Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Sometimes, Words Fail Us…

All Clips credited to gh-caps.net.

Good JaSam Wedding Morning!

I have to tell you, my dear, dear friends and fellow GH enthusiasts, that there are times when I watch and re-watch GH, am full of emotions and feelings, and still find that…Sometimes Words Fail Us.

Even at the most crucial moments of our lives.

Such is the case with me after watching Wednesday’s incredible episode of General Hospital.

First, I just want to take a moment to commend the real fans of our beloved soap. Those of you who’ve done your part to support General Hospital in the ways that matter. Those who watch, and try to get others to watch. Those of you who send tweets, emails, facebook likes and comments, snail mails, and wedding cards. 🙂 Those of you who check youtube for the latest interviews, sneak peeks, and vids. Those who use their energy to be positive and spread LOVE! If you fit into any of those categories, and especially if you fit into all of them, I commend you. GH is still on the air, and that, in part, is because of you.

It’s because of you that we are enjoying the beginning of another exciting story arc, instead of watching the beginning of the end, as our sister soaps are doing. Every time I hear from one of you about sending your support in a tangible way, I am overjoyed! I am by nature a fan of teamwork, and it warms my JaSam heart when I see us all come together for “the greater good”. 😉

I just want to let you all know that I am proud to know all of you, and to call you my Bella Mafia Family.

*hugs*

I apologize to everyone, but I just cannot focus enough tonight to comment on anything else but our JaSam Wedding preparations. After having watched the JaSam scenes about 2 dozen times, and after making everyone who ever claimed to love me watch them at least twice, (with me watching over their shoulder) I have nothing but JaSam on the brain.

That’s not to say I didn’t think today’s episode was a solidly great show, because I did. It’s just that I have been waiting for all of this JaSam Fabulosity since Jason and Sam laid eyes on each other at Jake’s in October 2003.

I can’t help myself…

Click to view full size image

I thought the episode got off to a great start with Maxie and the growing list of pre-wedding disasters. That Kirsten Storms plays Maxie like no one else ever could, and a little comedic relief is always welcome when all of us are in such heightened states of emotion, don’t you think? (I know we all hope Ms. Storms is feeling better by the minute, and back before we can miss her!)

😉

Click to view full size image

It was brilliant to have Edward stop by to visit Jason, seemingly to try to change his mind about the wedding somehow. I loved that both Spin and Jason made it clear to Edward that nothing could change Jason’s mind about the wedding. I loved Edward’s answer even more. “Good! I like Sam. She’s a strong, independent lady. Perfectly suited to you. Lila would have approved.” Awww! Edward has always, always liked Sam, and has always thought she would be good for him. It’s one of the reasons I love Edward so… I could only love him more when he asked Jason to reconsider the wedding rings they’d already picked, and give Sam the ring he’d given Lila on their wedding night. Of course, Jason thought he couldn’t possibly take such a special part of their history from them, but Edward insisted. “She’d want you to have it,” he said. “Please give it to Sam. Maybe you could pass it on to your own children someday.” Were any of you crying, as I was? For those of us who’ve watched long enough to appreciate just how special the relationship Jason had with his grandmother was, we understand that nothing could be more appropriate than Jason having her ring to place on the finger of The Love Of His Life. Mr. Wolf, thank you so much for making our GH History such a special part of the most important day of Jason’s life. I loved that it ended with Jason just staring at his grandfather. Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

 

Click to view full size image

Across town, Sam got a surprise visit from her new mother-in-law to be, and was genuinely happy to see Monica. As luck would have it, the timing could not be anymore perfect, as it was the exact moment that Maxie opened up the ring boxes only to find that Jason’s and Sam’s rings were truly Jack’s and Sarah’s. What to do without wedding bands the day before the wedding? What I thought was so pivotal about Monica immediately realizing that she could have the solution is that it showed us that Monica knows exactly how Jason feels about Sam. I can tell you that as a mother and a wife who has a long and beautiful Love Story of her own, I could never even imagine some far off day where I parted with my husband’s wedding ring, unless I expected one of my children to find a love that huge and that real. Monica didn’t hesitate, and it’s because since that first time Sam came looking for her to help Jason at the safehouse, she saw the love that Sam had for her son, and she trusted it. Not easy for a mom to do. Over the years, Monica has looked on as Jason and Sam have taken their turns sitting at each other’s bedsides during illness and tragedy. She has seen that each of them has deeply struggled with the thought of life without the other. Monica recognizes that Jason’s heart is in good hands, and as precious as Alan’s ring is, Monica knows that if she can trust Jason’s heart to Sam’s keeping, trusting the ring to their marriage is easy in comparison. Whoa. How powerful. Again, I cried, and for a moment, I thought I was crying so hard that I missed Sam’s “thank you,” when I heard Monica say, “You’re welcome.” Then I realized that I hadn’t missed it, after all. In the enormity of the moment, Sam was at a complete loss for words. Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

Sam’s visitors didn’t end there. Carly came by to take responsibility for the tension between them, and of course, Sam was gracious and understanding. Carly acknowledged just how much Sam meant to Jason, so she got some points from me on that, but I wish Carly had kept her cynicism to herself. Telling Sam on the day before her wedding that opening oneself up for love also means opening oneself up for loss was not exactly thoughtful. Ugh. What could Sam say to that? Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

We also finally got to see some Maxie and Davis Girls scenes, as the mother of the bride and the wedding party converged upon the nervous bride. I loved that Alexis and Molly were willing to do whatever needed to be done, and I adored that Sam played a bit with Maxie’s mind over the maid of honor thing, but honestly, I am thrilled that Sam asked Maxie. I remember Maxie and Sam sitting on that very couch back in 2008, after Jason rescued Sam from Jerry’s boat. Maxie challenged Sam back then to carefully examine her feelings about Jason, and whether it was just the danger, or the proximity to Jason that had her all hot and bothered. The rest, shall we say, is history. 😉 To prove that Maxie is worthy of her role, she opens up a box of what should be baby blue Cartullos for Sam to wear with her wedding dress, only to find leopard print booties! Oh, Maxie! *wipes tears of laughter* Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

The steady stream of visitors continued at the penthouse, when Liz knocked on Jason’s door for a last-minute visit to the groom-to-be. While I found it so typical of Liz that she would think it awkward to visit Jason’s hospital room, probably because Sam would be there, she thought it was better to visit him at his home, a day before his wedding, with the probability being that Sam, the bride-to-be, would be off, preparing. Hmmm. Anyhoo, in the end it really doesn’t signify. You see, Liz mused at how nothing slows Jason down, and Jason answered, “Not when it’s something I want.” To which Liz had to admit that she knew how much Jason loves Sam, and wants to be with her. So far so good. Liz was anxious about apologizing to Jason about nearly killing him in the car accident. She went on and on about her bad choices, and she’d been making a lot of those since losing Jake. And she mentioned once again how she blamed herself for not watching Jake. Of course, Jason tried to ease her guilt, but Liz acknowledged that her “mistakes seem to cost more than others.” Since the only mistakes she could possibly be referring to were the accident and Jake’s death,  I thought Jason’s response was befitting. Jason said they have to believe that this was where they were supposed to be right now. Living without their son. Involved in an accident, but alive. In other words, Jason was telling Liz that nothing really happens just by accident, so it wasn’t for her, or anyone, to take the blame for. Everything that happened led to that moment, and there was no taking it back. I got it. I don’t think Liz did. I think she heard it as though Jason was trying to save her from her guilt, whereas I think that Jake’s death has made this one of Jason’s fundamental beliefs: Things happen, and all the second guessing in the world won’t change them. Liz told Jason he could only play hero to one woman at a time. To which Jason said nothing. What was there to say to someone who thinks he is getting married in order to be Sam’s hero? He can, and has, played hero to everyone in town. That doesn’t require a marriage license! I said this on Twitter as soon as the scene played out, and I’ll say it again, because I really do believe it. I think Jason heard in that statement the basic and primary reason that he and Liz didn’t work. Liz is holding out for a hero. It’s what she thinks a relationship is based on. Liz still looks to men to save her from whatever the big, bad threat of the moment is, even when it’s just her boredom. Jason also heard the difference, and we all saw the contrast, between what his relationship with Sam is based on, and what his relationship with Liz was based on. It was no wonder that Jason didn’t have a response to what Liz said. Realizing the very same thing as the Jason of Liz’s fantasy – which is that he’s not, and never was, what Liz needs, he could do nothing but let her leave, her misconceptions about what he has to offer a woman intact.  Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

You see, I think it became even more clear to Jason at that moment that Sam isn’t holding out for a hero in him. She isn’t looking to Jason to save her from anyone or anything. She doesn’t rely on him to swoop in and protect her. Sam is holding out for the chance to finally share her life with the man she loves. Sam looks to Jason for the reflection of the love she feels for him. She relies only on the strength she gains knowing how Jason loves her unconditionally, and protects her from her own fears. In return, Sam has strengthened Jason with his own dose of unconditional love, and protects him from ever doubting all that he has to offer someone in love and in life. Their relationship is perfectly balanced, and what one gives, the other returns. I cannot think of a better foundation for marriage, can you?

Click to view full size image

I imagine that those realizations are what drove Jason to search out his bride. Every visit served as an affirmation that he had finally chosen to share his life with someone for all the right reasons, and without any delusions about what he and Sam share. Of course Jason would want to give Sam a wedding that exceeded her expectations, because Sam has never once made Jason feel that he failed to meet hers.

That is just EPIC.

Click to view full size image

You could see the way that Sam affects Jason just by watching him as he enters her apartment and  calls out her name, and hears her call out his. His body relaxes, his smile shows itself, and the love he feels takes on the color of his eyes. It’s a rather spectacular thing to observe.

Click to view full size image

Yet nothing could have prepared me for the moments that followed.

 

Click to view full size image

Sam is standing in her wedding dress, and though she shares her concern with Jason that it might be bad luck for him to see her in her wedding dress, Jason is sure about one thing: there’s no way he’s leaving now.

Click to view full size image

So, he reminds her that he is going to see her anyway, and Sam concedes, and turns to face him.

Click to view full size image

I must confess that the minute I caught my first glimpse of Sam in her dress, looking as beautiful as I’ve ever seen her, and wearing the gown she picked out for her wedding to Jason, I wept. Not cried. Not got teary. Wept. And this was before we could see Jason’s reaction to her. Like Sam, I didn’t realize how important this was – to see Sam in a white dress, looking the part of the bride, even if it was just them. In that moment, I realized that I had been waiting for that very moment with more anticipation than I’d imagined. It was well worth the wait. Sam was stunning. What more can I say? Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

When Jason saw her; when he took in every detail of the woman he loves, and was literally rendered speechless by his Fair Samantha in her wedding dress, I wept again.  Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Click to view full size image

It was important for Sam that Jason was finally able to summon his words, and that he was able to verbalize his reaction to her, even though it wasn’t his most steady of proclamations. That moment where Jason looks away for a fraction of a second really got me, because it was as if it was too much for him to take in. *sigh* Sam said she didn’t realize how important it was to see that look on his face, but trust me, those words he uttered to her, past the lump in his throat, and the tears in his eyes, will be forever seared into her memory. That is what the magic of the wedding day is all about…the moment the eyes of the man you love look at you in a way they’ve never done before.

Click to view full size image

Like Sam, I am so thankful that it was just the two of them, their song playing in the background. Thank you, GH Writers. Jason and Sam rarely get a moment alone. To have this moment be a moment they could share and take in alone was a beautiful thing.

Click to view full size image

The enormity of the emotions I felt nearly overwhelmed me, as they must have done for Sam as well.

Click to view full size image

“I don’t think I can do this,” Sam admitted to Jason.

Click to view full size image

Sometimes, Words Fail Us.

Angelique

********************************************************************************

I hope that everyone took the time to thank the writers and TPTB for the wedding gifts we’ve gotten so far, and the ones we have yet to receive.

I believe now, more than ever, our positivity and gratitude is needed as a guiding light for those making decisions for our soap.

Be honest, be gracious, be positive. Let’s enjoy each of JaSam’s moments as they are happening.

Let’s leave tomorrow’s worries for tomorrow…or next month. Let’s take in right now. We’ve waited too long to let is pass us by while we are focusing on something else…

Take a moment and let TPTB know what your favorite moment of JaSam Wedding Week has been thus far!

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, Kelly Monaco, or Steve Burton, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, IF YOU WANT TO TREND, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! 

#JaSam #JaSamWedding #JaSamBaby #JaSamHawaii

*******************************************************************************

20 responses

  1. SamJasonsHeart

    The beauty of GH.. I saw it all today in Sam, Jason, Edward and Monica.
    When Edward gave Jason Lila’s ring and Monica gave Sam Alans ring what wonderful history that was.. and I have to agree with a fellow tweeter if that doesn’t scream destiny couple I don’t know what does.
    The look in Jason’s eyes when he saw Sam in her dress, was just the one every woman wants to see from the man she loves… was it just me or did anyone else notice that the sight of Sam standing there in her wedding dress took his breath away.. now that is love in the afternoon.
    I have to agree with Sam I was so happy that moment was only shared by the two of them.. it was pure perfection!
    Wedding card should go out tomorrow.. for some reason I think I have to read every card at every store to make sure I found the ONE.. *sigh* the CARD QUEEN has issues..lol

    Counting down the hours now and not the days.. I can’t even find the words to describe how happy I am that this day is finally here.

    *twirl* you and me dancing at the wedding!

    I love you!

    September 22, 2011 at 4:03 am

    • HELLO, SWEETNESS!
      Can you believe it?
      It’s official!
      I am so excited, and so happy, and so satisfied by the wedding we were given!
      Yet, can I tell you that the thing I am most grateful for is the friendships I’ve been blessed with because of our JaSam Love!
      I love you, and was so happy to share this big day with you guys!
      xoxox

      September 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm

  2. alwaysaromantic

    Angelique,
    I was waiting for THIS Blog! I needed to release all the emotions from todays show. It was FANtastic! The scenes with Edward and Monica took my breath away! The GH writers really brought their “A” game to this s/l. When jason saw Sam in her Wedding Dress I just stood up and smiled with tears in my eyes! I hit FF so many times I lost count! I could only think of how many of us Jasam fans have waited for these moments! I totally was caught by a pleasant surprise that Sam and Jason wedding rings would be tied to GH History!That was sheer Genius,Thank You Mr Wolf!! The emotion that Steve and Kelly showed may it feel so real and genuine,but they always do! Jasmmers its Finally Happening this time next week Sam McCall and Jason Morgan will be Married,how wonderful is that!

    September 22, 2011 at 5:59 am

    • Aww, thanks!
      I think we all had a bunch of emotions to release today, and release I did.
      I cried like a baby today! I am so thankful to everyone – Steve, Kelly, Mr. Wolf, all of the writers…the JaSam Wedding went beyond my wildest dreams!
      Mr. & Mrs. Morgan – I will never tie of hearing or saying that!
      😉

      September 22, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  3. Karlene

    Dearest Angelique,
    I know I have asked you this on several occasions but will you please get out of my head?!?! Every single thing you wrote down is exactly what I was thinking after watching this beautiful episode of television. From the time that Edward walked into Jason’s and gave him Lila’s ring to Monica giving Sam Alan’s ring to Jason being out of breath by seeing his Fair Samantha in her wedding dress… there really are no words to describe how full my heart is after this episode. I think I will never get out of my Jasam Happy Bubble or get off of cloud 1,000,000,000!!!! By the way, I don’t know if you saw my earlier tweet from yesterday but I said that it was hard not being able to watch GH until I got home b/c of the updates from all of you on Twitter!! I have a feeling that I will want every second to fly by when I’m not able to be home to watch today or Friday’s to wanting time to stand still while watching these beautiful moments from the best couple in the history of Daytime. GO YANKEES!!!
    JASAM Love Always(and now Forever,) 😉
    Karlene

    September 22, 2011 at 6:39 am

    • Hi, Karlene!
      Weren’t they worth the wait?
      When I hear that you guys think I am in your head, it makes me realize that we just all know our couple so very well!
      So do the writers, because every part of the JaSam Wedding was extremely meaningful to me. I was moved to tears by every scene!
      Thank goodness for youtube, where we can watch it again and again…’til our heart’s content!
      And yes, GO YANKEES!
      😉

      September 22, 2011 at 9:19 pm

  4. Arianna

    How did I know that your blog would turn me around and Answer the questions I had about the visit from the irrelevant one? Oh lord you were so on the money with that. She did need him to be hero and that was a great way to show why they didn’t work. Thanks for clearing the JIZ dust out of my JaSam Happy Bubble!
    And thanks for starting this great BellaMafia family. Proud to be part of it!
    Jasam love!
    Ari

    September 22, 2011 at 7:07 am

    • I am happy to be your cleaning lady when it comes to ridding your environment of *whispers* them. 😉
      Besides, it’s nothing we didn’t already know. We watched that storyline play out and we saw it go nowhere.
      Enjoy that JaSam Happy Bubble, honey!
      And thanks for being part of this Bella Mafia Family!
      Much love…

      September 22, 2011 at 9:15 pm

  5. I swear you live in my JaSam head……Actual have as you said no words. you said everything i was thinking and feeling. Which is why I love you so much

    I just woke up smiling, looking at my screensaver of JaSam and all I could do was smile, say Eeeeeeeeee!! and start watching videos of their history as I prepare to watch something I have wanted for 7 years, And just Like Edward Monica and Jason. God…I wish Lila and Alan were Here!!! Happy JaSam Wedding Day everyone. Enjoy!!

    September 22, 2011 at 9:51 am

    • And you live in my JaSam heart, my dear Steph!
      It was a fantastic day from the moment I woke up…even better now that we’ve seen it actually play out!
      I do wish Lili and Edward had been there, but I was thankful for the way the writers found a way to include them.
      I am one happy JaSam fan!! It’s been great to share so much of it with you, my friend!
      xoxox

      September 22, 2011 at 9:10 pm

  6. samjase

    GROUP HUG FELLOW JASAMMERS! WE MADE IT! WE MADE IT THROUGH THE DESTRUCTION AND THE HEARTACHE…BECAUSE OF THE UNCONDITIONAL LOVE BETWEEN JASON AND SAM. THIS IS OUR DREAM COME TRUE! SAM’S WORDS..”i’M THE ONLY ONE WHO WILL EVER SEE THAT LOOK ON YOUR FACE” WAS EPIC. I SOBBED! THIS IS OUR DAY TO REMEMBER UNTIL “LITTLE JASAM” COMES INTO THIS WORLD. THANK YOU ANGELIQUE FOR YOUR AMAZING WORDS. WE LOVE YOU!

    September 22, 2011 at 9:53 am

    • Traveler

      I want in on this JaSam Group Hug!! *Hugs all around*

      September 22, 2011 at 7:55 pm

      • *group hug* sweetie!

        September 22, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    • *GROUP HUG*
      We did make it! I loved every moment!
      Thank you, Darlene!
      I love you too!

      September 22, 2011 at 9:07 pm

  7. Traveler

    Loved.. Loved this Blog, GH, Edward, Monica, Jason, Sam and ESPECIALLY JaSam!!
    Well truth be told… I think I loved Steve Burton BEST of all in this Episode. OMG – He made me REALLY believe in Love in the Afternoon. The way Jason looked at Sam in her Wedding Dress… Please…Be still my JaSam Lovin heart. OMG – Wow – Swoon!!
    Ive watched that scene too many times to count!! Sam was RIGHT.. Not realizing how important that moment was/is!! It was better than I could have ever imagined….
    Thanks to GH, Garin Wolf and Stelly for making my JaSam Dreams come true!!

    September 22, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  8. Sonia

    Thanks I am all in the Jasam Family.. Just love every word in your Blog

    September 22, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  9. AlwaysaRomantic

    Heres my HUG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    September 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  10. Thank you yet again Angelique because you verbalize where “words fail me” in expressing how much Jason and Sam mean to me. Their love is so pure and perfect and it is the most BEAUTIFUL thing to watch play out on my screen. Thank you. I can’t wait for your next post. You truly are a Goddess with words. ❤

    September 23, 2011 at 1:56 am

Leave a Reply

