Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“Whose Hand Is On The Other End?”

TGIF, GHers!

Let me begin on a happy note…

Happy Birthday To Trusted Hearts…a JaSam board, who is very proudly celebrating 7 years of JaSam Love!

Congrats to Trusted Hearts and the hearts and brains behind it…and here’s hoping that you’ll have lots to talk about for years to come!

ūüėČ

Now…can we all just take a moment for the loss we all experienced this day. The departure of Nikolas Cassadine, and his portrayer, the UBER talented Tyler Christopher, who walked out of Port Charles with a little chunk of my heart. He will truly be missed, and GH will surely be less interesting without him.

Let’s just all observe a moment of silence to take it all in.

***********************************************************************************************

I have to admit that during the conversation between Nikolas and Lucky I did more than just weep.

I sobbed.

Loudly.

Their conversation tied up so many loose ends! Tracy Thomson, script writer, did an OUTSTANDING job writing every single line. There were so many things to love about their conversation…I only wish the conversation didn’t have to lead up to Nikolas walking out the door, and out of Port Charles.

*sniff*

Click to view full size image

I don’t know about you, but my tears were rolling the minute Nikolas began talking…about how Aiden was born so small, and how¬†his¬†name was almost Buzz…about how he would always love him. The the normalcy with which he handed Aiden over to Liz, and explained where his wubby¬†was, and hos he stood there stoically while Liz asked Aiden to wave “buh-bye.” (Really, Liz?) And when Nikolas told Lucky that just because he was handing Aiden over didn’t mean he didn’t still think he was Aiden’s father. Oh! It was just so overwhelming!

I think it was brilliant that the writers didn’t just have Nikolas believe Saint Elizabeth! Nikolas told Lucky he didn’t know for sure about Aiden’s paternity, but that Liz hadn’t been forthright about the paternity of her children, unless it suited her. I whispered “hallelujah” through my tears. Thank heavens that someone has finally said it…

Click to view full size image

The angle that Nik was willing to give up his son because it might be what his brother needed, and as penance for his sins¬†was so powerful! Nikolas didn’t want to continue the storied Spencer-Cassadine War again, and in the end, he didn’ want to hurt his brother again. Wow.

When Nikolas explained, in front of Liz, that all he was doing was looking for a substitute for something he will never have again, it both tore my heart out and gave me a deep sense of satisfaction. We all knew that the love story of Nikolas and Emily was the real thing. We also all knew that the “thing” he had with Liz was not. I always had a feeling that Liz thought Nikolas was desperately in love, and she just tried to deal with all of the adoration with patience and forbearance. I’m glad he cleared that up…for all of us.

I was also glad that Liz was called back to the hospital. Nikolas and Lucky needed to do this together, and alone.

Lucky was extremely gracious, totally proving that he is truly Laura’s son. His offering Nikolas his love and forgiveness was hugely gracious. Not many men could do it, and make us all believe it. I loved that Lucky has grown and healed enough that he was able to absolve Nikolas of the blame that wasn’t his. Lucky was right. A woman who is in love doesn’t do what Liz did. And Lucky was right…if Liz had an affair with a stranger (or a hit man) down the street, it would have been the same thing. The BIG moment was when Lucky told Nik that he’s not who he thinks he is.

Wow again!

But, he was right, Nikolas DIDN’T just wake up one morning and think, “I’m going to betray my brother.” He is not the villain he thought he was destined to be because of his Cassadine blood. When Lucky told Nik he released him of that…right then, it was one of those soap moments that I’ll remember forever!

*applause for all involved in that scene*

Tyler really dug deep and made me feel his heartbreak, but more than that, I could feel his regret. He was truly sorry for the pain he’d caused his brother, and it was clear that if he could take it back, he would.¬†Nik thought he loved Liz. He thought that what Liz represented…(and we’ve all heard this about her before) the American dream with the white picket fence, the labrador retriever, the house, the kids, and I guess her baking apple pie…was what he wanted. Then he realized that it just wasn’t his dream.

(I know someone else who realized that “Liz and her fence” wasn’t his dream, by the way.)

Nik realized that it was just another substitute for what he once had with Emily.

That, my friends, is what EPIC Love Stories are all about. What a great reminder.

Nik, the big brother, then went on to impart some wisdom to Lucky, and that was to remind him that in life, nothing will matter as much in those¬†final moments of life¬†as “Whose hand is on the other end.”

Oh. My. God.

I am crying again! That was beautiful!

Click to view full size image

Nik’s and Lucky’s final words to one another were filled with love and laughter, and left us broken-hearted with something that GH has missed the mark on lately, but hit it out of the park this time: Closure. Whatever happens next, whether in a few weeks (fingers crossed) or in a few months, Nik and Lucky left nothing unsaid, and left everything in a way they could both live with.

What a gift.

I am so proud of my GH writers for ANOTHER amazing episode!

There were some other strong moments as well, which left me pondering Nik’s riddle…

Click to view full size image

Brenda and Sonny continue to struggle with who they are now that they’ve spent all these years apart. Brenda is not dealing well at all with the fact that Sonny defends Carly as a mother, because Brenda knows that Sonny’s bond with Carly is much stronger than she is willing to admit, and more than she can take. Sonny was, as I expected, floored that Brenda was the one being called to the stand, thanks to Jax, and when it came down to it, both Brenda and Sonny were issuing threats to each other as if they were at a Mob Convocation. I really have to wonder, if we were to ask Brenda and Sonny Nik’s question RIGHT NOW, whose hand would be on the other end when they picture those last moments?

Click to view full size image

One person we don’t even have to wonder about is Jackal, P.I., formerly known as Damian Spinelli. His love and longing for his Maximista¬†is so deep, that when he can’t even remember how to turn on¬†his laptop, he cannot forget that he is head over heels in love with her. I know that it’s a bit silly at times, but I really am enjoying this Jackal, P.I. alter ego. I’m also enjoying everyone else’s reactions to him. Jason just doesn’t know what to think, Maxie is worried that he’s going to get hurt, and Sonny’s reaction in just priceless!¬†I needed a little comic relief today after having to bury my face into a throw pillow to muffle the sounds of my sobs. Besides, it is certainly romantic that Jackal, P.I. would rather risk ending¬†up on his deathbed, as long as he knew that Maxie’s hand would be on the other end.

Liz better hope she can find someone to hold her hand throughout the legal process awaiting her, as she was just discovered as having been the one responsible for the “human error” that almost caused Siobhan’s death.¬†I had to chuckle at the fact that when Matt told her they had figured out how Siobhan’s OR accident had happened, Liz name just about everyone else as the possible culprit. At least she’s consistent. Am I the only one who believes that Liz is INCAPABLE of taking responsibility for ANYTHING? My goodness. All I can say is that when her career flashes before her eyes, and she’s facing the possible end of it, Liz can find a hand on the other end that she hasn’t bitten, alienated, or back-stabbed, to hold.

**********************************************************************************************

Holding out for some Hot JaSam Moments today…

Angelique

6 responses

  1. JaSamFan1972

    Great post, Angelique. I read a comment from Tyler that said his last scenes with JJ were actually unscripted, which goes to show what a phenomenal talent left the show with a piece of all of our hearts. Tyler and the great prince will be sorely missed.

    Fylicia’Marie

    July 1, 2011 at 12:33 am

  2. brenda

    Bravo….another fine blog! I couldn’t agree with you more. Thanks for always doing such a wonderful job putting, what seems to be my feeling, in writing for me.

    July 1, 2011 at 12:38 am

  3. SamJasonsHeart

    Aloha

    Sigh.. I was crying right along with you. Tyler and JJ rocked those scenes!

    Love, sadness, truth, history.. what a wonderful episode today.

    Love you bunches!

    July 1, 2011 at 5:15 am

  4. samjase

    LOVED YOUR BLOG.
    NIKOLAS AND LUCKY…OMG…I CRIED ALSO. I WILL DEFINITELY MISS THE HANDSOME AND TALENTED TYLER.

    BTW…I BELIEVE I READ THAT JJ AND TYLER WROTE THEIR LAST SCENE TOGETHER. IT WAS AMAZING.
    LOVE THEM…AND YOU…CAN’T WAIT FOR JASAM’S UPCOMING JUICY STUFF…OMG…I CAN’T WAIT.

    July 1, 2011 at 11:45 am

  5. Traveler

    Another Great Blog!! Thanks!!!
    Like you… Nik had me in tears yesterday!! Tyler and JJ rocked those scenes!! Love the way it was written and how it played out…….

    July 1, 2011 at 5:43 pm

  6. Frida

    Angelique, I sobbed as well to Nik and Lucky’s goodbye scenes. And when Lucky asked Nik why he¬īd never had an accent and Nik answered in one, I just sobbed even more. Gawd, I¬īm starting to cry even as I type this several days after that scene. Tyler Christopher will be greatly missed.
    Thank you for your blog.

    July 3, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Leave a Reply

