Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

There Goes The Freakin’ Neighborhood…

Well, GHers, anyone remember what it was I said the other day about the new team coming to GH?ย 

That I didn’t want our favorite soap town of Port Charles to turn into Llanview.

Well, Beloved…I imagine you’ve all heard by now that Llanview is coming to Port Charles this February!

http://bit.ly/A60N6G

And…

There Goes The Freakin’ Neighborhood!

๐Ÿ˜‰

First and foremost, let me apologize for not posting last night. I had an outrageously bad “pain day”, and by the time I had put the kids to bed, I was desperately in need of pain meds. Unfortunately, while they might help manage my pain, they also turn my brain to mush, and while I had so much I wanted to say, I just couldn’t get those things from my head to the keyboard. Sorry! I hate disappointing you guys, I really, really do. Even today, I feel a little “slow” in my thought process, but the news today just lit a bit of a fire under my butt!

Now, back to Llanview, I mean Port Charles. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Listen, I am thrilled for Michael Easton, who just recently became a father to a baby girl, and that he already has another job with which to provide her with all the beautiful things she deserves. Truly, I am. And I am equally happy for Kassie DePaiva, whom I first watched as Cassie on GL, and for Kristen, who literally grew up before my very eyes, and okay, *kicks rocks*, even for Mr. Howarth.

I wouldn’t wish unemployment on anyone!

That being said, I do watch my darling General Hospital EVERY DAY. I am painfully aware of just how many story lines are going on at the moment, and how many story lines I can’t even be bothered to try and figure out, much less invest in. I have always thought that the town of PC was overpopulated, and now we are getting new neighbors who aren’t going to “blend in quietly.”ย These aren’t “blend in” kinda stars, after all. These are all big stars, who will want, and very honestly, deserve to be front and center. But, this is GH, our big stars deserve to be front and center, too, and there’s only so much front and center, you know? I am just not sure how I feel about all of these new neighbors moving in, taking up screen time that I have been praying we’d get back for the Port Charles residents we love so dearly, and have shared our “neighborhood” with all these years!

Take Wednesday’s episode for example. I can think of a couple of story lines that could disappear, and I wouldn’t even miss them. More than that, there are a few characters that seem downright superfluous at this point. I just want the stories we care about to flow…to make sense, and they just cannot seem to with everything going on!

I guess our only hope now is that Mr. Carlivati is a magician when it comes to balancing the show and its plethora of mega-talent, or that at least he will be better ย at it than those who came before him. *fingers and toes crossed*

I don’t know, they say pain changes people. Maybe I am feeling a little crabby today because of the pain. I just know that the things I loved about One Live To Live, and there were many, are not things I’d love for General Hospital. Does that make sense to anyone?

I guess my bottom line is this, and I’d bet my aching bum that most of you would agree:

(Feel free to copy, paste, send, fax, email, tweet or hand deliver any part of it you want! Just let them know!)

****************************************************

Misters Carlivati and Valentini,

Welcome to Port Charles! We hope that you are both rested and rejuvenated, and already feeling excited about having met your new family over at GH.

First, we just want to say “thank you” for One Life To Live. We loved OLTL, and will love it ’til it’s gone prematurely from our television screens tomorrow. We also love our General Hospital, and will support you both for as long as you two can work your magic, and keep it on our television screens.

That being said, we do have one small request:ย WE REALLY, REALLY DON’T WANT THE CHARACTERS WE’VE LOVED SO LONG, AND SO WELL, TO INHERENTLY CHANGE.

Change of pace? Please! Continuity of story lines and less “chop shop”? Absolutely! The way relationships, or lack thereof, work? Have at it.

However, when it comes down to who our favorite Port Charlesians are, or the loyalties they hold dear, or even the individual patterns of behavior that we’ve come to know and love like old friends, as far as we are concerned, those have to be off limits. We don’t want to experience soap dementia, that condition where you turn on your TV and recognize the physical characteristics of a character, but nothing else. We want to love our favorites until they are no longer there for us to love, the way we did with the characters you brought to life on OLTL. (Though I may still be holding a bit of a grudge over Trevor St. John)

Please, please, please honor the love we have for our characters, and we promise to tune in, and beg others to tune back in! Respect our GH and it’s rich and storied history, and what it is about it that has held a piece of our hearts all these years, and we will shout your praises from the rooftops!

I already have three wonderful children, but I promise to name my next two pets Ron and Frank, in your honor.ย Just please, don’t turn my GH into something and someplace I cannot recognize, or fill it with people whom I no longer feel a connection to, or Port Charles just won’t feel like home anymore – even if it’s only for an hour per day. That would be killing off our favorite soap before the network did.

And THAT would be a tragedy, and we’ve already had enough of that.

Wishing you the greatest of success in bringing our beloved soap back to its former glory,

Angelique & The Bella Mafia Family

***************************************************

Love you all,ย 

Bella (I don’t think it was coincidence, either!)

๐Ÿ˜‰

17 responses

  1. Here here! Well said. Couldn’t agree more. -I’m sorry you live with such pain and hope you’re able to get it under control if not always at least more time than it isn’t. Thanks for putting your thoughts out here. I always look forward to them even when I may not comment.

    January 12, 2012 at 1:54 am

    • Thanks so much CJ!
      Most days I can live with it – I guess I’ve built up a tolerance.
      Sometimes though, it just decides to kick my butt. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      I appreciate you taking the time to read, I really do!
      xoxox

      January 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

  2. Carol

    Good morning Angelique. I am sorry you werent feeling well and I really hope you are better. I was in shock all day yesterday when I saw the news. I think everyone on Twitter and the message boards were aflutter till way into the night. I dont know what is going to happen but I will continue to keep campaigning for “our” Jasam and GH till the end. I just hope these guys realize how important it is to not change GH to another soap but make our GH better with the great characters (not meaning all of these newbies). Catch you next time and thanks again for this wonderful blog.

    January 12, 2012 at 6:34 am

    • Thank YOU, Carol for the support and good thoughts.
      I think they will see it, and hear it, and I think they will find a way to make it happen!
      Let’s keep believing!
      xoxox

      January 12, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  3. Lara

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Take it easy and rest, Dr.’s orders;)

    While I am nervous about the OLTL crew coming on board (and what that will mean to our beloved GH characters) I’m hoping that we will get their viewers and boost GH’s viewership. Looking forward to more of your insightful posts!!

    January 12, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • PERFECT way to look at things, Lara!
      YOU are THE BEAUTY OF GH today!
      Thanks for keeping us focused!
      xoxox

      January 12, 2012 at 11:30 pm

  4. SamJasonsHeart

    What do I do now.. After reading that Katie will be taking GH time slot.
    Now don’t get me wrong I have loved GH for over 30 years.. But it looks like the end is near and I now find myself wondering how do I continue watching and stay invested in my beloved GH when I know what is coming.. Well I did find a reason to keep watching and that is YOU my beautiful friend.. Port Charles brought you into my life and I will be right here with you until the end *tears*.. I know you will continue to inspire me with your words and help me find the Beauty of GH right up to the very end!

    I hope your pain has lessened and you are feeling better today!

    I love you!

    January 12, 2012 at 10:14 am

    • Love you more!
      *holding your hand*

      January 12, 2012 at 11:29 pm

  5. Traveler

    *Sighs* Im on OLTL Overload right now!!
    Ive watched OLTL on and off for years… I like OLTL… But it is no GH and its going to be a shock to my system to see John Mc”Pain” and the Mannings in Port Charles…
    I dont even know what to think about all these changes. Only time will tell what will happen with GH and in Port Charles. Im not a fan of change at all and this one isnt any different…

    Angelique…Big Hug!! Hope you feel better soon! xoxox
    Thanks for Blogging for us!!

    January 12, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • Traveler

      PS: Im also still holding a grudge about Trevor St. John.

      January 12, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      • LOL! ๐Ÿ˜‰

        January 12, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    • Big hugs right back my friend!
      We’ll get through this together!
      xoxox

      January 12, 2012 at 11:28 pm

      • Traveler

        OMG!!!! Just finished watching the last OLTL…. Trevor St. John. (WooHoo!!!)… Victor (aka Todd) Lives on!! ๐Ÿ™‚

        January 13, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  6. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers! Great Blog Angelique feel better soon!
    I really do not what to write tonight! I am sad that OLTL will be gone after tomorrow! But my feelings for OLTL and GH are so different! And in saying that these 2 Soaps have always been so different! My concern for GH is on overlaod after seeing the promo today! In my mind I cannot even imagine how they could or would combine the 2 shows.What are the TPTB trying do are they REALLY trying to save GH or have they allready thrown in the towel!? I for one will NEVER watch the shows that have replaced AMC and OLTL! If GH is forced to give up its time slot I will not watch KC either! I would not watch KC no matter where she ended up! ABC is gambling so far they have come up with snake eyes! I am Holding On to the fact GH will survive. I am Holding On that Jason and Sam will be allowed to have some true happiness with this pregnancy! Let there drama be a risky pregnancy for Sam and Jason coming unglued with worry for HER and not something or someone else!Let Jasons Dr gene kick in and he is the one who delivers their TWINS!!!!Let Sam and Jason Flasback to 2004 and the little girl who brought them together! Let them both have that JOY/LOVE that was taken away in 2004!Let Monica be the best grandmother she can be!Let Alexis figure out how to be a GOOD mother to her 1st born by being a wonderful Grandmother!There is so much there to explore with trying “tranfuse” GH! Let GH have some balance! GH will never be OLTL and OLTL is not GH! I enjoyed watching OLTL but I LOVE watching GH!

    January 12, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    • I honestly do believe that they are going to try like hell to save GH. After seeing the changes on OLTL these past couple of years, I believe it’s what they pride themselves on. Let’s keep believing, and supporting by watching!
      I too am devastated about OLTL tomorrow…so sad!
      xoxox

      January 12, 2012 at 11:27 pm

  7. Sonia

    I just want to say thanks to you for writing this letter

    January 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    • You’re very welcome! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      January 12, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Leave a Reply

