Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN?”

That seems to have been the question of the day, huh, GHers?

It seems that all hell has broken loose – not only IN Port Charles, but surrounding it as well.

As I posted this morning around 3 a.m., I saw a tweet that Jill Farren-Phelps was out, and that Frank Valentini was in.

When I woke up, it was being said that Ron Carlivati was taking over as GH’s headwriter as well.

I’m sure that you’ve all heard it all by now, as it’s been all over Twitter all day!

*sigh* 

What Does It All Mean?

I don’t really know, and I doubt that we’ll find anyone who can tell you otherwise.

This is just one of those awful times when we just have to wait it out to see what happens next, and hope that all of these new people in charge of our beloved soap are going to spend as much time on youtube getting to know our beloved characters as Steph and I spend on it during our bouts with insomnia. I found my nicest computer paper, and I am going to write my first letters to them tomorrow, (I am sure they will forward their mail) wishing them well, but letting them know that we don’t want a new show. We just want our soap, our supercouples – just written better, and more consistently.

2004-2005 is a great, ratings-strong era for them to familiarize themselves with. I wouldn’t mind going back to that kind of storytelling, when story lines had a clear beginning, middle, and end.

‘Til then, we better keep our eyes on what’s going on in Port Charles, before it becomes a place we may not recognize!

Between Patrick, Robin, and Matt, one would think that they are working together at trying to look guilty in the murder mystery surrounding Dr. Niles. Each of them is guilty of some pretty serious suspicious behavior! Robin is taking off in the middle of the night to dump rose petals in the water, Patrick is handing off surgeries to other surgeons and even more seriously – sharing the limelight, and Matt has just dropped off the hospital’s radar completely, and canceled all of his appointments! Even Mac thinks his girls might need a good attorney because of their shady dealings! We all know how the hospital’s rumor mill works; if they’re not careful, it won’t be long before everyone is asking “What Does It All Mean?” when it comes to their roles in Lisa’s murder. They need to get it together and fast!

I really am trying to understand Carly. Truly, I have made an earnest effort, but I just don’t’ get her or how her selfish, manipulative mind works. Wasn’t it just YESTERDAY that we watched as she, in tears, begged Jason to keep Joss safe because she was worried SICK over the threat he posed? Well, I have to tell you all that if I thought there was a threat surrounding any of my children’s safety and well-being, I wouldn’t be able to sleep, eat, or take a freakin’ bathroom break where I’d be forced to take my eyes off of them until I was sure that the threat was eliminated. When I saw Carly at the MetroCourt, smiling, flirting with Shawn, tasting the Daily Special, and acting as though we all dreamed the threat that is Franco, I wanted to climb through that television and give her a now classic SamSlap! Did I hear her say to Shawn that they have “guards” on Joss at home? Carly! Give me a freakin’ break! When will being a mother mean more to Carly than a way to get Jason, or Sonny, or now Shawn, to do exactly what she wants them to do? When we stop and think about the meltdown Carly had because of her supposed fear about Franco coming after Joss, and then watch her enjoying a salad as if it were her only concern, I have to ask myself,“What Does It All Mean?” to Carly to be the one person Joss has to count on for her safety and well-being? These are the kinds of things that Carly would do that would send Jax into a wild rage about her mothering. To be fair to Jax, he had every right to be concerned, and to fight Carly for a chance to keep his daughter safer than she is with a mother whose first priority changes as needed.

It’s no wonder Sonny found someone else to rebound with after Brenda. While I may be sick of the “remember when” moments that none of were around to witness, I tell you that I can handle anything that makes Sonny smile like that! It’s nice to see him having fun, and enjoying himself for a change. Whatever your feelings on Megan’s Kate vs. Kelly’s Kate, you have to admit that Maurice’s Sonny is on his game as of late, and back to obviously enjoying the time he’s putting in at work. So for me, that’s a plus. Sonny asked Kate if his attempt to melt her was working. I don’t know about Kate, but it’s working one me, sir! 😉 Sonny wants to see New York CIty through Kate’s eyes, while Kate is secretly wishing that she’s finally get to see Bensonhurst through Sonny’s eyes.“What Does It All Mean?” Probably that somehow together, they want to get to a place where they will be able to see a future together in each other’s eyes.

I am one of the people who wants Spinelli to stay in Port Charles as long as there is a Port Charles. That doesn’t mean I don’t want him to move to another part of Port Charles, because I so do, but I like Spin, and I like that he and Sam are partners, so I’d be sorry to see him go. When I saw the tweets back and forth about the rumor that he was leaving, and then his answer that he was not, I thought,  “What Does It All Mean?” even if Bradford says he was “told” he was safe, because in the past we’ve seen that sometimes the actor being let go is the last to know.  Especially with all of the sudden changes taking place in and around Port Charles…I hope the new GH honchos take the time to understand Spin’s connections to PC, especially to his best friends, Sam and Jason.

Jason is trying so hard to understand exactly what it is going through Sam’s mind that has her following strangers through dark alleys in the middle of the night, but it’s beyond him. After all that’s happened, Jason would much rather know where Sam is at every single moment, and if given a choice, he’d probably want her to take up a new line of work – any work – that doesn’t have her “following leads” or anything else on her own. Poor Jason. It must be tough to face that the very qualities that make Sam his perfect fit are the qualities that are aging him by the moment since Franco. “What Does It All Mean?”  Well, I’d bet that even if he won’t admit it, Jason probably wishes that Sam would let him scoop her up, carry her home, and keep her in a bubble bath until they both turned into prunes. Anything to keep her within sight, and within arms’ reach, and close enough to pretend that they aren’t miles apart.

Jason’s anger and frustration kinda got the best of him when he told Sam that the tag she found probably only proved that Franco was close, and that he was probably watching them at that very moment. Sam seems to think  that because of all that anger and frustration Jason feels guilty, and therefore, he’s not thinking straight, but Jason showed her just how clearly he understood that Franco was getting exactly what he wanted: to come between them. *tears* 

I hate, hate, hate, that Jason and Sam can feel this huge divide that e can only see. I hate that they feel so disconnected and far apart, and can’t even seem to think the same way until they are forced to think about Franco’s latest gift and the question, “What Does It All Mean?” for them.

I will be honest.

I had a physical reaction to watching Sam open the box and react to what she saw. And when Spin shared the meaning of the tag as “a bond to the creator”, and then suggested that maybe it was referring to “something that Franco created in Hawaii, on Jason and Sam’s honeymoon”, I literally felt the bile rise. I was nauseous, and I felt as though I had just seen something disgusting.

Just watching Jason and Sam look at each other, and once again, have the same thought was so hard for me. You could see them both fighting back the thought, pushing it way down to the bottom of their conscious thoughts, and tying to lock it away from their thoughts forever. As if what they already think happened hasn’t horrified and traumatized them enough, they now have a horror far more devastating lurking.

Oh, God. Just rewatching those scenes makes me need a Xanax.

I know that this darkness can’t last forever, and that there will be light at the end of the tunnel, but it’s a pretty long tunnel, and it’s hard to focus on getting to the other side. Watching Jason and Sam struggle through this darkness makes it that much harder.

I find myself wishing that I could write Sam a note and remind her that she wore her fertility necklace made by her husband at all times, except for the time she was at Franco’s mercy. I want Jason to remember that as Sam’s brave and fierce Dragon, he has to hold on to the promise that his Phoenix has the power to turn bad luck in to good. I wish I could lock them both in a room, play back some of the vids that our Sunday Drive vidders have created, and let them bask in the magic and indestructibility of their Love Story, until they were as convinced as we are that Jason and Sam will get through this…still in tact, and still in love.

Huh…look at that. In wishing I could remind Mr. & Mrs. Morgan, I realize that I’ve reminded myself. “What Does It All Mean?” It means that I have enough to go on for another day of this long journey. It means that maybe you do, too.

Listen, I know that this was not the same concept of a Love Story we thought Mr. Wolf was describing, but the only way out of it is to trust the story as he asked, because no matter what changes are coming in the New Year, one thing remains the same. Mr. Wolf’s story was written, acted, and filmed weeks in advance. We are going to have to ride out the mind games Franco has orchestrated for Jason and Sam based on the way Mr. Wolf saw it play out in his mind’s eye.

In the meantime, all we can do is remind each other, whenever the need arises, that the answer to “What Does It All Mean?” is that we have to fight for our couple and our soap for as long as we possibly can, and with everything we’ve got!

A word of advice? A DAILY Drive Down Memory Lane helps! Try it for yourself: (It’s more calming than prescription meds 😉 )  “They Don’t Know” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9g9gIm-2zjk Credit: aproditebeauty

We’re going to get through this…

Angelique

 

7 responses

  1. OMG.. my babie’s are so broken.. Mr & Mrs Morgan break my heart a little more each day. I will always hold on to what I know.. their love is as strong as ever and has been tested time and time again, no matter who or what has gotten in the way they have ALWAYS found their way back to each other.

    Their love will build the bridge that will bring them back to each other.. stronger and more in love than ever.. and baby Morgan makes three which will only cement the bond of love shared between Jason and Sam since the day they laid eyes on each other! A love so strong that through it all.. this once in a lifetime love was never lost, even when they were not together they still loved each other deeply.. Sam has always been Jasons Heart!

    I love you!

    December 2, 2011 at 2:53 am

  2. I honestly hope and pray that the new HW does not feel he has to “change” things to the point of destroying Jason and Sam. This couple is just GOLD for me; I don’t want to see things change to the point that I no longer recognize GH or it’s characters. As you said; what we need is better writing for the couples that we already have, scenes that are consistent, and for heaven’s sake not so much doom and gloom. Couples can be happy and still be interesting. Sam is the women for Jason and has always been his soulmate; I honestly cannot see him with anyone else but Samantha Morgan and I can’t wait until they see the light at the end of this tunnel. Hate that KMc is leaving but it is her choice to do so, so it is what it is. Wish her the best of luck!

    December 2, 2011 at 8:55 am

  3. Carol

    I hope Franco’s “present” will convince Sam she needs to go get another paternity test and finally find out that she was pregnant before Franco did whatever he did. I am praying our little Morgan girl was conceived in the cabin where nothing bad ever happened and is the safe place for JaSam.

    December 2, 2011 at 9:22 am

  4. Christie Rogers

    We are going to get through this and so are they. They are a love story just one with a lot of tragedy but tragedy they have always over came. Like you said, We just need to look back at all the tough times, and so do they, and remember that while it was tough they over came it all. Shootings, memory loss, kidnappings, diseases, broken hearts they have been through it and made it through.

    I have to have faith that the baby is Jason’s. With the recent changes Jasam fans need to continue to show our support for our show and couple. Write, call, tweet do whatever we can to show our presence. We aren’t going anywhere and neither is Jasam.

    Tank you for always being positive!

    December 2, 2011 at 10:46 am

  5. Hi Angelique,

    I understand what you are saying. I don’t understand the changing of head writers and no explanation. I love GW writing I though us some great balance in the show with all the characters. I’m being positive watching all the stuff for our couple. I’m not really understanding the whole disconnect right now cause I thought this was suppose to bring The Morgans together. I use and still love Carly but I don’t understand her character anymore.I mean the time I have watched Carly she has been in love with Sonny and would do anything for Both Sonny and Jason. I never understood Carly marrying Jax, A because he could never handle her Sonny and Jason being in her life.The second reason is what happen to Michael is Jax fault and all Carly could do was blame Sonny for that happening to him. I love Carly with Shawn, but I feel like they have a lot to fix still.

    I don’t know what is happening to scrubs either and I’m big fan of that couple. I mean they have had it hard since Patrick sleeping with Lisa. Now that Lisa is dead I see they are falling apart again . Are they getting ready to send Robin away again because the actress is leaving the show.

    These are observations I made.

    Thank You
    Courtney

    December 2, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  6. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers,
    I really do not know what to say! I am trying my best to stay positive but this has been a rough week. With Kim leaving and watching this pain with Jason and Sam I am so frustrated. Then I come hear and read all the positive comments and I feel better. I just do not trust the TPTB will they really hear Voices about GH and our connection to this show. Will they really care how much Mr and Mrs Morgan our Loved and how this couple is a once in a soap lifetime relationship. There are so many avenues for them to travel as Man and Wife. Why don’t they see that!!! Are all these changes on “purpose”?! I am going to relay this to TPTB and i hope they hear US!

    December 2, 2011 at 6:37 pm

  7. Very, very hard to stay positive with this s/l. Grateful for everyone’s uplifting words and this wonderful blog. The changes are happening so thick and fast, one after another. My hope is that TPTB, whoever they are, will recognize the incredible talent and chemistry that SB and KM have, and the fanbase that has supported and loved them all these years. And, therefore, will keep them Mr and Mrs Morgan for as long as GH endures. Faith, faith, faith………and letters, calls, etc,etc!!!!

    December 3, 2011 at 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

