Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

SUCKING THE JOY OUT OF…

Don’t you just hate when you’re looking forward to something, or are already enjoying something, and then something, or SOMEONE, comes along to SUCK THE JOY OUT OF IT?

Ugh…that really gets on my nerves!

It seemed to be a common theme in Port Charles on Wednesday, and everyone’s Hump Day in PC quickly turned into SLUMP DAY!

Poor Molly. She was about to be honored at her school for being a brave little heroine during the bus crash, but just the memories of that traumatic experience SUCKED THE JOY OUT OF her big day. I guess it’s kind of hard to enjoy anything when every time you close your eyes you picture the accident that caused everyone to be thrown around like rag dolls, and ultimately killed two people. Even worse, Molly stumbled upon their bus driver who was alive and then ..not alive. She also knew Ally, who survived the crash, only to lose her life later. If it were me, I would be on a religious cycle of anti-depressants and tranquilizers, and I’m an adult! Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is a serious thing. Poor Molly has been through a whole lot. I really wish that the intelligent and informed Alexis would recognize the symptoms so that Molly doesn’t have to suffer in silence and alone. I love Molly, and I want her to get the help she needs to deal with what she’s been through. She should be enjoying things and reading the Twilight series for the fourth time. Instead, she’s trying to deal with the overwhelming feelings that come every time she has a flashback! Someone get this kid some help!

Diane seems to be having a really good time writing Spin’s novel. I can totally understand. Some of the most fun I ever had was during the time I wrote my first novel (which I didn’t publish) I remember waking up excited every day, looking forward to getting my fingers going across the keyboard. I know exactly the kind of fun both Diane and Spin are having, and I’m enjoying how they work together and how the story is coming together. Too bad Lucky had to be the one to SUCK THE JOY OUT OF their fun when he came in to share the news about Jerry Jacks, whom they believe may be The Balkan, possibly being alive. What a downer!

Lucky’s new girlfriend, Siobhan, is quite the opposite. It seems Siobhan’s always got a smile lurking, and always has a smart remark to lighten the moment. But nothing can  SUCK THE JOY OUT OF smilin’ Irish eyes quite like finding Jason Morgan’s piercing baby blues at your door, ready to interrogate you on your version of what happened to Jerry Jacks. (Whoa! In my head, I said that with Siobhan’s accent – HOW WEIRD!) I will say this for General Hospital: they have totally piqued and kept my curiosity with what Siobhan’s back story is. The fact that the actress who plays Siobhan (Erin Chambers) tweeted that she was offered a contract makes me think that Siobhan can’t be all bad…but we’ll see!

Ethan and Maya were enjoying each other’s company last we saw them. I thought there might really be some hope for them. Yet Ethan shows up at John’s beat up pretty badly, and explains that he took a gamble that really didn’t pay off too well. That will surely SUCK THE JOY OUT OF any romantic plans, huh? Ethan explains to John that he would rather end things before they get too close for their own good. I didn’t know whether to think it was sweet or to think Ethan is a jackass. (I quickly made up my mind, though.)

😉

Dr. Lisa Niles was just about to have a really great day at work. She’s been trying to angle some ways to work with Patrick for quite some time now. I’m surprised she’s not out running people down just to put them in the hospital in need of hers and Patrick’s areas of expertise. There was no need for drastic measures this time, as there was a neck trauma at GH that required Steve to beg Patrick to work with Lisa. It was like a Psycho Doctor’s Perfect Day! Along comes John to SUCK THE JOY OUT OF Lisa’s Big Day, by dragging her out of the hospital under the guise of taking her to lunch, just so that Lisa can go tend to Ethan. I know it messed up Lisa’s day, but I really enjoy the scenes between John and Lisa…and sometimes even Ethan. I think they are written really well, and let’s face it: there are days we could ALL use a little comic relief.

I am really, really liking Nikolas and Brook Lynn. I can’t really imagine a Nik-free Port Charles, as he’s been part of it for so long. I really want him to get some good story so that he can stay around. I think it’s a bonus that he and Brook are so good together. Nik needs to lose a little bit of his stuffiness, and Brook could use some refining. I bet with enough rubbing on each other, I mean rubbing off on each other, they can help each other find a great balance. I even think they can continue to find some happiness while they’re at it. I mean, really – what a great relationship they’ve got going. They get dressed up, look their best, and then go out and have a great time! It’s like the best part of dating without any of the messy stuff! I like how Nik and Brook ended up taking a little nap together! So cute! Leave it to Liz to show up and SUCK THE JOY RIGHT OUT OF everything! Ugh! My goodness, Liz is snarky even before a single word comes out of her mouth! That is quite a feat! I am so glad that Brook is still in touch with her Bensonhurst roots, because she doesn’t take any crap from Liz…and damn, Liz is really dishing it out. People, I hope you understand why I don’t ever want Jason co-parenting Jake with this bitch! Do you see how manipulative she is? “Family day?” That made me want to puke – all over her! Why does she even have to be part of Aiden’s visit with Nik? Can’t she just tell Aiden the same sob story she told Cam and Jake about Lucky… “Mommy did something really bad, and Daddy doesn’t want to see Mommy right now.” Remember that? I thought Liz was being really mean to Brook, considering it was only days ago that Liz was thanking Brook for staying at the hospital during the bus crash. I can only hope that Nik turns around and SUCKS THE JOY OUT OF Liz’s little visit by telling her that he DOESN’T miss her, her selfishness, or her SNARK, at all!

You know, I thought at first that Jax was probably having the worst day of all. It appears – once again – that his brother is dead, and no matter how horrid his brother turned out, it is still the brother he grew up with, shared life with, and loved. No matter what, the news that your brother’s unrecognizable body was dragged out of the water has got to SUCK THE JOY OUT OF anyone’s day, but in comes Brenda and tops it. Once again, she proves just how self-centered and completely obsessed she is with her wedding, that even the probability of the DEATH of Jax’s loved one can’t keep her from turning all the attention back to her and running her mouth about HER WEDDING! First, Luke and Tracy’s wedding, then the bus crash, and now while consoling Jax on Jerry’s possible demise. Wow. It’s like an SNL skit. Too bad Franco’s not around for this. He could totally use it the next time he hosts SNL. NOTHING keeps Brenda from talking about her wedding! FOR ME, IT SUCKS THE JOY OUT OF EVERY SCENE SHE’S IN!

So, of course, it was our resident Queen of Joy Sucking…Ms. Brenda Barrett, who coined today’s theme when she accused Jason of “Sucking the joy out of her wedding.” Ummm…Brenda, you have done absolutely NOTHING but SUCK THE JOY OUT OF our JaSam/GH-loving hearts since your arrival! You came in much like a Tsunami…completely overwhelming everyone and everything and then dragging everything away, leaving destruction and desolation for Jason at his own PH, since not even Sam wants to be there anymore. I am so ready for either The Balkan to kidnap her and take her far, far away, for Sonny to marry her and take her the hell away, or for Brenda to trip on one of her ridiculously long sleeves and break her neck. WHATEVER THE HELL GETS HER OUT OF JASON’S ORBIT AND OFF MY SCREEN THE FASTEST AND THE LONGEST!

😉

Many of you have asked me what my thoughts are on the rumors, spumors, and cryptic interviews given by Burton, Guza, and whoever else is trying to get our attention. Here’s where I stand on all of that…

I believe that Jason and Sam are in a good place, and aren’t willing to lose what they have finally gotten back.

I believe that even if they face some obstacles or tough times, they will be willing to scale brick walls or hold on for dear life to each other in order to come out on the other side stronger than ever.

I believe that Jason and Sam are due for some dreams come true, and I believe this is their year!

I believe ONLY GOOD THINGS are coming for our couple!

I BELIEVE IT WITH ALL MY HEART!

And I won’t let anyone or anything SUCK MY JOY OUT OF that! I hope you won’t either!

Much love,

Angelique

************************************************************************************************

THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY

January  13

2006:  http://bit.ly/dIqNir Just listen to Jason here, guys! Hmmm…

2009:   http://bit.ly/g7ExWf Jason and Sam work together even when they don’t know it! LOVE IT!

2010: http://bit.ly/i3Y5sb “There was never a choice!” *thud*

I WANT TPTB TO CONTINUE BUILDING JASAM’S HISTORY! DON’T YOU? TELL THEM JUST THAT!

___________________________________________________________________________________

Making A Difference For JaSam…Every Day! 

VOTE:UPDATED LINK: http://abc.soapsindepth.com/2011/01/cast-your-vote-04.html

 (Don’t get lazy on voting here, friends! JASAM ARE BACK AT NUMBER ONE, AND SO IS KELLY! We need to be religious about voting, and we need to vote from every available electronic device 😉)

AND also: http://www.soapoperadigest.com/polls/netgh/ 

Call: ABC: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583 

TWEET OUR FAVORITES: Tweet Steve and Kelly and try to counteract all of the negativity dumped there daily! Let them know what real fans look like, and let them know how much we enjoy ALL OF THEIR scenes, ESPECIALLY JaSam Scenes! Steve’s Official Twitter Is: @1SteveBurton Kelly’s OFFICIAL Twitter Is: @KellyMonaco1

SOAPNET: Go on SOAPnet.com and share your favorite JaSam Storyline! http://bit.ly/azJAkN Please make a commitment to this project! Especially since the “other side” is filling it up with GARBAGE!

Facebook GH FEEDBACK PAGE: http://on.fb.me/cpmSpo FLOOD THAT PAGE WITH POSITIVE JASAM LOVE DAILY! THIS is the page that gets attention from those who matter! PLEASE, please, please remember not to make it only about wanting JaSam – that gets overlooked as “fanbase crap”. Use solid, honest, but tactful language letting them know what you think the strengths were on that particular day, and if that’s Steve and Kelly, that’s fine – but this is NOT the place to go all ga-ga because we got some make-out time. Remember to use their names (character/actor) separately, i.e. Kelly and Steve instead of Stelly, and Jason and Sam instead of JaSam. You can also calmly state what you think the weaknesses were, such as overused characters, storyline inconsistencies, or not enough use of the history of our dearest characters and vets. EVERY PHONE CALL, EMAIL, FACEBOOK POST COUNTS – SO REALLY GIVE IT YOUR ALL! 

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Remember to GUSH, THANK THEM, and SHOW LOVE for what we’re getting with our JaSam! PLEASE: Leave out frustrations, bashing, anger, and other couples!

Bob, Guza, Head Writer
Jill Farren-Phelps, Exec. Producer 
Elizabeth Korte, Editor
c/o ABC-TV 
4151 Prospect Avenue  
Hollywood, CA  90027
 
Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair 
Disney Media Networks Division
 
500 S. Buena Vista St. 
Burbank, CA  91521

Our couple is counting on US!

😉

6 responses

  1. patrice

    You’re the best, Angelique! You keep me laughing, thinking, and watching. Hope you’re feeling better. You and your family are in my prayers.

    January 13, 2011 at 4:27 pm

    • Thanks, babe! You guys keep me watching….believe me!
      We will have to hang in there together!
      😉

      January 15, 2011 at 1:33 am

  2. samjase

    Your are on FIRE today in your blog…and I expect MORE tomorrow after today’s idiot comments by the idiot Brenduh. I’ll love you forever for this blog. It has gotten me through so many episodes!!!!

    You are so on target with EVERYTHING..and I think we could be twins in the brain. There’s so many things you said … that made me LOL…and read again..and want to give you a hug.

    Oh My Goodness…when will this insanity end with Brenda???? She is absolutely intolerable!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    As for Lizzie…OMG…she’s a trip insn’t she? Soooooo manipulative. Soooooo two-faced. I can’t stand her…!!!

    You…I LOVE! Jasam…I ADORE!

    January 13, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    • LOL…you crack me up, and you are suck a pick-me-up! Honestly, I feel better everytime I get a comment from you!
      Thanks for the support!
      I LOVE YOU TOO!

      January 15, 2011 at 1:34 am

  3. trini

    You are going to feel really sucked dry after today’s eppy. I am so confused. What are they trying to do with Brenda? Because she is dumb, stupid and not funny.

    January 13, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • LOL!
      You’re right. I did!
      😉

      January 15, 2011 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

