Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

REVELATIONS…

I love the men and women of Port Charles, I really do, but sometimes I wish I lived in Port Charles long enough to slap them upside the head. Occasionally though, fate steps in and does it for me…I call those…”moments of REVELATION.”

Several of my favorite characters on GH yesterday had REVELATIONS of life-changing proportions, and I was left feeling hopeful for the future of our favorite fictional friends.

Jason rambling on the phone to his Fair Samantha was a sight and sound to behold. He was so engrossed in telling her how much he missed her that he inadvertently let slip that he’d sent her flowers. Oh, GHers, there’s nothing I love more than a love-whooped Jason Morgan. It was a revelation to us all as we watched Jason not just talking to voicemail, but sounding a little bit like Sam, rambling on and on. I was smiling like a fool the entire time. Not smiling, however, was the Grasshopper. An arm-crossed Spinelli was less than happy with Jason’s handling of the Goddess’ request to have Jason visit her, and he let Jason know that he’d “made a grave error in judgement!” GO SPINELLI! The Grasshopper had a revelation when he realized that Jason’s wobble in decision-making can only be “straightened out” by the loving only Sam can give. I wholeheartedly agree!

Spinelli’s convincing arguments were temporarily interrupted by the guilt-ridden Maximista, who is determined to have Spinelli absolve her guilt by committing a sin of his own. As confused and taken aback as Jason seemed by Maxie’s idea, I think we also recognized as the revelation hit him that “two wrongs don’t make a right”, as in Ric and Liz. The drama playing out before him in the form of Maxie and Spinelli’s own opera was a wake-up call, and the revelation caused him to run, not walk towards Sam! Was I the only one applauding? I think not!

Maxie and Spinelli were left to try to decide on what course of action they should take, when lo and behold, a Crimson connection came through for Maxie with Anne Hathaway’s digits. Maxie needs a revelation of her own, don’t you think?

A limo ride away in Manhattan, Maxie’s best friend, Lulu has a couple of revelations all at once. First, she realized that operas can be more than tragic…they can be beautiful and soul-stirring and inspirational! That revelation led her to realize that Dante or Dominic , or whatever she decides to call him, can be all those things, too! This led her to realize that he’s pretty adorable too, which led her to realize that the limo was being totally wasted if they didn’t get busy, which also led her to realize that in the heat of the moment, you can’t always hear the driver knocking, and that led her to realize how embarrassing it is when you get caught acting like two horny teenagers! Oh, there were revelations aplenty for Miss Lulu and The Officer, and they were all fabulous to watch!

Not so fabulous to watch was brooding Johnny. Hasn’t Johnny been through enough? His whole family is gone…and now he must deal with the revelation that Olivia’s heart is still stuck in Bensonhurst. Johnny, Olivia’s “Just Not That Into You.” Read the book, watch the movie, get a clue, but PLEASE, Johnny, please, don’t let yourself get run over by the “Sonny’s Got My Soul Train” as did Jax one too many times! I think the revelation for Johnny will come once he realizes that Olivia’s got more secrets than his mob boss, but by then it will be too late for his hot little heart. ;(

Michael’s REBEL-ations caused a blizzard of revelations yesterday! His DUI caused Detective Lucky Spencer to reflect on his own teen actions and choices, and perhaps will help him to rebuild some of the bridges he tore down between himself and his Dad. Michael seemed to have a revelation while Lucky was trying to so hard to reach him, but Michael is determined to be a hard ass, and therefore, won’t allow himself to benefit from the mistakes of others.

Thankfully, Sonny and Jax seemed to have a revelation in that they presented a united front with Michael. I was so proud of both of them…it’s on the Top 10 Parenting Rules list that you must always present a united front. Even more momentous was the revelation Sonny had all by himself when he realized he must take Michael’s car away. I heard the hallelujah chorus in the back of my head! I never thought Michael should have gotten a car to begin with, but I will allow myself some satisfaction that the revelation came to Sonny later rather than never.

Michael had a revelation that his genes are just polluted all the way around as he was reminded that AJ left Jason’s “what could have been” in the trunk of a tree after driving drunk, and Carly promptly reminded him that she blows her life out of the water at every turn. It’s quite a revelation to learn that you’ll be lucky to find ONE chromosome not totally damaged. I was thankful that Carly assured him that she loves him. Maybe it helped soften the blow.

Alexis had another revelation that her One Night of Sexis Love all those years ago has bound her to awkward party moments for life. (For those of you who follow Nancy Lee Grahn on Twitter, it’s a good thing NLG can appreciate those moments and move on) Every family has those moments where a surprise party can turn the surprise around, but that was quite a moment for the minors in Michael’s family. Luckily, Alexis had her own moment of revelation and realized that she cannot protect her daughters from EVERYTHING EVERY MINUTE. She promptly sat her perfect little angels down, and discussed the dangers of drinking and driving. She also let them know that if they were ever caught in a situation where someone else was driving under the influence, and they needed a ride home, they could call HER, and she wouldn’t ask any questions. Nice moment, Writers!

Not that we needed a revelation to know just how deranged and out of his freakin’ mind Franco is, but it was revealed that off camera, Sam had been tied up…with duct tape no less. When Franco opened that door wearing Sam’s robe, I had to chuckle. So rarely are we faced with a villain who is truly yet deliciously psychotic! Bob Guza should think  about dusting off his pen every time we get a new villain in town, for FRANCO was certainly Guza’s revelation! There is NOTHING predictable about Franco, and that’s what makes it so wonderfully watchable!

Jason got one hell of a revelation when he walked in to Sam’s anticipating some HOT (Tub) Lovin’ and realized that his indecisiveness led up to Franco finding Sam first, and in the hot tub, no less. Did anyone else notice the look on Jason’s face when he saw the towel? (I know my good pal, Ro did! I think we swooned at the exact same moment!) Is there any emotion Steve Burton can’t project with those eyes? OMG!

REVELATIONS are life’s way of bringing us from the haze of uncertainty to the realities of life. Sometimes revelations come just in time, sometimes early, and sometimes just a moment too late. I’ve learned that only our openness to accepting them determines which.

In the end, we can be sure of one thing: REVELATIONS always lead to something new. I can hardly wait…

7 responses

  1. Nice post

    December 30, 2009 at 3:55 pm

  2. Alisha

    I absolutely love how you sum up the show. I could not have dreamed of saying it better. I too was just speechless at the REVELATIONS that passed across Jason’s face and was revealed to us. I havent seen Jason this much in touch with his feelings and emotion in… well since he was last with Sam. She brings this side of him out. Only she is able to tap into the well of his feeling like no one else has ever been able to do, and its due to the fact that she truly gets him, and has never wanted to change him.

    December 30, 2009 at 4:28 pm

  3. I enjoyed your re-cap so much. Every word and every reaction you wrote/had about Jason’s scenes yesterday…..reflected everything I felt. I jumped for joy when I saw him RUN out of the PH TO SAM. His Sam. There really isn’t any other couple I enjoy as much as Jasam. I cling to every word and gesture between them. Lately, there’s been very little…but, yesterday, even with Sam not on…the connection was there. Thank you for your comments. I really enjoyed them and echo your feelings to a T.

    December 30, 2009 at 5:03 pm

  4. Rosie

    Hi Good Pal Angelique,

    I think I have an admission to make. They say that to
    admit you have a problem you need to acknowledge it. I think I am a Jason addict, and a Jasam addict. I was waiting with anticipation today just to see a glimpse of them and when at last when we see Franco I thought we would catch a glimpse of Sam…
    I was left with a bit of an empty feeling without seeing my favorite characters, and not sahring a New Years eve ceebration. This is my revelation.
    I loved seeing Max and Diane and there wonderful nicknames for each other.
    Well we are coming to the end of another year and I want to thank you so much for writing a wonderful blog about our beloved GH.
    Wishing you and your family all the best in 2010 and look forward more of your wonderful blog.

    Ro

    December 30, 2009 at 6:25 pm

  5. Janice Adler

    touche’…….very well said.

    December 30, 2009 at 10:17 pm

  6. Jasam07

    Love it!

    December 30, 2009 at 10:57 pm

  7. The revelation I felt about this episode regarding Jasam is that they don’t even have to share the screen together, and you still can feel the connection between them. I’ve never enjoyed or been hooked by a soap couple like I am with Jasam. They just have such amazing chemistry and are so right together. Not perfect characters….but so perfect for each other. Love them. Thanks again for your blog. It’s awesome.

    January 4, 2010 at 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

