Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

BROKEN PROMISES AND SECRETS KEPT

What a day in Port Charles yesterday, huh? We should refer to it as Hurdle Day, instead of Hump Day, as there seemed to be sooooooo many hurdles to overcome. Things like Broken Promises and Secrets Kept…

Let’s see if we can’t get over them together, friends.

It seems that “What Happens In Vegas” is bound to happen again. Luke, Tracy, Maya, and Ethan awoke in their Vegas hotel room to a drunken nightmare. There was groping of the wrong people, hangover headaches, and strange bedfellows to deal with. I found myself laughing at those scenes, and really have to say that Luke and Tracy are no Luke and Laura, but they’ve definitely got their own kind of magic, and that’s being a barrel of laughs. I’ve gotta hand it to Tony Geary and Jane Elliott. They really make me believe that they are just having a blast, and I do enjoy their scenes quite a bit. Luke and Tracy managed to make it through their first Vegas night without becoming Mr. & Mrs., but the same cannot be said for Ethan and Maya. Perhaps the only thing missing on this trip was a designated sober person whose soul responsibility was to keep everyone from making important life-altering decisions while in a drunken stupor. So, now that we know who the real Mr. & Mrs. Spencer are, will there be broken promises and secrets kept in order to hide this little indiscretion? Only time will tell.

When I said yesterday that Lucky had left his luckless days behind, I wasn’t kidding! Not only has he left them behind, but I think he has totally become…worthy of his name! Not only did Siobhan stay without that much of a fight, she went and got herself a job, and she’s calling herself his “girl friend”, (not really, but that’s how the territorial Maxie heard it). I really, really love the dynamic between Siobhan and Lucky, but I also really, really love the dynamic between Lucky and Maxie. How many of you didn’t get a kick out of the scene where Maxie said to Lucky, “She smiled at me…SMUGLY, and told me she was in town because of a guy that she liked, and she wanted to see how things went.” What I loved even more was when she said, “Wait, hold on, so so this woman is really your girlfriend when you have been flirting with me this whole time?” Lucky: “We were flirting?” Maxie: “Oh, don’t act like you didn’t notice. We even kissed. Come on, Lucky. I know there’s no way I’m this easy to get over.” I love Maxie’s retelling of things for two reasons: It’s totally exaggerated, AND I think it helps stroke Lucky’s ego. Furthermore, I think it helps remind Lucky that he’s already done the rebound thing, and the destructive behavior thing, and knows what it felt like. Maxie represents the broken promises and secrets kept during a dark time in his life. Sure, they are totally over that, and in a really good place now, and yes – they did even kiss, but it confirms something important to Lucky. Siobhan may help Lucky erase some of the pain Liz and Nik rained down on his life, but it’s a bonus – not the reason he wants to explore things with her. And I think that’s great! I really did like the conversation between Nik and Lucky – from talking about Laura to talking about the betrayal. I love that Nik even said that maybe being with Liz was about replacing Emily, too. I loved that Lucky summed the whole thing up with saying that he and Liz had just outgrown each other. Both brothers undid themselves of her suffocating and toxic hold on their lives with just a few words. How great for them and their relationship! Lucky actually asked Nik for his opinion, and he listened to what Nik said. And best part? He didn’t agree, but he still listened. I am so thankful that this is one more relationship that shows signs of surviving the broken promises and secrets kept that have been Liz’s destructive M.O.

Carly and Jax are headed down that same slippery slope paved with broken promises and secrets kept once again. And also once again, not an ounce of innocence can be found between the two of them! I can give them both credit on at least trying to be good. I mean Jax doesn’t want to upset Carly or his marriage, so he’s trying to stay away from Brenda while getting information about Brenda from a third party – or in his case, it’s actually a fourth party. Carly is also trying, as she did try to go to Jax wit the information about Brenda and Dante first, so that she could justify investigating them further, but Jax didn’t want to hear it. So of course, when all else fails, just lie through your teeth, go back on your word, and do whatever you want – SECRETLY. *sigh* This is like watching a kid play with matches – or watching Cameron gaze longingly at flames. You just know someone’s going to get hurt, but there’s nothing you can do to stop it. I will say this: I have always loved Carly and John’s chemistry…so Jax better proceed with caution!

There was marked improvement in yesterday’s episode of GH, as there were actually several things I liked. However the true Beauty of GH for me was being surprised by seeing our Fair Samantha! Certainly the sun was shining again in Port Charles!

Now…we are about to tread some rising stormy waters on the subject of Jason and Sam, Broken Promises and Secrets Kept, so let’s take a moment and review the safety precautions:

  1. Let’s take it one step at a time; always assessing where we stand.
  2. Listen Carefully. Even in all the noise swirling around us, let’s remember to listen carefully to the important stuff.
  3. Hold on…and don’t let go, no matter what. The objective of passing through the stormy, murky waters is to come out on the other side – safely and TOGETHER!

Let’s take this one step at a time, friends, and assess where Jason and Sam stand. First, we know that either Sam and Jason spent the night together, or talked in the morning, because contrary to popular JIZ belief, Sam was not there behind Jason’s back or to get information he had withheld. She was there to try and help figure this out, and be a fresh set of ears and eyes FOR Jason. Furthermore, this quells any speculation that Jason using Brenda as her own bait was a SECRET. Jason shares everything that he’s involved in with Sam. She is his partner in life, and in work, and there are no SECRETS between them because he hasn’t kept anything he’s done from her, and vice versa.

Let’s listen carefully. Jason realizes that this is taking a toll on Sam and their relationship. The first thing he asked her was, “Are you okay?” which is a sign that they are still in tune with one another. As clueless as Jason can be, and yes, he is still clueless, they are still able to read each other, and that is a good sign. Another important thing here is that when Jason said he had some new information, Sam asked, “Can you tell me about it?” She didn’t say, “Tell me.” I think that’s important because it shows that Sam does recognize, even if it hurts her, that Jason may have been told something in confidence, and that he takes that very seriously. She may hate it – like we do, but she understands how Jason’s mind works. Jason keeps things in neat little folders in his mind. When it comes to work, he doesn’t allow the information he has collected to get all jumbled up together. I am happy that Jason is keeping a cool, even calculating head about this situation. He is investigating, gathering information, asking questions, and trying to get to the bottom of things.

When it comes to love, it’s a different story, which is why his reactions and his instincts were off when he was dealing with Michael’s drama, or when Sam was taken by Franco. Even though he is keeping his word, and technically not keeping a secret from Sam, because it is not his secret to tell, Jason knew the minute it came out of his mouth that it had hurt her, and that for Jason is hard to work with, and it is one of the reasons Jason once said he was afraid of what falling in love with Sam would mean. It’s hard to not share everything with the woman he loves. It hurt Jason to hurt Sam…again. That he immediately noticed he’d hurt her was also a good sign, especially since he hasn’t really been very good at picking up on the things that hurt Sam lately.

Finally, we need to hold on and not let go…no matter what. This too shall pass. There are so many haters out there, waiting like dogs for some scraps of negativity about our couple. I refuse to throw them any. It’s one thing to express our frustration and anger at Jason as the strong women we all are, but it’s another thing to start tweeting that JaSam is over, that they should be over, or anything else that gets those “female dogs” excited. As I tweeted yesterday, I will let the JIZ fans herald this as their BEGINNING OF THE END fantasy, but I will not feed the partygoers!

We feed them every time we put our momentary distress and temporary despair out there. Yesterday, there was a pending message from a coward who made up an email address that no long exists, so she could post a list of all the “TWEETS OF DESPAIR” these crazies with NO LIVES had taken the time to compile! I had to laugh. I mean, listen, I believe in my couple so much that I put my name on a blog where I celebrate their LOVE STORY daily. I’m loud and proud about JaSam. I don’t need to hide behind fake email accounts or twitter accounts to whisper about them. If they really believed in their pairing, I would think they’d stop hiding!

Don’t feed them, and let them look for scraps among themselves and their delusions.

When we look back at Jason’s life, and the times he has trusted his heart to someone, he always regretted it because in the end, it was the secrets he felt he had to keep that became insurmountable to them. Does no one remember Liz walking out on Jason when she found out he had kept Sonny’s being alive a secret? I guess the JIZ side has forgotten, but I haven’t. Courtney also couldn’t take the secrecy, so she would sabotage Jason’s work because she couldn’t trust what she didn’t know or understand. Until she too walked out.

Those were the things that made Jason afraid to let himself fall in love again. Until Sam. That is why I will never understand why any JaSam fan would endorse Sam walking out and doing the one thing she said she would never do, when Jason is doing the one thing he always said he’d do, and tried to warn her about. (1/11/05) All along, and through the years, Sam has proven true to her word that she understood that there would be some things, as long as they don’t directly involve Jason, that he couldn’t share. Until Brenda.

The truth is, my friends, that Sam has a kept secret herself. If Sam is hurt over this, it is because of their past hurts, and because of the near total destruction of any hope they had after Liz had Jason lying and keeping secrets about himself. After all, Jason and Liz’s farce of a relationship was built on lies and secrets and broken promises to others.

Of course because they’ve never addressed those issues, Sam is worried about the connection she thinks there is between Jason and Sam, but because she still hasn’t shared that with Jason, it helps feed his cluelessness.

Do I think that Jason should tell Sam? Absolutely! Does he owe her this after the number of ways she has supported him, been patient, and risked her life? You bet your ass!

But if we listened carefully, we heard that when Jason asked Brenda to share her secret, she said she wasn’t sure if she could trust him. Jason knew that secret could be the one thing keeping him from completing this latest Superhero Mission. And to a man who is in complete denial about having a Superhero Complex, he was willing to make any promise to get the “key” to possibly unlocking the great mysteries of this mission. Even if it meant giving Brenda his word, because to Jason it is ONLY a means to and end.

To Sam, it may seem like THE END of the road.

But to us…to those of us who survived the Summer Of Sleaze, The Disastrous ’07, and The Year of Boredom To Tears in ’08, this should just be a “rock in our shoe” along this amazing journey in the Greatest Love Story on Daytime.

We have to hold on for Sam! We have to not let go of the JaSam LOVE we fought for, hoped for, prayed for, and finally got back.

Don’t give in so easily. We’re made of better stuff than that! Let’s appreciate the angst that is not in the form of infidelities or ONSs, the way it’s written for other characters…

Let’s hold on, and not let go; NO MATTER WHAT!

Love you guys,

Angelique

 ********************************************************************************************************

THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY

November 11

2004: http://bit.ly/9LZ8Nn Jason was Sam’s lifeline during this time, and he was so gentle and loving and patient. These are the moments to hold onto during the “times of famine”. LOL  *Tears*

2005: http://bit.ly/cNCmNE Dear God, Sam really went through hell during Sweeps of ’05! And still might have been easier to watch then this crap with Brenda! I know!!!!!

 2008: http://bit.ly/cZuMUA Jason wouldn’t rest until (his) Fair Samantha was safe and sound! The Spin karate scenes made me giggle!

2009: http://bit.ly/46v6Zd I still remember my exact reaction to these scenes! What a great day in JaSam History! 😉

I WANT TPTB TO KEEP BUILDING JASAM’S HISTORY, DON’T YOU? TELL THEM JUST THAT!

___________________________________________________________________________________

Making A Difference For JaSam…Every Day! 

VOTE: http://abc.soapsindepth.com/2010/10/cast-your-vote.html (Don’t get lazy on voting here, friends! We have moved them up, but we need to be religious about voting, and we need to vote from every available electronic device 😉)

AND also: http://www.soapoperadigest.com/polls/netgh/ 

Call: ABC: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583 

TWEET OUR FAVORITES: Tweet Steve and Kelly and try to counteract all of the negativity dumped there daily! Let them know what real fans look like, and let them know how much we enjoy ALL OF THEIR scenes, ESPECIALLY JaSam Scenes! Steve’s Official Twitter Is: @1SteveBurton Kelly’s OFFICIAL Twitter Is: @KellyMonaco1

SOAPNET: Go on SOAPnet.com and share your favorite JaSam Storyline! http://bit.ly/azJAkN Please make a commitment to this project! Especially since the “other side” is filling it up with GARBAGE!

Facebook GH FEEDBACK PAGE: http://on.fb.me/cpmSpo FLOOD THAT PAGE WITH POSITIVE JASAM LOVE DAILY! THIS is the page that gets attention from those who matter! PLEASE, please, please remember not to make it only about wanting JaSam – that gets overlooked as “fanbase crap”. Use solid, honest, but tactful language letting them know what you think the strengths were on that particular day, and if that’s Steve and Kelly, that’s fine – but this is NOT the place to go all ga-ga because we got some make-out time. Remember to use their names (character/actor) separately, i.e. Kelly and Steve instead of Stelly, and Jason and Sam instead of JaSam. You can also calmly state what you think the weaknesses were, such as overused characters, storyline inconsistencies, or not enough use of the history of our dearest characters and vets. EVERY PHONE CALL, EMAIL, FACEBOOK POST COUNTS – SO REALLY GIVE IT YOUR ALL! 

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Remember to GUSH, THANK THEM, and SHOW LOVE for what we’re getting with our JaSam! PLEASE: Leave out frustrations, bashing, anger, and other couples!

Bob, Guza, Head Writer
Jill Farren-Phelps, Exec. Producer 
Elizabeth Korte, Editor
c/o ABC-TV 
4151 Prospect Avenue  
Hollywood, CA  90027
 
Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair 
Disney Media Networks Division
 
500 S. Buena Vista St. 
Burbank, CA  91521

In the coming days, we should have some more to share, but get to writing or typing those letters A.S.A.P.!

Our couple is counting on US!

😉

11 responses

  1. YOU’RE ON FIRE GIRL…AND I LOVE IT! STANDING OVATION..THAT’S ALL I CAN ADD.

    BY THE WAY….WAIT UNTIL YOU SEE OUR SAMMY TODAY…AND THE PRIDE ON JASON’S FACE AS HE WATCHES HIS GIRL.

    I FEEL LIKE I NEED TO PICK UP THE PHONE AND TALK TO YOU! LIKE NOW!

    LOVE YOU…YOUR WIT, YOUR WISDOM, YOUR DEDICATION, YOUR COMMITMENT, YOUR BLOG!!!

    November 11, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    • Ha ha! Thanks, Darlene! I feel that way all the time. Sometime something will happen on GH, and I’ll think a comment one of you left me! I am so grateful for all of you! Really, I am.
      I hope that comes through on my blog, because there’s not one day that I don’t smile at the though of communicating with you guys!
      Love you too! So much!
      xoxoxox

      November 11, 2010 at 11:40 pm

  2. alwaysaromantic

    Just when I am ready to throw in the towel,you put me right on track again! And our Jasam history lessons always stand for a good reminder why we love these 2 so very much!Thanks Angelique for your words of wisdom as far as I am concerned GH needs to offer you and Cam a job!!!!!! How are you doing!!????

    November 11, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    • Thanks! I’m glad these posts serve for something other than to get things off my chest! 😉
      I would love to work with Cam! Something tells me that if we did, Sam would be wearing
      red satin this time of year…as Cam! 😉
      I’m doing fine, thanks for asking! Taking it one day at a time!
      HUGS….Angelique

      November 11, 2010 at 11:36 pm

  3. mique

    I love reading your blog. I read it faithfully everyday. i love jasam, but lately they are frustating me. it seems like everytime their story gets starting moving forward that it stalls. everyone keeps saying that they story is coming but it nevers does. when i am feeling like i am over this show i come and read your blog and it pulls me back in.

    Please keep up the great work.

    November 11, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    • That is such a nice thing to say…THANK YOU! 😉
      I really do appreciate you taking the time to read daily, and especially to comment.
      Everyday when I look to see how many people read it, I wonder about who they all were!
      I love hearing from you guys! It makes it so special for me!
      I’ll do my best to keep the JaSam Love going! Hang in there!
      xoxoxox
      Angelique

      November 11, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  4. trini

    Love your blog A –
    Today’s eppy was awesome, especially Sam and Jason. Sam was on fire; right on point with everything she said to Brenda. Jason was so proud of her. Jason loves him some SAM.

    Jasam rocks! They are a forever couple 🙂

    On another note. Loving Ethan and Maya.

    November 11, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    • Jason does love him some Sam…and what’s not to love?
      She’s in a class all by herself!
      JaSam Is A Forever Couple!
      Thanks for reading and for your support!
      Much love,
      Angelique

      November 11, 2010 at 11:51 pm

  5. Traveler

    Thanks for the Wonderful Blogs so far this week. I got a bit behind but Im all caught up.
    This JaSam Fan will NEVER give up on our couple. I know right now its just Angst and I believe JaSam will come of this even stronger……

    November 11, 2010 at 10:27 pm

  6. jenn

    I was SO proud of Sam for finally sticking up for herself. My husband may not always like what I have to say, but he always knows where I stand. I think this was a key step for Sam in ending this nightmare. After watching today, I’m hoping Jason got the point, though there was one statement that bothered me. I’ll wait to see if you mention tomorrow.

    I do agree that Jason was loving Sam today. I HOPE he understands that he needs to put her first, but I KNOW he knows that he loves her and is lucky to have her. When Sam was yelling at Brenda, the look on Jason’s face was amazing. It said “yes, that is the woman I love and this is why I love her.” PRICELESS!

    Thanks, Angelique, for another awesome blog.

    Jenn

    PS. Yeah! I love surprises!

    November 11, 2010 at 11:23 pm

    • Thanks, Jenn for all the support.
      I too was thrilled when Sam finally stopped being so understanding. I loved that Jason was addressing only Sam when he spoke, and I got teary when he looked at her with all that pride and love…it was just amazing.
      I am really thankful for Steven and Kelly’s incredible talent to make all of that happen in 2 minutes, because truly they inspire me!
      Look for your surprise on tomorrow’s blog post! 😉
      Hugs,
      Angelique

      November 11, 2010 at 11:49 pm

Leave a Reply

