Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

“SAY WHAAAAAAT????”

 

I must admit, GHers, that sometimes our beloved soap surprises me! Today was one of those days. I felt I was asking the same question over and over throughout the show.

The question?

“Say Whaaaaaaat?”

I mean, people were surprising me all over the place!

And you know what?

Surprises can be a good thing…sometimes.

Even when they make us ask, “Say Whaaaaat?”

So Sonny owes Brenda a wedding that will make up for the wedding of her dreams which he forever etched in her mind as a nightmare. We all get it. And so, we all get that’s why the (three) rings were so important, and that’s why Sonny agreeing to a wedding planner was understandable, and it’s why Sonny asked Dante to be his best man, and let Jason walk Brenda down the aisle…and yada, yada, yada. I feel that there has been more talk about this wedding than the wedding of Prince William his lovely Kate, but we all get why. Fine. However, listening to Sonny convince Max and Milo to make sure Carly didn’t show up at the wedding was certainly a “Say Whaaaaaaat?” Moment. Max and Milo reacting to this assignment was just too funny. It made me realize that we need less of all the newbies on this show and much more of the characters we’ve grown attached to over the years! Max and Milo are hysterical! They bring sunshine to usually cloudy days in Port Charles. It was so great to see Max’s nervous twitch! Even funnier was the scene where Max and Milo tell Carly she can’t attend the wedding. Ha! Before I could even say it, Carly gave them both that look that said, “Say Whaaaaaaat?” I really enjoyed Max and Milo working themselves up for the big moment, and I enjoyed the fact that Luke enjoyed it just as much. This is the stuff that great episodes are made of. 

Sonny wasn’t all Godfather on his wedding day. He was also completely in touch with his softer side as he bonded with the men in his life. Each of Sonny’s older sons got the best of Sonny’s prolific views on Life and Love. Even Dante seemed to be “affected” by this side of his father, and seemed to respond in kind. But the moment that really got my attention was at the end of his conversation with Mike on the phone, when we all heard Sonny say to his father, “I love you, too.” Ummmm…“Say Whaaaaaaat?” Wow. Sonny should get married more oft – oh, never mind.  For a second there, I forgot just how many times he’s been married already. I just think we need more reminders that Sonny is supposed to be the mobster with a heart of gold.

😉

Kristina has come a long way in a short year, don’t you think? I mean she is much more resilient than she looks. It must be her strong Cassadine genes. However, I am beginning to worry about her. It seems to me that after all of that progress, she stepped right back into the exact spot she was in last year…crushing badly on an older, now married, Ethan. When I saw Kristina freeze in her tracks at the sight of Ethan, I arched a brow. When I saw her perched at the counter of Kelly’s asking for his opinion on her hair, I groaned. When I heard Ethan tell Kristina that she would be the “prettiest lady at the wedding”, I covered my eyes. But when he actually told Kristina he would see her there, I said, “Say Whaaaaaaat?” Not that I couldn’t get behind a Kristina/Ethan pairing, but I just don’t know if I want to see Kristina fall head over heels into unhealthy obsession over someone who has married someone else, and has no intention of losing the million dollars attached to that attachment. I guess I will have to watch this develop with a little trepidation, and lots of hope.

I wish I could type what actually came out of my mouth when I first caught sight of Brenda’s outfit today, but we do have some younger readers, so I will refrain from sharing that. I’m just saying that no bride should look like a nine-year-old on her way to a recital. That’s all I’m gonna say on that. Robin has been a good friend to Brenda, and is fulfilling her maid-of-honor duties very nicely, but perhaps instead of basically driving Brenda from the airport to the altar, Robin should have taken some time to talk to Brenda about this decision. You see, Edward, who can be a bit abrasive, asked Brenda if she knew what she was doing, and Brenda said… “No.” Brenda? “Say Whaaaaaaat?” You mean that the one rainy night at Sonny’s old apartment didn’t answer all of your questions and address all your concerns? You mean that even though you’ve been living with Jason instead of Sonny since your arrival in PC for safety reasons never made you wonder what would suddenly make you safer with Sonny after you said, “I do”? And all of these issues with just one of his many exes, and the secret that you are keeping with his son didn’t give you a moment of pause before now? I hope Robin at least does a good job of keeping track of the gifts…just in case they need to go back.

Apparently, The Balkan may be able to provide Brenda with the time to think that she needs. He is moving full steam ahead with his plan to snatch Brenda from her wedding site because he is determined to make her pay for murdering his son. And now our beloved Molly has heard all of that! Haley Pullos is an Outstanding Younger Actress, and she should be a nominee. When she heard Theo’s’ declarations, her face said it all! “Say Whaaaaaaat?” We could literally see her “shivering” as she hid under Theo’s desk listening to the worst possible news…at the worst possible time…from the worst possible place. She really does remind me of a mini Sam. I am not sure what will happen next, but I have a lot of faith in our Molly, and I’m sure she has read all of those P.I. books Big Sis Sam got her. I think she’ll be alright!

I have to say that today’s biggest “Say Whaaaaaaat?”Moment, for me came from Jason. Now I know he said so many things today – which is, in and of itself, surprising, but I’d bet the thing that made me shout, “Say Whaaaaaaat?”is probably not the thing that made you do the same.

You see, I was very surprised when Jason felt the need to let Sam know how grateful he is for how patient and supportive Sam has been during the Brenda Invasion right there in the middle of the Archer Pavillion. Jason is usually a man of very few words, and he usually doesn’t realize when he’s taking Sam for granted. So, yes I was pleasantly surprised. Which is why I was even more surprised when Jason declared to Sam that she “is all he needs.” That was downright sweet!  So you can imagine my utter shock when I watched him, in the throes of a crisis,  take Sam by the hand, sit down with her in a couple of wedding chairs, put his arm around her and tell her that maybe Sonny and Brenda “will get really lucky – the way he and Sam did.” Stone Cold Jason, who deals in absolutes and in black and white, talking about luck? It’s incredible. Jason taking the time to remind Sam that “a lot went wrong, and they got through it, and came out stronger in a lot of ways”?  It can only mean one thing: Jason really did realize what his life was like without Sam in it. And he never wants to go there again. Who can blame him? 

Truly all of the things Jason said to Sam today were beautiful, and incredibly romantic.

But the “Say Whaaaaaaat?” Moment for Jason was before all of that fabulosity. It was the moment when Sam told Jason she hoped she didn’t mind that she was doing her own walk through, and Jason gave her a look, and then broke into a smile, then LAUGHTER, then said, “I’m only kidding.!”

I’ll say it again! “Say Whaaaaaaat?”

Since when does Jason “kid” in the middle of an intense assignment? Since when does he “kid” randomly? I’ll tell you when.

Since Sam came back into his life and reminded him to laugh again.

Since she made him feel that incredible sense of acceptance that changes the way he sees things again.

Since she forgave him.

Since she trusted him again.

Since she let herself love him again.

Since she reminds him everyday that she “gets him.”

Sam told Jason that “her life doesn’t work without him.” That is something Jason can relate to.

Sam also told Jason that she “doesn’t think any relationship is perfect, but she wouldn’t trade theirs for anything in the world.”

That is the one thing Jason can believe in and hold on to, and trust.

Don’t be fooled. While Jason makes it his business to keep everyone around him safe, Sam is the one who makes him feel secure. 

And that’s why he lets his guard down with Sam. That’s why he tickles, and teases her, and laughs with her, like with no one else.

That’s why Jason wants to give Sam all the things she doesn’t even realize she wants.

That’s why Jason and Sam truly are The Beauty of GH.

************************************************************************************************

THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY

February 17

2005: http://bit.ly/hP4Vjf  “we’re Even.” 😉

2009: http://bit.ly/eri0Iu JaSam As Superheroes!

February 18

2005: http://bit.ly/dSXMfY Awesome!

2009: http://bit.ly/htmZWz Loved the way he protected Sam.

2010: http://bit.ly/eRq1MH So cute…

___________________________________________________________________________________

Making A Difference For JaSam…Every Day! 

VOTE: UPDATED LINK: http://abc.soapsindepth.com/2011/02/cast-your-vote-08.html (Don’t get lazy on voting here, friends! JASAM ARE BACK AT NUMBER ONE, AND SO IS KELLY! We need to be religious about voting, and we need to vote from every available electronic device 😉)

AND also: http://www.soapoperadigest.com/polls/netgh/ 

Call: ABC: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583 

TWEET OUR FAVORITES: Tweet Steve and Kelly and try to counteract all of the negativity dumped there daily! Let them know what real fans look like, and let them know how much we enjoy ALL OF THEIR scenes, ESPECIALLY JaSam Scenes! Steve’s Official Twitter Is: @1SteveBurton Kelly’s OFFICIAL Twitter Is: @KellyMonaco1

SOAPNET: Go on SOAPnet.com and share your favorite JaSam Storyline! http://bit.ly/azJAkN Please make a commitment to this project! Especially since the “other side” is filling it up with GARBAGE!

Facebook GH FEEDBACK PAGE: http://on.fb.me/cpmSpo FLOOD THAT PAGE WITH POSITIVE JASAM LOVE DAILY! THIS is the page that gets attention from those who matter! PLEASE, please, please remember not to make it only about wanting JaSam – that gets overlooked as “fanbase crap”. Use solid, honest, but tactful language letting them know what you think the strengths were on that particular day, and if that’s Steve and Kelly, that’s fine – but this is NOT the place to go all ga-ga because we got some make-out time. Remember to use their names (character/actor) separately, i.e. Kelly and Steve instead of Stelly, and Jason and Sam instead of JaSam. You can also calmly state what you think the weaknesses were, such as overused characters, storyline inconsistencies, or not enough use of the history of our dearest characters and vets. EVERY PHONE CALL, EMAIL, FACEBOOK POST COUNTS – SO REALLY GIVE IT YOUR ALL! 

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Remember to GUSH, THANK THEM, and SHOW LOVE for what we’re getting with our JaSam! PLEASE: Leave out frustrations, bashing, anger, and other couples!

Bob, Guza, Head Writer
Jill Farren-Phelps, Exec. Producer 
Elizabeth Korte, Editor
c/o ABC-TV 
4151 Prospect Avenue  
Hollywood, CA  90027
 
Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair 
Disney Media Networks Division
 
500 S. Buena Vista St. 
Burbank, CA  91521

Our couple is counting on US!

😉

8 responses

  1. JasamFan

    Love this blog.. Loved Sam and Jason.. Love Jason the way he is with Sam. And loving GH all over again. As you said he has NEVER been that way with any other woman in his life!

    I am just so in love with Jason these last few days.. It must be a sign of things to come.. the writers are once again writing for our beautiful couple in the way they deserve to be written! Sexy, funny, romance, action, adventure and Jason laughing and smiling again.. all the things that make Jasam the SUPERCOUPLE that they are.. and I say it is about time!!

    Are you feeling any better today? sending lots of love and hugs your way!

    Peace & Love

    February 18, 2011 at 5:01 am

  2. inlovewithjasam

    Beautiful post…. lately Jason has been taking my breath away. He is so in love with Sam and it shows in everything he says and does. I hope all this leads to where it should have led to years ago and marriage and baby for this awesome couple. Love GH lately and it looks like things will only get better!!

    February 18, 2011 at 10:45 am

  3. sarah

    OMG,Angelique: it’s Friday, and I am having a hard time reading ANYTHING if, please not, the “news” from SID is real. We need your wisdom more than ever today. Yesterday was so beautiful for Jasam, and you picked up on every little word. So, please, today, help us all to keep calm and focused in case we all have been duped by TPTB, or, worse yet, the crazies have prevailed. That, I am sad to say, would be a travesty and life would become truly insufferable. HELP!

    February 18, 2011 at 11:19 am

  4. Jessica

    I love this post! It really brightened my day… JaSam are just so perfect, and i am happy that they tried again! 🙂

    February 18, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  5. sarah

    Angelique,this is my apology for ranting to you earlier. I should have at least PM’d, not posted. Your blog was so sweet and on the money for Jason, and he was dear yesterday…I loved it. So dumping on you about what we can’t fix was wrong..sorry. I have decided to just shut up and ignore all mention of anything negative and adore and enjoy our fabulous couple. Thank you for giving us good sense, (even those of us who forget sometimes) You are the best.

    February 18, 2011 at 2:17 pm

  6. Deborah

    Putting the dialogue aside, what about how they looked yesterday. I don’t know what it was, but the two of them looked gorgeous (even more than usual). Something about the lighting, both their hair looked good, I loved Sam’s jacket (it actually looked like it was meant for the season instead of a tank top and thin jacket in winter), and Jason’s eyes were even bluer than usual (if that’s even possible). I guess weddings become them.

    February 18, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  7. I’m am so happy right now with the scenes we are getting!! Steve and Kelly are really doing an awesome job with all of the material they are getting. And getting scenes where Jason is re-enforcing his love and devotion to Sam just makes my heart melt!!! Especially after all the Brenda crap Sam has been putting up with. I hope after Jason gives Brenda away, he sits with Sam and they gaze lovingly into each others eyes thru the whole spectacle, I mean ceremony.

    February 18, 2011 at 10:45 pm

  8. samjase

    Angelique,

    Your blog is a thing of beauty!

    I never miss reading your uplipfting comments!
    I love the history clips, and I’m always looking at additional ones after viewing the ones you post.

    Jasam are headed for a great s/l..and I’ll be glued to the TV and youtube for those “special” scenes.

    Just wanted to comment also on how particularly beautiful our couple looked the last couple of episodes. Jason is a tux..gorgeous. Sam is her black pant suit..STUNNING. Her hair and makeup were perfection. Now…let’s get this show on the road!

    February 19, 2011 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

