Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“FRANCO…..NOOOOOOOO!”

Are you all alright, my beloved GHers?

As many times as I heard Jason shout those words up there in that title over the past week, nothing could have prepared me for how I would FEEL watching Steve Burton shout them.

I was just chatting with two dear friends on Facebook, and commented how I was still kinda speechless on everything we saw today, and I myself must have watched it at least 20 times. It’s like a train wreck – hard to watch, but impossible to look away!

Before I go any further, let me warn you that today, if you were expecting commentary on anything other than the less than three minutes of Franco’s torture of Jason, forgive me. I know it seems incredible that though we were only given those pee-wee scenes that were about as long as a sneak-peek, it’s all I can think about, and it was all that mattered to me on the entire episode. I’d be lying if I told you I could even remember anything else, because though I sat through the entire episode, when Jason, Sam, and Franco weren’t on, I was still thinking about them.

Was I the only one?

EVERYTHING else seemed gray and flat to me,…the way Sam described life after their adventure at the courthouse, the day they had to give their statements to the Feds after saving Jake from the Russians. Jason, Sam, and Franco were the only scenes I experienced in living color.

Sure, I saw Matt and Liz…blah, blah, blahing…and then Maxie throwing a hissy fit, but all I could think was… “How will Jason be able to endure watching  Franco get to Sam, while she’s completely unsuspecting in that shower?”

And yes, I saw the Jake’s stuff play out with Carly, and Johnny, and Sonny, and Shawn, yada, yada, yada…but the whole time I was wondering, “Will Sam stay unconscious the entire time so that she doesn’t have to live through it, and then relive it the rest of her life?”

I was even aware of Max and Milo, who usually make me smile and take notice, but I just couldn’t stop thinking, “OMG. Jason is watching Franco un  – WRAP his wife’s naked, lifeless body from the shower curtain? He has to stand there, trapped, and watch this freak look over his wife’s body, as though it was his for the taking, AND MOVE HER AROUND THEIR BED, in all of her nakedness?”

I will tell you, those Franco and JaSam scenes consumed me! I cannot recall a time I was this affected by a soap, and there have been some doozies! (Adam, Sharon, Baby Faith, Ashley…Stephanie, Brooke, and the rapist Stephanie paid?) Oh, the list goes on and on, but this storyline shook me to the core.

Laura could have walked into Wyndemere today, with Stavros, Stefan, and Nikolas in tow, and I STILL would have been thinking, “How will Jason ever erase those images from his mind?”

I could not get those scenes out of my head.

I thought about it during commercials, and I thought about it after the show was over. It was with me while I made dinner, and as I switched the laundry.

When I took a shower, I realized I’d been replaying the whole thing in my head, as I stood there under the shower, swirling the soap around, almost as long as Sam had – and she’d been at it since Friday!

Then it hit me. As much as well complained, and “ranted and raved”, we watched, right along with a tortured Jason. And as much as it hurts to look at, we are going to ride this story out, and trust it, because what choice do we have than to trust the love story of the couple we ourselves SWEAR can get through anything?

If you are anything like me, you might have found yourself screaming, “FRANCO, NOOOOOOO!” just like Jason did at his screen!

And why wouldn’t we? This is just as torturous to watch for us as it is for Jason. How do you watch the person you love left so vulnerable, and there’s not a damned thing you can do to stop it? That’s the situation Jason was in, and it’s the situation we were in.

Jason and Sam are characters we love. And in true-blue-soap-fan fashion, we tend to feel what they feel, and we tend to feel for them. And believe it or not, when we can feel this much, the writers are doing their job. (Today the dialogue part of it was done for the last time by my beloved Michele Val Jean, who has moved on to The Bold and the Beautiful. I wish her nothing but the very best, though she’s taking a little piece of my heart with her. *tears*

I know it’s hard to watch. I know there are lots of other stories they could have gone with. But I think the questions the writers have to ask themselves before putting pen to paper is…what will make them – the actors as well as the viewers, feel the most…even if it’s anger, or outrage.

You know, seven years ago on this day, totally before I knew what spoilers were, or how to even find them, I remember watching in horror and disbelief when Sam’s baby girl died. I was taken completely by surprise! I remember thinking in OUTRAGE, “Why did she have to die? Couldn’t they have done something else?” I remember calling my sister, who was just as invested, and just as excited about Jason and Sam raising Baby Lila together as I was, and crying, “WHY????????”

We just didn’t understand, and even as we watched Steve and Kelly give their best performances to date in the days that followed, we were too swallowed up by grief, and the “could-have-beens” to get that Jason and Sam were living out the very kind of storyline that actors never forget. To this day, Steve and Kelly count those scenes among their most meaningful.

And while I saw Steve’s  and Kelly’s tweets about how hard or sensitive it is to do these storylines, I still believe that they realize the amount of trust their bosses are placing in them, and I think deep down, they appreciate the opportunity it is for them to be recognized professionally. I think as fans, sometimes, not always, we have to put aside our wishes for happy, and uncomplicated storylines, where all of their problems are tackled and resolved within a week, leaving them to play out what can get to be a bit boring, and support our favorites as they get their moment to really shine…by playing out the hard, the hurtful, and yes, even the ugly.

Franco is a deranged sociopath whose art form is serial killing. What did we expect would happen when Franco finally kept his promise to Jason to come back? That he would spray paint their new furniture at the penthouse, or just take off with Sam’s wedding dress? Come on! If we are all honest with ourselves, we will admit that until now, Franco had been written as some namby-pamby villain whose worst crime was making paintings with less artistic flair than my preschoolers, and choosing an inconsistent hairdresser! Sure, some of James Franco’s ideas were HUGE, (think MOCA) but the writing at the time just didn’t do it justice. And Steve Burton would act his ass off, making a novice really have to wonder who the “movie star” was, because he was never once overshadowed by the very talented James Franco. That’s not a dig at James, it’s a compliment to Steve. I also always was a bit bummed that Franco and Sam didn’t have more material, considering that Franco obviously knew that Sam is Jason’s world.

Well, now we got all of that! This time around, there will be no doubt in anyone’s mind just how incredibly disturbed Franco is. This time around, he goes for Jason’s jugular…the one thing that will make him bleed out. No internalizing for Jason this time. Not when it’s his wife he has to watch be violated right before his very eyes! Jason’s turmoil was unlike anything he’s ever been through because he had to watch it play out…and then he couldn’t. I don’t know what was worse for Jason, being able to see what Franco was doing to Sam, or suddenly not knowing what was going on. We all have an opinion about which would be worse to endure, but since we’ve thankfully never been in that position, we can only speculate. Each time I watch the scenes, I change my mind about when he seems to be most tortured. I honestly thought Jason was going to lose his mind…and after watching those last scenes, where he looks as though he could rip Franco apart with his bare hands, that’s a very real possibility.

I know this…whatever happens next, Steve and Kelly are going to bring their “A Game”. They are going to give us exactly what we tune in for: Drama, and Love. And we’ll give them exactly what they work they so hard for…our support.

Just like they did 7 years ago on this day…

In Remembrance of Baby Lila:

“Patience” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mrOoImMXCc Credit: yugottahitpeople

“Precious Child” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8Oi15ZnJC8 Credit: aproditebeauty

Angelique

13 responses

  1. Carol

    OMG! It was just as you said….I couldnt watch but couldnt take my eyes away from them. Now I am a JaSam fan but never really been as fond of Jason as I am Sam, but Steve Burton was outstanding yesterday in those scenes. You could see the pain, anger and helplessness that he was feeling in every single word and look. I thought he was going to burst a blood vessel when his face turned so red in anger. I hope they dont have Sam asleep the entire time, but maybe they will because we wont know and jasam wont know if he actually raped Sam or not. I just want my girl to get some meaty scenes from this storyline as well.

    November 8, 2011 at 7:44 am

  2. Traveler

    *Wipes Tears*
    Thanks so much for todays heart wrenching Blog….Along with the Remembrance of Baby Lila…
    7 Years Ago we also watched while Sam lay unconscious and Jason was living the heartache live. I have faith JaSam will ge thru this “together”!!
    Bravo.. Bravo to Steve Burton for brining his “A Game” to these scenes. I cant wait to watch both Steve and Kelly take us on this next journey with them……..

    November 8, 2011 at 8:15 am

  3. Yesterday was really hard to watch, but exciting at the same time. One could feel the anger, the rage, the pain, the helplessness that Jason felt, having to watch Franco do what he wanted with Sam..Sam who was just as helpless will have to endure whatever Franco does or does not do..but the worst part is, she will not really know what he did and they both are the kind of people who don’t do “helplessness” well. Yesterday was hard to watch, but I believe with all my heart, that Jason and Sam’s love will bring them thru this even stronger and more in love than before.

    November 8, 2011 at 8:27 am

  4. trini

    I agree with everything you said – it was hard to watch. Steve is so good that I really identified with what he was feeling and thinking. It was painful but exciting at the same time. I can’t wait for this story to unfold. Gosh Franco is really a sociopath. When he took off his shirt in front of Jason, I became sick to my stomach. So many emotions. Such great soap (and love) in the afternoon.

    On another note… I love the new look of the blog. 🙂 Thanks Angelique

    November 8, 2011 at 10:19 am

  5. trini

    On another note, since when have there been so many characters with their birthdays on the same day. Confusing much!

    November 8, 2011 at 10:23 am

  6. Wow.. Jason broke my heart yesterday.. As he was locked in his room where he had to watch Franco get to the woman he loved was gut wrenching. Jason has always been able to get to Sam anytime she was in trouble.. but this time all he could do is sit and watch.. and then even that was taken away and he is now left to wonder what was happening to her. I am not sure what was worse for him watching.. or no longer being able too.
    We have all seen Jason go all Stonecold.. but I have never seen Jason as he was yesterday.. Bravo Steve Burton for having the ability to make me feel everything Jason was feeling! I can still hear him yelling “Franco, NOOOO” and it still gives me chills.

    Happy Birthday Baby Lila.. you will never be forgotten!

    I love you, Bella

    November 8, 2011 at 10:31 am

  7. Christie

    First I wanted to thank you for mentioning baby Lila. It didn’t even occur to me that this was her birthday, I was so wrapped up in what was going on with Sam. Before yesterday I was scared about what was going to happen because I am a HUGE Sam fan. I hate seeing her in pain. Watching yesterday I was worried for Sam and how this will affect her. Watching Jason was tough because I can’t imagine what he is going through because Sam means so much to him. When I was watching I thought that if Sam ever died Jason would go with her because I don’t think he could make it. They love each other so deeply and because of that they are going to make it. The next couple months may be tough but if anyone came make it it will be these two.

    November 8, 2011 at 10:31 am

  8. What can I add that hasn’t been said before? Only that SB and KM are the most underrated performers on daytime TV….or anytime. They are both Emmy worthy, and should have had several by now. This s/l is showing their immense talents and chemistry…Steve yesterday showed every emotion that a situation like that would bring out. So real. And Sam will too….we know it. Just think of the baby Lila story, and you know. I for one hope she stays asleep through the “vicious” attack by that sicko…vicious is the word used in some drops, and makes me wonder if he abuses her other than the “rape”…..ugh! Keep us sane, Angelique, please…this will be even more heartbreaking in days to come. Pray their love endures all of it, and brings them to even a stronger place in their marriage………Much love, S

    November 8, 2011 at 10:54 am

  9. samjase

    Angelique…If I had to speak right now, I wouldn’t be able to utter one sound…that’s because I have a huge lump in my throat. YOU ARE AMAZING! It’s not often that I am consumed by a soap s/l, but I have to tell you…Jasam is all I can think about lately. Your words were so beautifully spot on! Thank you. Steve Burton was AWESOME yesterday. I felt every emotion he displayed. Can’t wait for today’s episode.

    November 8, 2011 at 11:03 am

    • I totally agree. With every thing going on in the real world..it’s seldom that I get myself wrapped up in a Soap Opera. But it’s different with Jason and Sam. They are a couple that makes you care about them, what happens to them. I’m very proud to have “known” Jason and Sam Morgan. Thank you also Angelique for mentioning baby Lila. Happy Birthday, Sweet Angel!

      November 8, 2011 at 11:20 am

  10. Fylicia'Marie

    Complete and utter goosebumps. I didn’t even know until you mentioned who else was even on yesterday. Those what three or so minutes were all I recall seeing. Steve did an amazing job, no dialogue, no one else to act off…but he did have a situation to act off of, didn’t he? He put himself in Jason’s shoes so completely didn’t he? What if that had been his precious wife? MVJ will be missed, but yesterday wasn’t about any words that could have been penned, Steve didn’t need them. I watched again with volume on mute. Goosebumps….thanx got great post Angelique

    November 8, 2011 at 3:11 pm

  11. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers!
    Angelique Thank You for another Homerun! This is why I love coming here! It did not even dawn on me the “timing” of this s/l. Last week I was even thinking would they mention that precious little girl this year! I was consumed about this s/l that I put THAT memory far back in my mind and heart. Your perspective answered a lot of questions for me about this s/l,Thank you! They did not mention Sam and Jasons daughter but in some ways they did even better! I remember that whole s/l all these years later! It is a wonderful memory! My heart broke for Jason and Sam yesterday! I could not take my eyes off their scenes! Even though Sam did not have much of a Dialouge(sp) she still pulled you in. Her just saying Jason name before she reached for the shower curtain I just took a deep breath! SB really sold his anger,pain and frustration I felt every bit of it……….helpless. 11 Blogs today and we all felt their pain just like 7years ago!

    November 8, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  12. omg! you said everything that I wanted to say! and I agree….we have to remember that we’re not just jasam and sam fans but we are kelly and steve fans and this is their emmy year! great blog! took the words right out of my mouth for me.

    November 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Leave a Reply

