Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

SETTING BOUNDARIES

All caps credited to gh-caps.net (and greatly appreciated!)

 

Good Tuesday morning to you, GHers!

If there is a negative to Garin Wolf’s GH it would be that it makes time FLY! I seem to blink and the hour is gone! That’s how RIVETING each hour of General Hospital has been lately!

I am truly excited about the future of our favorite soap! Reading all of your comments, tweets, emails, and facebook posts about the changes you see and feel on GH tells me all I need to know. You guys believe in General Hospital again, and that’s half the battle! The other half is in getting others to believe!

😉

What an interesting concept Mr. Wolf and today’s script writer, Mary Sue Price, explored today.

Setting Boundaries.

Maxie is one chick who has never really been taught about boundaries. Well, to be fair, who would have taught her? Her parents basically abandoned her, and while Uncle Mac has been wonderful and the only parental figure Maxie has had – all he could really do was keep her alive and out of like a state penitentiary for all the trouble Maxie got it over the years. Her lack of boundaries have cost Maxie quite a bit over the years, but what she is finally seeing is that it cost her a great love. When Maxie overstepped the boundaries of her monogamous relationship with Spinelli, it cost her his trust and faith in her, and ultimately, it cost her their relationship. Boundaries are a funny thing. For some people, the only way to really learn to respect boundaries is to learn that lesson the hard way. That is exactly what Maxie is doing. I think most of you would agree that Maxie seemed to have gotten off pretty easily after shattering Spin’s heart. Sure, she felt guilty, and yeah, it bothered her when Spin was fawning over Brenda, and I will even give her that she was hurt that they ended, but still – she moved on pretty quickly and rather easily. I think I have seen her more affected by the fact that Spin is “not that into her.” If truly “losing” Spin (even to another personality) can teach Maxie something about setting boundaries, and then respecting them, I will count it all worth it.

If there is one person in Port Charles who, in my humble opinion, has never understood boundaries of any kind, it’s Elizabeth Webber. I guess we should be happy that at least the boundaries she crossed while talking to Matt had nothing to do with sleeping with someone off-limits, but annoyed was all I felt. Liz knows that Matt and Maxie are dating. She knows that Matt has feelings for Maxie. What she doesn’t know is that she needs to set some boundaries for what “polite conversation” about your co-worker’s lover should include. I thought she should have stopped at “I’m not her social secretary,” because I thought that was snarky enough. But no. She went on. And on. And on. This, friends, has always been the crap that pisses me off most about Liz. How is it that Liz can sling mud at someone – behind their back, and not see her smutty reflection in her magic mirror? I know that Maxie did all of the things Liz told Matt, but here is the difference. Matt was not hearing these things about Maxie for the first time – because Maxie fessed up to it all herself. Not that it would have been Liz’s place even if Maxie hadn’t, but it just makes Liz’s boundary jumping even worse! Who does Liz think she is? Isn’t being sainted enough for her? Must she also add Judge and Jury and Court Reporter? In a matter of minutes, Liz managed to rip Maxie to shreds about her “being the one to destroy her marriage, and feed her husband pills”, to accuse Maxie of having only problems “that she imagines, blown out of proportion, or creates herself to gain a little attention.” (Wow. This coming from the woman who keeps running to all of her baby daddies with her own problems) She also told Matt he’d missed Maxie’s finest hour when she was “rolling around in her bed with Lucky” and that “she even tried to fake a pregnancy.” I gave Matt some major points for pointing out a couple of things to Liz: 1. Maxie could have made Liz’s life a little messy when she found out the truth about Lucky being Aiden’s father, 2. Liz is technically the other woman, since she is investing so much time and energy in someone else’s husband, and 3. Lucky is still a married man! Too bad Little Miss Perfect is unable to see the things Matt was pointing out to her from way atop her self-preserved pedestal. This is why I can’t really get upset when Siobhan crossed boundaries of her own to call Liz out on her own garbage. Perhaps in order to help Liz understand and set boundaries, someone needs to let her have the experience of having all of her mistakes broadcast in the middle of Kelly’s.

Poor Lucky. Lucky Jonathan Jackson, who is already working on next year’s repeat Emmy, but poor, poor Lucky! It may seem his biggest problem is that he is completely strung out on some unidentified drugs, but really hasn’t Lucky’s real problem always stemmed from not being able to set boundaries? Poor Siobhan knew this was coming, and was accused of not believing in her husband. She wanted Lucky to respect the boundaries that he had to set as a recovering addict and turn down this assignment, but Liz’s newfound faith in Lucky trumped his wife’s concerns. Whatever drugs they gave Lucky really were mind-altering, as all of Lucky’s fears, regrets, and insecurities took lifeform and actually taunted him in his delusion. Then there was Liz, stumbling upon him as she walked through the alley, offering to fix it. God help Lucky.

You all know that I have been a JaSam fan since their earliest interactions. I have been a fan of them even before the writers realized they had potential. I’m sure of it. I guess that proves I am patient when it comes to getting something I believe is worth it. And worth it they are!

Click to view full size image

Which would explain why I have waited so freakin’ patiently for what we finally got today. You know what I’m talking about, don’t you?

Click to view full size image

Well, there was the teasing about the BIG engagement party, the emotional speeches, Chocolate Lug-Nuts, (Is there a chocolate candy maker among us?) and Jason saying he could get through anything as long as they were together! *swoon* And of course – there was the laughter…

Click to view full size image

And the kissing.

Click to view full size image

That was all perfect, but the thing I’ve waited most for? The sound of Jason telling Carly that he was (FINALLY) setting boundaries within their friendship!

Click to view full size image

Thank you, Lord! Or should I say Thank You, Mr. Wolf!

One thing that I believe most JaSam fans, and almost every single Sam fan, has wanted for YEARS, is for Jason to finally let Carly know that Sam is first in his life, as he has professed to Sam on more than once occasion. Is was high time that Jason finally made good on that proclamation.

Click to view full size image

 

I was so extremely proud of Jason. From the moment he told Carly that Sam was not leaving the room just because Carly wanted to talk to Jason alone, to hearing him tell Carly that they were getting married and were not asking permission, to my absolute favorite line of the day – “Sam has got to be my priority.”

Click to view full size image

Oh. My. Word! What took him so long? (Hint: G_z_)

Click to view full size image

I also loved that Sam didn’t just stand there, as in the past, “letting them work it out.” This is about her and Jason and their life together! I am so glad she finally weighed in on the subject in a way that was mature and even understanding of Carly’s feelings, without being a doormat! *applause*

Click to view full size image

I was both intrigued and delighted about the possibilities here. Could this mean that Jason will start to keep some of the promises he’s made to Sam over the YEARS? I am daring to hope. Jason seems extremely determined to assure Sam of her place in his life, and to erase any of the doubts their mistakes of the past could have planted in her adorable little heart. 

Click to view full size image

I’m glad I waited (not always) so patiently…Jason and Sam have proven once again just how worth it they are!

Click to view full size image

I immediately made some calls and sent an email to let Mr. Wolf know just how grateful I am that he has finally recognized that the Jason and Carly friendship needed some tweaking! I told you guys he must be a fan! Only a fan would understand that! 😉

********************************************************************************

Did you let TPTB know how you felt about our new & improved Jason? I hope so!

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

And PLEASE, remember those hashtags (#) when tweeting! #JaSam

*******************************************************************************

 Much Love,

Angelique

13 responses

  1. LakerGyrl

    As usual LOVE your thoughts!!!

    August 2, 2011 at 2:03 am

    • Aww, thanks so much!
      I LOVE your support!
      xoxox

      August 2, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  2. Fylicia'Marie

    Well said! I was soooo happy that Jason finally grew a pair when it comes to Carly. Way overdue! The scenes today were so wonderful. My little JaSam heart went pitter patter with the “I’m choosing you over her.” Ahh, love in the afternoon, indeed.

    August 2, 2011 at 2:22 am

    • AMEN! I have to admit that the new GH is better than I expected it to be this soon!
      I love being pleasantly surprised!
      😉

      August 2, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  3. Aloha Ko`u Aloha,

    Thank you for the update on Mom, I have been so worried about her and you. Have they been able to get the infection under control? Please keep me updated on how she is doing, you can text or email me.. or call if you want to chat.. when it is late where you are it is still early here, and well I have insomnia so I am up late. Thinking of you and your beautiful family, and praying that all goes well and Mom is home soon!

    Loved what you had to say about Liz.. I wonder if she hears what she is saying when she opens her mouth sometimes.. sigh

    I was so proud of Jason today.. setting Carly straight about who comes first in his life, saying Sam will not leave you can talk to us both. I have waited so long for Jason to put Sam first as we all have. Carly needed to hear everything Jason and Sam had to say.

    “Once in a lifetime love” Like you I knew they had something special the first time they met! I know I have said this many times over the last week but I am so EXCITED for what is to come.. for Sam and Jason and.. for everyone in Port Charles!

    Aloha Au Ia’oe!

    August 2, 2011 at 2:50 am

    • Aloha wau ia oi! 😉
      Thanks, babe. It means a lot to me knowing you are there.
      I’ve been really worried about her. I expected she’d be home by now. ;(
      I hate leaving her there, and I hate being in my bed each night knowing that
      she’s not in hers. I actually am trying to get my post done super early tonight
      because I have been sleeping so much less than usual that I was dozing off
      all day today! I’m hoping all that lost sleep will give me one good night of solid sleep.
      😉
      I am super excited also! Port Charles is the best it’s been in a long time…
      I am so glad we never gave up on it, or imagine what we would be missing now!
      I love you lots, Becky!
      Can’t wait to hug you in person!
      😉

      August 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  4. Traveler

    Thanks for another Wonderful Blog!!
    It was so nice to read what you had to say aboout Liz. Argggg.. That woman gets on my last nerve at times. Really… Who does she think she is!! Such a Hypocrite sitting on her pedestal looking down on others. *Sighs*
    Normally Im a fan of Carly’s. But today she crossed a boundry line with me… I guess I wanted to still believe she wasnt as selfish as most think. Today for the first time I get what Brenda was saying about “That Girl”. Darn you Carly for proving Brenda right!!!
    Jumping up and down with joy over our Jason stepping up!! He FINALLY said what should have been said years ago to Carly.
    And how cute were JaSam today.. A giggly and lovey dovey!! Be still my JaSam heart!!

    August 2, 2011 at 7:37 am

    • I agree with you, because I am normally a fan of Carly also, but when she messes with our Sam…
      all bets are off! She did cross a line – and I am so glad Jason called her on it. I absolutely LOVE the way
      Jason and Sam are being written – it reminds me of 2005, and that was my favorite JaSam year!
      I really am so grateful for what we are getting!
      WOO HOO!
      Thanks for your support!
      xoxox

      August 2, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  5. samjase

    Hi Angelique…I’m hoping your mother is doing ok. Haven’t heard anything since you mentioned her being ill.
    As for GH…I’m loving it so much.
    Jasam are amazing. Garin W. is now in my will…love the guy!
    The dialogue…the dialogue…the dialogue! Can’t say enough about it. Thank you for your fabulouos blog! It’s such a joy to get your views!
    Looking forward to each and every episode once again. Is it Setptember 23rd yet????

    August 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    • He’s in you will…lol!
      That’s too funny!
      I agree with you…the dialogue is exactly what we’ve wanted for years…it’s amazing!
      I’ll give everyone an update in my mom…thanks so much for asking!
      Also, thanks for taking the time to read and comment on the blog – it’s like my own “girl time” every night with all of you!
      xoxox

      August 2, 2011 at 8:10 pm

  6. Sonia

    Thanks for you blog on GH daily. I so look foward to read what you think about the day show and the characters.. God I finally see Jason tell Carly to go sit in a corner, and Sam has a say in the conversation.I so love how you see Liz as the little lying loose lips.

    August 2, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    • LOL!
      I love the way I see her too!
      😉
      Thanks, Sonia!

      August 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm

  7. SamFan

    Thank you. I hope your mom is doing well.

    I share your thoughts. I too love to hate Liz.

    I wanted to know if you can do me a favor if you have time…..*SPOILER ALERT* it seems that there is going to be a Jason and Liz love scene while Jason is in a coma. People are freaking out. I can’t believe how upset people are getting. I wanted to know if you could try to calm people fears, and ask them not to stay away from GH for this episode. We need to keep this soap alive. It shouldn’t matter if they love or hate Liason.

    August 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

