Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

THE AVENGERS

Hola, GHers!

I hope your day is off to a great start!

So The Avengers came to town, huh? Hey, anything that gives me the chance to lay my eyes on that adorable Cameron is just cool beans! But I will let you in on a little secret. I love the word, AVENGER. In fact, I love the meaning of the word AVENGER.

Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary defines it like this:
1: one who takes vengeance for or on behalf of
2: one who exacts satisfaction for (a wrong) by punishing the wrongdoer

I love the word so much that when I was little, I would dream of growing up to be an AVENGER. Not the kind in the comic book series, though I am sure they are exciting and awesome and everything a comic  series should be. But the kind of AVENGER I wanted to be was different. I got bullied by our neighbors for the first few years of my life, and believe it or not, my chubba-wubba, tom-boy, rough n’ tumble little sister (I am not proud) would come out and do some crazy hulk thing, and chase all my tormentors away. At night, as I would lie in bed, my scrawny butt shaking for fear of what the next day would bring, I dreamed of growing up into a scary, strong, AVENGER with a death stare that would make all neighborhood bullies pee in their pants.

I got my wish, except for the strong part – the gym and I never really got along. 😉 Somewhere along the way, I realized that fear is in the eye of the beholder, and I never let anyone see fear in me again – unless it was their own. Even now, when my kids’ friends are in trouble, or being bullied by anyone, my kids come home to the AVENGER (NON)MANSION, and tell me all about it. I once cornered their school principal on the front lawn of the school, and ripped him a new one for teasing a student about his “skips”. I let him know in no uncertain terms that I would make sure he never made a child feel embarrassed again. When I noticed a commotion from the corner of my eye, I glanced towards the school to see the boy I was defending and his entire class standing on the benches in the hall, pasted against the plate glass windows, cheering and pumping their fists…and that was long before Jersey Shore. LOL.

It feels good to know that you are defending those who can’t do it for themselves; to be an AVENGER. Those of you who’ve been an avenger know what I am talking about, and I imagine many of you have been, just because I feel a connection with so many. I can hear it in your comments, and I can see it in your reactions to the story lines we’ve experienced together over the years we’ve been taking this journey via this vehicle. It makes me proud, and gives me hope for our soap, even when  it looks like it does right now.

More on that later, though.

For now, let me just point out that THE AVENGERS weren’t only on the big screen in Port Charles. They were everywhere; avenging someone who needed avenging.

Awww, Spinelli! As undeserving as Maxie has been of his love and loyalty, he is still spending his every waking moment trying to be THE AVENGER who comes to her rescue, gets her cleared of all charges, and gives her her life back! You’ve gotta love Spinelli’s willingness to hang in there when all Maxie wants to do is hang herself, and Matt is at the movies with Liz’s son. Spin is already the superhero to me!

Dante and Olivia obviously need to learn that “crazy bitch” doesn’t just mean that someone is acting like one of their crazy Falconeri Clan. In Heather’s case, “crazy bitch” means she’ll rip your world apart, and you’ll be lucky to find yourself still standing when she’s done, a la Jeff Webber, Diana Taylor, Edward Quartermaine, and lest we forget, Luke Spencer. Why Dante and Olivia are having that big, old, all-important conversation about Steve’s secrets within her earshot is beyond me, but I know one thing: Heather will be preparing to take on the role of THE AVENGER. Whom she will be avenging, or against who she will be seeking her vengeance, remains to be seen. But don’t take your eyes off her, or you may miss it.

It’s too bad these two Falconeris are embroiled in Steve Webber’s case, because there is one crazy Falconeri who could really use their help. Connie. Or is it Kate? Or Konnie? Frankly, I am having trouble keeping track, but the one thing I will tell you is that the only thing even keeping my eyes on that screen for this hot MESS of a JESS/TESS/BESS retelling is the fact that Kelly Sullivan has found a way to make me feel, if not sorry, for Kate, at least empathetic towards Connie for doing anything and everything she could to protect the refined, yet wimpy, Kate from becoming a victim of Sonny’s love again. I get why Connie needed to be THE AVENGER for Kate, I really do! Not that I agree with this newest sex scandal to hit Port Charles, but I get why Connie felt so desperate to sever all ties between Kate and Sonny permanently. She didn’t trust Kate to get it done. I give Ms. Sullivan props for being able to switch so much more seamlessly from when this story began between crass, cold-blooded, Connie, to the terrified, repentant Kate, in an instant. It’s pretty cool to watch – if not the story, at least her portrayal of both personalities.

I really HATE the fact that Johnny crossed the line he himself had drawn in the sand, and went against his very instincts. All that to take on the role of THE AVENGER, only to feel good about it for less time than it took to undress. Here, too, I totally get why John would need to avenge his sister’s-I mean mother’s – death, and even the hell Sonny gave her; I do. I just wish that we didn’t have to deal with one more time where a woman is victimized sexually only in an attempt to feed storyline. Why am I saying that she was victimized sexually when Connie nearly raped John herself? Because all you needed to do was take one look at John’s face when he had to break the news to the hysterical Kate that they had slept together, to know that John himself saw her as a victim. And if he sees her as the victim, it’s only natural that he (and thousands of others) will see him as the…

It makes me wonder if Frank Valentini didn’t tweet that Brandon Barash wasn’t going anywhere because he knew that in a few days, there may be those who cannot separate character from actor, who are demanding he be fired. (We’ve all seen that before) I really do hate how this went down, and it left a knot in the pit of my stomach that John, who really is a decent person, would have any part of this.

In contrast, I really LOVE that Carly was the collateral damage in this train wreck, only because for years, we have watched everyone else be the collateral damage of her own train wrecks, while she walks away unscathed. It did not surprise me one little bit that Carly made her way over to Sonny’s to play THE AVENGER for…herself. She is such a selfish bitch – it didn’t even occur to her to give Sonny some time to mourn getting another year older AND finding his girlfriend in bed with his worst enemy all on the same night. It makes me wish Sonny would roll Carly around on the floor towards the blazing fire that’s eating up his memories of Kate. Maybe her hairspray would catch on fire! 😉

Allow me to preface my next paragraph with this one true statement: I DETEST THE WAY JASAM’S STORY HAS BEEN WRITTEN SINCE THE LAST TIME THEY WERE AT THEIR CABIN, BONDING OVER THEIR THEN BABY BUMP. I think the writers gave up a golden opportunity to actually write a phenomenal, original – and therefore unrivaled, Baby storyline here. I honestly think that had they written this Baby Morgan without all the same, played-out Who’s The Daddy crap all over again, viewers might have fallen in love with the idea of a husband and a wife sharing the love, the natural  and spontaneous issues that come with every pregnancy, the roller-coasters of hormones and emotions, and the magic that comes from this once-in-a-lifetime experience. More than that, having Jason and Sam actually enjoy this pregnancy without all of this darkness surrounding it, would have been the one thing soaps fail to do 99% of the time, and would have made GH the trailblazer once again! *smdh* I cannot even remember the last time I enjoyed a soap baby’s arrival with the only cliffhanger being whether it would be a boy or a girl. What a missed opportunity!

That being said, I have to admit that I saw something in Wednesday’s scenes and heard something in the dialogue that gave me a rare moment of pause. I had to share it with you, and see what you all think. It occurred to me that maybe, just maybe, in his own, dark, twisted way, Ron Carlivati wrote himself as THE AVENGER in this story. Hear (read) me out before you think I am the crazy one here. When I think of all the times Jason and Liz have spoken over the past couple of years, I felt that there was always a play on words that would pacify one fanbase while infuriating another. While I still don’t think both fanbases were thrilled about Jason confiding in Liz, I did see a marked difference in these scenes. Liz wasn’t making references to their “connection”, or trying to tell Jason something covert without saying the words. Mostly, she was listening and telling him the only thing she could tell him, which was to talk to his wife, because OBVIOUSLY Jason is heartbroken and completely falling apart at the very thought that Sam is confiding in another man. Yes, you read that correctly. Jason, the one who should hang a freakin’ shingle outside his door identifying himself as a women’s therapist as he counsels every past lover he’s ever had, is upset because his wife is talking to A man. Singular. As I watched Jason coming apart as though he were the hormonal, pregnant one, and jumping to all kinds of conclusions about Sam not wanting him at her appt. with Kelly Lee, I realized that our Stone Cold – or shall I say this time – IRON MAN Jason Morgan, is terrified that he is losing his wife! Of course Liz had to lock down her whoremones! Even she could see that Jason is about a day away from crying like a girl over the thought of Sam turning to someone else to be her Captain America and save the world! I mean, go back and watch the scenes. Take note of how many times Jason, who deals in black and white, is stumbling blindly into gray areas of “What Ifs” regarding his fears about what Sam’s connection to John might really be. “She wasn’t alone. She was with him.” “If I hadn’t shown up at GH for that checkup, Sam might have had McBain beside her for the DNA test.”  And my personal favorite, “Sam and I should be talking about this together, working it out together, but she’s confiding in McBain, and that’s the problem.”  Fear is a funny thing – it makes Jason suddenly want to be a talker, when just earlier that day, he was telling Sam “talking wouldn’t change anything.”  And perhaps Jason forgets that until a couple of weeks ago, he was morphing into The Hulk every time anyone said or did anything to him that he couldn’t control. Maybe Sam just needed to let it all out without a fear of killing him or turning him into some creature with bulging veins! Jason couldn’t even see that he is upset at Sam for turning to someone for a listening ear, when he stormed off onto the roof and did the exact, same thing – with yet another one of his past lovers. If I wasn’t sure that he would survive because of his super-longevity like Thor, I might push him off the roof myself, Big Baby!  Perhaps Mr. Carlivati is avenging all of the times that Sam had to wait around, and walk away, and leave the room, while Jason “was there” for Carly or Robin or Courtney or Liz or Brenda. Perhaps the only way to do that was to give Jason a taste of his own nasty ass medicine!

It doesn’t mean he – or we – will like it, but who really likes medicine? Besides, if it’s being forced down our throats, there’s not much we can do, except make a whole lotta noise about how AWFUL it is, the way our kids do!

I also think that the writers are so intent on avenging Sam’s heartaches and hurts over the years, that they have also cast McBain to serve as THE AVENGER onscreen, a.k.a. Plot Point. Listening carefully to the dialogue of this story that sometimes makes me want to beg for mercy, I hear John McPain saying all of the things that, try as we might, we cannot ignore or deny. When Sam told John that Jason was furious that she opened up to him at the church, John answered, “Good, next time he won’t leave you there, crying.” For a minute, I thought I was in church, and cried, “Amen!” as if he had just preached gospel! We can’t shut off the truth in the fact that Jason has failed Sam here. This nightmare isn’t her fault. Franco is not on her. Being raped was not her choice. But loving Jason has always been her choice, and putting him first has always been her choice. So, if Jason has to be brought down by fear and insecurities in order to make him see just how piss poor he has filled the role of husband during this latest test, so be it. If Jason feels that he has to fight like hell for his wife, or lose her to someone who’s listening to, supporting and understanding her, then avenge away, McPain In My Butt! 

I just want to remind us all of something. In the past, there have been many times we have wished for Sam to have her own Carly to turn to, just so that Jason could get a feel for it. There were times where we ranted at the TV, angry that Jason lent an ear, or a shoulder, or the regrettably pink room, to one of his former concubines, while Sam was left to learn to live with it. The shoe is finally on the other foot, and class is in session for Jason! If we can enjoy NOTHING ELSE about Funeral Hospital these days, let THAT be it: The fact that Jason will finally have to be the one on the outside looking in. I hope that time on the outside chills him right down to his balls, and that he is paralyzed with fear at the thought of losing THE. BEST. THING. THAT. HAS. EVER. HAPPENED. TO. HIM. 

I still believe that even the our new fearless (of losing viewers) leaders know that the love story Jason and Sam share is so much of THE BEAUTY OF GH. Jason and Sam will triumph. They may tinkle and toy with them, but they’re not stupid. 

Why risk having to face the wrath of all of us?  THE AVENGERS OF TRUE LOVE!

Don’t wait to let them know exactly how this storyline, and all of the other tragedies happening in Port Charles make you feel! Let them know that you are fighting to keep GH alive, but there’s nothing we can do if they are intent on killing the very heart of the show!

SO, AVENGERS ASSEMBLE! And let them know we are #TeamJaSam!

“And there came a day, a day unlike any other, when Earth’s mightiest (SOAP) heroes were united against a common threat – CANCELLATION! On that day The Avengers were born — to fight foes no single hero could withstand!”

I believe in you, guys! And I can’t wait to bask with you all in the glow of being THE AVENGERS!

Fight fearlessly,

Angelique

13 responses

  1. Kathy Glagowski

    Amen!!! I hope Jason is scared to death of losing Sam !! He’s been acting like a complete jerk. He doesn’t know if he could love her baby!!! What’s he going to do when he finds out it is indeed his? I read that Sam moves out for awhile because he can’t love her baby. He was willing years ago when it was Sonnys and he was willing to take Michael. He’s a big hippo rite!!! He better wake up or his wife and kid will be gone. It sickened me the other day when she had to ask him to hold her then beg!!!

    April 26, 2012 at 3:32 am

    • Karlene

      Amen, hallelujah and co-sign everything you said, Kathy and Angelique. It’s about time that Jason knows how it feels to have his love have a sounding board that’s the opposite sex. I also hope all of this angst between them will also bring about the conversation that has been needed since they got back together and that conversation is about how everything fell apart when they were first together. I realize that in November 2009 that Sam didn’t want to have that conversation and neither did Jason but I think it’s about damn time that they have it. That way, everything is out in the open and nothing is left unsaid. I really think that conversation is going to happen b/c with the way things ended today, it was reminiscent of the Run to Me scenes, except it was Jason walking in on Sam on the balcony. I will keep watching but as long as McJiz is being shoved down my throat, I will gladly watch that day’s episodes on YouTube, like I did today. I know that’s wrong but if the viewers dip on specific episodes, like shown in the past, maybe TIIC will get it through their thick skulls that we don’t want McJiz and we just want JaSam happy/front burner.
      JASAM Love Always,
      Karlene

      April 26, 2012 at 4:54 am

  2. alwaysaromantic

    Good Morning Jasammers, Team Jasam Always!
    Another great Blog! Sam and John scenes were good but Sam and Jason are simply the best! Good reference to their “Run to Me” history I missed that! Sam has the right to share,talk to who she chooses about what has happened! BUT Jason had NO RIGHT telling Liz that Sam was raped! There are a few people I could see him unloading on Spinelli,Monica MAYBE Sonny! But his EX give me a break! If Sam and Jason are getting ready to have a “Blow up” I hope Sam stands her ground! Jason is being a selfish ass had no right to give Sam up like that! They can paint Liz anyway they chose to little to late for me!
    Sam looks beautiful,she is glowing! Its a shame this moment for them is being written like this!Jason has left Sam twice the church and the MC he is playing being a selfish ass well. What did John tell her “take care of yourself and your baby” and “the best thing for your baby is you” he is so right! We all need a dependable friend even Sam! After everything Sam has been through because she CHOSE to have a life with him he questioning if he could Love this Baby……………….really! Jason needs to go to YT for a Lesson or 2 (just kidding)!
    TEAM JASAM ALWAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    April 26, 2012 at 6:21 am

  3. jenncorb

    I only watched JaSam yesterday (looooonng day and week here), but just the title and first paragraph made me want to go back and finish the show. Better get my chores done FAST today so I have time before work! Will come back and read more later. Love You!

    April 26, 2012 at 6:56 am

  4. samjase

    Oh Yeah! Everything you said I say Amen! Adding 2 things! The lies that Jason/Liz told during SOS are being forgotten…for Sam’s and Lucky’s ‘PROTECTION’. One more thing, the last scene when Jason is standing at the terrace and Sam is waiting…is THE EXACT SCENE IN ‘RUN TO ME’ IN REVERSE. That, IMO, was no accident..even close to the clothes they were wearing! Loved..”the BEST PART OF THIS BABY IS YOU!

    April 26, 2012 at 7:24 am

    • samjase

      For anyone thinking Jason wasn’t purely JEALOUS in yesterdays’ episode…ask yourself this! If the “cop or fbi agent” was a WOMAN, would Jason have carried on like he did? No way..John McBain got under Jason’s skin, the second he saw Sam/McBain at the door of the PH talking, & Jason said.”what’s going on”?

      April 26, 2012 at 8:04 am

  5. lt4bama

    Angelique, I love you lady. We are like right here *pointing from my eyes to your eyes* You were so on point with what you said

    First I’m going to say I’m a Jasam fan and I want things to end well for them but if battle lines are drawn I’m on Sam’s side I’m not even asking questions. No, I didn’t agree with everything Sam has done to this point but I’ve understood. And True when I haven’t agreed with Jason’s actions I’ve had choice words for punk @ss LOL. Yes, finally a double standard in her favor!

    I think WHO Jason confided was so wrong especially compared to Sam’s desperate out flow of information. But you know what? I told myself I understood why, Before he knew it, his mouth was running and it was hard to stop. Just hopes he realizes he did exactly what Sam did. I see they’re making Liz back into a saint, it irritates me a little but truthfully as long is the way she was today (helpful – minus he needs US comment I was cool) then whatever…

    Yeah it is funny that Jason kept saying talking isn’t going to change anything. He wants Sam to tell him EVERYTHING but he doesn’t want to discuss anything. He sits and stares, yells or walks out on her. But now he realizes she talking to John and of course now he wants to talk. I am so anxious about their talk today and tomorrow. I hope everything comes out in the open so there are no more secrets between them. I hope Sam stands her ground though and he yells, yell back! I really want them to share their feelings no holds barred

    I actually NEED her to leave him (temporarily of course) and for him to realize he loves the baby and fight for his family. After they make up I want it revealed that Jason is the dad. Just so the jizzers can stop saying they’ve save Jasam 2x (Angelique, similar to your theory of how he proposed; take away all the haters reasons to talk $h!t) Then comes baby girl Morgan

    April 26, 2012 at 7:54 am

  6. Lara

    All I have to say is ‘Karma’s a bitch’ and she’s been quietly waiting to bite Jason in the ass hard!! All the times that he’s run off and left her to rescue some other damsel in distress its about time he got his comeuppance. ( anyone remember when he left Sam in bed and ran down the hall to console Brenda!) As much as I don’t like McBain I have to say he’s been there more for Sam in a few short weeks than Jason has since well….. Baby Lila. Last night was a long night ( I was on call, ugh) and I spent it watching old clips from ’04. I loved seeing how sweet and nurturing Jason was with her and they weren’t even together yet! He listened and he held her, but most importantly he was PRESENT. Since they got married it’s been one headache (no pun intended) after the other. I feel like b/c she finally married him he’s become over confident that she will sit there like an ever faithful dog and he could continue to do as he liked.
    While I did appreciate Jason’s scene with Liz, I don’t think he should have told her about Sam’s rape. That’s Sam’s own private issue and not to be shared unless by her. I love my GH, but the show has failed to show how traumatized rape victims really are. Sam talked to ONE person about it before McBain, that’s it. They’ve written it like a dirty secret that SHE should be ashamed about. That she should just forget about what happened, move on, and keep it to herself. Part of me really wants Liz and Sam to have an honest conversation about rape and the affect it has on its victims, do a PSA for Christ sake!!!
    I can’t stress enough how much I HATE, HATE, HATE this s/l!!!! I know they keep telling us that all this angst is temporary and it’ll only make them stronger in the end, but I can’t help feeling frustrated and upset by the sheer amount of it being shot at us like rapid fire!! I look at my parents who’ve been happily married for 30 years and I think if real people can do it and soaps are supposed to emulate real life why can’t they be happy?! We’ve been waiting 8 years for this baby. All I wanted was to see them decorate a nursery, Jason rubbing her belly and talking to their baby, just the day to day preparations that all expectant parents go through. That would have made for much better ( and heartwarming) t.v viewing than what they’ve been giving us!

    April 26, 2012 at 8:46 am

  7. SamJasonsHeart

    Amen.. I said awhile back if McBains presence gives Jason a taste of his own medicine then bring it on! And bring it on they have.. Jason needs to see what it feels like!
    Bravo Bella well done as always!
    The Avengers.. Love it!!!

    April 26, 2012 at 9:08 am

  8. rosejasam4ever

    Bella luv your blog and the points you make, made me see it in a whole different point of view. I watched the jasam scenes on yt yesterday and could only stomach 30sec before l paused and had to call gh comment line. I was super pissed why was he telling Liz about Sam’s rape. But after reading what you had to say I have a new found hope and am liking that finally Jason is getting whats due to him. I totally agree and hope at the end of all this he apologizes for everything and they talk about the past.

    April 26, 2012 at 10:26 am

  9. Carol

    all i can say is bravo! you sure made me see those scenes differently and thank you so much. Keep up the good work and I will continue to share your wonderful blog with tptb at GH/ABC.

    April 26, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  10. Traveler

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!!
    Ive just tightened up my seat belt because this ride has gotten rockier than I could have ever imagined. Sad to say, but its seems like its going to get a lot worse.
    I just hope that when its all said and done JaSam come out of this S/L “Together”!! Viva la JaSam!!

    April 26, 2012 at 10:54 pm

  11. Jerron

    Oh thank you thank you thank you! You nailed it perfectly with the JaSam analysis.

    May 3, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

