Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

TELL US HOW YOU REALLY FEEL…

TGIF, GHers!

I am alive.

What I thought was just a bad “pain” day on Monday turned out to be the beginning of some flu-like thing that has kicked my butt all week. I finally had a cracker this morning, then some toast, and I just ventured some apple sauce. I am keeping my fingers crossed that I am able to keep it down, but I finally have the strength to sit up and type without feeling like I’m going to pass out, so I’ll take it as a good sign.

And I need a good sign or two, because it’s been a rough week.

😉

It’s been a rough week in Port Charles, too. Thanks to my iPod, YouTube has been my best friend for the past four days, when I couldn’t even drag myself to the TV. I have finally gotten caught up on this week’s episodes, though to be honest, I actually dozed off during the first try, except for the two days Jason and Sam were on. Since I love my GH, I will chalk it up to my illness, but I’ll tell you that I also tend to get sea sick, so this boat trip needs to dock…and soon, if you catch my drift.

😉

Port Charles isn’t a place one usually associates with honesty, but damn…it’s been in abundance as of late. Even when said honesty is tough to take. The one thing I’ve realized is that most people in PC seem to be on to Liz Webber’s pattern of behavior. And I guess the unspoken “grace period” she was enjoying after losing her son is now over. First Ethan got honest with Liz when she showed up at Lucky’s all dressed up, hoping to leave Lucky with no place to go. I am really starting to appreciate Ethan. He seems to have finally picked up Liz’s number, though he doesn’t seem to have any plans to use it for himself. I love that he called her out on the motive for her visit right off the bat. The dress…the adorable little family at the pumpkin patch picture…Ethan saw right through it! He even saw through her “Lucky left because he doesn’t love me” crap. I thought Liz was “done”. What was she trying to do at Lucky’s again, anyway? I actually think that my nausea may have started when I heard Liz talking about poor, dead Siobhan being a “better manipulator” than she thought, or that “dying didn’t qualify her for sainthood.” Oh, please, Liz! Thank goodness Ethan said it because my screaming at the TV fell on Liz’s deaf ears. “Lucky is taking a much-needed breather … from YOU. God, if only we all could. Ethan is a really good brother for saying all the things Liz needed to hear, and Lucky didn’t have the strength to tell her himself! For instance, if I had heard Liz say ONE MORE TIME that Lucky cheated first with Maxie, I was going to scream! Ethan pulled that crutch right out from under her by reminding her that Lucky was strung out on pills. He then asked Liz “What’s your excuse?” Whoa. Tell Us How You Really Feel, Ethan! I must say that my favorite line from Ethan was… “You’re No Laura! Lucky put you up on this pedestal, but you have three kids by three different fathers!” Holla! I think I may love Ethan now! As for Liz’s threat that maybe it was time to start living down to expectations…how much further down could she go?

Liz may have thought that a night out on the Port Charles Harbor Tour with the dashing Dr. Hunter might be exactly what she needed, but I don’t think she expected to keep running into the truth, especially when she thought she was running from it. I just wonder…when does Liz see those kids? I hope poor Gramm is taking a really good multi-vitamin! Anyway, Liz is a trip, isn’t she? Did you guys see her working Matt? First, she was working her digs on Maxie at every turn, pointing out how shallow Maxie is, reminding Matt that Maxie is still invested in Spinelli, and then finally she was reminding Matt how he “deserves to be with someone who respects and fulfills him.” Obviously, Liz wasn’t talking about herself, as she has no idea what it means to respect or fulfill anyone, because she can’t stay interested or invested past the first couple of rolls in the hay. It turns my stomach to watch her spinning her web, honestly it does. She got Matt to step into it, and when he was basically begging for a kiss, just like Nik did at the beginning, she pulled away. So predictable!  Matt either really resents a grown woman acting like a high school tease, or he is as tired of Liz’s games as we are, because he dished up some truth for Liz as well. Matt pointed out he wasn’t putting a ring on her finger, or even asking her to prom. He reminded Liz that sometimes adults have sex, to which Liz pointed out that she’s a mom. (Ummm, and just how did she get to be a mom so many times?) Matt wasn’t havin’ it! He told Liz she was never going to be happy as long as she kept holding onto Lucky, and turning to men whenever she needs saving! Wow.Tell Us How You Really Feel, Matt!

Lisa is one crazy bitch. There’s no arguing that, but I think I have figured out why she’s getting a second chance at going after those who, in her mind, hurt her the most. I think Garin Wolf wanted us to see just how far gone Lisa is. I think he wanted us to notice what Johnny noticed – that something in her eyes told him that she was different. I always liked Johnny and Lisa – I know I shouldn’t have, but I always understood John’s need to try and save Lisa from the fate that met his sister. The scenes between John hand Lisa right before she drugged him  kinda made me sad, because even that late in the game, John was willing to try. He resented that his father had made a project out of her, and was angry about what he turned her into. Just like with Claudia. My anger with John about planting drugs at the warehouse was spied away when he covered Lisa up with the throw, because what he was trying to tell her was that even in her present crazy-ass state of mind, he thought she deserved some respect, and he didn’t want to take advantage of her. It’s why I love John. Sadly, Lisa couldn’t – and I really do believe just that – she could not appreciate that kindness from John. Instead, she told him how she only felt empty, except for when she was with Patrick. Tell Us How You Really Feel, Lisa! Or, I guess in her case, she showed us. Lisa had flashbacks of all of the people she felt wronged her and judged her; and they are all on the boat. That’ll teach us to think twice before we let a co-worker have it, huh?

Patrick and Robin seem to be on the cusp of finally having the life they’ve always wanted. Robin is finally realizing that her new job is keeping her from her passion, and her daughter. Patrick is positive that he doesn’t even want to take a crack at that job, because he already has everything he wants. As I watched and listened to their conversations, I thought… they really are ready to Tell Us How You Really Feel!  It’s surprising even to me, but Robin and Patrick are finally communicating like adults, and taking the time to make sure their marriage is a priority. So it would only make sense that they’d be facing their biggest nightmare yet. Lisa is about to turn their perfect little world upside down once again, and I have a feeling that Patrick and Robin are soon going to realize that all the talk in the world about what you plan to do, is hardly the same as actually doing it. Either this will help them to make better time of their life together, or it will leave them using all their time to count regrets.

Once again, it didn’t take long for Carly to cast a giant cloud of doom over the happy place where Jason and Sam were before her arrival. She seems to suck the joy out of everyone and everything around her, doesn’t she? I took real issue with Carly goading Sam, when she knew very well that Sam had every right to be pissed about Carly showing up on their honeymoon, and moving into their Love Shack. While I wish Sam didn’t have to deal with her at all, I am so glad Sam finally got some stuff off her chest! Sam nailed Carly to the wall on just about everything she said to her! Tell Us How You Really Feel, Sam! It was well-deserved, as Carly had it coming! I will admit that I was seething at Jason for a hot second when he ignored Sam’s suggestion to find another bungalow for Carly, and I was pissed that Jason already failed one of the first tests of marriage – which is to never make a decision that will affect the both of you without discussing it together first, but then I realized Jason’s new to this marriage stuff. His marriage to Courtney really didn’t count because Courtney was really living out of Carly’s pocket, so whatever Carly wanted, Courtney wanted. I decided to give Jason a break. Besides, it wasn’t long before we saw how Franco is already messing with Jason’s head. He’s already not thinking straight. Already too emotional to stay objective. And way too emotional to anticipate Franco’s next move. Already, Carly has played right into his hands, and has placed all of them exactly where Franco wanted them. Whatever happens next, Franco will manage to be a step ahead of Jason, and this time Jason may not recover as easily as the last time.

I was thankful that in all of the craziness and tension surrounding our honeymooners, Jason still found a moment to let Sam know that he was so glad they eloped. When Jason their wedding was perfect, it made me want to hug him again (instead of choking him with a lei). Jason is so happy that he made Sam his wife. He is so hopeful about their future together, and all that they have yet to share, that it breaks my heart to think that Jason will think it’s lost to him – even for a moment.

When Jason walked back into the house with Carly, and saw his wife napping with Joss, holding a baby close, we saw one more thing that Jason wants, but has been afraid to ask for. Seeing Sam that way pulled at Jason’s heartstrings, and in that moment, I think he realized that he wants a baby with Sam even more than he was willing to admit even to himself in secret.

That makes my JaSam-loving heart grow about two sizes!

You know, so often you guys really do Tell Me How You Really Feel, and I love that. I know that we are all frustrated with the amount of time that it’s taking for Jason and Sam’s storyline to unfold. The anticipation, trepidation, and general curiosity is killing us, I know! While I still believe it’s important for us to support our favorite daytime escape in order to save it from a heartbreaking fate, I think it’s even more important to let TPTB know exactly what we love, yes, but also what frustrates us, and drives us nuts!

I know that they have tried to squeeze as much as humanly possible from James Franco’s return to GH, but I am going to Tell You How I Really Feel! I also think it’s made our story drag a bit. Jason and Sam’s time in Hawaii could have been put to better use by some meaningful conversation, more fun and games, and DAMMIT – more LOVE SCENES! It is a honeymoon, isn’t it?

I think that if we can manage to call in, email, tweet, and write in via snail mail, with our love for the show evident first and foremost, I think they will be willing to listen to our frustrations and pet peeves with an appreciation for our loyalty. I don’t think that rants will ever register with anyone, because negativity tends to turn most people off.

I let them know today that I want to invest wholeheartedly in my favorite soap, and that while there are so many characters I love and love to hate, the tenacity of Jason and Sam’s love for each other are my biggest motivation to invest. When I give up an hour of my day, I want an escape from the real world and its harsh realities. I want to believe that true love really can win out when two people love each other so deeply and so unconditionally, even when it faces an opponent as scary as Franco! I told them how I felt that Sam and Jason have proven that over and over throughout the years, and that every soap generation needs a Love Story as big, and as enduring, as my loyalty to my soap!

I also kindly asked in an email for the writers to give us even more of their history through flashbacks, and through the kinds of conversations that made us fall in love with Jason and Sam. I miss them just sitting together and talking, and being honest. It builds up our connection to the characters, not just the connection between the characters! I let them know that I am always trying to get people to tune in and discover what I love so much about GH, but it would be great if they could get to know the characters as well as we do, without needing to go through years and years of YouTube scenes. 😉

Take a few minutes and let them know what makes your boat float. Just remember to make sure that your love for our GH is what they hear and read first.

Tell Them How You Really Feel!

Angelique

11 responses

  1. Connie Hernandez

    I hope and I pray you’ll be in the best of health ,as good as it can be sooner than soon.
    I wondered how you were doing today actually because I was missing hearing from you. When I wake up in the morning I have the habit of checking my phone ,the envelope icon to see if you have a new post or message. I get notifications, you see! => And I get excited when I see BELLA MAFIA has a NEW POST …
    Anyway, I’m glad to hear from you again!
    BTW, can I get the email address of the GH writers you send emails to,Pls?
    You always inspire me to write,call ,tweet,snail mail GH !! <33333
    Till next time my friend! TAKE CARE AND GOD BLESS!

    October 21, 2011 at 1:25 am

  2. Welcome back to the land of the living… I missed you!

    Besides Jasam scenes.. my fav was Ethan and Liz.. omg how I love Ethan right now!

    Sam with Joss was just adorable.. in that scene I saw the future of Mr & Mrs Morgan and the baby I just know in my heart the writers are going to give us.

    So did you read that MVJ is going to B&B.. *sad*

    Feel better soon!
    I love you!!!

    October 21, 2011 at 1:51 am

  3. Carol

    Sorry you havent been feeling well and glad to see you are feeling better somewhat because I always enjoy your blogs every morning when I sign on.
    It does frustrate when you get only a few brief minutes of Jasam and yet others seem to be on screen constantly. I try not to let my blood pressure go up when I get so frustrated with the lack of Jasam on my screen. I do call and email often and tell tptb how much I enjoy all things jasam and try not to complain even when I so desperately want to.
    hope you feel better soon and have a wonderful weekend.

    October 21, 2011 at 8:12 am

  4. sarah

    I’ll tell you how i feel. first and foremost I am always happy to read from you because your style of writing and message in your writing has a way of making all my bad feelings just dissipate into thin air. I always feel completely refreshened whenever i read your blog as a GH reader and even more as a Jasam Lover. That being said, I am ready for the Jasam story to pick up and move on, I enjoy them on my screen anytime i can get them but like most, i am not particularly liking the repeated dialogue, runing back and forth to the sea and back in each of their honeymoon scenes. there is a whole lot that they could have been doing on this honey moon, go out for walks,, take pictures,, talk about their history and please whenever they talk could they actually let Jason finish his sentences about his feelings in regards to some of his past choices and not have sam always jump in and cut him off saying its no problem. somethings put in words are more powerful and need to be expressed especailly for this couple that has endured so much from outside and from within to get to the point where they are today. With all that I am still happy to have general hospital and Jasam as my daily companion for an hour each weekday to just escape my busy life.

    October 21, 2011 at 9:55 am

  5. sarah

    Oh very rude of me but for not having done it before, but wishing you a quick recovery and the best of health hereon, and like someone before me pointed out you have a way of inspiring us to write to the powers that be at Gh and am off to get it done.

    October 21, 2011 at 9:57 am

  6. I’m Loving Jason and Sam on GH as usual and I too would love for their story to move a little faster and for them to have more conversation about their history and their future plans. I would love to see Jason buy Sam a house, and for them to have a baby and just see them in every day situations like most married couples. It would not be boring for me, as Sam and Jason have done everything but everyday stuff. The little stuff that makes you smile and love them even more. I really hope the rumours that I have been reading about Jason going back to Liz and marrying her in 2012 are just crap with no truth in them. The way Jason has loved Sam and shown his love for Sam, anything Liz would not be believable to me ever again. So lets keeps hoping for our couple to stay strong thru whatever it is they will have to go thru with Franco and come out better than ever if that is even possible. This GH fan just loves them and gets really frustrated when we get just a few minutes of JaSam and then others seems to be on for 20 minutes at a time. Hopefully, this two will change as GW has got to see how much this couple is loved and wanted. Also I hope you feel better and I totally enjoy reading your blog!

    October 21, 2011 at 10:40 am

  7. Oh yeah..I forgot to say how much I loved Ethan telling Liz the Truth to her face and he is my new HERO! And thank GOD she walked away from Matt after hearing more truth, because he did him a favor and he doesn’t even know it.

    October 21, 2011 at 10:44 am

  8. Christie

    Hope you feel better. I really enjoy your posts because of how positive you are. I have been having a hard time staying away from the spoilers and some of the stuff I am reading is a bit unsettling.

    I agree with you on Ethan. I loved him putting Elizabeth in her place. She isn’t perfect. It really was hard to watch her and Matt because I felt the way she pulled away from him because of Lucky or Maxie, to tell the truth I don’t pay attention to her to hard, was in contradiction to what she did with Jason/Sam. I just can’t stand her.

    Loving the Scrubs/Lisa story line. I feel like it is going at a good pace and has made me a Scrubs fan.

    You mentioned sending an email. Can you post it so we can email TPTB?

    October 21, 2011 at 11:43 am

  9. Miss you and hope your health improves soon………please feel better, you are a big part of our JaSam lives……..
    Today it was good to watch Liz going over the railing…too bad she washes up again. I am ignoring the stupid rumors….Steve and Kelly both said that Jason and Sam were IT for them and I believe them. And ITA, Ethan has become priceless……..too bad Matt doesn’t stay away, but don’t think he will……….ugh!
    Writing as often as I can……hope they are reading and listening over there.
    Be blessed.

    October 21, 2011 at 6:05 pm

  10. alwaysaromantic

    Hi Jasammers! Angelique I missed you,hope you are feeling better!
    Ethan is my hero! I kept hoping someone would call Liz out on her Crap! I did not ever think it would be Ethan! It really should have been Jason! But I knew that would never happen! I like the Scrubs/Lisa s/l, You have to give Lisa her props she took down Anthony and Johnny and did not fire a shot! I like Johnny and Anthony is just Insane and he knows it thats what makes him so dangerous.
    I am trying my best to stay away from the spoilers.Just trying to watch GH play out. I just hope for as long as we(Jasammers ) have hung in there GH better not jerk us around again! There is so much that they should and could be doing with their Love Story! I am just trying to figure out what they are doing! It was a great time for all of us! The Proposal,Marriage and Honeymoon it was great but it could have been so much more. I know GH is full of many twist and turns but Sam and Jason are there Strongest resource. Its been that way for such a long time. But GH is a soap and all the soaps are hurting. I wonder how far will they go to increase profits?! Thats what bothers me the most! The writing was superb when GW 1st took over then you started seeing “miss cues” all over again! How much will TPTB sacrifice? Are they really trying to save GH? Or are they just jerking us along?
    I love Sam and Jason and thats it for me! Will they throw the other fan base crumbs and sacrafice us?! Time will tell it always does!

    October 21, 2011 at 7:45 pm

  11. Good Morning Bella;

    Glad everything is going well for you and you are feeling much better.
    So anxious about what is coming for Sam and Jason but I am of the strongest belief they will survive. Too much love to let that Franco destroy what they have worked to hard to have. I just know if Sam is pregnant it definately will be Jason’s. I don’t believe TPTB will twist the JaSammers heart around with any other option than Jason Morgan. The only thing to me right now is GW needs to pick up the pace of GH. Sam and Jason are an amazing couple that should be on 4-out of-5 days. Also, I don’t know what Alexis was thinking giving Kristina a pic of just her and Mollie..but I definately had some harsh words, which I will not repeat on here, for her. Love how positive you are about GH and our couple JaSam and thank you very much for being a proud JaSam fan!

    November 3, 2011 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

