Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

PLACE YOUR BETS…

All clips credited to gh-caps.net (THANKS!)

TGIF, GHers!

Can you believe it’s Friday already? It seems that our looking forward to the next episode of GH makes time FLY!

With each great episode I feel that I am getting reacquainted with old friends…remembering things I’d either forgotten, or finding out things I somehow never knew. It feels like a long reunion weekend. Thanks once again, GH Writers!

I am not a gambler. Never have been. I’m not sure what it is that has never allowed me to see the draw of taking chances on something with really bad odds, but even when I was a kid, I would get nervous when my sister would take a shot at the Claw Crane arcade game down at the Jersey Shore boardwalk. It would literally make my heart contract to know that she was hoping to use that ridiculous claw to try and nab a prize. I never understood why she bothered when obviously the chances of winning weren’t that good! How could they be when no matter what time of day we passed it – it was still chock full of prizes! I need more certainty in life. I need really good odds. It’s probably why I held the same job for most of my life (before the accident) and why I’ve lived in the same waterfront community I did as a kid. I just don’t like to take chances.

Which is why living in Port Charles would have been a real challenge for me. It was certainly all about placing your bets on one side or the other, and in most cases, neither side looked that good.

 

Click to view full size image

I never thought I’d say this, but it seems Alexis and I have some things in common. Alexis is a little bit of a chicken when it comes to placing bets, too. Alexis’ mantra is: Why take crazy chances? She would rather know what the facts are and then make an informed decision from there. I can totally relate. 😉 (Which is why my sister calls me a chicken, too!)

Click to view full size image

 Diane, however, is the anti-Alexis. She cares a lot less about the facts and seems to ride the wave of what feels right, and good, and “groovy.” Watching Diane play the little red devil (quite literally) on Alexis’ shoulder was a bit comical, especially since there wasn’t anyone at Jake’s to play the good angel on Alexis’ other shoulder. All they had was Coleman, and he wasn’t the little devil.

Click to view full size image

He was big ol’ Lucifer himself, pitchfork pool stick and all. Alexis never had a chance. Even though I’m not a gambler, I placed my bets on Diane and Coleman getting the uptight Ms. Davis to play their game – so I guess I have beginner’s luck. Not only did she play, but Alexis literally “beat the pants off” of her playmates. I wonder if that game was legal…being that PC’s police commissioner walked in just as Coleman “dropped them.”

Click to view full size image

Had Sonny not framed Jax, it would probably have been safe to place your bet on Jax getting custody. And while Jax has certainly made me question the competence of that could’ve been decision this week, Carly makes me wonder how anyone could have handed full custody to her, even with Jax’s drug charges. Maybe Joss should’ve gone to stay with Grandma Bobbie while Carly and Jax got their crap together. Honestly, I am not sure which of the two has been the worst parent to Joss lately, but I know that at least one of them seems to have put Joss’ needs first – if only for a moment, and that’s Jax. I will admit that I sighed a deep sigh of relief. This was not who I wanted Jax to be. This was not how I wanted him to go down. I know he’s an ass sometimes, but he loves his daughter, and I cannot imagine him taking Joss’ mother from her. Let’s see if Carly can raise him one noble act…for the love of Joss.

Click to view full size image

Between Sonny’s Bi-polar Disorder and Shawn’s PTSD, I’d place my bet on Shawn. Sonny is so out of control, and so far gone from reality, that I wouldn’t trust him to pick up Joss’ diaper bag, much less to try and get her back! I don’t often side with Dante, but I silently applauded him when he shoved the truth down Sonny’s throat. This is all about Brenda…and about the fact that Sonny can’t face that Brenda may have loved him, but “he didn’t like him much anymore.” Whoa. That was a hard pill to swallow, so instead of digesting it, Sonny knocked Dante out. So much for improving father-son relations.

Click to view full size image

Patrick Drake has enough ego for two men, so having Matt add his own ego to the mix on which way to proceed with Jason was overwhelming even for me. I cannot imagine what it sounded like to Sam and Monica.  Patrick was right – Jason was the reason he came to Port Charles, but Matt is also right – it doesn’t guarantee that you’ll get the victory again. However, I think I was right to place my bets on Patrick’s way winning out. Matt suggested going to Robin and have her take the decision out of both their hands. I really thought Matt was on the right track, as historically, Robin tends to go with the least invasive option, but Patrick knew something Matt hadn’t thought of. Once Robin knew it was Jason they were talking about, she wouldn’t be willing to risk losing him, so she sided with Patrick – because he did save Jason all those years ago when Robin begged him. So Matt had to fold.

Click to view full size image

It seemed mother/daughter-in-law relations were about to get off to a rough start for Monica and Sam when Monica pulled her “I’m his mother” card. What a tense moment! I found myself nervously chewing on my lip rather ferociously during their exchange, but let’s be clear: I’d place my bets on Sam each time! I am Team Sam all the way! Please don’t get me wrong, no one is happier that Monica is back in Jason’s life, and that Jason seems more open to embracing The Quartermaines, but let’s be real. Where the hell has Monica been? Not only has she been absent, but admittedly by her choice. Did she really think that one visit over the past couple of years would grant her the rights to make all of his decisions, even decisions that they’ve never discussed? As I said yesterday, I really hoped that Monica would remember that Jason left these decisions to Sam the last time he faced them. More than that, I hoped that Monica would remember that it was because of his faith in Sam – to love him through whatever the outcome – that Jason finally made the decision to risk the surgery that scared him almost literally to death. Jason discussed his fears with Sam, and let her help him to overcome them. More than once. In fact, Monica was there and watched Jason put his life in Sam’s hands time and time again. She should know better!

Click to view full size image

 

I could literally see Sam torn between what she felt in her gut and what Patrick and Matt were arguing about, just as I could see that it hurt her to have to disagree with Monica. This wasn’t easy for her.

Click to view full size image

 

Sure, Sam said she is a gambler, and that she wanted to hear the odds, but maybe what no one else in that room knows is that Sam would never be willing to gamble with Jason’s life. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=odTif1xPWF8 It broke my heart that Sam really had no choice but to go with Monica’s decision to take this gamble, because certainly Sam wasn’t all in.

Click to view full size image

 Hopefully, her new family will be able to get her through these next few days with their support, and their common love of Jason.

Click to view full size image

 ********************************************************************************

Take a moment and let TPTB know how much you are enjoying Sam bonding with The Quartermaines, and let them know what else you’re loving! Your voice matters!

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! #JaSam

*******************************************************************************

I’ve placed my bets on JaSam…what about you?

Angelique

 

4 responses

  1. Fylicia'Marie

    Loved today’s if for no other reason than to remind us that family is rarely easy, as evidenced by every family struggle today: sonny & dante, matt & patrick and sam & the mom-in-law. Honestly, I was team Monica today, probably because I know that no matter the contact, a mother’s love never wanes. Even with her extreme grief and supposed disowning him, Jason has always been Monica’s golden boy. I also liked how Sam backed down explaining that she meant no disrespect and only wanted what was best fire Jason.

    August 12, 2011 at 1:27 am

  2. Traveler

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!!!
    Ahhhh… Jersey Shore Boardwalks… My BFF recently moved to Ocean City NJ. I was lucky enough to visit her and walked a few of those fabulous Boardwalks (Atantic City, Ocean City and Wildwoods)…..
    I actually live in Vegas… But like you Im not a gambler (unlike Sam). But boy do I remember Sam saying in 2005, she was not willing to Gamble on Jason’s Life… Thanks for sharing that clip!! *Sniffles*
    Loving GH these days… Just not loving how fast that hour goes by. *Giggles*

    August 12, 2011 at 1:29 am

    • I love Ocean City…and Wildwood!
      Next time you’re in my neck of the woods, let me know!
      One of my dearest friends lives in Vegas! (How’s that for symmetry?)
      That clip is one of my all time favorites! I have always loved the conviction in her voice…
      and for those who say Sam doesn’t want Jason to change, this clip proves that she loved him
      through all kinds of changes already.

      August 14, 2011 at 12:47 am

  3. Traveler

    Thats is “symmetry”!!! ❤

    August 14, 2011 at 11:19 am

Leave a Reply

