Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Happy First Anniversary, Bella Mafia!

My beloved GHers, and Bella Mafia Readers, today marks the one year anniversary of when I posted my very first blog post. Wow! I thought today deserved a little recognition (hence the new look of the site).

*Thanks to my friend, Cam, for sending me this pic a while back. I knew then it would be the pic I’d use! <3*

A whole year has gone by since I started this project at the urging of  – BELIEVE IT OR NOT – my neurosurgeon. I know, how “GENERAL HOSPITAL” of me! Did it make you think of Dr. Patrick Drake? (To be fair, he is just as HOT!)

😉

It’s strange but true, because after several major back surgeries, lots and lots of pain medications, and staying home alone all day as opposed to working as I’d done since my early teens, I noticed that I was forgetting words.

Really…no joke. I would be talking or writing a letter to my child’s teacher, and would just “lose” the word I was trying to say. So, my surgeon assured me that it was just an effect of the combination of so many serious meds, and lack of stimulation to a part of my brain that used to be very active. You see, I’ve always been a Literacy Lover! I love words, and writing, and have always been involved in both; not just in the classroom, but out of it as well – school newspaper editor, public relations leader, letter writer, secret wanna-be novelist! I just love writing! So when my surgeon suggested that I find something I love to talk about and start a blog that would require me to consistently force myself to find and use words, Bella Mafia: The Beauty of GH was born.

You know what, stimulating my brain was just one tiny benefit! Over the past year, I have made many friends through my Bella Mafia blog – friends that I just can’t imagine not having now! So many of you have been there for me not just to talk about our favorite soap, but to encourage me, to talk to about a million other things, to pray for me as I faced the last SIX surgeries, and to share lots of laughs and good times with! I am also very proud of the fact that together, we have helped each other stay positive and supportive of our favorite couple throughout the past year!

I just love you guys! *tears of happiness*

I hope that we’ll have something to talk about for a long time to come, but just know that you guys have been more to me than just fellow GHers, and I appreciate you all so much…

*sniffles*

Okay…now let’s get down to business! 

Monday’s GH was interesting, as it seems we may finally be getting some storylines not directly related to Brenda. I say, a Big, Fat Finally!

Carly and Claire tied up their ridiculous conversation about Carly playing match-maker for Claire and her former husband, Sonny. Then Carly stood there as her current husband, Jax, asked to talk to Claire about…Brenda. *sigh* Thankfully, it seems that conversation was a good thing for us JaSammers, as it seems that Claire has assigned Dante to be Brenda’s bodyguard. (I just have to say that the day any politician in my town uses taxpayer dollars, and community police to provide security for a Has Been Supermodel, I would start a freakin’ revolution!) However, as long as it ultimately gets Brenda out of The Penthouse, I’m happy to hear that Port Charles’ Politics are as corrupt as their Bensonhurst Cops.

Also kinda corrupt and really unethical are the medical staff over at General Hospital. Maya, and now Monica have agreed to let Tracy believe Luke is near death by supporting his Fake Heart Attack Scam #17. Oh well, as long as it helps the greater good – which is to have Tracy be less of a bitch, then I guess it’s all good. *rolls eyes*

My favorite scam of the day? Liz trying to get her millions back. Does anyone remember how many times we heard Liz tell Nikolas that she didn’t want his filthy money? Yeah, well that was before she blew Jason’s $5 million. Now, this is for my Jiz fans, who stop by to read what I’m writing about so that they can then attempt to leave nasty comments (I’m always going to delete Sam or Kelly bashing comments, so I really don’t know why you bother!) Read carefully, because this pertains to your theory. Liz went to Nikolas and told him about the lost money because as the fathers of her children, they had a right to know. Hmmm. Not once did I hear a Jason mention! That is because Liz no longer acknowledges Jason as Jake’s father… The only writing I see on the wall is that Jason and Liz are, have been, and will continue to, live separate lives, in spite of Jason mistakenly donating his sperm to the project. Liz didn’t say, “And I will have to tell Jason, since he’s Jake’s father, and it is was money he gave me to provide for his future.” She completely behaved as though Jason is already serving a life sentence, and he’s not available for comment. Don’t get me wrong – NOTHING MAKES ME HAPPIER, but I just don’t see why people are so angry at Jason for not writing her another check! How’s he supposed to know that Liz is even less trustworthy than he thinks she is? *shaking my head*

Well, Siobhan got an earful, didn’t she? Can I just interject here and say that I completely adored that little scene of Nikolas trying to hide Siobhan’s presence? Very funny. Tyler did a great job looking genuinely flustered. First Siobhan heard Liz’s confession to Nikolas, and then to Lucky, who said it better than I could have imagined: “Maybe it was money well spent” if it got Liz to recognize that they are over. Wow. Lucky tells Liz that he and Nikolas will  continue to provide for Cam, Jake, and Aiden, and that they will be fine. Liz had to take comfort in that, because Lucky wasn’t handing out any other kind. Siobhan finally revealed herself after Liz’s departure, and I have to say that I liked the entire exchange afterwards, including Nikolas. Siobhan tells Lucky to get a grip because it wasn’t as though they were talking about their sex life. I wanted to tell Siobhan that Lucky and Liz talking about their sex life would have been even more boring than their conversation about college funds!

Too bad Siobhan wasn’t the only one to get an earful…while Lucky and Jason were meeting on the not-so-private docks, where secrets and secret encounters are always discovered, the Balkan’s man recorded their meeting and sent notice to The Balkan. Oh boy, I was kinda hoping that Lucky would actually get this one right. Oh well…

I wonder if GH should just rename The Penthouse and call it the Temple of Brenda. It seems that the only people who come there now come simply to be in her divine presence (I say with every ounce of sarcasm I can muster). First Lulu, who surprised me when she declared that it’s her job to get whatever Kate wants – since I always thought that was Maxie’s job. But anyway, Lulu was there, pretending to be Maxie, and within 5 seconds she let Brenda know that the gelato lovin’ cop she’s been daydreaming about for weeks is HER MAN. She then grovels at Brenda’s feet and tries to get her to say yes to being on the cover of Crimson with the same annoying fervor as the guy at the mall who is always trying to get me to buy the “best nail treatment from the Dead Sea”. I need to know – am I the only person who finds Lulu that annoying? Just wondering. Next comes Jax, who rushed right over to see Brenda, regardless of Sam’s look of surprise and mild consternation. Brenda, obviously channeling a 17-year-old waiting for her crush to stop by, rushed right out the door with him. Jax, who just minutes before was trying to convince his wife that she is the only woman in his life sat with Brenda  reminiscing and sharing tender moments. Of course, Sonny finds them just as Jax touches Brenda’s face. (Stop it!)

It seems more Sam scenes were cut, as we never got to see her awkward conversation with Brenda. We did however, get to see Sam in Jason’s arms, and we did get to hear him talk to her in that oh-so-sexy way he uses only on her. “Don’t do that,” he whispered when Sam said she has been staying away because of Brenda. Yum! Apparently, Jason had time to tell Sam about Lucky’s plan, and tells her that baiting The Balkan is the plan, and that if it works out, Brenda will be gone. This should serve to reassure Sam even more that Jason wants Brenda gone, and their life back.  Sam tells Jason that it’s a workable plan, but he needs to use her instead of Brenda. Well, at least Sonny and Sam agree on something – because Sonny had just told Jason that Brenda is not to be used as bait. Of course Jason would understand that because he knows that Sonny loves Brenda and just wants her out of harm’s way. Which is exactly how Jason feels about Sam. You know what I love about Steve and Kelly? Not only can they make less than two minutes really sweet, they can also say so much with just the way they look at each other. It was clear to me that Jason heard Sam’s suggestion and immediately registered fear, danger, and a Helllllllll NO, all in about 5 seconds!

What happens next will change a lot. Hopefully, it will change the trajectory of Jason and Sam’s story, as it has been pretty lost among everyone else’s story for weeks now. I am hoping that tomorrow’s Encore Episode of “JaSam’s Undying Love” will give us a glimpse into the future that we can hold onto with both hands. I am also hoping that we will each call in every favor owed to us and tell everyone we know to tune in and to go to ABC.com to view the episode there as well. YouTube views don’t get monitored by TPTB.

I have high expectations…what about you?

Until tomorrow…

Angelique

********************************************************************************************************

THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY

October 26

2005:  http://bit.ly/9wOBZ4 Sam has never been insecure…

2006: http://bit.ly/ao1h90  I LOVE SAM! ( I could’ve shot Sonny and thrown Liz off that roof in this episode! Ugh!)

2009: http://bit.ly/arqNwH 

I WANT TPTB TO KEEP BUILDING JASAM’S HISTORY, DON’T YOU? TELL THEM JUST THAT!

________________________________________________________________________

Making A Difference For JaSam…Every Day! 

VOTE: http://abc.soapsindepth.com/2010/10/cast-your-vote.html (KEEP VOTING!)

AND also: http://www.soapoperadigest.com/polls/netgh/ 

Call: ABC: 818-460-7477, Press 1, then 2, then 3, then 464, GH LA: 323-671-4583 

TWEET OUR FAVORITES: Tweet Steve and Kelly and try to counteract all of the negativity dumped there daily! Let them know what real fans look like, and let them know how much we enjoy ALL OF THEIR scenes, ESPECIALLY JaSam Scenes! Steve’s Official Twitter Is: @1SteveBurton Kelly’s OFFICIAL Twitter Is: @KellyMonaco1

SOAPNET: Go on SOAPnet.com and share your favorite JaSam Storyline! http://bit.ly/azJAkN Please make a commitment to this project! Especially since the “other side” is filling it up with GARBAGE!

Facebook GH FEEDBACK PAGE: http://on.fb.me/cpmSpo FLOOD THAT PAGE WITH POSITIVE JASAM LOVE DAILY! THIS is the page that gets attention from those who matter! PLEASE, please, please remember not to make it only about wanting JaSam – that gets overlooked as “fanbase crap”. Use solid, honest, but tactful language letting them know what you think the strengths were on that particular day, and if that’s Steve and Kelly, that’s fine – but this is NOT the place to go all ga-ga because we got some make-out time. Remember to use their names (character/actor) separately, i.e. Kelly and Steve instead of Stelly, and Jason and Sam instead of JaSam. You can also calmly state what you think the weaknesses were, such as overused characters, storyline inconsistencies, or not enough use of the history of our dearest characters and vets. EVERY PHONE CALL, EMAIL, FACEBOOK POST COUNTS – SO REALLY GIVE IT YOUR ALL! 

Email: http://abc.go.com/site/contact-us

Snail Mail: Remember to GUSH, THANK THEM, and SHOW LOVE for what we’re getting with our JaSam! PLEASE: Leave out frustrations, bashing, anger, and other couples!

Bob, Guza, Head Writer
Jill Farren-Phelps, Exec. Producer 
Elizabeth Korte, Editor
c/o ABC-TV 
4151 Prospect Avenue  
Hollywood, CA  90027
 
Anne Sweeney, Co-Chair 
Disney Media Networks Division
 
500 S. Buena Vista St. 
Burbank, CA  91521

In the coming days, we should have some more to share, but get to writing or typing those letters A.S.A.P.!

Our couple is counting on US!

😉

12 responses

  1. trini

    What a great testimony! All I can say is thank you and AMEN. You have given us so much of your heart. Love, love reading this blog! You are such a blessing to us and we appreciate this gift so much.

    It was wonderful to see Sam yesterday. She looked gorgeous, BTW. It was like my BFF was back. Love Jasam! Can’t wait to see how this all plays out. Lulu was her usual insensitive and selfish self. Carly is sad and weak (not her character IMO). I loved the interaction between Lucky-Siobhan-Nic. The dialouge was smart, witty and so adult. LIZ who??? I even enjoyed Maya and Ethan-they have a fun connection. Don’t like the Tracy con, but I liked seeing Monica also. The other characters on yesterday’s show are not worth mentioning.

    Have a blessed day fellow Jasamers!!!

    October 26, 2010 at 8:39 am

  2. luv4jasam

    Before I start reading, I just want to say, I LOVE LOVE LOVE the new look of the blog site! Beautiful! and such a great picture of Jasam. So much love.

    October 26, 2010 at 10:28 am

  3. luv4jasam

    As usual a wonderful amazing blog. I love that you gave a history to how you started this blog to those of us that came upon your blog not too long ago and was not there from the beginning.

    Wow! Angelique, so many surgeries. I am so sorry to hear that and I wish you the best of health.

    My favorite moment besides Jasam (of course!) was Liz with Nik and Lucky. She totally came out looking pathetic and she did not fool us with the “You have the right to know because you’re the father” routine. It was totally her style to play victim, then claim she wants to be independent and didn’t need hand out money with her usual ‘frontal’ protestations, and then of course, we know that the men will insist, and in the end, she will accept the money! LOL! Totally love Lucky’s line “then it was money well spent”! Definitely the line of the day!

    October 26, 2010 at 10:43 am

  4. sarah

    Love the new look,and happy anniversary! We are all blessed to have you, and have you share your thoughts,and your life, with us. You are an inspiration when we get down, which is all too often. You also give us a good reality check on what is really important. We all will try our best to give positive love to Jasam by calls, letters, posts. And also to send positive healing vibes and love to you……..Take care Angelique, you have become very dear to us all.

    October 26, 2010 at 11:38 am

  5. Angie

    Angelique,

    Congratulations & Happy Anniversary!!! I’ve been following your blog almost at the beginning. Love your insights not only about GH and its characters but also on life. Your love for life, family & GH is so clearly demonstrated through your daily blog. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your wonderful gift of writing and wisdom. Take good care of your health. Will continue to pray for healing and speedy recovery for you.

    October 26, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  6. Lissa

    Happy Anniversary! Love the new look, love your insight, love this blog! Keep up the great work!

    October 26, 2010 at 2:02 pm

  7. alwaysaromantic

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY AND THANK YOU FOR COMING INTO OUR JASAM LOVING LIVES!!!!!!!! I absolutely LOVE the new layout!I hope you are doing well (healing takes time)!The words you take time to share always brings a smile to me and allows me to appreciate Sam and Jasons Love Story that much more! Once again Thank You for your thoughts,words and insight!

    October 26, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  8. JasamFan

    Angelique,
    Blog looks awesome you did an amazing job! So happy I found my way into your world, it always brings a smile to my face and quite often a tear.

    You my friend are a treasure.. Love ya!

    Becky

    October 26, 2010 at 10:28 pm

  9. Jessica

    Congrats!!! You have done a wonderful job, I love coming here to read about my favourite couple and soap opera. You have a way with words 🙂

    PS. Love the new look !

    October 26, 2010 at 11:49 pm

  10. Karlene

    I know that this is a day late but HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO BELLA MAFIA!! 🙂 I love the new look. The picture of Jasam and the skyline is very beautiful. My only hope for the future is that the Penthouse is re-taken over by Jason and that Brenda moves into the planned apt that Jax is building for her. It’s b/c of Brenda that Sam wasn’t around b/c she said it on Monday’s and THAT HAS TO STOP!!!!! Only having Sam on once a week was unbearable. Anywho, many blessings to you, Angelique, for coming into our lives with this blog b/c you are writing in it what so many of us feel. Many prayers are also being sent your way so that you don’t have anymore health problems (although if your surgeon looked like Patrick Drake, I wouldn’t mind seeing him again.) 😉
    JASAM Love Always,
    Karlene

    October 27, 2010 at 5:58 pm

  11. sandy

    After watching the repeat show from 5 years ago, it is amazing to see just how BAD this show is now and just how poorly Jasam are written.Where is this couple that we saw on screen yesterday, that were so in love, that Jason was willing to leave a part of him with Sam so she wouldnt be alone or forget him..where is that couple?Now I see someone who is taking Sam for granted, and I hope she leta him know it at some point, this all consuming Brenda crap has to stop.Let her go to the PH across the hallway, why should Sam be staying away from his place because of her?and why is Jason NOT going to Sam’s place to see her?
    Where is the show that featured so many people like we saw yesterday?When did it become the one man show, or the one s/l show?Can we please cut back on the DANTE and Brenda in evey s/l please?

    October 28, 2010 at 10:47 am

  12. sandy

    I forgot, Happy Anniversary, I love reading your blogs, they are so right on and I LOVE, LOVE your Sam and Jasam love

    October 28, 2010 at 10:48 am

Leave a Reply

