Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

ALL. ABOUT. STEVE.

Hey, GHers!

I can’t wait to see my therapist next week. I want her to try something with all of her patients, who like me, have just had a really hard time lately and can’t seem to “get into anything.”

I’d like her to try Anger Trigger Therapy.

I’m not sure, but I think I may have just discovered this new method of getting someone out of their funk and propelling them INTO SOMETHING. I am sure, however, that if the method did already exist, I’ll hear about it! 🙂

How do I know? Well, because today I did something I normally do when I’m feeling a little down. The kids were out shopping with their favorite aunt who spoils them, my hubby was at a retirement dinner, and I had already cleaned, reorganized, repotted plants, and even put up my summer window treatments.

I even forced myself to watch a comedy before I was tempted to do something dangerous – like pull the 13 new weeds I spotted when I glanced out at the pool. Thank you,  Rain, for helping to bring them forth from the earth with such frequency and determination.

(It sucks when even the weather contributes to said funk.)

Anyhoo, the movie I watched was, “All About Steve.” (It was like an omen I guess.)

Funny tale about a woman, Mary, who gets set up on a blind date with Mr. Delicious, a.k.a. Steve, and just decides (I’m still not sure how) that her life and her happiness depend on being with Steve. All the time.  There were some great, laugh out loud moments, and I was really happy I watched!

However once the movie was over, boredom struck once more. So, I looked up my timeline on Twitter, and that’s when it happened.

My heart rate actually quickened.

One of the beautiful people I follow (though I cannot for the life of me remember my password so that I could actually log on) was defending the fabulous and lovely Kelly Monaco.

My interest was piqued, but my defenses immediately went up.

What had Kelly done now to infuriate the masses (who are even more in need of therapy than I am after 17 surgeries)? *rolling my freakin’ eyes*

As I scrolled desperately on my ipod, I spotted it. The reason for the Twitter Uproar.

During an interview where Steve and Kelly talked about upcoming summer plots, and they both talked about how happy Jason and Sam were, (in fact, Steve said they were one of the only “happy” couples) the interviewer asked if this summer was about giving the JaSam fans what they wanted, and Kelly answered that she thought so, and that they’d (JaSam fans) been waiting for a long time.

The interviewer’s next question (because he is also in the business of entertainement) was “What about the Liz/Jason fans?”

To which Kelly answered, (I thought very sensibly) “I’m sorry, but it’s not going to happen.”

You would think she had just threatened to attack the Pope Mobile.

Now, perhaps it’s the educator in me, but I guess this is where one would need basic reading comprehension skills (which I just assume anyone reading a magazine would have) to understand the question and answer, but apparently, I just should not make assumptions.

Why?

Because obviously not everyone who read the article has those basic skills I was talking about.

Good Lord! People (please refer to the “masses” I mentioned earlier) immediately began accusing Kelly of thinking herself the head writer, of trying to write Rebecca Herbst out, and a bunch of other insanities too stupid to even mention.

How could Kelly just answer one question in the affirmative about the writers finally giving JaSam fans some of what they’ve been waiting for since Forever, and then answer the very next question any other way?

What did people think the answer should be?

“Yes, Jason and Sam fans are going to be thrilled AND Jason and Liz fans are ALSO going to reunite now that Liz has told another man (who isn’t Jason) that the baby he thought wasn’t his is, and then told another man (who also isn’t Jason) that the baby he thought was his, isn’t?”

Why are they acting more shocked than Harold Camping the day after his end of the world prediction?

I mean, really! What soap have they been watching?

Why was Kelly’s accurate answer even an issue?

Was it even a month ago that Becky Herbst was interviewed by SID, and even though her character is once again embroiled with two other men and a baby, she went on to say that OF COURSE there is hope for Jason and Liz fans?

Did JaSam fans take to her Twitter Fan Account or to her husband’s Twitter account to threaten her life and accuse her of desiring World Domination? If any did, I obviously don’t follow them, because I can’t recall that kind of response. I do know that most thought it was out of left field, and even a little strange for the mag to focus on Jason and Liz once more, but I’m sure Becky wasn’t the recipient of murderous and really UGLY communique. And she gave that answer while Jason and Sam were K-I-S-S-I-N-G, and talking about love and baby carriages!

What the heck?

It boggles my mind.

For those of you who have been with me from the start, you know that while Liz is the character I most love to hate, I have never, ever said a single disparaging word against the actress. Liz is a fictional person, while Becky is flesh, blood, and feelings.

Just Like Kelly, Dammit.

Why can’t people make the distinction between fiction and real people? I am so fed up with it being completely okay for Becky to encourage, promote, and further incite the Utopian mantra of a fanbase whose couple has not been together in almost three years, while Kelly is talking about actual, current storyline and is nearly crucified.

I have to say something, and while absolutely it is in the defense of Kelly Monaco, it is more than that. It is also out of respect for Tyler Christopher, Jonathan Jackson, and Greg Vaughn, just to name the most recent actors on whose behalf I was offended. You see, when Sam and Jason were outrageously and completely absurdly written apart for Jason and Liz, Kelly was always supportive of the person she was currently working with. She talked about Greg with great affection and respect, and wasn’t begging fans to call in and get her back into a Steve pairing. She did her best to sell that LuSam pairing, and she was respectful to the fans who supported them. It was because of those efforts precisely that LuSam became such a HOT couple.

With Kelly, I never got the feeling that it was All. About. Steve. and the pairing he represented.

That isn’t just one of the many reasons I love her – it’s professionalism at it’s best. Kelly knows she had a job to do, and she gave it her all…including fan events with Greg, and some really cute stuff for their fans. (See exhibit A: http://bit.ly/igRFYx)

The character of Liz was paired with Greg’s Lucky for years! They got a wedding, a romance, and some great story. I must have missed their fan event notice! Becky has also been paired most recently with Tyler and Jonathan, both co-workers she’s had for a really long time. Both characters her Liz shares a whole lotta history with. I even believe in my heart of hearts that it was her history with both Lucky and Nik that ultimately kept her on the canvas. Those pairings also had, and have, fans who invested time and energy in them. Yet, I have yet to see her, or her husband who owns Daytime Connection, set up a fan event for LL2 or Niz. I also cannot remember a time where she took to the mags to encourage fans of those pairings to “fight and keep fighting.”

Please, correct me if I am wrong.

To me, that’s just not cool.

For years, those actors and characters alike have given the character of Liz reason to be onscreen. And the fans who supported those pairings made it all possible.

Yet, in my humble opinion, whenever she is interviewed about her character (since the SOS), it has been All. About. Steve.

Yeah, I said it.

My point is that even though I have always felt that way – because I really used to be a Lucky and Liz fan, and surprisingly enough – I became a Nik-getting-some-action-fan because of my love and appreciation for Tyler and his talent, I have never sent Becky hate mail even when, at the very heights of these other onscreen relationships, she went on and on in every freakin’ interview about this huge Jason and Liz HERStory that fans should be calling and writing in about. I mean, really, isn’t that basically like crapping on the other fanbases and actors? And even though it has always annoyed me to no end, I have never taken to Twitter or to Facebook or even to my blog, where I am protected by my right to free speech, to attack Becky or to say things that would hurt her feelings, or verbally abuse her, because she is a human being, who makes a living providing us with entertainment. Whether I like her character or not.

Just like Kelly, Dammit.

I would hope that neither Steve or Becky would be proud to have fans that are capable of such tasteless, low-life behavior. Ass To The Curb needs to become the standard for those kinds of dealings. I’m almost sure Carolyn Hennesy wouldn’t mind the borrowing of her modus operandi.

Soaps are carrying enough negativity these days – no one needs all this hateful crap weighing down what should be the best of daytime!

So, there you have it. The one thing that snapped me out of my down-in-the-dumps, I-have-nothing-to-say mood.

What can I say? I am a JaSam Fan.

Thanks, Twitter!

xoxox

FYI: I made 4 phone calls and sent 5 emails to let TPTB know how excited I am about “JaSam’s Summer Lovin’!” I even sent an email to SOD to let them know that I am throwing down some cold-hard cash tomorrow to buy their latest issue – because current couples are what I want to read about! Make sure you give them some props, too! Let’s make them want to feature JaSam more often because it was so profitable!

On a much more positive note, I don’t know about you, but I thought that the interview itself was ROMANTIC. I’m not sure any other soap couple can sell that in print like they did! I literally blushed every time I read that Steve said the word “touch”.

*giggles*

I can’t remember a time I have been this excited for our couple. ABC should let Steve and Kelly give us the previews ALL THE TIME.

🙂

Oh! By the way…(SPOILER ALERT)

At the end of the movie, the heroine (played by Sandra Bullock) realizes that her life and happiness couldn’t be All About Steve (played by the gorgeous Bradley Cooper).

And believe it or not, that was a happy ending.

😉

So much love to you all…

Angelique

 

27 responses

  1. Jessica

    I could not have said it better myself. Fabulous post!! You basically said what I have been thinking for years. Even when BH was fired, I assumed and said it was for the reasons you have mentioned above. I sincerely hope that these ‘haters’ realize how immature and vile they are being. It’s time that a certain fanbase grow up and move on.

    Thanks for posting! I agree wholeheartedly

    June 24, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    • Thanks, Jessica!
      I wish that fanbase would move on to a whole other pasttime!
      😉

      June 26, 2011 at 12:31 am

  2. aproditebeauty

    Bella i loved it once again you wowed me with your way with words, hope to see my Partner in Crime back on twitter soon missed you! Can’t wait for the next blog and I agree Stelly interview was gold!

    June 24, 2011 at 4:10 pm

    • My Beautiful Heather…I’m sorry I’ve been MIA on here..but your vids have kept me company on every sleepless night!
      😉
      I have read that interview about a dozen times…it just makes me smile!
      Are you working on a “Summer Loving” vid yet? LOL!
      Thanks for being so amazing!
      *hugs*

      June 26, 2011 at 12:25 am

  3. Hello angelique,

    So nice to har from you again. One again you woo mw with your words of thruth concerning our Jasam especially Kelly. Poor girl, why is she always the one geeting hateful words. I do not understand the Liz fans, at 1 time they want her with Lucky and other times with Jason. Can’t they just realize that Liason will never happen and that Jason himself said that she belonged with Lucky. All these Kelly haters must not know the difference between fiction and reality for them to hate on Kelly about their ” liz” caracter,Loved the Stelly interview and has always they r amazing just has you. Take care and can’t wait 4 your next blog.

    Ciao, Claudia

    June 24, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    • Hi, Claudia!
      Sorry I haven’t been around much…life has been crazy lately, but it feels so wonderful to hear from all of you again!
      😉
      I agree with you…they are just a little bit “off” on that side of the fence.
      When someone can’t remember that Kelly is not Sam offscreen, there is seriously something wrong.
      If I were ABC, or TPTB, I would give them shock therapy and write them a story they can really bitch about!
      LOL!
      😉

      June 26, 2011 at 12:21 am

  4. Carol

    I absolutely love you! Girl you always hit the nail on the head. When I saw the email response from you…it just perked me up immediately. I like you saw all the hate for Kelly on twitter when I got off from work yesterday and wondered what had this beautiful, sweet person done to warrant so much hateful posts from that other fanbase. When I finally got to read the SOD article, I was so excited about the words my girl had spoken. No Liason! JaSam are the story and LL2 are the story now. That other fanbase need to get OVER IT!
    Thanks again for all your wonderful posts and yes we all should call and write to thank TPTB that we are finally getting our story and how happy we are about it.

    June 24, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    • Carol,
      Thanks so much for all the nice comments…reading them felt like taking a happy pill!
      You totally made me smile!
      I spent the day with family and made them each call both lines and leave their comments!
      Keeping their favorite show on the air will take ALL OF US, and lots of positive reinforcement!
      Thanks for joining in!
      *hugs*

      June 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

  5. Frida

    I want to marry your blogpost! Everything you just wrote is so freakin’ true!

    June 24, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    • Awww…that was my blog’s very first proposal!
      *gushes*
      Thanks, Frida! I appreciate the support!
      xoxox

      June 26, 2011 at 12:12 am

  6. Sonia

    Thanks Bella for the lovely comment.. It is just tasteless and disgusting they way Becky fans behave, yes I said Becky fans as they sure dont care about Steve, they just want her on front burner..

    June 24, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    • Thanks for taking the time to stop by and for commenting!
      You are right! They are front burner obsessed!
      *shakes head*

      June 26, 2011 at 12:11 am

  7. brenda

    Thanks for your post. You managed to write exactly what I have always thought about Becky. She does not care about GH (show or cast members) or about fans, but only uses them as a means to put herself front and center. I wish they would fire her for good. Let her and her husband go contaminate another soap. I’m glad you are feeling better. Thanks again, you made my day.

    June 24, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    • Thanks! 😉
      You helped make my day as well!
      😉

      June 26, 2011 at 12:09 am

  8. Lizziebear

    well said. you definetely said it all. not to mention I don’t know one jasam fan that sent hate mail or anything else tasteless back in 07.

    June 24, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  9. BRAVO.. Loved every single word!

    Love and miss you!
    Becky

    June 25, 2011 at 5:32 am

    • LOVE YOU MORE…
      sitting here bloggin and watching House Hunters…Hawaii!
      And even before I think of JaSam now, I think of YOU, my angel!
      xoxox

      June 26, 2011 at 12:08 am

  10. SamFan

    Very good article. Although I do not like RH, because of these tatics, I have never sent her hate mail or said anything bad about the actress only the character she plays, nor would I. I don’t like the way Kelly is treated. I really believe that because she was in playboy, people feels she deserves to be disrespected. I think that is horrible. again good post.

    June 25, 2011 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks for taking the time to read and comment…I detest the way people treat Kelly!
      Thanks again!
      😉

      June 26, 2011 at 12:07 am

  11. Spot on, Angelique! Let’s hope the Jasam fans always keep to the high road and never, ever stoop to the lows of that other fanbase..Kelly is first class to be able to weather all that garbage, and as for the Sam and Jason story, I hope it lasts as long as GH= forever!
    Take care of yourself friend…surgeries are the pits………..hope this one is total success!

    June 25, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    • Hi, Sarah!
      Thanks for the comments and good thoughts, they are really appreciated!
      I agree…FOREVER would be FABULOUS!
      😉
      *hugs*

      June 26, 2011 at 12:04 am

  12. JaSamFan1972

    Fantastic Post Angelic. Believe it or not, I just got finished reading the latest installment of ABC Soaps In Depth where Jason and Liz are the #1 Couple (for the 3rd week) and I JUST got finished thinking before I came to your site (btw, didn’t get the normal email update – might want to look into that. I was just trolling trying to get the jump on the Sunday Drive) – what EXACTLY do these people think could possibly be a story line for Jason and Liz?

    Thought sequence a writer who is being held at gunpoint by a Liason henchman: Well, instead of Lucky’s sperm floating around, it was actually a donation from Jason Q. that was meant for Keesha that had been frozen in time that just happened to be accidentally implanted into Liz’s arm when she was donating blood at GH’s annual blood drive the day she slept with Lucky, thereby nullifying the current tale of two fathers storyline. What?!?!?!?

    I mean really, it never ceases to amaze me how truly and completely unstable some people can be — over reel life characters. It’s stories like the one you’ve told about the venom spewed at Kelly that make me what to run an ad campaign for everyone to put down the remote and pick up a book for goodness sakes. But, then J.K. Rowling would be receiving death threaths because Hogwarts is too blooming far for us muggles to get to. I mean how could we possibly be expected to take a bloody train to London anyway 😉

    Great insight as always, guardedly excited that you’ll be posting more frequently. 🙂

    June 26, 2011 at 2:13 am

  13. JaSamFan1972

    Oops…meant Angelique – don’t know where on earth that “c” came from – sorry!

    June 26, 2011 at 2:14 am

  14. JaSamFan1972

    Oh, Oh, Oh, But I have a cute quote from the magazine (ABC Soaps in Depth) where Steve mentions Sam. I was so happy to read it, because quite honestly in the past, Steve drank the Liason Kool-Aid himself and it was completely maddening, though classy JaSam Fan that I am, I never wrote a single nasty word about it. 🙂

    So in the back of the magazine, there is always a weird What If question: You’re stranded on a deserted island with two characters from your show. Which ones do you choose and why?

    Steve Burton: “I’d have to have a girlfriend, so I’d say Sam, especially if you’re stuck on an island. I’m going for the girl first, and not Sonny, because he’s high-maintenance. Who else is pretty resourceful? Well maybe Michael, because I could at least order him around. He can kind of be like my cabin boy. While Sam is feeding me grapes, he can go catch dinner.”

    No mentions of needing a nurse, huh?

    Fylicia’Marie

    June 26, 2011 at 2:33 am

  15. sandy

    I read SBu telling those delusional twits ad nauseum on Twiter that there was no s/l for Liason on the table and it’s too bad they refused to listen to him.It’s also SAD that the interviewer felt it necessary to bring up JIZ in a JASAM interview, but I am PROUD that Kelly flat out shut it down, as did Steve.The HW Wolf speaks of JASAM not JIZ, so what was Kelly and SB supposed to say…it’s not Jasam that’s happening,but Jiz instead?
    Bella,as you pointed out, Kelly or Greg never dissed the other pairings, but BH did and still does, and I am sorry, but so did Steve when he tied that microphone around his neck and promised JIZ would be #1.But, whereas Steve now promotes Jasam, BH continues with her delusional rants and unfortunately, so does her fans.I have a feeling that this is the only way she can get any screen, and I would not be surprised if her husband didnt have a hand in it.After all, she was Fired for lack of s/l, one would think she would keep her mouth shut and do her job after that, but I guess she just cant help opening her mouth and putting her foot in it everytime she does an interview.
    I say bring on the proposal, marriage and baby, and let the Jizzers eat their hearts out!

    June 26, 2011 at 8:08 am

  16. samjase

    I’ve missed you! I’ve been “under the weather” , for lack of a better phrase, and reading your comments about the Stelly article was a shot in the arm.

    The Stelly interview was AMAZING! THEIR CHEMISTRY CAME THROUGH..EVEN IN PRINT. They both sound so connected and so excited about their upcoming storyline.

    Thank you for expressing your views…they represent all of ours.

    June 26, 2011 at 8:16 am

  17. Traveler

    Great Stelly Interview is SOD!!!
    Looking forward to the JaSam Summer Lovin!!! ♥

    As usual you are “spot on” with your Blog!! It was so great to have your imput on the article and the other fanbase…
    Im proud to be a JaSam Fan!! We have some of the most positive posters!!

    June 26, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

