Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“It’s Just Not Enough”…

All Caps Courtesy of gh-caps.net (Thanks!)

Happy Hump Day, GHers!

By the time most of you read today’s post, I’ll be in surgery, but I am confident that I’m going in surrounded by all of your positive thoughts and prayers, so it’s actually helping to keep me calmer than usual! Thanks so much for the support you’ve all given me. I love you guys!

Moving on…

I don’t usually like surprises, but I’ve gotta tell you that the surprise we all got on yesterday’s General Hospital may have changed my mind!

Just hearing that JaSam would be on was enough to make me smile, but the quality of the scenes we got just blew my mind…and took me way back to that era that we were talking about on this past week’s Sunday Drive. Jason and Sam having a conversation…about them…it was just phenomenally done!

But we’ll get back to that in a minute. My little JaSam heart is so full right now that if I get started on them now, I may completely forget that there was more going on in Port Charles!

Or in Florida…

Am I the only one who has completely lost track of what the heck Lulu is really doing walking around in lingerie all day? And has Mac Scorpio realized that one of his detectives is MIA? Listen, I get that Lulu is trying to find herself, or her dad, or both. I really do. I just wish that this story could have played out differently. For me, Lulu has never really been the most sensical chick in PC, but I really do believe that this may be her worst idea ever. She has not only turned her life upside down in search of her father, who just does NOT want to be found, but she’s also turned Dante’s upside down as well. Does she care that he has a job? Responsibilities? Laundry that has to get back done in Port Charles, where his mama resides? And what about her own responsibilities? Nikolas dished out a big chunk of change so that Lulu could go nuts ordering poker chips and liquor! Has Lulu made sure that someone is even on the Haunted Star to sign for those outrageous deliveries? Is it fair that Nikolas’ investment is literally floating on the harbor, with no one to look out for it, all because Lulu now needs her dad in her life? It’s just not enough of a good reason for her to behave so carelessly, and really – so selfishly. I say Dante drags Lulu back to PC, and straight to Lainey’s office for some intense therapy. Then maybe we can all forget about The Worst Little Whorehouse In Florida.

I am thrilled that Michael is finally off of his mobster kick and safely ensconced in a nice, comfy office at ELQ. It had finally freed up Jason to worry about “other pressing matters”, and has given us all a much-needed respite from the litany we’ve been hearing from Michael since he was old enough to understand what his dad’s “business” was. It just kinda bugs me that Michael isn’t trying a little harder to convince Edward or anyone else that he wants to “work his way up from the bottom”. Shooting paper hoops and making out with your girlfriend isn’t exactly laying a great foundation to build upon. It’s just not enough that Michael talks about not wanting special treatment, but hasn’t really taken the initiative to earn some real respect for his efforts. I can’t even blame Asher for resenting him. I really hope Michael does more than talk a good game…and soon.

You know, I remember when all Liz did was work, work, work so that she would have enough money to cover things like…well, I don’t really know, as her house is paid for, and both baby daddies (Lucky and Nikolas) were supporting their respective (at the time) boys. But anyway, she barely had a moment to see her boys. Well, now she’s been suspended from the hospital, and has nothing BUT time. Yet, Cam is still in daycare at the hospital, and though Liz should have better things to do than to wait around trying to run into Lucky – I can’t think of one reason why she didn’t go along on his trip to the zoo, as a chaperone! I’ve done it for all of my kids. I’m sure some of you have, or would, if you had the time off from work. I mean, obviously Cam’s poor little heart is heavy trying to figure out if his little brother can see the tigers from heaven. I would want to be with him the first time he returned to the zoo, a place where all sorts of memories will probably haunt him. (Especially since Jake was lost there, too) But not Liz. Nope. She is on the 10th Floor, while – as Siobhan pointed out – Daycare is on the 4th Floor. (This chick really likes stair climbing, huh?) I know so many viewers are all excited about a possible LnL2 reunion, but I am not. Siobhan stuck around for Lucky because he asked her to. He told her that there was more to their relationship than a green card marriage. I want Lucky to finally allow himself to be happy without the weight of Liz’s world crashing down on him. Besides, we all know that Liz will only want Lucky until she can have him. Once she does, she’ll decide that she just doesn’t want him “in that way”, just as she did when she started tripping onto the launch that rode her out to Wyndemere, where she rode…well, let’s just say when she carrying on that torrid affair with Lucky’s brother. It’s just not enough that Liz thinks “she will always love Lucky.” As a wise hitman once said, words aren’t enough. Sometimes you have to prove your love. That’s where Liz always falls short. For once, I would like for Lucky to have the balls to mean it when he says they shouldn’t be together, because for once, I’d like to see Liz focus on the two men in her life that aren’t in love with anyone else: Cameron and Aiden. (Although, if I were Robin, I’d watch my back, especially since Robin basically told Liz it was “okay” to go after a married man for the right reasons.)

No matter what Liz does or doesn’t do, the one thing I would like for all JaSam fans to do is to erase her name from our vocabularies, just as Jason basically erased her from his orbit when he told her she and Lucky were the ones meant to be together.

I always get a little pang of anxiety when I see my beloved JaSammers tweeting about some Liz rumor that detracts from the absolute nirvana we JaSam fans should all be experiencing at the moment. There isn’t anything Liz related that should worry our pretty little heads. And in some weak moment of PMS, or lack of sleep where we do allow rumors to get to us…DM a friend and get straightened out. Just please – let’s not give *whispers* “the delusionals” anything to feed on.

When all else fails…go back and rewatch yesterday’s JASAM AMAZINGNESS! That should cure you!

I know that the writers once did so many things wrong when it came to the BEST COUPLE ON DAYTIME, but I have to say, they are really just doing so many things right lately!

I loved that Jason was frustrated with Maxie pushing the issue of marriage because he obviously felt unsure about where Sam stands on the issue. I so adore when Jason is vulnerable. And what about the fact that it appeared that he was taking Maxie’s advice about proposing to Sam to save Spinelli, only to have Jackal, P.I. shoot the idea down? That was fabulous because there are so many haters out there that were insisting he would only propose because he was being “pushed into it” by Maxie or Spin. The fact that “The Jackal’s” reaction didn’t factor into how Jason actually proceeded to shut that theory down cold. I LOVED THAT!

Click to view full size image

Jason was on edge from the moment Sam came in and said, “We need to talk.” The look on his face when he said, “Okay” said that he wasn’t sure what to expect. It’s great that Sam is keeping him guessing these days, without even trying! Jason was listening to everything Sam said, but he was working overtime to read between the lines. He heard everything she said, and even what she didn’t say. Just like the good old days!

Click to view full size image

When Jason asked Sam to tell him how she was feeling, you could see in his body language that he was a little scared. Jason Morgan. Scared. It’s a beautiful thing! Yet he pressed on and asked her again, and when Sam tried to get around it by saying they had already discussed it, he didn’t let her. It was great that he thought they talked around it, when they usually just say what they mean, because it showed Sam he wasn’t willing to let this go. She needed to know that, and so did we.

Click to view full size image

Jason also needed to know that her fears are real. Valid. She was totally right when she said that they’d gotten engaged, they’d survived his illness and surgery, loved each other more than ever, and it still fell apart. Back then, I’m sure neither Sam nor Jason could have imagined that their strong, fireproof love story could have gone so horribly wrong. But it did. And that’s not something Sam can just ignore.

Click to view full size image

It’s not something we were comfortable ignoring either. I know that since their reunion in 2009, we’ve all just accepted that they didn’t want to talk about the past, but what Sam said today needed to be said. And it needed to be heard by Jason. *Bravo, Writers!*

Click to view full size image

Jason acknowledged that her fears were real, but he also reminded Sam of the one thing he, and all of us, love so much about her. Sam is also one of the bravest people ever. (How cute was that scene, and Jason explaining it?) It was absolute genius for Jason to ask her how he can be so brave for all those things, and not be brave enough to take the next step!

Click to view full size image

For all of those out there who think that Jason is feeling pressured into asking Sam to marry him, the rest of their conversation should (if you have any logic at all) disabuse them of that misconception. Jason is being relentless here, something he usually does not do in these situations. Think back. When can you recall Jason really fighting to move a relationship forward, or even to save it? He always gives in to how the other person is feeling. He never fights. Except with Sam. Jason pleaded and begged and wore her down in 2004 when he wanted her to say he was the baby’s father, and move in with him, and he chased her down whenever fear made her run. He was relentless back in 2005 when they broke up after the Hope heartbreak, and he wouldn’t let her retreat after they got together in Mexico in 2009.

Sam has always been the woman Jason has fought for, and this time, he’s fighting to have it all with her!

Click to view full size image

If that isn’t Love In The Afternoon, I just don’t know what is!

Most significant to me was that Jason took the blame for the collapse of their great love. He wondered if Sam thought he would lie to her again, or hurt her in some other way, because he knows that his lies set off a train wreck of events that ruined what they had. I needed to hear him take that responsibility just as much as Sam. Truly I did.

Click to view full size image

Jason told Sam that he was asking her to trust him. Again. In spite of the past. He wanted her to trust him enough to voice what she wanted, without fearing that she’d lose it all over again. *tears*

Click to view full size image

When Sam said she wanted them to spend the rest of their lives together, the relief Jason felt was unmistakable. Sam wanted what he wanted. It was as if he were walking her through the deep end of the pool when he said, “Okay.” It was as if he were saying to her, “See? Was that so hard to admit?” But even then, he didn’t let go. He asked, “Like this, that’s all?” As in the way things are right now – without going for more?

And our sweet, scarred Sam, she said,”That’s everything.” And to her, it is, because when you’ve loved and lost on that grand a scale, you learn to be really, really grateful for another chance at reclaiming that love. You don’t want to take unneccessary chances, you don’t want to press your luck, and you don’t see a reason to fix it if it ain’t broke. Because of my parent’s divorce, I once lived like that – that afraid of wanting more than what was just perfect to me. It was a sad way to go through life, but you don’t even know it until you see what’s possible.

That’s the reason I actually cried when Jason’s answer to her was, “I know it is, but we can have more than that.”

Trust me when I tell you, it’s both the scariest thing she could have heard, and still the most incredible. Wanting more is scary, especially when Life has been as unfair to you as it has been to Sam, and she seemed paralyzed with fear at the thought of wanting that “more” he was offering, but Jason saw that and didn’t miss a beat.

It’s why he’s my hero. (Kinda like my hubby!)

When in doubt, offer proof.

Click to view full size image

“I mean, I love you, and it’s just not enough to say the words anymore! I want to prove it to you!”

Sam’s face said it all, didn’t it? She was at a complete loss, and once again, Jason knew it.

“I know that you’re scared”…

He didn’t brush her fear aside, or tell her it was silly. He let her know that he got that she had a reason to be afraid.

Click to view full size image

Whatever was coming next was swallowed up by Maxie’s emergency, but even that I saw as a blessing in disguise. This was the catalyst to making Jason realize that he wants to propose to Sam because he loves her. He wants to ask her to marry him because what they have is great, but what they will have will be even better. Now Jason will realize that this can’t just be another proposal. They’ve been there. Done that. And Sam thinks they failed miserably.

Jason is going to show Sam that their lives and their love can be as amazing as he thinks she is, and he is going to prove it by proposing in a most amazing way.

Desperate times call for desperate measures. And one thing is for sure: Jason is desperately in love with Sam.

 Friends, these are the kinds of conversations JaSam’s needed and we’ve wanted since they got back together! These are the moments we’ve been waiting for, praying for, begging for! I hope you will all take the time to thank the writers and the rest of TPTB for finally rewarding our loyalty and patience!

The Best Is Yet To Come!

Watch for me today…

Angelique

22 responses

  1. Carol

    Saying a prayer for your quick recovery from surgery. we need you girl so hurry back.
    love what you said about sam’s fear and jason realizing why she was hesitant. gosh these two love each other so much and we are finally hearing them talk about their past and what went wrong. Jason ” Do you think I would lie to you or hurt you again?”. that is exactly what happened. Of course sam always takes her share of the blame.
    Funny that I just posted on twitter yesterday the same thing about not mentioning Liz and Jason in the same phrase and not even answering that other fan base. I saw some spoilers this morning or rumors that I know have “them” all in a twitter that their couple will be back together. No way! Jason loves Sam and the only connection he had to that woman is dead and gone, bless his little heart.
    Well got to get ready for work, but saw your post and couldnt wait to read it. Good luck again on your surgery.

    July 13, 2011 at 6:18 am

    • Thanks for the prayers and good thoughts!
      Keep on ignoring those crazies…it’s the best thing to do!
      Much love…
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  2. Zainab

    We all know that the best is yet to come. Can’t wait! God be with you through your sugery!

    July 13, 2011 at 7:16 am

    • Thanks so much!
      He was with me…
      😉

      July 14, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  3. samjase

    My sincere thoughts and prayers are with you, Angelique, for a full and speedy recovery from yet another surgery.

    Yesterday’s Jasam was possibly the most unexpected and beautiful episode I can remember in a very long time. I cried…of course.

    Your blog pushed me to tears once again. You are a treasure! You have a gift, and you are a gift to all of us who follow you!

    July 13, 2011 at 8:15 am

    • You guys are the treasure!
      Really, thanks for reading and for the kind words!
      I love discussing our favorites with all of you!
      I love what we’ve been getting, and I cannot wait for what is yet to come!
      Much love to you, Darlene!
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm

  4. Traveler

    Wishing you a speedy recovery!!!
    Thanks for this Wonderful Blog.. Had me tearing up again….. What a great time to be a JaSam Fan.. I didnt think it was possible.. But … I love Jason even more!!! Like you.. I needed to hear him take responsiblity for what happened in the past…..
    As far as the upcoming spoilers.. I think TPTB want to prove that JaSam is stronger than ever and Liz cant touch them…
    Cant wait to see whats coming our JaSam way…..
    You are in my thoughts and prayers todeay… XOXOXO

    July 13, 2011 at 8:57 am

    • Thanks, my friend!
      And thanks so much for the prayers and good thoughts, and as always – the support!
      Much Love!
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  5. Fylicia' Marie

    Many prayers and blessings coming your way, Angelique.

    What a wonderful and perfectly written post. Your sentiments are felt by all JaSammers and so wonderfully capture the excitement, wonderment and gratefulness we are experiencing by the awesome writing and impeccable acting we’ve seen displayed. Love in the afternoon gets no better, but I know it will and I’m beyond exuberant!

    July 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

    • Aww, what nice things to say!
      You all have cheered me up…the effects are better than my meds!
      I’m excited, too!
      Can’t wait to get past this Guza era once and for all!
      😉
      Thanks for the prayers and good thoughts!

      July 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  6. Jessica

    Sending you some good thoughts!! Wishing you a speedy recovery. What a fabulous post. JaSam was perfect in every way and I am looking forward to the next couple of weeks. We are finally getting what our fanbase deserves!! 🙂

    lots of luck today! xo

    July 13, 2011 at 11:59 am

    • Thanks, Jessica!
      I appreciate all of the kindness!
      And yes…FINALLY is right!
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 9:42 pm

  7. Sigh… another beautiful day in Jasam history.. All I can say as your words about the best couple on daytime have said it all.

    Thinking of you today as you endure yet another surgery.

    Love you bunches!

    July 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    • Thanks, my Angel!
      I love you bunches too – REALLY BIG BUNCHES!
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm

  8. SamFan

    I hope your surgery is a success. Bless you and your faimily.

    I’ve always wanted Jason and Liz to have some type of friendship because of Jake. I didn’t think the writers was doing a good thing by not allowing them to be around eachother.

    I will take your advice and make Liz a non-factor when it comes to Jasam. My focus will be on them.

    July 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    • Liz is not honest, therefore I have never wanted them to be friends, even when Jake was alive.
      I think that would have been too much to ask of Sam.
      She is a total non-factor to me, and will continue to be. And you’re right: JaSam is the focus!
      Thanks for the good wishes!
      😉

      July 14, 2011 at 9:40 pm

  9. Praying that all went well today for you, and that your recovery goes just as well, and free from any setbacks. Your loving family will be there to help….and our good thoughts will be too. Thank you for taking the time to blog for us…you are the best. And as for she who will not be named, she’s lurking, as you will see, but not to worry. Our Jason knows what he wants and it’s his Sam, all the way. This love is meant to be and soon everyone will see that for themselves.
    God Bless you, Angelique………see you soon back here in Jasam land. Much love.

    July 13, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    • Thanks, Sarah for being such a doll, and such a good friend.
      Love all the code speak for the &^%$!
      You are too cute!
      Much love back!
      😉

      July 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  10. Sonia

    Wishing you all the best and a speedy recovery..
    Thanks Angelique for taking your time to just share your love for GH and Jasam

    July 13, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    • Thanks, Sonia!
      It’s my pleasure…thanks for taking the time to read the blog!
      hugs…

      July 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  11. I hope your surgery was a success and that you have a speedy recovery.

    Loved your blogpost. I didn´t think I could´ve loved those JaSam scenes more, but reading your blog made me do just that. 🙂

    July 14, 2011 at 6:02 am

    • Thanks, sweetie!
      I’ll get my results in a couple of weeks!
      *fingers crossed*
      xoxox

      July 14, 2011 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

