Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

THE MAD GIRLS CLUB

TGIF, GHers!

So they say that once you’ve hung around the same women for a while, you all start to PMS at the same time. It could make for a dangerous situation for the male population…or at least that’s what my son and husband tell me. Come to think of it, I think it was the most repeated phrase of the lone male teacher (the gym teacher) at the very first school where I worked. LOL.

It’s like The Mad Girls Club.

It seems that’s the case for the women in Port Charles, as well. All the women we saw today were pissed off at someone or something, and it made for a different, if not exactly interesting, hour of daytime television. *sigh* I don’t watch The Bad Girls Club, but I stayed tuned in for Thursday’s Mad Girls Club, because I am hoping (and praying) that all of this anger and frustration will lead to some story lines we can truly get invested in again. I am keeping tmy fingers crossed that the warmer weather will make for some hot story lines and some steamy scenes soon, because honestly, I can’t even remember tow people on GH even made out, much less made love! You’d think GH was airing on the Gospel Channel. -_______-

The first of our Mad Girls, is really the maddest of them all, in more ways than one. Carly is always walking around half-cocked, and after she walked in and kneed Johnny, she apparently wants him walking around half-cocked, too! (Though a little more literally, *cough, cough*Carly wanted to hear from Johnny after all. She needed to hear from him how he could hurt her that way. How he could be so careless with her emotions. Carly needed answers, but I can guarantee you that the answers she got were not the answers she would have ever expected! Carly thought Johnny was trying to BS his way out of what he did, until she heard the letters D.I.D. That positively stopped her in her tracks, and gave us all a rare moment of silence. I loved that Carly was completely stumped by what Johnny was telling her, because it totally took apart all the reasons she thinks she has for hating Kate Howard. What Carly will do with that information remains to be seen, but I can’t really imagine Carly searching for compassion among all of those feelings she’s got going on. She is, after all, my vote for President of The Mad Girls Club.

Starr Manning should not be back in Port Charles. Why her family back in Llanview didn’t do more to keep her there is beyond me. Starr is grieving, out of control, and acting stupidly. Yes, all of the prerequisites for being part of The Mad Girls Club. I am not sure if Max and Milo and all of the other paid bodyguards Jason and Sonny are always referring to were at an Organized Crime Convention, or if they all get the same hour off for dinner, but it just makes no sense to me that someone with a gun would be able to walk into “Sonny’s Su Casa” (as Sam so adorably called it during her Dominoes and Tequila party in ’05) , and then walk out with Sonny being held at gunpoint. And I’m sorry, I know Sonny has issues with men who hit women, but are you telling me that in all of the years Sonny has been the head of a crime family, and after being raised in rough and tumble Bensonhurst, Sonny wouldn’t know how to get that gun out of Starr’s shaky grip, being that he thinks she’s just a “little girl”. Now something tells me that Starr is about to take Sonny on A Drive Down Memory Lane. Someone should tell her that we usually do that on Sundays around here.

To be fair, if Carly gets my vote for President of The Mad Girls Club, Delores certainly gets my vote for vice-president. Since her arrival on the PC scene, she has been carrying around a chip on her shoulder, and has had more than enough attitude to go around. Mad Girl, indeed. Now Delores turned all of that anger on Dante, who kinda deserved it. Dante let his file clerk wife convince him that Padilla was the one who deleted the evidence pics off of his computer, and basically gave Ronnie exactly what he needed to set up her husband. Now that Ronnie turned the tables on Dante, Dante was in need of Delores’ help, because let’s face it – not one of those cops looked very willing to help Dante. I guess Delores’ desperation to clear her husband’s name overpowered her resentment towards Dante, because she finally gave in and let him out. Mad as she is, Delores seems to be just a little misunderstood…and well deserving of a few heartfelt apologies.

Lulu earns her place in The Mad Girls Club for finally being mad enough to make some noise, but damn it, I am not convinced that she has earned her way into the PI Club AT ALL.  I mean, why wasn’t Lulu making all that ruckus while Ronnie was over at the PCPD and she was there alone? Or while McBain had his head halfway in the motel room? She may not have known he was a cop, but he was a human being with enough balls to give Ronnie a hard time. Surely it had to occur to her that if she made noise while he had the door open, it might have worked to her advantage, no? Now poor Sam will be dragged into this mess, which McBain has already been dragged into, and that makes me eligible to be part of The Mad Girls Club!

Our Sam surely didn’t start out as a member of The Mad Girls Club. In fact, she was really quite the opposite. I thought Sam was feeling very reflective about what had just happened between her and Jason, and in true Sam McCall-Morgan form, she took full responsibility for her role in what’s going on between her and Jason. She admitted that she should have turned to him, even if it was hard, and she did the one thing I have always loved and respected her for most: she refused to play the victim. If I must endure these all-too-often run-ins with John, I am grateful for one thing: Their scenes, so far, have not felt romantic in nature to me, and I really do appreciate that. It doesn’t mean that there isn’t a chemistry between them, because obviously, there is an ease and a trust between Kelly and Michael as actors that comes through. In fact, their dialog felt so respectful of the fact that they each love other people, that I found myself relaxing a bit as I saw Sam enjoying something that the writers haven’t given her enough of, in my opinion. That’s friendship. A friendship that’s all hers. John is Sam’s (insta)friend, whether it seems impossible to wrap our brains around or not. He is for Sam, he defends her, he takes her side first, and cares about her feelings only. Just like Carly, Robin, Liz, Sonny, and Spin do for Jason. It was high time Sam got just a little of the same! Sam has a lot going on, and she has a lot to think about and process. I was glad for her that she actually had a few moments of lightness and laughter in between. I hate to admit it, but I even thought the cheese snacks thing was cute. Unfortunately, those were probably the last smiles to grace Sam’s face for a while, as her impatience for Ronnie’s handling of what might be a “situation” in that room placed her and her baby in harm’s way.

Ronnie better pray that John puts him out of his misery quickly. I happen to remember Jason shoving his big, shiny gun in Ronnie’s face over Sam’s safety once already. That’s something you don’t ever want to force Jason to do twice. Especially when it comes to The Love of His Life!

Have a great weekend!

‘Til Sunday…
Angelique

**************************************************************

Call: GH Comment Lines: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/#!/generalhospital

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Ron Carlivati, Headwriter / Frank Valentini, Executive Producer/Kelly Monaco/Steve Burton…(or any other actor)
c/o ABC-TV General Hospital, 4151 Prospect Avenue, Hollywood, CA 90027

13 responses

  1. Kathy Glagowski

    Yes,Angelique!!! You are right on as usual. Sam has a friend to talk to and be defended by. That’s all John is to her! I dont see anything romantic there either. She loves Jason so much. That’s why she took his dragon! I hope Jason saves her but I think John will because he is with Dante. Can’t wait for your next blog

    May 4, 2012 at 5:55 am

  2. Everything on yesterdays GH was sort of a blur to me because all I could think about was getting me some Cheetos….poor sam didnt get to eat any before ronnie had swept her off with lulu….i would like to know how he got them both out so quick when we know sam would have kicked his privates before he took her. oh well, more OOC stuff for our girl.
    I do not see any romantic involvement betweem sam and mcbain…sam loves jason and would never cheat on him.

    May 4, 2012 at 7:32 am

  3. Beatrice

    Ha ha ,I love the gangsters convention,statement, not sure if that makes me bad, but I felt Sonny should have wrestled that gun from Starr, and call the cops to come get her…she is out of control.

    May 4, 2012 at 7:53 am

  4. Lara

    I missed a lot of yesterday’s episode, I had a patient that coded during the show ;( I would have loved to have seen Carly kicked Johnny in the boys though!! With that being said I kinda thought yesterday’s ep. was a little slow, but that may just be in light of Tuesday’s.

    I have to say though that McBain has definitely grown on me. I never watched OLTL so I had no reference for him when he came on and I hated his first interactions with Sam. I do realize now that he seems like he a genuinely nice guy. It warmed me to see him concerned about Sam. You’re right she’s been so devoid of friends that stranger as he is he’s filling the friend role quite nicely. I definitely am not getting a romantic vibe from these two AT ALL! Their interactions are very much sibling like. I loved the scene with the Cheetos!! Especially after he took them away and she just went and bought more!! After all the drama that tiny little scene was so lighthearted and funny and so needed.

    May 4, 2012 at 7:57 am

  5. Jerron

    3 bags no less!

    What troubles me about McBain is that his timing is a little too perfect. Sam is vulnerable and very needy right now. It’s easy to like McBain because Jason is acting so bad, but when Jasam get their game back on I want to see McBain then.

    May 4, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • Kathy glagowski

      You are so right!!!!!McBain is always there almost like he’s stalking Sam!!!!But really, I don’t see anything romantic there but I think Jason will!!!Wait till he finds out Ronnie has Sam!!!But when he gets to the Haunted Star You know who is there with Sam and I think he’s feeling the baby kick. Just like when Sam saw Jason feeling Elizabeth’s baby kick in 2007. He’s not going to like it!!hopefully he’ll fight for his wife and child

      May 4, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  6. Traveler

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!!
    I did watch OLTL so I know John’s background. He wasnt the kind of guy to take advantage of peeps/woman. So I do believe he’s being sincere with Sam….
    I have to admit it was nice seeing Sam smile and some what relaxed. I do think she needs this break from Jason right now. I just hope it doesnt last long.
    Viva la JaSam!!

    May 4, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    • jerron

      When John told Dante not to call Jason, it stuck me as a c-block. I don’t think he has the malice in his heart. But he does reap the benefits of helping someone so close to Sonny, maybe expecting a payoff later.

      May 8, 2012 at 11:55 pm

  7. Moonpie here. well my friend once more you hit the tail on the donkey. May I just say it high time Ronnie gets popped. I hope Jason hits him right between the freaking eyes. Then again its probally john who will get the chance. that dang cop has for two years or more got on my last Damn nerve. I missed fridays episode due to having a procedure done. So today while I was conherit enough I read your blog. I got aome amusement and entertaiment. Sucks being on best rest. I just keep telling my self this is for a much bigger cause. Iron levels boost. If this help the problem no more infusions. *crossing fingers*

    Just like you not convince and really don’t think I ever will be the Lulu of all peeps makes a good slueth. If she did then she would not be ties to a bed by freaking sheets.*shruds shoulders*. Our girl Sam wouldn’t be caught up in this BS.

    May I just say while I caught yesterdays scenes on youtube, I got pissed off that Dante did not ignore John and just call to inform Jason about pregnant wife being held hostage. Now hoping copper John and Dante get bullets right in the eye balls. Okay sorry thats for your next blog. this is what I get for being on pain killers. I get to rambling about anything and everything.

    Now back to this blog. I screamed out “Hell yes! when Carly knees John right in the family jewels. I so felt justified for all of us jilters loves past or present. now if my dream of tracy doing the same to Luke would come true I would be GH heaven. If Sonny got kneed I was just be in high on life period.

    Well old friend. thank you for always giving us encouragement. I have missed you dearly and I will promise not to be a stranger. While my life gets crazy mad I look to you to keep my spirits up. Love you my dear friend. sorry for long speech blame IBprophen and others meds. 🙂

    May 5, 2012 at 11:00 pm

  8. I find Sam and John’s friendship refreshing and that’s all I see between them too. For years we have watched Jason being very close friends with Robin, Carly and Liz so I see no reason to be annoyed with Sam having a male friend. Jason has kept things from Sam for her own good and protection and that is exactly what Sam was thinking when she did the very same thing. Sam loves Jason very very much and I am not worried seeing her in scenes with McBain because to me, she deserves someone who she can talk to and yes, be there for her and see her side in things. This is 2012 and men and women can be friends minus sex. Jason may be angry right now and rightly so, (I do not agree with everything Sam has done, but I do understand it) but once Jason calms down and realizes, as Sam said, the problem is NOT John and NOT Liz, the problem is Sam being pregnant by Franco and Jason feeling he was not there to protect her and not really sure if he can love this baby (which I feel is his right) tho I may not agree, I understand. Sam and Jason will work thru this because no matter what, I belive they have more than enough love to bring them thru this. It’s very obvious to me to whom their hearts belong.

    May 7, 2012 at 9:40 am

    • Beatrice

      I agree with you,nothing wrong with Sam and John being friends, Jason has a lot of nerves his slept with both Carly and Liz,if he was my man these Bi#ches,would not even be an option would have shit him up from the beginning,I would be like once you have gotten rid of Carly and Liz,than come talk to me about whom I can and can’t be friends with.

      May 7, 2012 at 9:46 am

      • Carol

        you got that right sister!

        May 7, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      • beatrice

        the double standards are just extreme, on GH.

        May 7, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

