Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“CLASS IS IN SESSION”

History Class, that is, GHers!

Professor Wolf has certainly made it clear that History is his thing.

Were you in attendance today? Were you listening, taking notes?

It seems plenty of people were. I smiled today as I read tweets from people who were hearing about a history that they didn’t watch, and it was cool to read that many things were clicking for them because of the history lessons we got on Wednesday’s epi.

That’s great! When you understand where our characters have been, you can better understand where they are headed…and why.

Take the Spencers and Cassadines. For so many viewers, “The Spencer/Cassadine War” has been like listening to a not-so-urban legend. We’ve heard Lucky and Nikolas refer to it, we’ve heard Luke go on and on incessantly about it, and we’ve watched as Helena hurls invective at any Spencer, regardless of sex, age, or religion. Yet, did any of the viewers who started watching after the Mikkos and Luke and Laura era, or the Stefan and Stavros era really know what the heck everyone was talking about? Well, if you made it to Mr. Wolf’s history class today, you got just about as much history as one can take in within 40 minutes of airtime. I really have to give Mr. Wolf high marks for not only sharing the history of the Spencers and Cassadines, but for using that history in the very best context. Nothing was really randomly thrown at us. Every tidbit Helena, Nikolas, or even Lulu shared was relevant to what they were talking about, and really helped people understand why Nikolas and Lucky’s relationship as brothers is so important. They are inherently meant to be enemies. They were raised to hate the other side, to see them as natural enemies. Yet, as fate would have it, Lulu became gravely ill, and her only hope was the brother she didn’t know she had. Her Cassadine brother. I love that all of GH’s viewers got a chance to hear that. Even my kids asked me about it. It was just something I never thought about telling them. There didn’t seem to be a point. Yet now it seems that if you are missing a piece of the Spencer-Cassadine puzzle, you may not be able to keep up with what’s coming! How exciting! I truly hope this means there will be more Cassadines coming soon, starting with my favorite one – the Dark Prince. To me, the Cassadines will always be less than complete without Tyler Christopher. No other Nikolas will do, just as no other Cassadine will do. He and Lucky will always be this generation’s hope for the next chapter in the Spencer-Cassadine War. You know, I always hoped that Aiden really was Nikolas’ son, and that we would find out that Jake was really Lucky’s. Then we would have the same dynamic Laura was faced with, only more exciting, because both Nik and Lucky had always been part of Liz’s life. But, oh well…I’m sure they’ll find a way to keep the history going between these two families.

Wow. Just wow on how Wolf snuck in the history that surrounds the former GH Chief of Staff, Steve Webber. There are viewers who really believed that Steve came back to Port Charles only to be another man for his half-sister, Liz to lean on. The truth is that the character of Steven Lars Webber is a character with a huge history, and connections to one of the first families of Port Charles. Unlike Liz and Sarah, who were conceived by Jeff Webber and his wife (Steve’s stepmother) offscreen, and sent as teenagers to live with their grandmother Audrey back in 1997, Steve’s character was conceived, born, and onscreen for the first few years of his life. His mother is Heather Webber – yes the loon who wanted to marry and then kill Edward, and then thought herself Laura Spencer, and tried to marry Luke. His grandfather, Steve Hardy was a central character at the actual hospital, and I was amazed at how well the context of Steve about to get lucky with Olivia worked as a springing board for that part of the history lesson! Great job! 

May I just interject here that not only is history being revisited and honored, but history’s also being made. We have had two couples making love on back-to-back days! For a second, I thought I was watching The Young and The Restless or The Bold and The Beautiful! I am impressed!

You know, there was one piece of history that didn’t seem to make sense to me today. However, rather than believe that Professor Wolf got it wrong, I choose to believe (until he proves me wrong) that what he was doing was actually continuing the history of a character. You see, Liz really cannot seem to keep her retelling of her history straight. Not her short-term history, and definitely not her long-term history. I think that is a completely accurate sharing of history when it comes to this character. Liz may be known as many things, but I would challenge anyone who tries to tell me that honesty is one of them! In fact, I’d go as far as saying that dishonesty is her natural inclination. When Liz and Siobhan were arguing on the roof, I had to ask myself if even Liz believes herself! I mean did Liz even hear herself when she was talking to Siobhan about expecting Lucky to be so easily led astray? Where was all of this unwavering faith in Lucky since that summer when he  first turned to drugs? She didn’t have it then, and she never really had it since. That’s the reason she was able to fall onto Nik’s floor – because she just never saw Lucky the same way after that. She lost her faith in Lucky and never got it back – until he no longer wanted her. And another thing. When Liz said she was now “standing on her own two feet”, did she completely forget that she just went to Jason’s penthouse and fell into his arms, and stepped on Sam’s toes because she was “having a bad day” after facing some hard truths? To me, it didn’t matter that the truths came from Siobhan. Any truth is hard for Liz to hear. Always has been. After that retelling of history she gave Siobhan, Liz was off to reoffend – in the Worst. Way. Possible. Now, you all know that I don’t just make accusations about Liz on anything. I have real, concrete reasons for not being able to stand her, and I will always share those reasons with you and urge you to see and hear with your own eyes and ears. To quote Warner Wolf, “Let’s go to the videotape!”

March 24, 2008: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mBYhmplpUQA (Love that Jason repeats verbatim what Sam said about him “not being much of a son” to Monica) Pay attention to the end of the clip, where they play the preview!

And… March 25, 2008: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajNM30wzs68 (Talk about being told what to think, say, do!)

Now, let’s deconstruct Liz’s web of lies to Monica, one by deceptive one:

  1. Liz said, “I wish you had the chance to get to know Jake.” What a lie! In fact Jason – a.k.a. Stone Cold – said to Liz,“I want to help her. I want her to have hope. I kinda find myself wishing that I could tell her that Jake is her grandson!” (This was immediately after Jason had confronted his mother about the fact that she had run Sam down with her car because she was drunk. Monica countered that he couldn’t blame her for being a drunk, as she had lost everyone she cared about! She was all alone!) The thought of Jason having to walk around wishing that he could tell his mother about his son, and then watching Liz smack down that wish is just one of the reasons I detest the character of Liz Webber. What a heartless, selfish bitch! She chose to tell whomever she wanted, whenever she wanted, but Jason couldn’t tell his mother? When she needed it most? Ugh. Well, listen, the truth is if I had known my dear friend Steph, I would have grabbed the frying pan from her and slammed it into the good side of Jason’s head, because only a wuss would let that mouse tell him who he was able to tell about his son, but regardless – Liz is the one still lying about it.
  2. Liz immediately followed that lie up with, “Jason and I just thought that Jake would be safer…” Clearly, the clips above prove that is not true. It’s an outright lie! Liz convinced Jason that Jake would be safer over and over again! Oh my word! How she was able to get those lies past her lying mouth is beyond me!
  3. And the worst is what she said last. Monica said that Jason doesn’t really understand the power of family connections, but Liz does, and she should have told her. To that Liz said, “I just didn’t feel like it was my place!” WWWWHHHHHAAAAAATTTT? Clearly, you can see that Liz thought it was only her place to tell Jason that he shouldn’t tell Monica! How dare Liz make it sound, even for a second, that Monica not knowing her grandson was solely on Jason?

Now do you understand why I think that this wasn’t just a mistake on GW’s part? I really have to believe that he is writing to show us Liz’s history…as a liar with very selective memory, and a flair for rewriting how things actually happened. I choose to believe that showing just how far gone Liz is when it comes to being able to even recognize truth is important to her character’s current situation, and any growth she can expect in the future.

That doesn’t mean that I didn’t make my voice heard by calling and emailing GH to let them know that the history of Jake’s Paternity Secret is very clear and fresh in my mind. I told them I am trusting them to use Liz’s inability to tell the truth to tell an even greater story, but in no way am I okay with a rewritten history when it comes to Liz’s role in keeping Monica from knowing her grandchild, especially when the new headwriter is doing such a great job of sharing GH’s rich history with its viewers. (Always find a way to be positive!)

I am hoping that all of you are giving your thoughts a voice over at GH! This is the time.

********************************************************************************

Remember those # (hashtags)!

And remember to thank TPTB for showing us just how much Jason and Sam have grown in their relationship! They are truly what a SUPERCOUPLE is made of!

😉

GENERAL HOSPITAL CONTACT INFO:

GH Los Angeles: 323-671-4583

GH New York: 212-456-7777

Twitter: @GeneralHospital, @KellyMonaco1, @1SteveBurton

Facebook: General Hospital Feedback

Snail Mail: Garin Wolf, Headwriter, General Hospital, c/o ABC-TV 4151 Prospect Avenue Hollywood, California 90027

(You can also use that address and General Hospital heading for any actor/actress, or for your favorite writer.)

*******************************************************************************

Let’s see what today brings…I’m keeping my fingers crossed for my couple’s turn at the Love Fest!

😉

Sometimes I am so shallow…I know! But JaSam have no shortage of depth, so it’s okay once in a while!

Angelique

 

10 responses

  1. Arianna

    Oh thank God! I had to read your blog because I thought to myself that surely I couldn’t be the only one pissed off at Lizzy Liar’s pack of crap! I remembered that Jason ASKED her for permission to tell her but I had forgotten just how cold she was about it.
    Jason needs to give Monica a JaSam grandbaby. STAT
    Thanks for being there to help keep us focused. You are a genius when it comes to writing! You need to become an author!

    July 28, 2011 at 2:18 am

  2. Carol

    Can your blogs get any better? here I was thinking what can you say about Wednesday’s show that I would give a hoot about since Jasam werent on. Yet, here you are putting into words, exactly what Elizabeth Weber is all about. I really wished Monica knew how much Liz kept badgering Jason about dont tell anyone about Jaaaaaake. Of course Jason will take it all on his shoulders and not give Lizzie any of the credit.
    I am also interested in more of the history of the characters as I only started watching when Sam showed up because Guza never stuck to the characters history for the last few years that I have watched. I am also interested in a little spoiler I heard about Helena doing something a long time ago that is going to change peeps lives. I just have a little notion in my head about spoilers dropped during FCW that I would love to see playout.
    Thanks again and as always enjoyed your blog and keep them coming please.

    July 28, 2011 at 5:53 am

  3. samjase

    Again. Bravo! Liz is a snake..a slithering, lying, manipulative snake. I know it, you know it, many viewers know it…BUT..I won’t be satisfied until JASON KNOWS IT! Whenever I see him and hear him give her comfort…I want to puke! When will he see her for what she is? THIS will always be why it’s hard for me to watch them in ANY scene together. Having said that…I ADORE SAM…I absolutely adore her. I want her to be happy with Jason and for her to be #1 ALWAYS.

    July 28, 2011 at 7:14 am

  4. What a great perspective on Lizzard………I have been wondering just how to approach my discontent with her mealy mouth lies yesterday………..Thanks for the tips……can do it now and make it sound reasonable….since I hate rewriting and distortion of history too….hope this will all play out well……….you are so wise, Angelique………thanks again…..great wisdom on your part, as always………..keep well……

    July 28, 2011 at 10:27 am

  5. SamFan

    Thank you. I agree. I don’t know why the writers never call Liz on HER decision to keep this a secret from everyone except who she deemed needed to know. I never understood that.

    July 28, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    • True that!
      Hopefully it will be her turn soon to face the music!
      😉

      August 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  6. Your give me a welcomed breath of fresh air… I love that you concentrate on the beauty of GH as a whole… to see someone else who can look at this wonderful soap with objective eyes is amazing. You have a reader for life in me.

    July 28, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    • Wow!
      What an honor…
      Thanks for making my day.
      Truly, I will try my best to make your “Lifetime” reading experience a great one!
      HUGS!

      August 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  7. Sonia

    Thanks again for you wonderful post.. I have to say I also send of a letter pertaining to Monica scenes and liar Liz, I was like not again new HW but same painting liar Liz as the saint, but I really hope what you are saying about history is what new HW is doing, because if they still continue to have this character get away with all the lies she tell well it is just disgusting JMO

    July 31, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    • Trust me – I feel your frustration. Liz has been the thorn in my viewing side for years!
      LOL!

      August 1, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Leave a Reply

