a reason his other show was cancelled we don’t want to be his victims. Jasam fans we need to call, email let us be as loud as we can be coz this is BS at its best.

    May 10, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • Beatrice

      So agree with you,BS indeed,I can’t stand it anymore…I want my JaSam back

      May 10, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  13. Hello I’m new to the blogs. Just wanted to make a comment Bravo, Bravo! And yes I’m a diehard Jasam fan and will not stop support them.

    May 10, 2012 at 8:01 pm

    • jasamforever

      i agree we can’t give up on them… but its really hard to watch them this way & to watch jason with liz dat phony

      May 12, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  14. brenda

    Bravo! Its to bad that you can’t be on GH and say all those things to Jason. Fans all over the world would be cheering for you. Thank you, for always knowing just what to write, it’s as if you read my mind. I too am a huge JaSam fan and refuse to give up. Thanks for keeping us going.

    May 10, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  15. Sonia

    Bravo Bravo Clap Clap.. When I heard Jason talking I said hypocrite.. he is as crazy as Kate/Connie.. Visiting dead Jake but could not see him alive what a crock.. he look stupid..

    May 12, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • Beatrice

      Imagine,what he was saying as he was at the cemetery,to Jake “I wish you were here,I miss you so much…thank goodness,we did not have to indure,that scene…I feel that is the least they could have done for us…with all the silliness they have been putting us though.

      May 12, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      • jasamforever

        elizabeth uses jake to get at jason every chance she gets… to me it’s always jake’s bday!

        May 12, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      • Beatrice

        LOL, I know if she miss Jake so much why doesn’t’ she show us, by spending time with the ones that are alive…

        May 13, 2012 at 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

