Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

MODERN FAMILIES

Hi there, GHers!

If Port Charles has been known for one thing throughout its long history, it’s been family. Years ago, it was more of a traditional family – Mom, Dad, Children, Grandparents. Everything you’d expect a family to be … back in the day.

I feel as though the writers are trying (albeit a bit differently than perhaps you or I would), to remind us that Port Charles is still about families…just more… Modern Families. 

Luke and his Brood of Dysfunction is a Modern Family if I’ve ever seen one. It’s just Luke and his DNA samples at times, as I think without a woman’s steady influence on his life, Luke even forgets what being a father is all about. And I guess since they have Lucky running off to Ireland to sleep in cemeteries, and await messages from beyond, Luke needed someone to remind him, and I think Tracy’s done trying, so Ethan took a crack at it, and surprisingly, he did quite well. I think what I most liked about Ethan’s dialogue with Luke is the fact that it tackled the one thing about Ethan’s parentage that never sat well with me – that it came about at a time in the Epic Luke and Laura history where longtime fans would not have believed they’d be vulnerable to extramarital affairs. Not only did Luke address that, he also addressed how Ethan was more than just some colossal mistake. I really, really appreciated the fact that Ethan would feel that every time Lucky and Lulu looked at him, they thought about Luke hurting Laura. It was reminiscent of when Nikolas came to Port Charles, and it was revealed that he was Laura’s son. I know the writers have it in them to get things right…this proves it.

Sonny Corinthos can have his own Modern Family sitcom, or crime drama, or his own freakin’ version of The Chew, as when his family gets together, they talk pasta, sauce, coffee beans, and hydrocodone, all in one messy sitting. It’s just like those ridiculous commercials for that God-awful show that killed All My Children! The one thing you’ve gotta love about the writers and this idea for a party at Sonny’s is that it can bring so much of the cast together, under one roof, as Sonny has children, and therefore connections, with just about every adult female on the canvas! I did like that Sonny was shooing Abby from the room just to get to spend some time with two of his three sons, and I loved even more that he thought it was a special moment, even while Dante and Michael were thinking he was being corny. Classic family stuff in an anything-but classic family situation. You’ve gotta love that.

Alexis and her daughters, better known as The Davis Girls, also make up a Modern Family. Single mom, three times over (though Molly got a glimpse of life with both mom and dad before she was old enough to remember it) and three beautiful, incredible, and incredibly unique daughters – yup, that’s Modern. It’s also been a winning formula, those bold, brunette Davis Girls…so it worries me that they are messing with the winning formula. Sure, I get that sometimes SORASing a kid on soaps is the only way to propel them into a bigger, and more adult storyline (a la Chad Duell replacing Drew Garrett), but the dynamic between Nancy, Kelly, Lexi, and Haley is going to be most difficult, if not impossible, to recreate. I will tell you that I cried during those goodbye scenes between them at the Lakehouse, because I know that it really was the emotion of the actors, not the characters, coming through. Yet, sentimentality aside, it really bugged the crap out of me that the picture frame that Alexis gave Kristina was of The Davis Girls, minus 1. What the heck? That would be like me giving one of my kids a family pic to keep by their bed, with one sibling missing. Not cool, Alexis. And hey – not cool, GH!

Luckily, Jason and Sam reminded me today that Sam has her own Modern Family. Jason and Sam are family in all the ways that count. They are there for each other, they love each other, and they get each other through the hard times. Sure, they’ve kinda raised a bunch of kids who belonged to other people, including their big boy, Spinelli, but that was before – when Jason and Sam were nothing if untraditional. I am thinking that Jason and Sam’s family is about to expand. Once again, Jason seems to be unable to keep his mind from being hopeful towards having a baby, and they seem to have had plenty of practice – not that we’ve seen one freakin’ iota of The Hotness!

I thought it was sweet, and deeply sentimental (which I’ve said before, seems to be a new part of this post-accident Jason) for Jason to make Sam a necklace out of the shell, especially because he never wanted to forget “that image of Sam picking it up on the beach, so happy, and at peace.” Even with the added significance of the shell representing fertility, I am thinking that the shell necklace is going to have the power to transport them back to a good and happy place, even when they find themselves in the very middle of hell.

And I guess that’s the reason we got another meaningful necklace, because since the early days of their relationship, hasn’t Sam always had something meaningful hanging around her neck, resting close to her heart? First it was the star necklace, and then the second star necklace. Then this time around, it was the compass, to remind Sam that Jason would find his way back to her, which he did; and then the polynesian symbol he gave her on Valentine’s Day – wait: to remind her of Hawaii! And finally, that lug nut Jason gave her when he proposed, which symbolized their indestructibility, and the strength of their love together, and it lay solidly atop her heart while Sam lay in Jason’s hospital bed and wondered if Jason would survive the surgery, and dreamed of what life could be like for them if he did. So, of course I get why they chose to have Jason give her another necklace…but hey, Mr. Wolf, just in case you’re wondering, there are some other pieces of jewelry we wouldn’t mind, such as an ENGAGEMENT RING, a charm bracelet with charms that represent Hawaii, where their baby was conceived, diamond earrings, or even a freakin’ anklet would be okay! It’s just that Sam is never going to walk around wearing all those necklaces…she’s not Dante, for cryin’ out loud!

😉

Something tells me that Jason may be the one needing to wear that necklace, just so that it can bring him back from the edge Franco is about to push him to. It’s coming…that scary threat that’s been hangin’ over our heads for weeks and weeks, but the way I see it, we have to face it head on in order to survive it. As for the worry that Hawaii may be ruined for them, just remember that Jason and Sam have already been terrorized in Hawaii, compliments of Manny Ruiz. Jason and Sam still chose to go back there when Jason was dying, because the good, the happy, and the unforgettable memories they made there, outweighed the horror that was Manny Ruiz. Even when Jason lay in Sam’s lap, fighting for his life in that abandoned church in Mexico, after his fight with Jerry Jacks, it was those memories of being in love, and in Hawaii with Sam, that became his lifeline, and ultimately saved his life. That tells me that nothing can ruin the paradise they’ve created. Not even another maniac.

I believe with all my heart that the reason we’ve seen and heard about the memories Jason and Sam have been making there this time around is because it’s symbolic of their LOVE. No matter what happens, the good, the happy, and the unforgettable will get them through the horrors Franco has in store. And more than that, just the possibility that they could have created a life together in their moments of bliss and all-consuming love while there, will be able to erase any moments of terror.

Besides, the Dragon brings love to those who carry him emblem, and the Phoenix can turn bad luck into good.

And together…they bring double happiness.

Hold on tight…

Angelique

***************************************************

Take a moment and let TPTB know that if they ever again run out of ideas for how to fill the time while waiting for Franco (other than giving us more HOT love scenes)…they could always do what Y&R and B&B do…they could fill all of that time letting Jason and Sam share flashbacks of their long and beautiful history. I swear sometimes the CBS soaps only have to produce half of a show, because they use flashbacks CONSTANTLY…and obviously, they’re effective! This idea alone can slash their budget and save GH!!! 😉

Be passionate, be sincere, but always BE RESPECTFUL! 😉

You may also want to ask if we are EVER going to get another LOVE SCENE on this HONEYMOON!

😉

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, Kelly Monaco, or Steve Burton, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, IF YOU WANT TO TREND, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! 

#JaSam #JaSamHoneymoon #JaSamBaby #JaSamHawaii #TheMorgans

***************************************************

7 responses

  1. Oh Bella.. I love how you can make me laugh out loud.. “she’s not Dante for cryin’ out loud” Still laughing!
    It would have been nice to at least see a little of the loving that went on in Hawaii.. as it seems they were very busy making that baby. *sigh* to be a fly on the wall of their little love shack.
    I know many Jasammers aren’t to happy with the lack of screen time they have had.. however I am still “tickled pink” that they are Mr & Mrs Morgan and that has been good enough for me. Why? Because I know they are about to fill our screen with a s/l that is going to rock their world. Angst… Steve and Kelly do this better than any other actors.. Jasam magic is on the way and I for one can’t wait!
    I love you!

    November 3, 2011 at 2:40 am

  2. Traveler

    Thanks for the great Blog!!
    What can I say other than I agree with you!! First it actually made me really sad to see Alexis give Kristina the picture that was missing Sam. Why oh why would they do that? Heck, if they couldnt have gotten the cast all together for a quick snap shot they should have photo shopped a picture. Tsk,Tsk,Tsk… TPTB need to learn its the little things that can be so important.
    As sweet as it was to see Jason making a necklace for Sam… *Sighs* It would be nice to see a different piece of jewlery.
    Im so ready for things to pick up for our couple. I feel like they have been in limbo long enough.
    GH needs to get this show on the road!! And Im not just talking about Jasam. I’m talking about all of Port Charles!!

    November 3, 2011 at 8:10 am

  3. Fylicia'Marie

    ROFL & C @ Dante’s Mr. T upbringing…I pity the fool who spent spend an hour at airport security removing his jewelry. Even though I’m not a Lante (solely because grass growing is more interesting than anything Lulu, to me), I did spend an inordinate amount of time pondering if he had any wolverine in him because hot dog, he heals fast
    Also didn’t appreciate the Sam snub in pic our the fact that they didn’t even mention her as Krissy left town during get sisters

    November 3, 2011 at 9:19 am

    • Fylicia'Marie

      Ugh, smartphone isn’t so smart!!! Anywho, didn’t appreciate the fact that Krissy is leaving town during her sister’s honeymoon without so much as a call, text or “smartphone” IM to say goodbye to someone who has ALWAYS been in her corner unconditionally and love her enough to be truthful about her stalkerish tendencies with Ethan (and that pesky like I have for Charlie’s Angels revamped has me torn, because this would be a perfect time for Maya to come back and reclaim her guy). I am an analyst, so I’m trying REALLY hard not to overthink what the picture means, because everything means something – unless of course, this ends up in the OOPS section of Soap Opera Digest (you know, the part where they point out a glaring mistake on the part of one of the soaps).
      Great Post as always Angelique, so glad we can share our day with each other.

      November 3, 2011 at 9:25 am

  4. samjase

    What a wonderful blog…as always. You make me cry and laugh! You have such an awesome sense of humor and great insight.
    As for the necklace vs. other jewelry…I just think it’s a way for the viewers to always see the item. It’s right there around Sam’s neck.
    As for the photo without Sam..I WAS YELLING…’WHERE’S SAM’?
    LOOKING forward to everything…I’ll be glued to me tv set and praying for a good outcome. Stelly will ROCK these scenes.

    November 3, 2011 at 10:44 am

  5. I quite agree about Sam missing in that picture…especially since Alexis owes K’s life to Lila’s stemcells…but I always felt like Sam was the outsider….To Alexis. That said, please let me thank you for pointing out that Sam and Jason turned back again and again to Hawaii, even during the worst of times. Lots of fans feel that Franco has destroyed their love place forever, so your viewpoint helps make sense, and wish everyone could read it. It helped me get back on track, and you usually do that.
    Thank you and hope the cold weather and the flu germs have left your home…….love……..

    November 3, 2011 at 4:48 pm

  6. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers,
    Angelique you can always calm me down! At this point am time I am cautious about what is to come! But I promise to Hold On to the Best Couple Ever! I am hoping that GH realizes it even close to how we do!
    I just do not understand how they could just not write Sam into Kristinas College Journey! That makes no sense to me!And the picture are you kidding me! As far as Hawaii I understand what you mean but Manny vs Franco is different! If Jason thinks he raped her he will be devastated he will believe he failed her. Sam may blame herself for asking Jason to stay or just blame herself period! This was not just a vacation or a get away this was their Honeymoon! Thats the biggest difference of all. I am hoping Jason and Sam Hold On to Each Other they way they always have. I think my caution is working over time because when they Blew them apart it was unimaginable. And as far as they have come I still put nothing past TPTB! As I said I promise to Hold On!Thanks for your remarkable insight.

    November 3, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

