Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“Tell Me What You Remember”…

My Dearest GHers, let me begin by saying that I am so proud of all of you!

Truly, I am just so impressed by all of you after Tuesday’s scenes, where from the moment we saw Jason in tears, it felt as though they’d reached in, pulled out our hearts, and twisted them dry. It was a tough day for those of us who love Jason and Sam so much…especially as we watched Jason have to rip out his own heart in order to break Sam’s with the awful truth that it wasn’t him there with her, but Franco.

For weeks, we have encouraged each other, tried to remind each other of how strong their love was, and all in preparation for this. I have to say that we are one hell of a support group, because even as it played out onscreen, and challenged us to face our biggest fears, we held it together. I was immediately impressed by how so many of you recognized that this story is going to allow Steve and Kelly to take their acting to a whole new level, and that’s their reward; a well-deserved reward.

More than that, I am really proud of you all for not jumping to conclusions or making assumptions. I think many of you remember that Garin Wolf warned us to “not assume,” and “even when we saw it.”  You guys are getting really good at playing this the way Mr. Wolf wants us to play it – riding it out, paying attention, and believing in the story that has touched us so deeply over the past seven years. You guys are actually a little better than me – I was a nervous wreck!

😉

Once again, I know there were other stories onscreen today…

  • Steve is about as honorable as his sister it seems, as he took one glimpse of that pregnancy test, and hauled ass out of Liv’s so fast, you’d think the flames of hell were licking at his feet!
  • Dante and Lulu….I don’t know, did a lot of kissing, talked about the ring, and grocery shopping…and Lulu hit the wine bottle again.
  • Sonny reminded us why he’s so damned good at getting what he wants, which, let’s be honest can be summed up in one word: LAID. After weeks and weeks of going after Kate, he has finally gotten her exactly where he wants her: she’s the one doing the begging now, and on Coleman’s turf. He’s not just a player – he’s an MVP.
  • Carly and Shawn seem to have taken a time machine ride back to the last millennium. The one thing that actually got my attention was Carly telling Shawn that he’s “not into her” because she’s white. Was this even an issue back in the ’90’s when Jason and Keesha “did it”? It bothered me almost as much as people calling Shawn “Black Jason”. I thought we were way past labeling people by color. I am hoping this wasn’t  part of GH’s idea to revisit “history”..

While I am sure that all of those stories meant something to lots of viewers, I must tell you, that my attention span could only absorb Jason’s desperate attempt to get to his beloved, and I struggled to be patient during any other scenes. I felt like the minutes between their scenes were like enduring the summer after a show’s cliffhanger for their season finale!

When was the last time a storyline sucked you in like this? Certainly not burning hotels, crashing trains, or toxic spheres. What has drawn me in and kept me, even against my will, is the amount of emotion that this story has not only had as its main ingredient, but the amount of emotion it has evoked from us as viewers. I could barely hold it together as I saw Jason pacing his cell, crying as his imagination tortured him with what Franco could have done to Sam. I will say this again. If Steve Burton doesn’t get an Emmy next year, no male lead should get an Emmy next year.

What emotion didn’t Steve make you believe he was feeling? Fear for the woman he loved? Done. Utter Desperation? Done. Paralyzing helplessness? Done. The possibility that he would lose his mind? Bust a vein from the sheer pressure? Curl up in a ball and cry? Done, done, and done. What an amazing myriad of feelings Steve convinced me Jason was feeling! More than that, he made me feel them as well! If I thought he could hear, me I would have stood and shouted my appreciation.

Even when Jason ran into the bungalow shouting Sam’s name, I cried. I could only imagine what was running through his mind. He had no idea what happened after Franco covered the camera. Did he expect to find Sam was hurt? Taken? DEAD? He must have had to entertain, if even for a moment, all of those thoughts, because as I saw his complete anguish as he ran towards where he had last seen her onscreen, all of those things ran through my own mind, even though I knew Sam would be there.

When Jason was trying to shake Sam awake, you could feel his urgency. He needed to know she was okay…“as if his life depended on it.” Those scenes of Jason lying on Sam, clinging to her, and then kissing her belly, where I hope their baby felt it, were everything a good soap are made of. Those scenes also showed the incorruptible strength of Jason and Sam’s love in that without truly knowing what had happened there, but having the worst kinds of suspicions, Jason wanted no space between them. He held on to her as if holding her could erase Franco’s touch. For me, that was the most beautiful thing I’ve seen Jason do. I wept like a baby.

The cruel thing about Jason’s position was that while he wanted more than anything for Sam to wake up, he probably dreaded it just as much. Jason knew that once she was awake, he would have to tell her what he had dealt with as she lie there unconscious.

And who said the writers didn’t remember the loss of Sam’s baby? Wasn’t that the exact same torment Jason faced then? 

;(

I know that things look really bad. Franco had Sam at his mercy. He was unhindered, and basically unstoppable. Meanwhile, Sam was completely helpless and unconscious. Yet, I think that we should take our cues from Jason here.

Jason asked Sam, “Tell me what you remember…”

Sam told him everything she could remember, right down to Jason being outside the shower, and …

“In the bed with her.”

Oh, God. To hear that was a blow…for Jason, and for us as well. Wouldn’t that be any man’s worst nightmare under any circumstances? Another man in bed with his wife? Add to that the fact that Jason was unable “to do anything to protect her”, as he had promised her just hours before, and it’s enough to drive any man over the edge.

Yet, Jason held it together for Sam. He listened attentively, thought carefully, and visibly suffered with what he had to tell her. But how could he not tell her, based on what she remembered? Jason knew what Sam didn’t. That he wasn’t there with her to rescue her from her dizzy spell in the shower, or to lie with her in their bed.

So, once again, seven years after he did it for the first time, Jason had to tell her yet another most difficult thing that happened to her… while she was sleeping.

It broke my heart to hear Sam asking Jason what was going on, but still answering his question, because even though she knew there was more, she trusted his process. When she finally said, “Please, tell me,” and her voice trembled, I felt a lump in my throat. She knew something was wrong, but hearing the truth was more important than being protected. That’s the Sam I love.

When Jason told her it wasn’t him in the bed with her, and she struggled to ask the next questions, I was bawling. She didn’t want to know, but had to know all at the same time. How tragic!

As much as I love Sam, I am loving the way that Jason is loving our Sam! More than I have in years! I was touched by the way he fell to his knees before her, and took her hand, to steady her before he told her the rest of it. It took a bravery I just can’t even understand for him to be able to tell Sam, especially when she looked absolutely devastated by the words, “It was Franco.”

Sam was blown away by Jason’s words. That Kelly Monaco can say so much with just a look! Was that horror? Disbelief? Devastation? Or a combination of all three? All I know is that she made me want to climb through my screen, put my arms around her, and cry with her.

Steve and Kelly are truly gifted on their own, but together, they bring Double Giftedness.

They are in a class all their own.

So…

How will Sam be able to process what Jason is telling her? How will she deal with the implications?

I’m not sure, but unlike Jason and Sam, we don’t have to immediately assume the worst.

Can we focus on what Sam didn’t remember for a moment?

She didn’t say that she remembered Jason touching her, or them making love.

She didn’t say that she felt his arms around her, or her turning to him.

And what about what Jason didn’t see?

He didn’t see Franco sitting around, playing his ukulele, while poor Jason was left to imagine Franco playing Sam’s lover.

He didn’t see Franco taunt him in the worst possible way, which would be to violate Sam while Jason watched.

I choose to believe that what we didn’t hear, and what we didn’t see, is more significant than what we did hear and and see. I choose to believe that while Franco is one sick bastard, and a murdering sociopath, he is not a rapist, or he could have raped Sam when he took her in her bikini from her hot tub.

I do, however, believe that Franco wanted to assault Jason’s mind, and leave it reeling, the way Sam will be reeling from thinking he sexually assaulted her.

I think most of you are on the right track in believing that we should assume nothing, even though we think we saw it happen, just like Jason did.

Mr. Wolf is into games, too. Just like Franco, I think he wants to see how we react, and if we can keep it together long enough to appreciate the story, even when we can’t see the beginning from the end.

The story here, my dear, dear friends, I truly believe, is Jason and Sam’s Incredible Love Story.

Let’s do it.

Let’s keep it together long enough to appreciate the strength and beauty of their Incomparable Love Story.

I really feel we won’t be sorry…

Angelique

11 responses

  1. Trini

    Amen.

    Riveting TV

    November 9, 2011 at 6:19 am

  2. Carol

    Girl I love the way you just know what we are feeling when it comes to JaSam….It was amazing how much I felt both Jason’s and Sam’s pain the moment he told her it wasnt him with her but Franco. I know my girl is strong but just how strong she is we will have to wait and see. In the media pics, it looks as though Sam is conforting Jason when they go back to the place where Jason was held. I know that Sam is the one that was “violated” , but Jason was the one that had to sit there and think all the worse and feel helpless to stop it. These two are in for a very bumpy road and I can’t wait to see how Stelly will rock these scenes as they always do.

    November 9, 2011 at 9:23 am

  3. Mique

    I just wanted to say that I read your blog everyday that you post. I thought yesterday scenes were amazing. I felt so many emotions at the same time. I really really hope that franco didn’t rape sam, but I don’t know anymore.

    November 9, 2011 at 9:26 am

  4. Alex

    Love your calming influence on me. I was going to go crazy watching those scenes. I had to watch them again to see if I could put the pieces of the puzzle together. I also think that nothing happened just awful mind games, let’s hope so!

    November 9, 2011 at 10:30 am

  5. I always said I was not a crier…..but no more. Our couple changed that, as they did years ago on the same day…….I so agree, SB deserves the Emmy they were denied back then. And they both will, before this is over. ITA we don’t know…and I believe that sicko likes mind games as much as the actual torment and act of torture itself. So let’s keep the faith JaSammers……Angelique, please help us, and we will help you if we can. It’s gonna be a bumpy ride……but we can do it!! Much love,

    November 9, 2011 at 11:51 am

  6. jana

    Thank you Bella you have spelled it out beautifully. Just believe in their love and we will be safe

    November 9, 2011 at 2:09 pm

  7. samjase

    I’m in awe of Jasam. I’m in awe of you. You have managed to put into words all that we felt during the Jasam scenes. They were riveting. They were beautifully acted. The writers showed the intensity of the love that Jason has for Sam. Steve Burton was OUTSTANDING…and, I just watched Wednesday’s episode..NO WORDS. Kelly was AWESOME. Both of them completely blew me away. I’m still crying.

    November 9, 2011 at 5:49 pm

  8. Traveler

    You know… Ive always been more of a Sam fan than a Jason Fan. However, after these scenes I think Jason is now tied with Sam!! OMG.. Can I say how much it meant to me as a JaSam Fan to have Jason tell Sam the hard truth about what happened. No matter the amount of pain to both of them now… It will be worth it in the long run..
    “Hurt Me with the Truth but, Never Comfort Me with a Lie”
    Even if my heart is breaking for JaSam now.. These are the moments that tie the bonds!!
    Not only am I a HUGE JaSam Fan.. Im becoming even more of a Stelly Fan!! They have been AWESOME!!
    Thanks for this GREAT Blog Angelique!! xoxoxo

    November 9, 2011 at 8:13 pm

  9. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers and I mean this with all my heart! Angelique what we do without you! To be able to come and share with ALL of us who are so invested in this Couple! I read your Blog this morning started writing to comment and I erased it! My thoughts,my emotions were all over the place! I am so PROUD! Since the day1st saw Jasam,I have been hooked on these Two amazing actors for 7 plus years.As much as I too was a wreck about this s/l I will give credit where its due! This was Genius to tie this right now with what happened 7years ago, freaking Genius!!!!!!! Its different but its the same.Angelique I am sure you could explain it better than I can! They (GH writers) are taking us down a Journey that has all Emotionally spent and its just been a few days. Most of us are not even focusing on the other s/l’s! I do not mean that in a disrespectful way but I just Love Jason and Sam always have! When we watched 7years ago I for one thought I could EVER get that drawn in again! I stood strong for them even when all hope seemed lost! I would not let go,I couldn’t. As much as they have given to US all these years I never imagined they would ever touch my heart the same way as with Baby Lila! As the saying goes never say never! In some ways they HAD to take this rode! I am still struggling with this s/l but 2 words have been able to soothe my worry “Dragon and Phoenix”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Ok question for everyone: Do we bombard the Emmy Committe NOW or do we wait?!!!!!!!!!!!

    November 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    • samjase

      I don’t think that Stelly are done with their fantastic scenes yet with this storyline. They’ve only just begun. Wait until Sam finds out she’s pregnant!!! Those will be additional contenders for emmy reels. They’ll probably be dozens of them by the time this story concludes. Jasam will only get stronger … if that’s possible. I’m so crazy about this couple…actors and characters..I’m borderline nutso!

      November 10, 2011 at 1:28 am

  10. I love your blog and how you can put into words everything we feel. I couldnt agree with you more about the emmy’s but also it is kelly’s year too. if not then im DONE with the emmy’s.

    I choose to believe that he didnt do it either and they will be even stronger in the end with hopefully our baby girl

    November 12, 2011 at 10:08 pm

Leave a Reply

