Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Life As We Know It…

All clips credited to the awesome people at gh-caps.net (Thank you!)

Happy Hump Day, GHers!

I was so hoping to get my blog post done early enough that it would still be Tuesday, but I’ve been so tired lately, that I stopped to go back and replay a clip and ended up falling asleep for an hour! I woke up with my hands still on the keyboard. It’s a miracle I didn’t drop the laptop!

Thanks to all of you who’ve asked about my mom, have sent up prayers for her, and wished her well! You guys truly are like a huge circle of friends, and an awesome support network! (Just another reason to love our JaSam for bringing us together!)

My mom started out with a kidney infection. That quickly turned into a kidney stone attack, and once she was in the hospital, we found out that she had “lots of stones” in both kidneys. (Please put down that soda, my beloved friends!) They performed an emergency surgery to put in a stent in her kidney to allow it drain properly, because one stone was so large, it was actually causing a blockage. They told us once the kidney was draining properly, and the infection cleared, they would perform another surgery to remove at least that “monster” stone. As luck would have it, the infection in her kidney had already made its way to her bloodstream, and now they are waiting for the infection to be cleared up before they can do anything. So her stay at the hospital will be longer than any of us imagined, and that’s a tough pill for me to swallow. I don’t like seeing her there, or leaving her there, and most of all, I don’t like thinking about her sleeping there, hooked up to a bunch of things while I’m here in my bed.

;(

It goes against my natural order of things. My mom should be home, a phone call away, and a hop, skip, and  a jump from my kids whenever they want to visit. Life as we know it doesn’t include my mom anywhere but close, so that’s why even my insomnia has insomnia now. I am hoping and praying she gets better soon, and is back home where she belongs, and mostly, I am sure that all of your prayers and good wishes will help speed up the process!

Thank you, ALL, from the bottom of our hearts!

🙂

Life as we know it is also changing in Port Charles, wouldn’t you all agree?

I guess the most obvious change is that amazingly, it is starting to actually resemble LIFE AS WE KNOW IT more and more. Things are making more sense. People are reacting more normally, and showing more emotions. Actions seem to have real consequences, and choices have actual repercussions!

As much as we love the escape from our real lives that our soaps afford us, one thing that we learned from the writing before the change is that we also need that escape to have some sense of reality and normalcy, even if that sounds like a complete contradiction.

Click to view full size image

Dante and Lulu just returned from popping up all over the world in pursuit of Luke Spencer. I was surprised at how much I liked hearing them acknowledge that they’ve gotta get back to their real lives, their real responsibilities…even their bills! I loved that Ronnie came over and called Dante out on having been gone a month, and needing to get back to his job! I even loved that Ronnie offered up an explanation for why he wasn’t assigned the dangerous drug ring investigation – because he mouthed off at Mac and questioned his authority during the last hostage crisis at the hospital. Hey! I like to be treated like an intelligent viewer! Those were all things I wondered about. Good job, writing team! I love follow through! For Dante and Lulu, Life, as they knew it, took a couple of wild turns, but now it’s back to the grind, and the normal, everyday kind of things like cleaning out the refrigerator after having been gone a month! Who knew that was something I could appreciate so much? Sometimes Life As We Know It includes the mundane.

Click to view full size image

Tracy Quartermaine has handled Luke’s latest disappearance with a lot more efficacy, and I for one, am thrilled. It never made sense to me when Luke would take off and a woman as strong and as intelligent as Tracy would just fall off the face of the earth, presumably picking on and terrifying The Help into writing their own memoirs about Life as they knew it while under her family’s employ. This time around, we have seen Tracy put her extra time to use looking after things at ELQ, facing some hard truths with her sister-in-law, exercising to keep that newly svelte figure she’s sporting, hunting down her stalker/resident mobster and issuing a few threats of her own, checking in on her stepdaughter, and AND (I know. can you believe there’s more?) packing up the memories her husband left behind. I guess she’s hoping out of sight really will mean out of mind. All of those things totally make sense to me as a viewer, especially one whose known a totally different Tracy than the one we’d seen over the past couple of years. This is who Tracy Quartermaine is. She takes life by the horns and drags it behind her, not the other way around. I am surprised to admit that I really do like the interaction between Tracy and Anthony, and I love that this story is unexpected and will keep us guessing…and now with that call to Skye…I’d say sometimes Life As We Know It can be downright mysterious!

Click to view full size image

Sonny has definitely had his ups and downs as of late. Some really high highs and some really low lows…which sounds a lot like bi-polar disorder. Which sounds a lot like the writing will be used to remind us that Sonny acts unstable and completely out of control for a reason. I think it was a brilliant move for the writers to let us know that Sonny hasn’t taken his medication for the past three months. That makes total sense! Of course Sonny would think that being married to Brenda could replace his medication. I think Sonny always believed that a real life with Brenda would be the ultimate high. I imagine he truly thought he might never have another low as long as they were together. I suspect he was sure of it even as his and Brenda’s marriage fell apart around them. By the time Sonny realized his highs were throwing him head first into lows, it was too late. It’s no wonder Sonny completely turned into someone no one really recognized when he thought his only option for helping Carly was to DRUG Jax and leave his life in shambles. I would think that as a doctor, Robin might have pieced that together, but the powerful scenes between her and Sonny were so worth it, that I’ll even take her judgemental self as a trade-off.  I think Sonny’s trip back to finding himself among the self-inflicted darkness will take us all along for a meaningful ride. It made me a little teary when I saw Maurice Bernard toss his pills aside, because I know that for a moment, his heart must have stopped. This is a story he knows all too well, and all too personally. It has always blown me away that he would be willing to take himself on such a personal and painful journey on the screen just to help us understand this mental illness. That is generosity at its best. I am looking forward to the twists and turns of this story with a whole new level of appreciation. Sonny will have to survive being totally out of control if he is going to ever regain control of his life and his pain. Proving that sometimes Life As We Know It can be full of very real highs and lows.

Click to view full size image

Speaking of highs and lows, Lucky has been on a trip from hell…or has it been a trip to hell? Lucky is out of his mind from the drugs, and he is lost inside some foggy alternate reality. It seems the only thing that makes sense to Lucky is Elizabeth. Hasn’t it always been that way? As much as these two hurt each other, help each other, and then destroy each other again, they only seem to be able to be themselves when they are in each other’s lives. I don’t really like it, but I can’t really deny it either. Whenever either of them have been way off their beaten paths, the other seems to be the marked tree in the middle of the woods. I think Siobhan got a raw deal here, I really do. She was willing to take her bruised heart and go back home where she could speak that way and not get on anyone’s nerves (like she does here), but Lucky asked her to stay. He dared her to believe that they could really have something, even when he knew that he wasn’t really willing to learn new habits that kept him from making the same stupid mistakes…with Liz. Kinda like how Lucky wasn’t really willing to learn new habits that would keep him from making the same stupid mistakes with his addictions. Whenever Lucky falls apart, he turns to booze. This time, he almost turned to pills. But he always, always ends up turning to Liz when he feels as though there’s no way out. I found it ironic that Liz promised Lucky that she would come back for him – that she “always came back.” I guess that would sound a lot more romantic and magical if I didn’t automatically hear in my head “I’ll always come back after I’ve slept with some other totally unavailable man.” In this instance, Liz was too late in coming back. Lucky took off and is now contemplating a jump. Will he jump forward with Siobhan or backwards with Elizabeth? Only time will tell. Proving that sometimes Life As We Know It is all about life and death decisions.

I hope you took the time to let TPTB know what you are really loving on GH right now…

********************************************************************************

Did you let TPTB know how you felt about our new & improved Jason? I hope so!

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! #JaSam

*******************************************************************************

 Off to bed I go…

Angelique

12 responses

  1. Fylicia'Marie

    Great post, Angelique. As much as I don’t really care for Liz, at least as it pertains to any involvement or interaction with Jason, I never saw the wisdom of bringing Jonathan Jackson back, if not to be with Liz. Now that they’re moving them back together, I don’t mind Liz as much and found myself not fast forwarding through her screen time, but watching and dare I say, mildly rooting for her to help Lucky. Honestly, if it had played out any other way (hey, she is now occupado which keeps her away from Jasam…I know don’t say it: until she needs Jason to save Lucky from himself) I would flood those lines with bring Greg Vaughn back. I love JJ, but he’s always crying or trembling with unshed tears..it comes off like a little over acting at times.

    August 3, 2011 at 12:58 am

  2. L.

    Lucky deserves so much better than Liz… but of course Siobhan – her accent doesn’t annoy me a bit, btw – is going to die so Liz will go back to him and my guess is after a while she’ll sleep with ethan or even luke and she’ll find a way to destroy lucky’s life again, just like now with this drug case. Liz always wins and never learns from her mistakes. I wish they had her be with Jax.

    August 3, 2011 at 7:17 am

  3. aproditebeauty

    First off I want you to know that prayers are with you and your mom at this time. I know what you are going through because my grandmother had trouble with her kidneys last year and we thought we were going to have to put her on dialysis but the lord answers our prayers and we didn’t have to make that decision. Spent a lot of restless nights at the hospital so my prayers are with you.

    Have really loved GH recently even some of yesterday, except it wasn’t quite as great as Monday so far the best episode in a long time except for the proposal of course. Looking forward to Friday episode and what’s to come next. Still hate that they are portraying Liz as an angel but I guess I have to deal with that.

    Thanks for the blog it really cheers me up sometimes so once again my partner in crime a big THANKS.

    August 3, 2011 at 11:22 am

  4. Nothing, but nothing is scarier than having a Mom in hospital… My heart goes out to you all and pray that soon all will be well…Mom, back home and near to you all who love her. This is the fervent prayer all your friends are making for you. Believe it.
    Thank you again for giving us your wisdom and perspective on our favourite soap. It has been so good, and we are certainly telling those in charge how happy they are making us.
    And Jason…he is a dream………. What fun we have in store, complete with that ever-present angst! Blessings Angelique..to you and yours.

    August 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm

  5. Angie,

    You and the family are in my thoughts and prayers.. Praying your Mom will be back home soon and close to all those that love her so much. Please as you make trips to the hosital to visit your Mom don’t forget that you are recovering from surgery.. as you take care of Mom don’t foget to take care of yourself!

    Liz *shakes head.. I thought the exact same thing as you did when those words “I always come back” came out of her mouth..

    Did you read some of SBs tweets my fav was an answer to a Jiz fan.. her question was something like who do we call to get Jason back with liz.. his reply “1-800-Jasam” made my week!

    Hugs, Kisse & Love to you and the family!

    I love you bunches!!

    August 3, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    • well this was the exact tweet.. I had it wrong..
      “any info/help u could pass on best contact 4 former fans 2 call 2 end jasam would b great. win win 4 former fans & u thx much”

      SB “sure 1800 Jasam

      August 3, 2011 at 8:03 pm

      • Traveler

        OMG- This made me SMILE!!

        August 4, 2011 at 12:43 am

      • Fylicia'Marie

        Hysterical! SB is funny and finally onboard, now that’s what I call “win-win” 😉

        August 4, 2011 at 2:38 am

  6. SamFan

    Thank you. Again I hope your mom is doing well.

    Jonathan Jackson is such an awesome actor. I can watch him all day.

    Personally, I don’t like LL2 reunion. i think Liz has not changed one bit, she has not grown yet. Lucky deserves someone better, like Sibohan.

    August 3, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    • L.

      Wow, I TOTALLY agree with you! Did you hear that Erin Chambers might be staying on Gh after Siobhan dies, just as a different character?! That sounds interesting!

      August 4, 2011 at 7:13 am

      • I’m glad you agree! 😉
        I didn’t know that…I am just sorry that they turned Siobhan into a loon at the end.
        I wish someone would finally give Liz a real run for her money (the child support money she gets from all of the baby daddies!)
        LOL!

        August 8, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  7. Traveler

    Thinking of you and your Mom. Hope all is well, sending Well Wishes your way!!
    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog….
    I have always thought Liz and Lucky belong together… Way before there was even JaSam… If LnL2 get back together for me its a win win……
    Seems like GH is getting back to the basic’s… The GH “Life as we know it” way..

    August 4, 2011 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

