Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“A LOVE TO LAST A LIFETIME”…

I tried as hard as I could to wait up for the screen caps to be posted on their site, but I had a real early morning yesterday, and have another one tomorrow. I just couldn’t stay awake any longer after 3:00 a.m.  I will post them with my very next blog! Sorry! 

Dearly Beloved GHers,

We are gathered here today to celebrate the joining of our two favorites, Jason and Samantha in holy matrimony…

Can you believe it?

Many of us have waited 8 long years, since the moment that they saw each other, or perhaps from the moment they were thrown together by Fate, and learned each others’ names. Others have been waiting 7 equally long years, since the first spark they saw onscreen after Jason brushed back Sam’s hair, or caught her before she could fall. Still others are a little newer to the JaSam Love Story, and their wait has been less, but not less intense.

What makes this day so extraordinary is that no matter how long each of us has waited, Today brought our wait to an end. No more waiting.

Jason and Samantha are now officially Mr. & Mrs. Jason Morgan.

More than that…from that moment forward…They are One World. Earth,Water, Air, and Fire…together…for ALL ETERNITY.

Double Happiness.

…And I cannot stop crying! *sobs*

What a powerful, meaningful, and worthwhile wedding Jason and Sam had!

Those of you who’ve been longtime readers will know that soaps have always been a part of my life. Both my sister and I were name after two sister soap characters on the soap Dark Shadows. I’ve been a soap watcher my entire lifetime. In fact, I was watching before I knew what I was watching, because soaps were just always on at my house. I’ve seen Supercouples come, and I’ve seen them go. I’ve seen just about every soap wedding that ever was, including Luke & Laura’s.

Yet, with all of that soap wedding experience behind me, I don’t ever remember a wedding that affected me, or that embodied all that a soap couple was so completely, or so honestly, as the wedding of Jason and Samantha.

Perhaps that is why so many of us were so moved…to tears, to weeping, to a real euphoric state. I know that I was still smiling hours later, and even when I watched and re-watched, I was weeping tears of joy! Every word, every look, every touch, kiss, and embrace Jason and Sam shared felt authentic and real to what we have loved about them all along.

I’ve been to real weddings that didn’t move me as much.

Everything about Jason and Sam’s wedding night, not just their wedding, was phenomenal.

From the moment it began, to the last embrace…every single instant was precious, and totally JaSam.

When we stop and think about JaSam and their Love Story, we realize that by soap standards, they really have shared what seems like A Lifetime. 

Which is why it meant so much to me that the writers would take such great care to remember so many amazing references to the lifetime they’ve shared thus far.

Thank you, Writers. Thank you!

The moments at Sam’s, where she tells Jason why she feels she can’t go through with the wedding were tough to watch. Even though we knew the wedding was coming, it was hard to watch Jason react to the possibility that Sam might not want to get married. Since the beginning of their relationship – even before it was romantic, Jason always struggled with the thought of Sam walking out of his life. One of the things that made me completely fall in love with them before they even fell in love with each other was that very vulnerability I saw in Jason. Women walking out on Jason was nothing new. We saw Liz do it. We saw Courtney do it. And we watched as he watched them go. Yet, when Sam said she was going, even though she was leaving because she thought t was best for him, we saw Jason do something different. Jason asked Sam not to go. Jason actually took steps to change her mind. That’s what I remembered when she almost walked away saying she didn’t think she could go through with it, because once again, we saw Jason’s vulnerability, and once again, he refused to just let her walk away. *sigh* 

When he was able to convince Sam to admit she still wanted to get married, we saw another reminder of their early days. Sam has always been able to get Jason to smile, to laugh, to open up to her. I loved that Jason was laughing right after having faced the possibility that Sam would walk away. It shows just how much Sam has always had the power to lighten Jason up. It was beautiful, just as it was at the beginning, when Sam first came into Jason’s life.

That wasn’t the only  power Sam was wielding over Jason. No one has ever gotten him to dance, and to enjoy it, more than Sam. Their first kiss followed their first dance. The night they first made love began with a night of dancing. That magical night on the roof, the one that Sam recalled after they became husband and wife, was a magical night of dancing. As was the night Jason worked so hard to reunite with Sam on another rooftop on Halloween night. Yes, the writers remembering how special dancing has been to their Love Story was a gift to us all.

Jason and Sam also have quite the history with Chinese food. The first time Sam tried to make him dinner, and nearly burned the penthouse down, Chinese food saved their night. It was also the night Jason realized that Sam was one in a million, and it was followed by Jason’s first proposal. There’ve been lots of Chinese dinners since then, it’s been their “thing” whenever they want to escape the rest of the world, and make it all about them. How fitting that their need to do just that would lead bring them to a Chinese restaurant, and to the one place that they really could, and ultimately, would make it all about them…FOR A LIFETIME. 

That leaves the one detail that usually defines a wedding… What did they wear? That also made me think of Jason and Sam’s early days. What seems like a lifetime ago, when Jason and Sam stood before the minister in a real church, and wore real wedding attire – Jason the tux, and Sam the white dress. There were flowers and candles, and wedding guests to witness the vows. The only thing missing was an actual marriage. Jason and Sam never got married that night, even though they had everything else a wedding would traditionally have. I guess that must be the reason why, when I heard Jason say to Sam, “If it were up to me, I’d marry you right here and now”, I wanted to scream, “DO IT!” Like Jason, ALL I wanted for our Jason and Sam is that they would finally have the one thing they wanted out of all of this…to be married. To finally be husband and wife. To share a lifetime as Mr. & Mrs. Morgan.

To be completely honest, once Jason and Sam decided to be married right then and there, I no longer even registered what they were wearing.

All I saw was a couple who was deeply in love, and desperate to remind themselves that being together and in love was all that mattered. I saw a man and a woman who had at last found their soulmate, and were eager to make it official. I saw two people in love who had taken a long, eventful journey, but were ready to take that next, all-important step.

And when they stood facing each other, all expectant and emotional, I’m sure recalling all of the wonderful moments that you and I remembered, all I saw was that they were facing more than each other. They were breathlessly facing A Lifetime Of Love.

If there was a dry eye among us when they were asked if they had rings, and each shared with each other how they came to actually have one, then I will need you to tell me how you were able to manage that. Hearing Jason explain that Lila wore her ring for 50 years, and that through it all, she and Edward loved each other, made me realize that Jason wanted the very same thing for him and Sam.

Just as poignant, hearing Sam explain to Jason that his mother had given her his father’s ring, and that Alan would have wanted him to have it broke my heart, as Alan won’t be able to share their happiness. Yet, Sam sharing the sentiment from Monica that their love had lasted a lifetime, and that “Oh, so would theirs” immediately healed my heart with happiness and joy.

It didn’t however, keep the tears from falling. Each time Sam’s lip trembled, or a fresh tear fell, I lost it. Every time Jason tried to keep it together, I sobbed. When they entwined their hands with the cups of wine and honey, I cried. When they listened to Robert Ye describe their characteristics as the dragon and the phoenix, I was blubbering at how perfect those descriptions were. When Sam smiled through her tears at the reality of it all, I melted. When Jason lifted his hand in his signature move to brush Sam’s hair back, and I saw it tremble, I could barely breathe. And when they kissed for the first time as husband and wife, I finally let it all out. (My poor neighbors)  I let out all of the impatience I struggled to find over the past eight years. I let out all of the frustrations I struggled with throughout 2007, 2008, and the Michael and the Brenda months. I let out all of my worries and doubts that they would ever get to this moment. And I let out all of the love I have for my favorite couple of all time.  

I was still crying when my BFF, Ro called to share her bliss with me, and we watched the rest together as Jason and Sam shared their first moments as Mr. & Mrs. Morgan with the family who made it all possible. There wasn’t a single moment where it didn’t feel like pure Jason and Sam Magic. From Sam giving the grandmother her shoes, to Jason telling Sam that they would tell everyone that they were married tomorrow night. Every moment felt just right. Perfect. And Perfectly JaSam. . .

Perfectly ready to begin A Lifetime Of Love Together.

10 responses

  1. SamJasonsHeart

    Mr. & Mrs Morgan.. I will also never tire of hearing, saying or typing that.
    Their wedding was more than I could have wished for.. it was everything I thought it would be and so much more.

    This is by far my favorite blog of any you have ever written. Every word written here today is exactly what I felt but could never put in to words the way you do.. Mahalo
    What made this day even more special was sharing it with you, Jason and Sam are the reason we found each other.. out of our love for this amazing couple we found a wonderful friendship which will also last a lifetime!

    Off to watch it all over again.. I have lost count of how many times I have watched I am sure I will be watching it at least once a day for a long time to come!

    Now we get to honeymoon in Hawaii.. *hula*

    I love you tons!

    September 23, 2011 at 2:38 am

  2. Alex

    It was ALL so beautiful and wonderful. Every detail. Still smiling like an idiot. 🙂

    September 23, 2011 at 7:16 am

  3. samjase

    STANDING OVATION FOR YOUR AMAZING COMMENTS, FOR THE WRITERS, AND FOR STEVE AND KELLY. I couldn’t help but feel that Stelly felt every word spoken during their ceremony. These 2 actors have worked together for so long and have a vested interest in their characters…and YOU COULD ABSOLUTELY FEEL THEIR EMOTION. The script was tailor made for Jasam. It was a masterpiece, and Stelly brought the emotion and realness to it that it deserved. It was absolutely the best soap wedding I’ve ever witnessed…EVER!!!

    September 23, 2011 at 7:31 am

  4. Connie Hernandez

    Oh what a day that was…….the trembling hands …the happy tears of joy.. the perfect description of the Phoenix and the Dragon that is so JASAM….BLEW ME AWAY..
    AND to read your blog first thing in the morning…PRICELESS!
    If I needed a lift in spirit, I just turn to your posts and there I get it!
    Thanks again for doing what you do.
    CONNIE

    September 23, 2011 at 9:11 am

  5. samjase

    Every time I re-watch the clips of the Jasam wedding, I CRY!!! I noticed something I hadn’t before…when Sam is worried about Maxie at the very end, and she suggests to Jason that they should call Maxie..Jason is holding Sam’s hand and looking at the ring on Sam’s finger. I’m blown away by this wedding…the writing…and particularly the ACTING. Stelly chemistry is unmatched!!!! Cannot wait for today and the next and the next! Angelique…I’m so happy.

    September 23, 2011 at 9:54 am

  6. Angelique, your words say everything we are feeling. This wedding was so REAL and filled with meaning. There is nothing to add. We must, though, share our joy with TPTB, whose script and insight made this priceless. So happy to share this happy time with you.

    September 23, 2011 at 11:26 am

  7. I was hysterically crying yesterday through their scenes, thankfully I was alone. The absolute beauty of their love made me sob tears of happiness that my beautiful couple was finally married.

    And then today when I went to vote for SOS’s weekly pulse and saw Sam listed as “Sam Morgan” and both of them listed as “Jason and Sam Morgan” I started sobbing again! I am just so happy that my babies finally obtained their marriage without any one stopping them and they are so blissfully in love and that I get to watch it unfold.

    Great post again Angelique!!!!

    September 23, 2011 at 7:56 pm

  8. Traveler

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!! *Sniffles*
    I knew the Wedding was coming… I knew we were finally going to get our Mr and Mrs Morgan.. However, I was not prepared for how PERFECT their scenes were!! OMG Steve and Kelly knocked it out of the park. Grand Slam, Home Run!! Stelly really are magical. I cant even count the # of times Ive watched the Pre-Weddding, Wedding & Post Wedding scenes. They just seem to get better and better everytime I watch them.. *Sniffles*
    And OMG.. I was giddy like a school girl looking at Jason’s legs and feet today!! *Giggles* That is one SEXY MAN!! *Blushes*
    WooHoo – OUR JaSam are MARRIED!! Viva la Mr & Mrs Morgan!!

    September 23, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  9. alwaysaromantic

    I am Late in Posting,but I was ABSOLUTELY BLOWN AWAY!!!!!
    There really are no words to express what it meant to see Sam and Jason get married!
    Sam and Jason are MARRIED and we ALL were Blessed to see this unfold! I am still Floating on cloud nine! I smiled,cheered,clapped and cried it was Truely Amazing! Their Ceremony was Perfection! Just the two of them as it always has been. Angelique your Blogs always make me reflect always in a Good Way! And you were so right, I completely forgot about what they were wearing! And all of it was so Jason and Sam!Each Reply before mine was wonderful to read. So as we get ready to go on another Journey with our favorite couple ONLY this time its with Mr and Mrs Morgan———Finally!
    “Dragon and Phoenix” totally fits them!

    September 23, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  10. Karlene

    What a perfect wedding and non-wedding ceremony!!!! *Cheers* to Jason and Sam Morgan!!!! Beautifully put as usual Angelique and I hope you enjoy the latest video I have uploaded. Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VpUa2k3N4eg
    JASAM Love Always,
    Karlene

    September 24, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

