Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

SHOWDOWN AT SUNDOWN

It must have been “Westerns Week” on Port Charles’ favorite TV station, as our fictional friends all seemed compelled to be part of a showdown. There was no messing around either…had Port Charles been a dusty, saloon-lined metropolis out west, noon would have been a busy time o’ day! 

I’m trying to remember the last time I heard the word “pleather”, but can’t. However, no matter which millennium it was…I know whenever I heard it, it didn’t make me laugh as much as when I heard Johnny say, “This jacket ain’t pleather, man! You owe me 500 bucks!”  Oh, I love Michele Val Jean days on GH! Johnny is as dense as he is cute! He reminds me of sooooo many of the hotties I knew back when I was a co-dependent! Hot-headed, reckless, completely unwilling to listen to anyone speaking the foreign language of commonsense, John is determined to self-destruct! And Jason…really, seeing Jason shoot a paintball gun at John made me realize that there are so many games I would be willing to play with Jason…but russian roulette isn’t one of them! Jason, in his surprisingly understanding allowance for John’s loss, keeps warning John to stop pushing, but to no avail. John continues to bait him. In case you haven’t figured it out, I really enjoy (fictional) mobsters. When I was a teen, I watched every Godfather movie, obsessed over Marlon Brando’s voice, and weird but true: I once agreed to go  on a date with a guy because his name was Vito! (Please – I know) As an adult I watched The Sopranos as a proud Jersey Girl until Tony stuffed that last onion ring in his mouth. I think it’s because I’ve always hated bullies, and I like the fantasy of calling up some hitman to “whack” whoever’s bullying me. That being said, I know this next statement says that I must be suppressing some deep, dark, childhood issues, but I’m going to say it anyway: Jason making threats is HOT! (And Sweet Jesus, he is so much hotter than ANY of the Corleones or Sopranos ever were!) I really don’t want John to get whacked, but I don’t mind him pissing Jason off. Some showdowns are sexy!

Lucky and Ethan were in the middle of a showdown when Father Knows Anything But Best comes strolling in wanting to know what’s going on. Lucky explains he’s about to have his new bro deported for lack of a visa, and Ethan totally expects Luke to stop Lucky. Luke’s answer: “Take him in, I’ll bring him a toothbrush.” Luke thinks Ethan should go chill down under until John’s mob scrimmage has run its course. (I so agreed when he suggested Ethan get a tan!) Both Luke and Lucky try to convince Ethan this isn’t a bet he wants to place, they finally back off and let Ethan decide for himself, with a warning that Jason will only look the other way for so long. Some showdowns are really life-saving measures.

Nikolas and Liz are in the middle of a showdown over money, sex, and paternity tests. Am I the only one who sees a pattern here with Liz? Let me begin by telling you the points on which Liz and I agree, as it is such a rarity, that it deserves mentioning. 1) I agreed when Liz asked Nik, “Why are you bringing Jason into this?” Please, Nik, leave Jason as far away from this mess as possible. This relationship is already crowded. 2) Liz said she didn’t just break Lucky’s heart, she: took a blowtorch to his heart, compromised his sobriety, and AMEN: I can’t believe he can even stand to look at her either! Now, as for the rest that came out of her mouth…WTH? Liz to Nik: “This is the problem with you and me, I say something and you don’t hear it!” Um, No, Liz the problem is he clearly heard you say, “faster”, “harder”, “right there”, and even “I love you”. Now you want to treat him as though you tripped and fell on him and the whole thing was an accident. And really…can someone tell me how many fathers she is going to banish from her kids’ lives? STOP IT ALREADY! Oh man, and let this be a lesson to you, friends: Be careful what you wish for. How long was I asking about Lainey, begging for someone to call her, wishing she’d show up for some much-needed therapy for Liz? Today, I realized what a mistake that was! Really? Sit both lovers/brothers down with the woman they shared like a sweatshirt and ask Liz what she got from Nik that she didn’t get from Lucky? Is she trying to get Lucky a VIP room at Shady Brook? Fortunately, Lucky is so completely and cluelessly a co-dependent, that he steps in and gives Liz an out by blaming himself for loving her and believing the best of her before she can answer Lainey’s question! Oh, Lucky. Stop making excuses for her! PLEASE! Some showdowns are just tragic!

Spinelli has been living in the shadows of the dark and dangerous hotties in Port Charles for quite some time, but his insecurities can dwarf even those shadows. Spinelli had concocted some hair-brained scheme to make Maxie believe he is on the trail of a serial killer in order to proves to his Maximista that he can be just as brave and daring as the next guy. Spinelli’s surveillance is lacking, however and Maxie finds herself confronting the Culinary Criminal herself…with a butter knife. Oh…some showdowns are just comical.

Luke and Tracy’s showdowns are an integral part of their marriage, and as a bonus…typically laugh out loud funny! Monday’s showdown was no exception! Tracy’s solution to Ethan’s visa dilemma was to divorce Luke and marry Ethan…STAT! The exchanges between those three was priceless! Luke saying, “You will marry Ethan over my cold, dead body!” and having both Tracy and Ethan say “Okay” in unison..oh how I laughed! By the time Ethan called Tracy “Spanky” I had tears in my eyes! Luke tried every angle to keep it from happening…calling it incest, threatening to “entertain” in his bachelor pad, demanding a hefty allowance, he pulled out the big guns. But in the end, what worked was telling Tracy how in love he is with her, and how their relationship works for him better han anything he’s ever had. Some showdowns are just exceptionally well-written!

The showdown between Sonny and his two sons was heated! Sonny walks in just as Michael is prepared to confess his role in Claudia’s death. In comes Sonny and tells Dante to come at him from any angle, but not to use Michael. Dante tells Michael he knows where to find him if he ever needs to talk to him, and Sonny nearly blows a blood vessel ordering Michael out of the room. Dante knows Michael is hiding something and assumes he saw the murder. Sonny shares his version of the truth. Sonny knows that it’s only a mater of time before Michael spills his guts, so he goes to Jason and tells hm that he and Sam have to take Michael out of the country to keep him quiet. Jason has a showdown with Michael and tries to convince him, while Sonny has a nice dinner with Carly in order to do the same…however even that quickly becomes a showdown! Some showdowns are only the beginning.

Well peeps, I am packed (with high hopes, big expectations and tons of excitement) and so ready for our trip to “Fantasy Island” with Jason and Sam! Finally, we may get some much needed romance! I am thrilled! What about you?

😉

16 responses

  1. Angelique….I have to say that your insight into each character and s/l on gh is only outdone by your WIT. I truly laughed out loud at so much of what you wrote today. You need to sit down and write a book. You are AWESOME! I laughed so hard about the Liz stuff. The pleather stuff was hilarious! I absolutely look forward to your blog as much as I do watching gh. I know that the Jasam stuff coming up is going to be well worth the wait. They can do no wrong in my book…even when they’re WAY wrong. I love them….and can’t wait for their relationship to start having some heartfelt emotion and drama, not to mention ROMANCE. THAT’S what they need….THAT’S what their fans need…THAT’S what GH needs…IMMEDIATELY!

    Thanks again for “cracking me up”! Your blog is so much fun! I love it!!!!

    March 9, 2010 at 10:33 am

    • Aww, Darlene! Thanks! You made my day! It’s great to know you enjoy it as much as I enjoy writing it! xoxox

      March 9, 2010 at 11:33 am

  2. couchpotato7

    I desperately need some Jasam time. I wish he would have asked Sam to go with him to the Island “onscreen” instead of just expecting her to drop her own life and just go “TO PROTECT MICHAEL”. i’m almost sick of that 18 year excuse now. He treated Robin like crap for Michael, he backed up Carly over AJ for Michael, he gave up Michael to Sonny and CArly for Michael. He can’t be a father to Jake because of how things turned out FOR MICHAEL. A long time ago Jason told Sam SHE COMES FIRST….so when does this promise BEGIN.. I wish Sam’s daughter were still alive played by Kali {ex-kristina} or that Bridget would return Hope to Sam since her Gmther died and she is still hopeless at mothering. Hope would be 6 and maybe give Sam someone to focus on and love without taking a backseat to the “family” of Jason.
    I hope Michello or Mary Sue write this Jasam week they seem to get who they are.

    Hope you are better and less snow/house bound. 🙂

    March 9, 2010 at 10:34 am

    • ITA on everything you said! And I loved Kali too! 😉

      March 9, 2010 at 11:32 am

  3. missingJASAMalways

    You can’t imagine how ready I am for some much needed JaSam loving!! My only wish is that Jason was whisking Sam off to the island for some fun in the sune, sans Michael, before the trial gets underway! Knowing that she is going to get on the stand and commit perjury all for the sake of Michael! Puh-Lease! GMAB! It’s time that his kid get a dose of reality! As Sam told Jason just a few months ago, Michael has only suffered the consequences of other peoples actions, never his own. I think it’s about time for it! I am ready for this truth to come out! I don’t want Dante to throw himself on the altar of Sonny either, but, I think it would be great for him to figure it all out, and then tell how he went to the cabin after it had burned down. Explain how it is plausible that Sonny’s hair could have gotten there after the fire, maybe being transferred from his own clothes. Maybe the bloody shirt was burned after Claudia cut herself and that’s how her blood got on Sonny’s shirt? I hope that they can write this week and give us some good romance, along with moving this s/l to it’s eventual end. There is a nice hole out in the pine barrens they can throw it in and bury it for good!

    March 9, 2010 at 10:51 am

    • LOL on the pine barrens, Becky! 😉
      I agree with everything you said…Bring on the romance!

      March 9, 2010 at 11:31 am

  4. I think the hair found in the cabin was Dante’s with same DNA as Sonny’s….what do you think? Dante went to the burned down cabin to check it out for Sonny….(and his own reasons)…so, I’m thinking that it’s his hair they found.

    March 9, 2010 at 12:52 pm

  5. Deborah

    You forgot part of the sentence about Liz and Nic. You should have said “Now you want to treat him as if you tripped and fell on him over, and over, and over, and over…..and the whole thing was an accident.”

    March 9, 2010 at 1:04 pm

  6. Sue

    Hey BF~ Love the Blog!! You are awesome!! Loving you! Just have one thing to say~~ I think that I mihgt have to start wathcing GH again…last time I glanced at it Liz was bedding yet another man~~ What a whore

    March 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm

  7. JasamFan

    Once again BRAVO.. Agree with everything you had to say about yesterdays show. When I wake up the first thing I do is turn on the computer and read your blog. Can’t tell you enough how much I love reading your insight on the charcters on GH.

    Oh Luke and Tracey.. you had me laughing from the moment you walked into the Haunted Star. I never thought I could see Luke with anyone but Laura… But oh how I have fallen in love with the two of them.. they were made for each other!

    Now Jason and Sam.. From the spoilers I have seen, this week holds so much promise.. It is time for them to have a little romance.. ok a lot of romance.. I miss seeing them light up my screen, their s/l needs to be brought to the front burner.. I have to say, thanks for youtube.. because when I miss them I have you to turn too.. But I am so ready to see them get what they deserve… Love, action romance, danger, drama all the things that made me fall in love with them and made them fall in love with each other all those years ago.

    Peace and Love

    March 9, 2010 at 1:37 pm

  8. sarah

    Angelique, thank heavens for your website..otherwise, we would all be
    totally starved for Sam & Jason moments………a month now, since Valentine’s day………..Your writings are so insightful, and you always pick up on the nuances of the scene. What a joy to read someone who is articulate, and your video contributors are marvelous……what talent.
    Thank you, and may many blessings come your way.

    March 9, 2010 at 6:26 pm

  9. tchrof6th

    You are truly excellent and yes, I agree, when ValJean is on the roster…my heart skips a beat! She is truly one if not the best writer for these characters…she adds in her own brand of wit and humor…just like you do….

    Now, I am hoping Michele is writing the island scenes because just as much as she is comical…she is pure romantical….can’t wait…

    Was thinking of wearing white in honor of our couple tomorrow…who’s with me!

    I think I see “Da plane, da plane”…. 🙂

    March 9, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    • HEY EVERYONE! I’m with JACKIE! WEAR WHITE FOR JASAM LOVIN’ DAY ON FANTASY ISLAND!
      You’re too cute, Jackie! Great idea! 😉

      I’m with you…wearing white tomorrow!
      xoxox

      March 9, 2010 at 9:27 pm

  10. Traveler

    OMG – I havent laughed this much in awhile!! Loved, Loved reading your blog again today.. Even had to read some of it out loud to my husband!! Your blog continues to be one of the highlights of my day… Thanks!!

    Looking forward to some JaSam “Fantasy Island” this week!! Cant come soon enough if you ask me…..

    March 9, 2010 at 11:42 pm

  11. unconditionallyinluvwithjason

    lol i could watch the godfather movies over and over again and i watch the sopranos reruns on A&E everyday but i got one better for you…….i married into an italian family and was ecstatic when i found out one of my hubbys sides of his family had “connections” maybe i need therapy?? lmao

    and your not alone…….when jason goes all enforcer i fall in love a little more 🙂

    March 11, 2010 at 6:13 pm

  12. Pingback: hawaii credit repair

Leave a Reply

