Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

FOUND: MISSING CHARLIE BROWN TREE

Well, friends, perhaps it’s time for me to add my name to the door at McCall & Jackal.

I have found the Missing Charlie Brown Tree last seen at Jason’s PH before BrendaMania Part 456 hijacked our Port Charles Christmas.

To be fair, the tree was hidden pretty well. I don’t think the best of P.I.’s would have thought of looking for it where I found it (more like stumbled upon it)

“Where?” you might be asking.

I found our tree in The Past.

Yes, The Past. But no, not in a Christmas past or a tree of years gone by…

Let me just tell you where I found it.

I found our tree on December 10, 2010 in a crazy little scene of Jason with a haircut nestled between two scenes of Jason without a haircut. Believe it or not, the tree even has a Christmas ball on it. It’s just the most bizarre thing ever. If I didn’t know better I would think I was seeing things!

Check it out for yourselves: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1aIDY31Op1o

I know! It is a total WTH moment!

You know, this little “find” of mine got me to thinking about some other things that I would love to find on our favorite daytime drama.

What about you?

I would love to see Carly and Jax and their family sharing some nice family moments like they did last year at the holidays. Before seeing Morgan in his ski jacket, I can barely remember the last time I saw him! My goodness, he just about sprouted past Olivia and Steve in that scene. (Not that shooting past Steve would be that hard) I just wish the kids on this show didn’t have the opportunity to grow by leaps and bounds before we saw them again! Yes, I would like to find that the Carly and her family have more than drama holding them together.

When I heard Liz talking about her ‘Lil Illegitimates made me wonder about what those kids will look like next time I see them. Has Jake’s hair changed? Is Aiden now walking? I just don’t know what to expect. And everyone knows that Liz is certainly not my favorite character on GH, but that’s what Christmas Montages on GH used to be about…giving us a glimpse of ALL of Port Charles’ characters and what they were doing on this, one of our favorite holidays. Liz said little Jake was stealing all of Baby Aidan’s gifts and putting them in his own cabinet – I would have liked to watch Jake displaying those famously Spencer larceny traits. Wouldn’t you? Christmas is a time to see everyone!

The Drakes seemed to have such a great family Christmas that they are actually giving a trial reconciliation a try. Wouldn’t you have liked to see the moments that made them give it a go? I wanted to enjoy seeing little Emma tearing into her gifts, because Robin is right. This is the age where they enjoy it most. *sigh*

Did Matt and Maxie ever find that tree they went in search of? Did they decorate it with Maxie’s jewelry from last season. Or did they pop some popcorn and string it together in honor of Matt’s Christmases with his mom? I would have liked to see that.

Does no one read the Christmas Story from the Bible at General Hospital anymore? My goodness, in case of Edward offering Michael that tired old ELQ, why didn’t he offer him the opportunity to carry on a beautiful and meaningful Quartermaine Tradition? I think Chad Duell would have done an amazing job, and it would have gone a long way with those of us who have been watching long enough to appreciate the nod to Yesteryear.

Brenda and Sonny have spent the last 8 Christmases apart. Sonny is a millionaire. Wouldn’t you thin that with all that went into being reunited this Christmas, they would celebrate at their Love Nest in the Woods and perhaps finish trimming their massive tree before all of the pine needles fall off? I mean Sonny can afford to hire retired Secret Service agents to keep Brenda safe (the way my local school board did) while he romanced Brenda’s Uggs off. I could handle seeing that in a montage because it would mean her and her hugs were out of Jason’s PH.

And, listen, I may have found the missing Charlie Brown Christmas Tree, but I have yet to find our Fair Samantha. Jason hasn’t found her either apparently. I heard about what Carly got him for Christmas, but I heard not a single mention about what he got her. I would have loved to see Jason play Santa like he did in 2006, or the way Sam did in 2005. What about when Jason and Sam were inspired by the holidays and took stock of the year gone by with one of those conversations they used to have about making memories and being there for each other? As JaSam fans we were kinda jipped of all thing holidays when Sam was kidnapped by Franco last year. We were SO OWED a JaSam Christmas! I mean, Sam was supposed to have spent the night. Did she? I only ask because it seems that Jason is convinced that Jerry faked his death once more. Wouldn’t it have occurred to him that Sam is not with him, and therefore could be at risk? I mean it was just a couple of short weeks ago that the weekly promo said that our couple was fighting for their lives. When did the threat that Jerry poses for Sam become a non-issue. Did she change her perfume, or did Jerry finally feel threatened by the fact that Jason and Sam setup his hired thug? I just don’t understand. I would like to see some flow and consistency to the storylines we care about.

What about?

  • Seeing what Molly got Sam? She seemed so excited!
  • What about Luke and Tracy and their First Christmas as newlyweds? Or Ethan and Maya?
  • What about Monica and Tracy awkwardly exchanging gifts?
  • Or insted of remembering all the Quartermaines via a repeat hostage crisis, how about remembering them by showing their family reminisce about Christmas memories with Lila, Ned, Edward, Emily, Dillon, Justus?
  • What about Alexis spending time with all of her girls?
  • What about what Carolyn Hennesy described as Diane and Max’s Christmas shenanigans including Saran Wrap, and a bear-skin rug?
  • Did Lucky visit his biys with Siobhan or solo?
  • Did Nikolas buy Aiden a horse and Spencer a castle of his own?
  • Is Bobbie ever going to visit her grandchildren?

All of these things are the things so many of us LOVE and ADORE about General Hospital, yet…

They seem to be as Lost as our Charlie Brown Christmas Tree was at Christmas…

You may be wondering why the shift in where I am usually coming from when I post. But over the last few days, I have heard from so many of you that not only can’t seem to find so many of the things we are looking for, and have come to love the show for, but seem to not recognize the soap we are now watching. Some of you seem a little apathetic about staying committed to keeping our show on the air and pashing it back to Number One. Sweet heavens! Some have even suggested your New Year’s Resolution would be to find something else to do with the hour you’ve dedicated to General Hospital for so much of your lives.

My friends, read carefully:
NONE OF THOSE THINGS IS THE ANSWER.

Sure, at first you can take up the Miracle Mile workout or a Zumba class, but trust me – within a few weeks, you’ll be missing some of those characters that have been part of your life for so long. Are you willing to take the chance that when you finally decide that you’re going to accept your favorite Port Charlesians just as they are, you find that Port Charles is just a distant memory? Another soap from “back in the day?”

Think it can’t happen? Oh yes, it can. When Josh decided to sleep with his sister-in-law Cassie on Guiding Light, I was so angry, I stopped watching. When I finally got over it and went back to watching, the characters were all tying up storylines at lightning speed because the network had decided to cancel the beloved soap. And while I missed Lily and Holden enough to not tune into As The World Turns as often, I certainly mourned the loss of Daytime’s Longest Running Soap in history even more than I missed the pairing of Lily and Holden.

So, why tell you about what’s missing from our favorite soap rather than post a “Rah Rah Rah!” speech about how wonderful GH is right now? Because I don’t expect anyone to sit back and watch the show fall from it’s former glory and pretend everything is okay. We know what’s gone wrong. We know what’s MISSING. We know what we’d like to find in 2011. We know that we want General Hospital to be on the air for many years to come. We just have to find a way to share those things with TPTB without calling and making hysterical threats that can be “misconstrued” as “BUZZ.:

We need to let them know what we just can’t get into, and what we used to LOVE.

I’ve told you what I have yet to “FIND.”

Maybe some of those things are true for you as well. Call, email, and write them. Or tell them about the things YOU are looking for.

My point is, don’t wait until next Christmas to ask for what we didn’t get this year. It might be too late.

Do it NOW! And keep calling every time you remember something new! You have two days of reruns to utilize.

😉

I hope that tomorrow you’ll stop by Bella Mafia during what would be our normal viewing time. I am working on a spcial little “something” to do while others are watching “The “Hellevator” scenes of 2007. (That’s what our pal Steph call them – I just love her!)

‘Til then…go get busy with the business of changing and saving our beloved General Hospital!

Love you all!

Angelique

 *************************************************************************************************

THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY

December 30

2004: http://bit.ly/dWq7qh

2005: http://bit.ly/hfCSnL

I WANT TPTB TO CONTINUE BUILDING JASAM’S HISTORY! DON’T YOU? TELL THEM JUST THAT!

___________________________________________________________________________________

Making A Difference For JaSam…Every Day! 

VOTE: UPDATED LINK: http://abc.soapsindepth.com/2010/12/cast-your-vote-02.html

 (Don’t get lazy on voting here, friends! We had moved them ALL THE WAY UP TO NUMBER ONE and they were bumped DOWN to NUMBER TWO! We need to be religious about voting, and we need to vote from every available electronic device 😉)

AND also: http://www.soapoperadigest.com/polls/netgh/ 

Call: ABC: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583 

TWEET OUR FAVORITES: Tweet Steve and Kelly and try to counteract all of the negativity dumped there daily! Let them know what real fans look like, and let them know how much we enjoy ALL OF THEIR scenes, ESPECIALLY JaSam Scenes! Steve’s Official Twitter Is: @1SteveBurton Kelly’s OFFICIAL Twitter Is: @KellyMonaco1

SOAPNET: Go on SOAPnet.com and share your favorite JaSam Storyline! http://bit.ly/azJAkN Please make a commitment to this project! Especially since the “other side” is filling it up with GARBAGE!

Facebook GH FEEDBACK PAGE: http://on.fb.me/cpmSpo FLOOD THAT PAGE WITH POSITIVE JASAM LOVE DAILY! THIS is the page that gets attention from those who matter! PLEASE, please, please remember not to make it only about wanting JaSam – that gets overlooked as “fanbase crap”. Use solid, honest, but tactful language letting them know what you think the strengths were on that particular day, and if that’s Steve and Kelly, that’s fine – but this is NOT the place to go all ga-ga because we got some make-out time. Remember to use their names (character/actor) separately, i.e. Kelly and Steve instead of Stelly, and Jason and Sam instead of JaSam. You can also calmly state what you think the weaknesses were, such as overused characters, storyline inconsistencies, or not enough use of the history of our dearest characters and vets. EVERY PHONE CALL, EMAIL, FACEBOOK POST COUNTS – SO REALLY GIVE IT YOUR ALL! 

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Remember to GUSH, THANK THEM, and SHOW LOVE for what we’re getting with our JaSam! PLEASE: Leave out frustrations, bashing, anger, and other couples!

Bob, Guza, Head Writer
Jill Farren-Phelps, Exec. Producer 
Elizabeth Korte, Editor
c/o ABC-TV 
4151 Prospect Avenue  
Hollywood, CA  90027
 
Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair 
Disney Media Networks Division
 
500 S. Buena Vista St. 
Burbank, CA  91521

Our couple is counting on US!

😉

9 responses

  1. sarah

    Dearest friend, please make a copy of your post today and send it to ALL TPTB at GH…they so need it! You spoke for all of us who are determined to keep the faith and stick it out, and, of course, to write,and call and email and whatever to try to get them
    to go back to the things we love.
    You are an “eagle eye” for spotting that CB tree, and it is totally hilarious that the whole epi is prime example of what is messed up in editing.
    Thank you, thank you…see you tomorrow during showtime, unless they change the plot!

    December 30, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • Trini

      I agree

      December 30, 2010 at 4:28 pm

  2. Trini

    Angelique you are so funny.LOL.:0 I remember that scene with the mystery tree entering the PH. It has been running around my mind for a while. I thought it was soooo random and this week it seemed as if the tree was from that time. Weird. The lack of continuity was so bad this time around, I can’t even justify it in my mind. But I am committed to continue watching. Like Jason, I am choosing to be loyal even if I am mind numbing bored (2007).

    December 30, 2010 at 4:28 pm

  3. Deborah

    Maybe the reason TPTB don’t want to show Jason and Sam having a real Christmas, or Matt and Maxie starting some traditions, is that then they would be obligated to show them every year. They were able to let the reading of the Christmas Story drop because Steve and Alan are gone. Why start something else that would be an “inconvenience” they would be obligated to write every single year (said with tongue planted firmly in cheek)!

    December 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm

  4. Great stuff today Angelique. I remember spotting that tree that day and wondering WTH was that? Then I realized they added that scene with Jason saying he was grateful for being back with Sam. SOOOOOOO CHOPPY! The scenes don’t make any sense any more.

    Don’t know if you read my e-mail the day that Brenda hugged Jason…but, I went crazy. She nuzzled right into that hunky chest, and I was just livid. I realized later that I over-reacted…but, I figured you’d understand.

    Everything you said today (as always) was spot on. I agree. I’ll keep writing and calling. They’re sick of me…I’m sure it.

    Long live JASAM…and their upcoming s/l and baby…please, please, please. I want a proposal SOON…before baby. Sorry, I’m old fashioned. But…having said that, I’ll take a baby without the proposal..just think it would be better with marriage settled first.

    I LOL when you talked about the gifts and not hearing about them or seeing them…but we know Carly gave Jason a pool table FOR THEM. OMG.

    December 30, 2010 at 7:07 pm

  5. Angelique,

    Totally agree with you. You need to send this post to GH and TPTB. We Jasam fans can not give up on them now.

    To you and your family and to all Jasamers out there Have a Happy and Safe New Year. Wishing you all the best in 2011 and to our Jasam also. Hugs and kisses to all of you.

    December 30, 2010 at 9:45 pm

  6. Jessica

    great post! I have been really feeling down about the lack of jasam, but you are right, we still need to support our show.

    Thanks for your beautiful words. I will definately be writing to let the writers know what is important to me.

    December 30, 2010 at 10:45 pm

  7. Traveler

    Bravo…Bravo!!
    This Blog hit home with me in so many ways. Ive watched GH most of my life.. No matter how much I love, like or dislike a character they are a part of my life…. Boy was I reminded of that watching some of them scattered on the ground in the snow after the bus crash…..
    Right now my wish is that TPTB read your blogs and learn from them….
    This GH’er is NOT ready to give up my all time favorite soap and JaSam.. I just hope 2011 brings me back to loving GH again…

    Thanks so much for being here for us!! XOXOXO

    December 31, 2010 at 1:33 am

  8. alwaysaromantic

    Happy New Years EVERYONE!

    Angelique Thank you for your insights you usually can change my perspective! But right now I am at a stand still! I just cannot figure out what GH is doing!Will try my Best to hold on to what may be just around the corner,but how long have we been waiting,hoping!I have and always will look forward to your insights!
    Have a Blessed New Year Everyone!

    December 31, 2010 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

