Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

SOME INCONVENIENT TRUTHS

Awww…friends, please join me in congratulating our dear friend and fellow JaSammer, Traveler, on the graduation of her son! What a wonderful occasion to celebrate! I hope you are as proud of yourself as you are of him, as it could never have happened without his mom’s love and support! *Huge Hugs*

*************************************************************

It’s really beginning to look a lot like Christmas, GHers! Even in Port Charles! 

I promise I am going to try to post every day, but it’s also beginning to feel a lot like Christmas at my house, and I am crazy busy and about to get busier as family descends upon us once more. I just finished baking 4 dozen cookies for Vanessa’s class party, a 7-layer dip for Matthew’s class party, and I have wrapped more gifts than I can count.

It really is my favorite time of the year, though!

I hope that whatever you’re up to when not watching our beloved soap, it brings a smile to your face, even if it also brings some neck strain and stress! 😉

I cannot begin to tell you how happy I was that Christmas is finally being acknowledged in Port Charles, and no, not just by the shooting of the Bernificent One.

😉

If I am honest, I was also happy about something else as well – and that was the telling of Some Inconvenient Truths. I have always been a huge believer in the truth, even when it’s not convenient, or easy to tell or hear. Truth is always the way to go, and I have to say that it needed some telling’ in PC!

I guess if we were to catalog them, Robin probably has the most unfortunate of Some Inconvenient Truths. She is struggling to decide how much of her truth she can share with Patrick, and the fact that Patrick seems to be waxing poetic about the idea of Happily Ever After doesn’t make it any easier on Robin. I know that telling Patrick the classic “I have a patient who has this problem”… scenario on when she was really talking about herself is dishonest, but I do understand Robin’s struggle. How do you lay something like that on the person you love when he is so hopeful about the future – and right before the holidays, no less? It’s hard for me to judge Robin too harshly on this, only because I cannot imagine what it must feel like to walk in shoes that heavy.

It seems that Lucky Spencer would rather take the easy way out when it comes to Liz than to tell her the truth, but thank goodness he wasn’t the only one who had the chance this time. First of all, how thrilled were all of you to finally see that Liz can no longer fool every single man in existence?!? They  all seem to be recognizing Some Inconvenient Truths about her at last, and I for one, am deeply satisfied! I know Matt can be a pain in the butt when it comes to defending the Formerly Sainted One, but he certainly got his comeuppance as he finally realized that Liz was running more maneuvers than military personnel, and all in an effort to get Lucky to do exactly what she wanted. As if that wasn’t enough, Liz then had the Christmas balls to look Matt in the face, and tell him to leave! If only Lucky had stood his ground after that, it would have been perfect! Instead, Lucky got guilted into promising her the Christmas card scenes he thinks will make her better and stronger. Fool. Across the hall, the painting Dr. Ewan heard just enough to peg Liz as the faking, manipulator she is. Dr. Ewan not only caught her faking a breakdown to scam Lucky – and for all the wrong reasons, he also caught her sneaking around to try and catch a peek at his painting. Now the professional knows that she’s not only a liar, but a sneak, too! 😉 That was great, but I must admit that the most fun I had was listening to Matt serve Patrick Some Inconvenient Truths about his friend, Nurse Webber! Comparing Liz to “A sinister geppetto” was my absolute favorite truth, as she has worked the men in Port Charles as her personal puppets by pulling their children’s heart-strings long enough. I am glad Matt sees just how wrong Liz has been, and that her manipulations aren’t all that different from Lisa’s. I actually hope those truths aren’t washed away by crocodile tears this time.

I am really pleasantly surprised by how much I am enjoying this Sonny and Kate relationship! I was so tired of only hearing about and seeing Sonny as a mobster dealing with bi-polar disorder. While it is a condition he has to deal with every day, I felt that over the past couple of years, I felt like bi-polar disorder was the lead on this soap, instead of Sonny. It has been so fabulous to watch Sonny smile and be the smooth operator we all know and love. My Vanessa was home in time to watch part of GH with me today, and during one of Sonny’s scenes with Kate at the brownstone, I glanced at her to ask her something and she was smiling! SMILING! During GH! And at the end, when Sonny and Kate had to run because they set off the alarm, she was actually chuckling! What a welcome change! I loved that everything Sonny and Kate talked about since driving in Bensonhurst all those weeks ago was for a real purpose. Kate was listening to Sonny (a whole lot better than I was apparently) and she used her Kate Howard pull to help Sonny finally put the past where it belongs – in the past. I loved the concept of Kate finally giving Sonny the Christmas he never got in that brownstone full of terrible and tragic memories. When Sonny said Kate had brought some light into the darkness, I found myself nodding my agreement. It seems that Garin Wolf did the same thing with this storyline, but I fear it was just too little light too late to save his job. However, I will give credit where credit is due. Sonny’s admission that when he bought the place, he thought he could own it, instead of it owning him was powerful! Him realizing that he had instead made a shrine to the damage that was done there was really an AHA moment for Sonny! Oprah would be proud! Those were definitely Some Inconvenient Truths for Sonny, but I truly believe those truths have helped to set him free! KUDOS to Mr. Wolf for turning Sonny’s place on pain into a safe haven for people in pain to turn to! The idea of turning that place into a shelter or half-way house was just BRILLIANT! Nothing takes away the power of our past pain more than allowing that pain to fuel something good, and to hemp others deal with their pain. It was a beautiful thing!

It was certainly not a good day for Jason Morgan. He definitely had Some Inconvenient Truths to face. Shawn had to point out to the usually in control Stone Cold that he is more than just slightly distracted. Shawn had to politely insist that Jason let Shawn take the meeting, instead of taking it himself. Shawn was not just being truthful, but he was on the money with his assessment of what the perception is on the Corinthos Organization. It’s been about as abandoned as the Bensonhurst brownstone, or Jason and Sam’s Love Shack in Hawaii. There’s not even a presence to deal with, and that is such a dangerous thing in this line of business. I felt badly that poor Bernie had to take one for the team, especially since I highly doubt there is another brother to take over if he were to lose that battle with that bullet, but had Jason been the one to walk into that trap, I am not sure he would have made it out alive. THAT is just how distracted he is, and how obsessed he is with finding and killing Franco.

Our beloved Samantha Morgan has finally released the choke hold she’s had on Some Inconvenient Truths since returning from her honeymoon. I am so proud of the young man Michael seems to have morphed into almost overnight! He saw that Sam was struggling with something more personal and more painful, and urged her to face it herself, and to release it so that it released some of its power over her. I was so grateful that someone finally invested enough time in Sam to see what was lying just beneath the surface, and to reach in and pull it out of her, even as she fought tooth and nail. I found the conversation between Sam and Michael was deeply moving, and important for the both of them. I think Michael had a huge healing moment, even if he has yet to realize it, and Sam seemed to be able to breathe a little deeper after telling Michael and releasing all of the tormenting thoughts she’s been keeping to herself. Perhaps Sam and Michael’s conversation was most important to the one person who wasn’t part of the conversation. No one needed to hear Some Inconvenient Truths about how difficult it has been for Sam to deal with this on her own, and to carry all of that worry and concern for Jason as well. I know that Jason seemed hurt by hearing Sam say that she can’t confide in Jason, but until he puts down the anger, rage, and hatred for Franco, and picks up the responsibility for finding out what’s wrong with him so that it’s one less thing has to worry about, I have a hard time feeling badly for him, especially when Sam is in so much turmoil. Let’s all hope and pray that hearing Sam’s truth will spur Jason on to finding out his truth about his condition. Then, and only then can Sam and Jason get back to being the very thing the other needs most.

As much as I have selfishly anticipated the end of this dark and tragic storyline, I cannot ignore the fact that Miss Kelly Monaco was finally given the kind of material she is worthy of, and has kicked its ass every chance she gets! If there is a more authentic portrayer of pain and heartache on daytime, I have yet to see her. Trust me, I would know, as I never forget the ones who make me cry like a baby! Kelly sometimes makes me forget that I am watching her character, and the sorrow I feel for her makes me want to make them stop making her cry! I so want Sam’s pain to be over. I want her nightmare to end. I want her to smile and tease her husband about chicken noises, or Hawaiian shirts, or anything at all again! It really is an amazing gift when she can make me feel so badly for her that it hurts me to watch her scenes, even though there is no one I’d rather watch on GH! I am more and more proud to be a fan of hers with every agonizing scene she delivers! *applause*

I am keeping my fingers crossed that 2012 can be a year of healing for Mr. and Mrs. Morgan, both physically and emotionally. I am hoping that at least some of the laughter and lightness that reigns supreme on One Life To Live will soon move over the skies at General Hospital, and that we will all have reason to smile with Jason and Sam again.

It’s my Christmas wish for my favorite soap!

What’s yours?

Angelique

***************************************************

Well, #TeamPositive: Be passionate, be sincere, but always BE POSITIVE and RESPECTFUL! 😉

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

AND!!! The New Headwriter: @carlivatiron (Thanks to Darlene (Samjase) for lookin’ out!)

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Ron Carlivati, Headwriter, General Hospital; Frank Valentini, Executive Producer, General Hospital; Kelly Monaco, or Steve Burton, c/o General Hospital, ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

***************************************************

5 responses

  1. Traveler

    XOXOXOXO – Thank you SO MUCH for the Congrats on my Son’s Graduation!! It really was/is one of the biggest highlights of my life!!

    Thanks for another GREAT Blog!!
    I was so Happy to hear Sam get what Franco appears to have done to her off her chest.. Wow.. Its been great to see Michael step up and be there for her.. But my favorite part was Jason overhearing what she had to say.. Im so Hopeful, he takes it to heart and gets the help he needs so he can support Sam like she has always supported him!!
    Im looking forward to watching The Morgans this week and hoping for some reconnecting time together…
    My Christimas Wish for GH/JaSam is the Same as yours!!! I believe and am keeping the faith……

    December 20, 2011 at 3:26 pm

  2. Fylicia'Marie

    Okay, okay….My name is Fylicia’Marie and….I’M A SKATE FAN….there I said it, well swyped it, but whatev. I was absolutely blown away by my dimpled don and his not so high and mighty anymore dame. Wasn’t too long ago I was panning nu-Connie from the block, but I must admit, I’ve been won over. Thanx G-Dub. I was right there chuckling with Miss Vanessa. Good stuff and do needed amidst all of the present PC heartache. Thanx for a great post. Don’t overdo it for Christmas, try and get some relaxing in.

    December 20, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  3. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers, I am sure we all are Busy with trying to give our families all the love we have to give/share! Congrads to you,your son and all who extend from you! Watching our children step from Journey in Life to another is always Joyous in more ways than I could ever express!
    Well Done!
    Angelique you must be reading my mind! Watching this s/l has broken my Jasam Loving Heart but KM has done a fantastic job so has CD!Kelly has always been able to “pull” me in no matter what! She is GH Bella Mafia in the most gracious way!
    As for Liz I do not dislike RH but I CANNOT STAND Liz! I need to go back and rewatch because as soon as she comes on I walk away from the televison i just cannot stomach Liz! I guess GW was trying to please that fan base but lately too much Liz not enough Jasam! When Jason and Sam are on together the screen just Lights up at least thats what it does for me!.Its not that I cannot respect how that fanbase sticks up for Liaz but the way they attack Kelly is ridiculous!
    Sonny and Kate, I have enjoyed this s/l Kates relationship with Sonny came from a very different emotion………Caring and Love! Connie let her feeling for her 1st Love challenge her to HELP Sonny not fix or change him and that seems to have made the greatest impact on Sonny. Not since his brief relationship with Emily have you seen this Sonny! They both challenged Sonny to be a “Better Man” (oh how I Love that scene,Jason and Sam)!Connie/Kate put Sonny 1st to try and help Sonny deal with an awful Pain that has always been lurking inside!
    Till next time Jasammers how ever you may celebrate this time of year be Blesssed!

    December 20, 2011 at 10:50 pm

  4. alwaysaromantic

    The Congrads are to Traveler (sorry I should have proof read better)!

    December 20, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    • Traveler

      Thanks!! xoxo

      December 22, 2011 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

