Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

BABY DADDIES R US…

TGIF, GHers!

Thursday’s episode of General Hospital was teaming with testosterone and paternal instincts. How entertaining!

Sonny is the Daddy of all twisted paternity dilemmas, but this latest daddy dilemma really takes the cake. He’s got a son who hates him, a son who idolizes him, a daughter who is horrified by him, and then he’s got Morgan…who accepts him in spite of what he now knows him to be. That’s got to be the the light at then end of Sonny’s long, dark tunnel. Morgan went to big brother and best friend Dante’s room and tried to get Dante to understand their dad a bit better. As added incentive he summoned Uncle Jason to Dante’s room to try to get Jason to approve Morgan’s solution: Dante should just stop being a cop and go back to work for Sonny and Jason, just for real this time. And they only have 47 days to get it resolved before the Yankees’ Opening Day. Poor Morgan, if it only it were that simple. When Jason and Dante can’t give Morgan what he wants, Morgan goes right to his dad. Those were really nicely written scenes between father and son, and Sonny tries to make Morgan understand that he and Dante will have to work this out on their own. Perhaps he needs to have that conversation with Carly, who approaches Dante about lying to protect Michael without sacrificing Sonny. At that very moment, Sonny moves on to getting Michael taken care of by preparing with Diane to plead guilty to killing Claudia, but Jason seems to have a little something to say about that. Baby Daddy Duty is a full-time job for Sonny.

It’s more like overtime for Lucky, who is father to everyone else’s kid. Thankfully, Luke asked Lucky if he wasn’t growing a little tired of that. Lucky swears he’s done with Liz; that she has betrayed him one too many times. He says he just wants to help her for Cameron’s and Jake’s sakes. But Luke posed a very good question: What if this baby is Nik’s? Lucky soon gets the answer to that as his brother informs him that he’s already moving to protect his legal rights to the baby. “I’m not Jason,” Nik says. And he’s right. Jason did the most unselfish thing possible in order to give his son a chance at a good life. Nik fought tooth and nail for his son Spencer, only to banish him to one of the dark rooms in that dark castle. With Baby Daddies like that…

Remember that movie series back in the 80’s? Three Men and A Baby? That was cute. Not so cute are three men and three babies, as Helena so viciously pointed out to Liz, right before she warned her she was prime for welfare. Wow. Liz’s dream where all three Baby Daddies R Us (as Lucky is the only father Cam has known) come to pity her sorry state and talk about how they won’t subject the children to their mother’s presence was hard for her as a mother, but it’s a little tough to come up with some sympathy when Liz still doesn’t “own up to it”. Helena was right on with that statement too! On a positive note for Liz, it was nice for Patrick to come by, being that Liz was there for him when Robin was going through her PPD issues, but I thought it was a little unfair of Patrick to say that if Robin cheated on him with his brother, he would try to see what his part in it was. Lucky had no part in Liz’s affair with Nikolas. Lucky has done nothing but support Liz and love her since they got back together, and he’s been Baby Daddy to both of her illegitimate children! Give him some credit!

There was a time that Jason was a father to all, but Baby Daddy to none. Now he’s a Baby Daddy without being a father to his own. Jason seems to have taken a glimpse into his future with Jake. Seeing Dante react to who his father is and what he does for a living reminded Jason of the possibility of a very similar fate. Jason shared his fears with Sam, and again, I think that we need to see the progress in that. There was a time that Jason kept those thoughts to himself, and that led to him sharing something with Liz: their lie. That led to him and Sam sharing less and less, until the only thing they shared were secrets and lies. I don’t see Jason’s comments as a threat to his relationship with Sam at all. The only threat would be not learning from their past mistakes.

We’ll see what Friday brings to these Baby Daddies…but I have a feeling it ain’t pretty.

7 responses

  1. mariam

    I don’t know if there will ever be a time when Jason mentions jake, and I don’t cringe. Even knowing very well that he is not a threat to their relationship. I guess a jasam baby has been planned for so long, and then the bombshell that was jake happened. But I am glad jasam are sharing things. And I think Sam would love jake, just as jase loved lila.

    February 19, 2010 at 1:05 pm

  2. Trini

    I don’t get why people are trying to not hold Liz responsible for her actions and why they are upset that Lucky is very angry with her. She cheated, again, on her committed partner. She had an affair, again with someone else man. She lied, and lied, and lied, again. I really hope Shady Brook has good therapy, because she need some intensive work. I agree with you Angelique, there is a lot of DENIAL going on in Port Charles.

    I loved seeing Jasam talk about Jake and how the impact of Jason’s decision to stay out of his life could affect his son. Loved the conversation with Sonny and Morgan. It was well written and well acted out. I am not loving Sonny’s focus on Dante. The reason you Sonny like and respect him so well is because YOU HAD NO ROLE IN RAISISNG HIM. Sonny needs to write on board 100 xs: I shot my son because I choose to shoot a cop.

    February 19, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  3. Traveler

    Thanks for another WONDERFUL Blog!!

    February 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

  4. Ya know….I try, I mean I REALLY try to feel something..anything for Elizabeth. She musters up absolutely no sympathy in me. Having said that, let it be known that I am really a soft hearted person for the most part. I can cry when I say goodbye to the woman sitting next to me in the doctor’s office after waiting for 2 hrs. together to see the doctor. Yes…I know, I should change doctors…but that’s another story. Elizabeth? She just gets my anger moving. I have seen her smirk at my girl Sam so many times and look down her nose at her so often, that I have a knee jerk reaction to her on my tv screen. She’s got problems. I DON’T CARE! There…I said it! Helena is my hero, and I really think she’s a crazy meanie….but, she says EVERYTHING I have wanted to say to Elizabeth for a long time. I love Lucky, but the guy needs to wipe away those tears, put the bottle down….and go work out. He needs to be STRONG to break off this “need’ to be Elizabeth’s hero.

    Now there’s Sonny. He’s a mess isn’t he? What the heck can a man do when he’s been abused as a child and vows to follow in the footsteps of the man who killed his abuser? Crazy stuff. I have to say, this Dante/Sonny relationship is somewhat interesting to me. Olivia in the past few days (IMHO) has proven to be a good mommy. She wanted what was best for her baby boy. Of course, she realiazes she screwed up and should have told him the second he came to PC….”Hey..baby boy…the guy you came to town to bring down is your daddy”> Dumb! Really dumb. She regrets it…and her son will forgive her! She meant well!

    Now…there’s Jason…poor Jaseypoo. I love the guy. Yes, I know he’s a killer by profession, but a pussycat underneath. He did what a good father should do, and that is choose a safe life for his child…especially when the mother POUNDED IT INTO HIS HEAD FROM THE SECOND HE WAS BORN. What has me concerned is that I REALLY, REALLY want Jasam to have a child together. A love child! Does that mean that this baby can’t know Jason is the father? Does this mean Jasam will have to break up? If that happens…I will need help. I will come to this site for help! Be prepared. Jasam’s last breakup just about did me in! I’m no sure I can take another one.

    Thanks for listening…and THANKS Angelique for your usual awesome blog. I look forward to it daily. Hope you’re feeling better each day. Take care…

    February 19, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  5. tchrof6th

    I am amazed when I see what just ahppened today….Liz as the victim…is she EVER going to truly pay for her actions…probably not…

    For months she told jason he couldn’t play a role is Jake’s life…she made the descision that Olivia did…basically… and yet we are seeing how quick these two women are not made to own up to the mistakes they made!

    See that is what makes Carly and Sam so different….they see these men as men…not monsters…oh yes, I get upset at the lack of concern for human life they display sometimes but they are deep down inside….family men…with a less thank great job….no different from a pilot or doctor….just what they DO is ruthless and illegal….

    Deep down inside we all know what it will take to give us what Jasam should get….a family…a real stability in Jason and Sam life…Sam is a PI and therefor in danger as well…

    We need the ultimate thing to happen…this baby will be Niks…paternity over Jake will be realized and he will be Lucky’s and Jasam will be free to marry and hav their own children without the shadow of a child Jason can’t realize hanging over his head…
    it’s time…and it’s coming….

    February 20, 2010 at 2:28 pm

  6. missingJASAMalways

    I would love it if they changed Jake’s paternity! TPTB need to correct their mistake ASAP!! I agree this is the best way to further our agenda and have a JaSam baby! On a side note, I just discovered that youtube disabled the audio on my Hold On video! stupid copywrights! I have now posted it on bliptv. Here is the link mhttp://missingjasamalways.blip.tv/file/3246426/

    February 21, 2010 at 5:11 am

  7. Surdam

    YES! Great piece, keep up the terrific work. This is the type of information that should gain recognition for it’s craft. More writers should learn from you. This is right on the money.

    March 7, 2010 at 5:59 am

Leave a Reply

