Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK

Good morning, GHers!

I was so excited about yesterday’s episode, and really couldn’t wait to “talk” to you bout it. Then a “project” here at home (for those of you who’ve been reading me for a couple of years, you know Spring Fever always inspires me to take on new projects) took way longer than my hubby anticipated, and even though my job was simply to stay close by in case he needed something (we also always have our best uninterrupted conversations during those times, as our kids tend to stay far away from any projects). By the time he was done, and everything was cleaned up, I was exhausted, and had to take advantage of the fact that I actually felt sleepy! 😉

Sometimes I think the GH writers are suffering from DID themselves. The “personality” of the show yesterday was so incredibly different from its personality on Friday! I thought yesterday’s show was soapy and exciting!

I also got to thinking that there is more than one “TOUGH NUT TO CRACK” in Port Charles!

Kate’s vulnerable side seemed to be in control yesterday, and I found myself actually feeling sorry for her, which was a surprise to me, as I wouldn’t normally consider myself a Kate fan. I do think I enjoy Kelly Sullivan’s portrayal of “Kate” more than I enjoy “Connie”, and I think it’s because she does a really great job of convincing me of just how unstable and affected Kate really is by what’s happening to her. When she couldn’t remember her run in with Carly, I could almost feel her desperation, and that’s pretty amazing. I thought the sheer panic in her voice when speaking to Dr. Keenan gave her a side that makes me want to root for her to get well, even though she is seriously  “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK”.

Carly is also “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK” because I just can never understand why she does the things she does. Why does she get so much joy out of the thought of ruining relationships for the men she supposedly cares about and protects so much? I am not sure that she’s a nut I’d like to crack as much as CRUSH! The mere mention of Sam’s name coming from her was enough to make m see red! I wasnt Carly to be smacked down a couple dozen notches! I would love for the men in her life to call her on her selfish hateful ways, and I will give birth myself if she is allowed to be Baby Morgan’s godmother! I was thrilled when John McBain walked in and busted her trying to break into Kate’s cabinet! She already knows one too many secrets; let’s not empower her any more, please!  -_-

Johnny was on a steady climb as one of my favorite guys in town as of late, but I had to put his climb on hold after his slippage yesterday. I think Johnny has the potential to be the smarter of the two between him and Sonny, hands down; but only when he does the one thing Sonny fails to do all the time: THINK. I think Johnny let his desire for revenge on Sonny cloud his judgement when he chose to tell Sonny about Kate wanting to sleep with him. Now Sonny is on red alert when it comes to Kate, and Johnny has lost the element of surprise. If he really wanted to bring Sonny to his knees, he would have kept that little golden nugget of truth in his back pocket just a little while longer! Ugh! I can’t stand when Johnny reminds us why he’s “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK” sometimes.

I guess the NUT never falls far from the tree, as Anthony is one of “THE TOUGHEST NUTS TO CRACK” we will ever meet. Does anyone have a handle on this guy? One minute I believe that he really does love Johnny, and wants the best for him and his future, and other times, I think he would take Johnny out himself if he thought he was too much of a threat to what Anthony wants for himself. He makes me nervous for Johnny’s future!

Dr. Keenan might be able to help make a dent in all of the nut-cracking needed in PC, except that he himself is  “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK”. After months and months of keeping it a secret that he was the one who pulled Liz from the water that night (damn him), he just blurts it out to her as if it was nothing but a normal occurrence. What the heck? Could it be that he got as bored with her as I do that it wasn’t worth the trouble of keeping it from her? Or did he finally do his homework and realize that Liz always shows her gratitude towards men in the same way? He must be lonely after all, now that Cassandra is no more… though I am not even sure if he knows  what happened to her. Whatever the reason, I did expect a little more of a shock factor when Liz finally found out. Oh well…

Speaking of Liz, I have to say that Patrick’s phone call to her when Emma asked about “Mommy in a box” left me baffled, and well, quite honestly, thinking Patrick was “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK”. I get that Liz promised Robin to keep an eye on Patrick and Emma, and that somehow, we are supposed to believe that Patrick and Liz have this close relationship that we haven’t really seen onscreen. However, Robin’s mother is in town! Mac is on call! Matt is Emma’s uncle! I just didn’t understand how Patrick would see the wisdom – or even the common sense – of calling Liz for advice. As a mother, it also ticked me off a bit. This is something that Anna should have at least been consulted on. But I guess that’s always going to be a stickler with a plot point.  I guess the moment that overshadowed my complaints was the moment where we got to see that Robin is, in fact, alive. Yay! While people had their theories, it’s always nice to see that there is hope for the Scrubs and Robin fans! I remember back in 1999 when Lucky was thought to be dead after the fire. I remember running to answer the phone because my best friend, Sue was calling to scream her excitement over Lucky being alive! Sure he was still going to be missed onscreen, but al least we knew that he would someday be back. The same was true for all of the Robin fans, and I am thrilled for them!

You know what really made me smile yesterday? The fact that Jason has finally come face to face with someone who doesn;t have to threaten physical violence against someone he loves in order to rattle his cage, or make him feel protective of “his wife”. I have to say that after all of the rumors and gossip everyone was sending me, I was starting to dread the Jason/John confrontation. I could not handle Jason yelling at Sam one more time. Thankfully, after watching the scenes (about a dozen more times), I have to say that I was very satisfied with how it turned out. I love that John is so kind to, and considerate of, Sam, especially in Jason’s presence. John wanted to know if she and Jason had worked things out. He told Sam that she didn’t have to stay while he talked to Jason. And he didn’t ignore her presence, even after she refused to leave. I am convinced that the hairs on the back of Jason’s neck were standing on end from the vibe he picked up from McBain’s interest in Sam – hence the “Don’t talk to my wife!” demand. And guess what? I LOVED IT! No one deserves to be shaken up more than Jason Morgan. I think for the first time, the roles were reversed, and Jason, not the cop questioning him, was left thinking, “This guy is A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK”, and I think I was more than ready for that change.

When Jason asked, “You two know each other?” after Sam made reference to a previous conversation, and John answered, “As a matter of fact, we do”, I was kinda hoping he would then say, “We have a connection.” Perhaps when Jason is on the other side of that, he will finally realize just how easy that is to swallow. (Not!) John even made sure to tell Sam that it was good to see her again before leaving. Perhaps Jason was so concerned about why Sam seemed so upset because he was the one thrown off by the attention McBain showed Sam. And maybe it made him realize that he should make a stronger effort to do the same. I would not complain at all! 😉

I did like that Jason fought Sam some on going to NYC to track down his medical records, and that he took the time to express and show his love and concern for Sam and our baby. And the kiss was a very welcome bonus!  Those are the moments we’ve waited 8 long years for! Thanks, Writers! More, please!

I felt the thrill of anticipation for what comes next with Jason and Sam and John. Not because I would ever be okay with him coming between Jason and Sam, but because if he helps Jason to take things for granted less, and realize that friendships between your spouse and someone of the opposite sex makes one uncomfortable, I am all for it! Welcome to town, Lt. McBain! 

I know that we are all worried for our Supercouple and the direction Ron Carlivati is taking, especially with all of the speculation and general B.S. out there. I also know, after watching OLTL over the years, that our new headwriter is “A TOUGH NUT TO CRACK”, but I think the only chance our soap has of surviving starts with our rock-solid support!

We’ve had some head-scratching moments, sure; but I also believe we’re going to have some triumphant moments as well!

Hang in there with me!

Angelique

4 responses

  1. I loved yesterdays epi. I’m so glad Jason is feeling some jealousy..at least I like to think that’s his first taste of jealousy:) I would never want John McBain to come betweeen JnS but I would love for Sam to have a real friend to talk to and who shows some interest in her and whats going on with her. If it can’t be a women on the show..well why not John McBain? Jason needs to get a taste of his own medicine..hee hee! After watching Jason get mad at Sam because of Carly..yes..I’m loving it! See how he likey:):)

    March 27, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    • Karlene

      Co-sign on everything you said, Carol and Angelique!! It’s nice to see Jason get scared about a budding friendship between Sam and another guy, besides Spinelli and Sonny. The best medicine is one served just like you’ve always received. Sam has been dealing w/ Carly for over 8 years and now, it’s Jason’s turn to see how he likes another person coming in, being of the opposite sex and showing interest in Sam. Glad to hear your Grandma is doing better 🙂
      JASAM Love Always,
      Karlene

      March 27, 2012 at 5:46 pm

  2. Traveler

    Yay!! Im so excited you loved the John/Jason/Sam Scenes!! I was smiling ear to ear the whole time!! I cant even count the # of times Ive rewatched those scenes!!
    Of course I was a bit worried (Due to the BS on the Boards) that Jason would be upset with Sam… I was so glad that did not happen…
    I REALLY do Love Jason… But… Its WONDERFUL to see someone actually stand toe to toe with him. Like you said.. We DONT want John to come between JaSam… But it was fun seeing the shoe on the other foot for a change… He,he,he!!
    Carly: I just want to smack the Hell out of her!!!
    Robin: Wow I was surprised they showed us she was alive so soon. Like you I remember the Lucky Fire.. Back in those days, I didnt have the Boards.. So I was actually shocked that he was still alive!! 🙂

    Thanks for todays Wonderful Blog!! xoxo

    March 27, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  3. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers,
    Im on board too! I rewatched the scenes with Sam,Jason and John! I wanted to see the little things I missed when I 1st watched yesterday. Boy! were those spoilers off on this! Jason and John are really alike in many ways! They have differences too but they have more in common then not! If Johns friendship with Sam wakes Jason up! If it makes him realize the importance of Sam as a person not just his wife or his childrens mother then it is a good thing! I would happy too if Sam has a Friend to call her own! I love Sam and Jason but how he treated her recently still has me stewing! She so did not deserve that!
    Still surprised about seeing Robin! Not a bandaged from head to Toe Mummy but actually Robin! You are right the same way they did Lucky many years ago!

    March 27, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

