Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

WE SIGNED ON FOR WHATEVER CAME NEXT…

Friends, I was reminded as I watched GH yesterday why it was a good idea for me to post the day after an episode, and not the day of. Not only is it hard for me to dedicate the amount of time needed for the blog in the afternoons while my kids are home, but sometimes I just need the time to take a step back and take a deep breath before sharing my thoughts. Not always can I react in positivity without thinking it through and looking at it from a different perspective, especially when most of us were expecting something else. 

However, I’ve learned that sometimes the unexpected can be just as wonderful! Thanks, Jason and Sam for teaching me that!

It’s been a bit of a downer not having much of Jason and Sam the past couple of days, but we’re troopers, and it just makes what we do get all the more special. Besides…I know we never thought we signed on for 3 minute scenes, but to quote Sam, “We did sign on for whatever came next”… So, let’s be as strong as Sam, and hold on. Like Jason, our favorite couple is totally worth it!

😉

I’ll catch up on everyone else in Port Charles tomorrow…for now, let me share what I’ve been thinking about Jason and Sam’s talk. I was watching with my 17-year-old when Sam “popped the question”, and she looked at me and said, “What was that?” Of course, she wanted Jason to do the asking, and umm, let’s be honest – so did most of us.

For us girls, it’s important that HE pops the question. It’s how most of us “roll”, how we’ve been raised, how we’ve been trained by mothers, grandmothers…society. But let’s face it, Sam had none of that, and she doesn’t fit that mold. In fact, the reason most of us love Sam is because she is a hot, fearless, independent, ass-kicking chick, and most of us would love to be her, if only for a day!

Sam has been knocked down by life more than once. She was even knocked down by Jason. She came into this second chance relationship with her knees just about knocking in fear. In order to get her to take that chance, this time around Jason has done the pursuing. The reassuring. The declaring of love. The hand-holding, the talking it out, the slow pace…all becuase he doesn’t want to rush Sam or scare her off. Sam voiced her fears and her concerns at every turn, and Jason – thank goodness – heard her.

I think I know where the writers were going with this. (I may not have been thrilled about it, but it does make sense) Jason is in prison. He’s feeling guilty about Michael, and he’s feeling guilty and sorry about hurting Sam, and leaving her. Jason showed Sam (and us) once more during yesterday’s conversation that he wouldn’t hold it against Sam if she felt she couldn’t take it anymore and wanted to end things. In his vulnerability, he also showed his deepest fear.

Friends, Jason asking Sam to marry him while he’s in prison would feel like selfishness to him! It would be too much to ask of her as far as he’s concerned. Furthermore, the topic of marriage has come up in front of Jason and Sam, and Sam has vehemently shot it down.  At Baby Josslyn’s christening party, Sam apologized to Jason about Molly “being out of line” for brining it up. It was Jason, folks, who asked why it would be out of line, since he loved Sam. (Both scenes here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=upV7P2T113U)

Jason wants to marry Sam! In fact, Jason would be marrying Sam right now if he were only thinking about what he wanted. Thankfully, his love for her is bigger than what he wants.

What we saw yesterday was Jason and Sam loving each other enough to put the other person first. Sam was trying to reassure Jason that she’s in it for the long haul, even if that meant throwing caution (and all of her fears) to the wind. And Jason was just trying to let Sam know that just her love is enough. What a man!

After much thought and consideration of who Jason and Sam really are, and what they’ve already been through and learned, I have to say that their marriage talk was just BEAUTIFUL!

No complaints here! I will wait for “whatever comes next” with a smile on my face, and hope in my heart! I encourage all of you to do the same.

After all, yesterday Jason and Sam gave us one more FABULOUS and CHERISHABLE memory that we can look back on as A DAY IN JASAM HISTORY with love and pride! So much more than I can say for some other couples….

Much love…Angelique

***************************************************************************************

“THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY” JUNE 2nd

2004: http://bit.ly/9R3z92 I was in love with them already at this point!

2005: http://bit.ly/cplce1 How cute is Jason? “I”m not going anywhere!”

2006: http://bit.ly/9gukiV Heartbreaking, but can’t deny the love!

2008: http://bit.ly/afY6Qd This is when I knew they were on their way back! And just look at Jason’s reaction to hearing Sam’s laughter!  YAY!

12 responses

  1. couchpotato7

    The boards may have gone crazy..but..I Loved thier scenes. I saw the new Sam with a foundation of respect for herself, family she relys on and a job she loves. She has regained her independence and self confidence. She trusts in the love and relationship that she and Jason have built and SHE’s not going anywhere. I still can’t watch 06-07 because of Jason and Alexis but knowing that the woman who lost it all in a single gunshot, act of self destruction and self hatred and a bad Choice by Jason has come back STRONGER and BETTER then ever Works for me.

    I can wait for my Wedding when it’s about thier love and commitment TO EACH OTHER and not a need to connect and hold on during this nightmare.

    June 2, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  2. Ro

    I loved the scene with Jason and Sam on Tuesday. It is unbeleiveable how much chemistry those two have and how much they convey in a 3 min scene how much Jason and Sam love each other.

    I really liked how comfortable and confident enough Sam was to talk to Jason about maariage and also that Jason was willing to do anything for her.

    I cannot wait for what comes next. Love this couple!

    Ro

    June 2, 2010 at 11:54 pm

  3. Traveler

    Thanks for the Wonderful Blog and This day in JaSam History!!!
    Tuesdays’s JaSam had me smiling ear to ear and made my heart so happy!!
    Sam was too cute!! Per the Spoilers – I didnt think I would like it that she was the one that wanted to get married… But OMG – Did Kelly pull it off or what… Thought Sam was perfect and so cute asking Jason like she did…. It was actually GREAT seeing Jason’s reaction and his concern for Sam!!

    June 3, 2010 at 12:25 am

  4. Mary

    You hit the nail right on the head. Both were trying to put the other person first. It’s nice coming here to read your insights. Thanks, Mary

    June 3, 2010 at 5:40 am

  5. Okay Angelique…you made me cry. I felt EXACTLY the same way you did about the entire scene between Jasam and the marriage talk. I’d only like to add a couple of thoughts.

    When Jason thought Sam might be talking about “breaking up”..the fear was in his eyes. When she shifted to “suggesting” marriage…his face lit up..in fact, he looked like he was blushing, and he looked very excited mixed with his reservations. When Sam withdrew her suggestion, Jason looked somewhat disappointed. I’ve watched the tape over and over again. She took him by surprise with the proposal, and she also took him by surprise when she withdrew it. His face says it all.

    You put it so beautifullly regarding Sam’s background and her “kick ass” persona. Jason is in awe of her. He looks at her like she is a treasure, and, of course, she is. No woman has ever loved him this much and no man has ever loved Sam with his whole heart.

    Jason has turned into a very expressive person with Sam. He’s able to verbalize his feelings unlike his former self. Sam does this for him. Sam is not fearful about danger, risks, etc…except with her heart. Jason has done this to Sam. She never opened her heart to anyone before Jason, and he hurt her. This suggestion of marriage was a HUGE step for Sam (as you said), and it was written all over Jason’s face when she threw that curve ball at him. I think he showed surprise, joy and concern for her….as you said. Both of them being completely unselfish.

    When the actual formal marriage proposal comes…I feel certain it will come from Jason…straight from his heart. They deserve to be happy, and we, their devoted fans, will see what we have been waiting for. THIS time, I feel confident we’ll actually see our beautiful Sam and Jason taking their wedding vows. It’ll be a very special day on gh….a long awaited day for so many of us.

    Thank you for your thoughts. They were amazing, touching and spot on.

    Looking forward to more of our beautiful couple. They’re worth the wait. They’re perfection!

    Reply
    Leave a Reply
    Click here to cancel reply.
    Name (required)

    E-mail (required)

    Website

    Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

    Notify me of new posts via email.

    June 3, 2010 at 8:10 am

  6. Forgot to mention the sexy lead-in line coming from Jason…”How bad do I want to kiss you right now”..THUD!

    I thought to myself…this is going to be good, and boy was it.

    June 3, 2010 at 10:56 am

  7. JasamFan

    Aww.. they are simply amazing. Jason loves his Sam and nothing or no one will ever pull them apart again.

    Can’t stop smiling, loved everything about their conversation, and how they can say so much without speaking a single word!

    Sam is Jasons heart!

    So happy to have you back Angelique, this summer is going to be an amazing ride for our couple, and I am glad your renos are done and you will be here to share your thoughts with us!

    Peace and Love

    June 3, 2010 at 11:54 am

  8. trini

    I’m in – signed in for whatever comes next 😉

    June 3, 2010 at 2:16 pm

  9. sarah

    Thanks, Angelique, for putting to rest any questions I might have had about our couple and that scene. As I said before to someone, these 2 can show more love, desire and longing with a table between them than most couples do with a bed and all the trappings to go with it………they are great. SB and KM are truly good and work perfectly together. This love story deserves a happy ending (too often not shown on soaps) and we hope when this storyline is done with that they get theirs. Hawaii, on the beach, them, just them.
    Thank you……….love this blog……….

    June 3, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    • THANK YOU SARAH! I love you guys…tons!
      Hawaii, here we come! LOL!

      June 6, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  10. alwaysaromantic

    First I want to Thank You Angelique for taking the time to convey in words about this fantastic couple! I needed to watch the “marriage talk” a few to times to try and grasp the meaning! You were able to help me do this with your perception! Jason and Sam were “Give and Take” from both there point of views! At times I get very impatient with their s/l but as you so put it I am
    signed on for “whatever comes next”!!! So when I get frustrated with the slow pace or complete absence of our Jason and Samantha I will hold on to
    I am signed on for WHATEVER COMES NEXT!!!! It was not to long ago they were not together and now they are BETTER than ever !
    How are you enjoying your renovations!!!

    June 5, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    • You are very welcome Hazel! I’m glad I was able to help you out with the marriage talk, and trust me, it took a while before I could see it that way too. 😉
      And you’re right, when we are tempted to complain, we have to remember that we have our couple back…and they are BETTER than ever! I LOVE that attitude!
      As for my renovations… the bathroom is my heaven on earth! I absolutely love it every time I walk into it!
      Now we’re just taking care of the “aftershocks” – the peeling ceilings downstairs from when the pipes burst, the scratched paint on my stairwell from them carrying up the tub, replacing the floors that were damaged…you know all the joys of a renovation. 😉
      Just like you, when I am tempted to complain, I recall that last month I didn’t have a big, comfy, jacuzzi tub to sit in and soothe my achey back…and the temptation is gone!
      Thanks for thinking of me, and for always supporting me! You guys rock!
      Love……………………….

      June 6, 2010 at 5:32 pm

Leave a Reply

