Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

NO GOOD DEED GOES UNPUNISHED

Well, well, well, GHers, it seems my readers are the smartest GH fans on the planet!

You all figured out that Jason wasn’t really in that room and that Robin wasn’t just trying to get on my nerves, or even on Patrick’s, she was actually trying to figure out what had happened to Jason!

See what happens when one forgets that your favorite soap can be this good at twists and turns? I have gotten so used to figuring everything out and not being surprised that I just didn’t see this one coming! And I am a bit disappointed in myself, because it just felt wrong that Sam wasn’t at his side, and that there was no mention of her. I am proud of you, guys!

The writing team has my applause…we are really getting SOAPed these days!

Anthony and Sonny are like Dueling Loons. The difference that Anthony is pretending to be crazier than he already is in order to gain control of the situation, while Sonny is pretending to be more in control than he is in order from keeping his enemies from seeing how crazy he really is. Anthony is still the smarter Loon, and man  – I am so waiting for the opportunity to use my favorite line of the day in a sentence of my own: “Keeping the peace is CRAP!” (I just know that my in-laws are going to give me a reason sooner or later to hurl that one at my hubby, who will then ask me who on what soap used that line. But it will still be fun to say!) I still am having a bit of trouble understanding why no one has forced Sonny to take his meds. I cannot understand why all of the people who at least used to care about Sonny haven’t communicated the fact that he is off his meds and needs to be back on them…by whatever means necessary! Geez! Watching Sonny have these moments where he is further alienating people drives me insane. (Ha!) Hearing Patrick inform Sonny that Emma has to sleep in his and Robin’s bed because she’s afraid that “Mommy will get shot again” was hard for this Sonny fan! I want the Sonny I know and love to be affected by that, and in this condition, he just can’t be. My only hope is that Carly ends up smacking him so hard again that he’ll take them just to numb the pain. Both pains. My only concern about that scenario is that while it may be the best thing that could happen to Sonny, we have to remember that no good deed goes unpunished.

So Shawn has figured out that Jax is most likely alive. Damn. Couldn’t he keep that to himself a little while longer? I really think Carly needed some more time to fret about what might have happened to Joss’ father, only because she obviously needs a reason – ANY REASON – to want to spend time with her kids. So, if feeling guilty about Jax being dead is what serves as that catalyst – hey. What about that warm and fuzzy reaction Carly had to the news? “I’m really glad that I don’t have to look my daughter in the face and tell her her daddy’s dead because of me.” That’s not exactly what you’d find on a Hallmark card, is it? Let’s just see if Carly can stop thinking about herself long enough to hear what Shawn was telling her, and keep her mouth shut about Jax before she sends an unmedicated Sonny after Jax again. Shawn seems to have a calming effect on Carly…just by saying the right things and asking the right questions. I wonder if that would change if they got involved. I hope Shawn keeps in mind however, that no good deed goes unpunished.

Nothing made me happier than to see Skye putting back the money she “borrowed” from Edward without telling him. Whatever nefarious plans she’s got up her skirt, I don’t want hurting Edward to be a casualty. Apparently, Skye borrowed the money to help Jax, and she was able to return it now that Jax has gotten himself situated. Yet, of course she would get busted not taking the money, but trying to return it. And no one is more excited about busting Skye than Tracy, proving once again that no good deed goes unpunished.

The only thing saving Skye’s butt from utter humiliation is information. Information on Tracy, to be exact. It seems that Tracy once did a good deed for her family when she basically stole the Soleito millions right out from under his children’s noses, and helped ELQ with the money. Skye has been sitting pretty on all of this information and has been threatening Tracy with blowing her secret right out of the Quartermaines’ lakefront. You’d think someone like Tracy, a former mob “godmother” would know that no good deed goes unpunished.

All this mob talk would be less interesting without the Mob Prince of Port Charles…Johnny. I kinda really liked the fact that Johnny was working on getting it on with Skye. Obviously, Johnny’s thing for older women runs a little deeper than we first thought. I think it’s a great twist, and since last time Skye was in town, she must have been as bored as we all were, I am getting a real kick of watching her make better use of her time. No matter what, John is a good fella deep down. He truly was trying to warn Skye that dealings with her father will always end badly. John offered a noble alternative; it was a rather good deed, if I do say so myself. I think it’s funny that John reminded us all with those silk scarves that no good deed goes unpunished.

Sometimes I’m a little shallow. Since Ethan’s haircut, I’ve learned to like him a lot more. The fact hat he’s been a good brother to Lucky and to Lulu, who aren’t always so easy to love, was a plus. The fact that he was the only person who took the time to be nice to Siobhan was another plus. However, the fact that Ethan is trying to push Kristina away a little less gently and a bit more forcefully is what really sealed the deal for me. I really like Ethan. I believe he truly doesn’t want to hurt Kristina. I believe him when he says he wants to see her happy. And I believe that he believes that as long as she is following him around like a puppy dog, she won’t allow herself to find happiness. He may very well be right. So, he has decided that meeting her at Kelly’s and slaying her with his mega smile or his Aussie accent wasn’t really doing much for getting her going on a path away from him. He is resorting to some tough love now. As someone who had a long crush on and later fell in love with someone older than her, I really do feel for Kristina. She doesn’t have the wealth of knowledge that I had (from watching Lily and Holden on ATWT) Kristina really has not a clue about how to behave here. She is walking a fine line between slightly annoying to Level 1 Stalker, and Ethan is convinced he needs to be firm, but he always wavers. When he was talking to Skye about the reasons he can only be a friend to Kristina, I heard something a little different from what Kristina, Skye, or even Ethan heard. I heard him trying to convince himself as well. Ethan’s a good guy, trying to do the right thing, but in the end…no good deed goes unpunished.

I think we’ll see that in the next few weeks, everyone’s good intentions will be made into paving stones towards all different kinds of hell for all different kinds of reasons. I am excited about how it will all play out, and how everyone if affected by all of these good deeds, and their respective punishments.

At the moment, I feel as though my good deed of supporting our favorite soap is being punished by being denied the JaSam Magic so often. Then I am reminded that AMC taped its last show this week, and I force myself to focus on the fact that without our GH, there is no JaSam…ever again.

I will survive…and so will you.

This is September, after all!

😉

********************************************************************************

Take a moment and let TPTB know which of JaSam’s special moments you’d like to see them recall as they prepare for THEIR BIG DAY!

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, IF YOU WANT TO TREND, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! 

#JaSam #JaSamWedding #JaSamBaby #JaSamHawaii

*******************************************************************************

Have a great Labor Day Weekend, everyone!

Be safe!

Angelique 

7 responses

  1. Carol

    Thanks for posting. I am ashamed to say, I didnt watch much of GH yesterday,but one thing I did notice was Daddy Z trying to give that flower to everyone and no one would take it. I kept saying I want it! LOL

    September 2, 2011 at 6:01 am

  2. Kristana

    Another excellent review! I was cracking up at the Lily & Holden reference(I was in LOVE w/ them!) I can’t believe AMC taped it’s last TV show but I will never watch the Chew!

    September 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    • Ha ha ha!
      Lily and Holden…the good ol’ days! 😉
      I WILL NEVER WATCH THE CHEW EITHER!
      EVER!
      I will mourn the loss of AMC…we’ve lost way too many soaps already.
      NO MORE!
      Thanks for the support!
      xoxo

      September 3, 2011 at 11:51 pm

  3. Traveler

    Thanks for the great blog!!
    I didnt even think that Jason wasnt in that room as I watched. lol I guess like you I forget not everything is “spoiled” these days. Its been so great to watch GH and actually be suprised by whats happening… I have said for a long time… They best GH/JaSam Days are unspoiled GH/JaSam Days… I will probably always read Spoilers. *blushes* But, its nice to be suprised from time to time. More often than not these days…
    September… Bitter Sweet for me.. Sad to see the end of AMC but so excited to know our JaSam will be saying “I do” this month……
    Viva la GH and Viva la JaSam……

    September 2, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    • I used to read spoilers, too., believe me, but it’s been a week that I haven’t even peeked.
      I just wanted to remember the days when we didn’t seem to know everything that was going to happen.
      It’s my little experiment, and I am really enjoying it so far. We’ll see how long I can last! LOL!
      Bittersweet for me too…I hate it that we lost AMC. Hopefully we’ll get another chance to love it.
      😉

      September 3, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  4. Karlene

    It’s so funny that when I read the title to this blog, I automatically thought of the Broadway show “Wicked” because there is a song in the show called “No Good Deed.” 😀 I just watched the episode and have to say that I like the direction Mr Wolf is going in. As long as we get to keep our supercouple and that Jason is, “happy as long as he is with Sam,” I’m good!!!
    JASAM Love Always,
    Karlene

    September 3, 2011 at 12:48 am

    • I loved WICKED!
      And I agree…we have to stay focused!
      As long as they’re together – I’m good, too.
      😉

      September 3, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

