Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“Being In A Rich, Rewarding Relationship Means”…

It’s Hump Day, GHers!

Who else needs help making it over that hump? 🙂

Forgive me for being MIA yesterday, I was just not feeling well at all. I’m still draggin’ a bit, but the closer we get to the weekend, and my family being home, the better I can convince myself I feel.

Wow. I could barely wait to start typing just because I could not wait to say that Jane Elliot is SOAP ROYALTY! Let me tell you something about what Ms. Elliot can do. When Tracy does something awful and mean-spirited and dragon-ladyish (like when she dug up Sam’s past and blackmailed her), I wish I could climb right through the TV and kick her ass myself. She can get on my very last nerve sometimes! Yet, when her scary facade slips, and she is vulnerable and believe it or not, sensitive, she makes me wish I could crawl through the sam TV, put my arms around her, and congratulate her for being human. The only explanation for why I could feel so passionately on both ends of the spectrum for the same character, is because her portrayer can convince me on either end to feel passionately – whether with love or hate – I feel it, and feel it all the way! That’s what acting is all about, and I am so glad that they’ve finally stopped boxing her into one side of that spectrum, because she is oh-so-worthy of both!

It was actually Tracy’s scenes that got me thinking the most today. (Without our JaSam, I had to look elsewhere 😦 ) There is a strength in Tracy that I admire, even when I don’t agree with her. She’s a classic broad who has had to fight like hell – and even dirty, just to keep her seat on this business machine driven by the men in her family. Hearing about how Tracy buried her stolen Solito treasure within ELQ completely made sense. Watching her be confronted about it by Anthony? That was just good TV! Tracy barely even changed her tone of voice, but she knew she was busted. If you listened to Anthony’s description of the ideal “godmother” to Solito’s godfather, Tracy fit it perfectly, and you have to love the banter between the two of them. It wasn’t long before Tracy realized that Skye was the snitch, and I’ve gotta agree with Anthony. Tracy really outta be nicer to people, or it can come back and bite you in the butt. Perhaps Tracy should take her own advice. “Being in a rich, rewarding relationship means”… that in order for Skye to not have been this willing to sell Tracy down the river this fast…Tracy would have had to treat Skye with some semblance of respect or decency. Instead, Tracy made Skye’s life HELL. My mom always said that you get as well as you give in life…here’s the proof. Edward did say that Tracy prides herself on being able to disentangle herself from the entanglements she ends up in. I am anxious to see how Tracy weasels her way out of this one.

Lulu is officially the biggest hypocrite of the week! (This is Port Charles, afterall! That will change.) Ummm…she is really harping on this “total honesty” thing when it comes to her relationships, isn’t she? But I wonder where all of that honesty crap was when she nearly decimated her “relationships” with Carly, Michael, Jason, Sonny, and everyone else she kept the truth about Dominic being Dante, the undercover cop, from. Weren’t those relationships rich or meaningful? I am so glad that Lulu walked herself into Tracy’s office to get some truth clobbered into her. You all know that I am not a Lante fan, but Lulu is just being ridiculous here! I am with Tracy. “Lulu, get over yourself!” Tracy was preaching the Bottom Line Gospel for sure when she said, “Being in a rich, rewarding relationship means… being willing to put in the work. It means you trying when you don’t wanna try! Forgiving when it’s the last thing in the world you want to do!” To which Lulu  answers with a question. “What if I can’t do that?”  Thankfully, Tracy, smacked her with more truth, and told her exactly what the alternative is. She told her all about having “done alone”, about “making her life about work”, about having “money and stuff”, but also “a hole that gets deeper and deeper.” And then she told Lulu that in the end, she’ll have NOTHING. That dialogue was exceptional! By the time Tracy was done, I found myself with a lump in my throat, and my eyes were mysteriously misty. Well done, GH Writers! Well done!

The writers also did something else that was all kinds of right. I was really happy to see that Patrick and Robin not only talked, but were honest. “Being in a rich, rewarding relationship means”… you have to be able to communicate honestly, even when it’s not easy. Robin doesn’t always know when she needs to make the first move, and even if she did, that doesn’t mean she would. Yet, I think that Robin is aware that her marriage needs to be further up the priority list than her career, and she took a definitive step in going to Patrick to try to address any hard feelings. Good for Robin! Pride is always the first hurdle. I think Patrick immediately rewarded Robin’s first move by being honest and admitting that he had no business doing Kristina’s surgery, and that he was tired and just trying to over perform. This marriage has dealt with some angst lately, but thankfully, it’s come from real life situations – and not a third-party. The writers get even more points for that! I am sure that Scrubs fans enjoyed the playfulness – the cute reference Patrick made to “Scrubs”, and the romantic time they enjoyed. More than that, I bet they are really enjoying the fact that their couple is dealing with things together – even if it takes a time-out or two from one of these strong personalities with a competitive streak. 😉

Perhaps after Patrick and Robin go home and get some sleep, they can sit Maxie down and have a nice talk with her…a la Tracy. Maxie is so all over the place that she can’t really apply herself to anything she’s doing. She’s skimping her attention on Matt, skimping her attention on Spinelli, and most importantly to me, she’s skimping on the attention that Jason and Sam’s wedding, and engagement ring deserve. Maxie should know that “Being in a rich, rewarding relationship of any kind – romantic, formerly non-spousal, or even friendship, means”… that those in the relationships with her need to know that she is invested in what they share. Right now, Maxie is fluttering all over town, trying to fix everything she’s messed up, and not really succeeding at anything. It seemed kinda fitting that Maxie would end up in a dumpster at the end of her search, because most of her relationships right now are “in the dumps.”

And just when Maxie’s day couldn’t get any worse…she comes face to face with the mess Liz has gotten herself into. Hmmm. Maybe the dumpster wasn’t as bad as it can get after all.

From down in the dumps to the feeling that you’re on top of the world looking down, we move on to Johnny dangling from his penthouse terrace, thanks to Sonny’s latest manic episode. Sonny is so far out the realm of normalcy that I am still trying to wrap my brain around the fact that he has not been forcefully entered into Rose Lawn…because Shady Brook can barely keep track of its catatonic patients, forget about keeping track of someone who is bouncing off the walls! How many homes will Sonny bust into, waving a gun, spewing hate and throwing threats around before it’s enough? Or worse, one too many? Johnny really is a good guy, I don’t care what anyone says. If Johnny were anyone else, he would have waited ‘til Sonny turned his back, and thrown him off the balcony. Certainly, Sonny has messed with Johnny enough, no? How much more will Johnny have to put up with before he finally pays Sonny back for some of what he’s gotten? Incredibly, it wasn’t Johnny who got Sonny to back down, but Olivia. I know…what the heck was she even doing there? Someone outta tell Olivia that “Being in a rich, rewarding relationship means”… that you appreciate being in a caring relationship with someone other than both your mobster exes. Olivia should probably stay out of their business – especially their business about… The Business. I doubt Dr. Steve Webber would take too kindly to having to patch up his lovely lover because she got caught in the crossfire – or her own misfire, whichever the case may be.

You know, I think Tracy’s advice can be extended to all of us. With all of the speculation over the wedding or weddings, the black tees vs. the white dress, and the Chinese restaurant vs. the church, some seem to be determined to hang out with Maxie…down in the dumps.

I would urge anyone who is having a tough time trying to “fly above” on a cloud of JaSam Love and Positivity to remind themselves just for a moment that there was a time we wished Sam had married Jason:

  • In the dress Sonny bought her, even after Carly opened her big, fat mouth
  • On the island where she met her evil twin, and Jason said he wanted to find the perfect place to get married
  • In Hawaii any of the couple of times they went as a couple
  • Or the time that Jason asked her to run off and get married before they found her mother

Why would I ask anyone to remind themselves of any of those times?

Because when Jason and Sam were torn apart, any one of us would have given anything if they had more than a living arrangement to consider when they walked away from each other.

I know that at any point from the time Sam got shot in May 2006, to the moment Sam left the penthouse with her little box in August 2007, I lamented over the lost opportunities they had time and time again. Sam was the Love of Jason’s Life. More than anyone, she deserved to have been Mrs. Jason Morgan.

I will tell you that if they went down to the justice of the peace in pajamas, I’d be happy.

If they went out on the boat, and had the marina owner officiate, I’d be happy.

If they got married while sky-diving, or wind-surfing, or on the mound at Fenway Park, I’d be happy! (And I am a die-hard Yankee fan!)

My point, my dear, dear friends, is that we are getting what we have always wanted!

“Being in a rich, rewarding relationship means”… in our case, that Jason and Sam are finally taking that next step! They are going to be Mr. & Mrs. Morgan! They are making it official! That’s the best possible case scenario! Can’t we find a way to be officially happy, and officially stop obsessing about the details?

Did you know there are those who are HOPING that JaSam fans won’t watch either, so that BOTH sides will be boycotting?

Boycotting, what for us, is the WEDDING OF A LIFETIME?

I just cannot imagine that any of the JaSam fans I know and love is willing to be part of THAT. . .

Please don’t prove me wrong…send in your RSVP via the comment line, the studio’s snail mail, Twitter, or email. Let TPTB know that you will be at the wedding, or at the weddings! Let them know that what matters most is that Jason and Sam are finally getting the Love Story we knew they deserved!

Then, clear your calendar, invite some friends over, plan on ordering some Chinese food, and let’s practice the Electric Slide and The Macarena!

We are going to party because OUR Couple if Tying The Knot!

I’ll see you at THE WEDDINGS!

 Angelique

********************************************************************************

Take a moment and let TPTB know just how EXCITED you are about September 23, and why! Stay positive! 

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, IF YOU WANT TO TREND, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! 

#JaSam #JaSamWedding #JaSamBaby #JaSamHawaii

*******************************************************************************

12 responses

  1. Christie

    Thank you for writing this. It is great to read! I agree about your words on the Jasam wedding. I think a lot of people are wanting a traditional wedding but we have to remember that they aren’t traditional. Jason is a mob enforcer who doesn’t like to wear a tux and all of that girlie stuff. Sam is a PI who really just likes things simple. I remember her saying all she wanted was to hang out with Jason, eat Chinese food, and fall alseep on the couch in Jason’s arms. That is Jason and Sam. I will be watching the wedding, I have already set my DVR!

    September 14, 2011 at 10:32 am

    • Hi!
      Thanks for reading…
      I agree – we have to stop letting everyone else’s idea of tradition change who Jason and Sam really are.
      If JaSam were as traditional as people suddenly want them to be, I think we may have been bored long ago!
      It’s their uniqueness that makes me love them more and more. They always keep us guessing…and I am like Sam.
      I don’t need them to change who they are for me…
      See you at the wedding!
      😉

      September 14, 2011 at 9:59 pm

  2. I have sent my comment/RSVP, and will be there!!! Thanks, Angelique!! You are the best JaSam fan ever!! Much love………..

    September 14, 2011 at 11:20 am

    • Awww…wish we could ride to the wedding together!
      LOL!
      Hope everything is well with you and your loved ones!

      September 14, 2011 at 9:56 pm

  3. Connie Hernandez

    Wonderfully written .. Excellent post as usual . I can not imagine anyone calling themselves Jasam fans boycotting the most special event of their lives . TRUE fans , they are not ! If our couple IS Happy , who are we to complain??? Again, love what you do Angelique! Take care and Gid Bless! Connie H.

    September 14, 2011 at 11:30 am

    • You’re right, Connie!
      On every single point!
      Thanks for the support!
      Angelique

      September 14, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  4. Traveler

    I did miss you yesterday… Hope you are feeling better!! Nothing better than having the family around. Funny how we live for the weekends to spend time with the family. But love the weekdays for GH…..
    Thanks for another wonderful Blog!!! As always you are spot on!!
    This JaSam Fan will NEVER forget what it was like during the SOS and when our JaSam was apart. I cried too many tears to count. During those dark times I NEVER gave up hope and I always had faith our JaSam would find their way back to eachother. During those dark times, I would have given just about anything to just hear Jason say Sam’s name. (That really is one of my most favorite sounds in the world).
    Since Oct 31st 2008 when JaSam Exploded (Literally) back into each others life.. I have not taken one look, touch, hug, kiss, ILY (the list goes on and on) for granted….
    So far all the pre-wedding “everything” has been better than my expectations. Im confident the Wedding week will be just as great.
    This JaSam Fans is SO EXCITED they will FINALLY be Mr & Mrs Morgan!!

    September 14, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    • Love this post!
      Spoken like a true JaSam Fan!
      xoxox

      September 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm

  5. SamJasonsHeart

    I also don’t care what they wear or where they say their vows to one another.. All I care about is that they are getting married. We have waited 7 long years for this day and it is almost here!

    I never doubted for a second not even when they were apart that Sam was Jasons heart. From their first hello in the PCPD I knew they were meant to be. How cute were they both in cuffs Stelly magic from day one!

    *twirl* happy JaSam wedding dance!

    Hugs my love!

    September 14, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    • Me too!
      This is DESTINY! And I couldn’t be happier!
      *twirls*
      I’m joining you on the dance floor!
      Love you!

      September 14, 2011 at 9:52 pm

  6. AlwaysaRomantic

    Happy does not even come close! We Jasam fans have waited through “EVERYTHING to see Sam and Jason become Mr and Mrs Morgan!!! The way it has been written so far makes me so Proud! GW has really done a terrific job not only with Sam and Jason but GH as whole has BALANCE again! I will be there with Bells on and I am eagerly awaiting next week! We may not be able to Literally be together to Celebrate Jasams Wedding but in our Jasam loving Hearts we allready are! They are just so Happy to have survived so many obstacles and they are more in Love now than ever! They made it through to the other side Together!

    September 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Leave a Reply

