Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

HISTORY

My friends, General Hospital has turned the Franco Fridays into an artform – and how appropriate, considering that HISTORICALLY, Friday is the day of the Almighty Cliffhanger. Most Fridays since November 20th, The Artist Whose Hotness Is Undeniable has made us scream at the television in frustration at the end of the last scene and wonder how we’ll ever make it to Monday to find out what would happen next.

Today was no different when it came to Franco. He has us trying to put the many, tiny, jigsawed pieces of the puzzle that is his mind together, without having the picture on the box to go by. I am just consumed by the need to figure out what it is in his history that makes Franco so Freaky. Friday’s scenes were perplexing to say the least. Where the devil is Claudia’s body? I saw he had the bracelet, but wasn’t Claudia also wearing a rock pendant around her neck? His next move is almost impossible to predict until it’s already happened. He remains ahead by two steps, it seems. It’s a little bit of a rush to actually be kept guessing, wouldn’t you say? The talk he had with Ronnie threw me for a little loop.

I have to tell you that I always had a feeling that Ronnie wasn’t the straight and narrow cop he portrays. I was “liking him” (cop talk for suspecting – lol) as a dirty cop from the get-go. But when Franco revealed that HE had a history with Ronnie, and in fact, has been protected by Ronnie, I thought, “Oooohhhh! These GH writers have done it agin!” I did not see that one coming! Did any of you? Franco is more than just freaky. He’s also a bad ass. He threatens people with that hypnotic smile, and as we saw when they rolled Ronnie’s body through the ER after a hit and run, he doesn’t waste any time! How eerie!

Now, he’s got Carly and Baby Josslyn in his crosshairs…oh the suspense!

As much as we’ve gotten spoiled by spoilers, I believe that the GH writers had the right idea about keeping this storyline under wraps. It has thrown us off-balance, and I find myself watching a little more faithfully because I am afraid to miss even one of the amazing unspoiled “surprises” we’ve gotten.

Well, folks another thing I didn’t see coming was Liz and her “I was raped” distraction tactic. Let me say this: RAPE IS A HORRIBLE, HEINOUS CRIME THAT CHANGES THE VICTIM FOREVER, AND EVERY VICTIM DESERVES COMPASSION, UNDERSTANDING AND JUSTICE.

That being said, I don’t feel Liz was having a moment of total recall of her history where she needed to talk it out and be reassured and held and soothed. Shoot me, but I really don’t. Liz hunted Lucky down to keep him from finding out that she and Nik have been doing it behind Lucky’s back. She tried everything to keep Lucky from being suspicious. First, she tried the tree shopping tactic. And I just loved Rebecca’s comment: “Christmas is gonna collapse if you don’t buy Christmas trees in all shapes and sizes immediately!” I’m gonna miss “Bitchy Becca.”  Her next tactic was to turn around and expose the very claws Rebecca was warning Lucky about when she told Rebecca to shut the hell up. That surprised Lucky…and Liz realized she’d goofed. So when Lucky’s “The Magic of the Musketeers” speech only managed to remind Rebecca of how dastardly disgusting it was for Liz and Nik to betray Lucky this way, Liz panicked. And then she resorted to playing the role that defines her history best… “WOE IS ME St. Elizabeth.”

When the words came out of her mouth, I flinched. I physically felt a little sick. Just when I thought she couldn’t sink any lower, she did. I will tell you that watching the flashbacks and seeing a young Jonathan Jackson and Rebecca Herbst dealing with the trauma of the experience made me sad. I remembered how horrible it was for Elizabeth. I was reminded how she wasn’t my favorite person back then because of her lying and conniving ways, but that rape gained my sympathy. And back then, I found myself rooting for her to get well and find happiness.

History did not repeat itself. When Liz said those words in the middle of Jake’s, I was offended. Why didn’t Liz share her pain, or I’m sorry – her version of “how the magic started” with Rebecca when they were alone at Liz’s house? Why didn’t she try to get Rebecca to understand her history of pain and healing by having a moment of humility and humanity and sharing that, OH MY! She’s not perfect after all? If you’ve been reading this blog for  awhile, you’ll know that this is the crux of my issue with Liz. In life, you can’t be a bad ass and a martyr at the same time. It’s one or the other. If you’re going to be a bad ass, you fight, and take your lumps a-la-Carly and Sam. But if you’re going to be a martyr, you don’t get to tell people to kiss your ass and shut the hell up, and you don’t sleep with your brother-in-law just because the sex is better than it’s ever been! A real martyr would deprive herself of such a frivolous delight anyway! 😉

All I’m sayin’ is that Liz has to decide. It’s one or the other.

To quote Spinelli, we have a “most alarming discovery” in Franco digging up Claudia’s body before Jason can stop him. By the time Jason realizes it, it’s way beyond his superhero abilities to control the situation. Jason was perturbed and distraught.

 However, in all of the craziness surrounding Franco, Jason asks Sam to get a Christmas Tree. Jason wants a reminder  of the good things in his life. The times that he was happiest. Spinelli believes Jason is seeking normalcy. I say it’s a little more than that. I believe he wants his history with Sam to serve as a reminder to them both of how good it could be again. And I’m all for it! 😉

Speaking of JaSam history…let’s take a look back at THIS DAY IN JASAM HISTORY. It’s just a look at how Jason and Sam have shared a connection that transcends time and circumstance! JaSam Is Love…

JaSam ~ December 19, 2005  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mj_iax-11FY Credit goes to: luckiBelle

JaSam ~ December 19, 2006  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6k1dvxeC_l0 Credit goes to: jasam4everbaby

JaSam ~ December 19, 2008  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udhb7AQhFBs Credit goes to: eedernator

As I type this, the snow is really coming down. I hope that wherever you are, you’re warm and safe and with those you love.

See you tomorrow for a special Christmas Edition Sunday Drive Down Memory Lane! 😉

4 responses

  1. tchrof6th

    Well, again I say WOW….and I see that I agree again…thanks for that look back at the 12/19s of the past. One thing that has always bugged me is how Liz can walk away and still smell like a rose….but if a skunk…is a skunk…no amount of perfume will mask her sent…it will be unleashed and I will have a front row seat, and for that I will be truly grateful!

    Ummm, where are you hun, I am in VA and we have about 20” already! I am amazed at all of this….just amazed! 🙂

    December 19, 2009 at 7:18 pm

  2. rosieshadow

    Hi Angelique

    You described how I felt about the Liz scence prefectectly. I wanted to just slap Liz. Rape is a terrible event but to use the story to save her ass..

    I am so looking forward to Monday and finding out Franco’s next steps and I am so looking forward at how this will end as James Franco time will soon end on GH.

    I know you are having a snowy day in Jersey. Hope you are stating warm.
    Looking forward to Sunday’s Memory Lane.

    Thankyou for your wonderful writing and your insight. I enjoy and look forward to reading your blog everyday.

    Ro

    December 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

  3. Mariam

    I completely agree with everything you said about. Nobody ever sees her mistakes, and she herself neevr acknowledges them which makes it really hard to appreciate the character.

    I love franco, and jasam is always a pleasure to watch. Great blog.

    December 19, 2009 at 11:02 pm

  4. missingJASAMalways

    holy cow! I think you detest Liz about as much as I do right now! i have always been a Lucky FF LnL2 fan 2nd. That said, can’t wait for Lucky to find out she’s been sleazing it up with his brother behind his back while she swears to his face that she loves him and wants to build a life with him and the boys. I want Jason to have Diane represent Lucky in getting primary custody of BOTH of the boys and for Lucky to drop kick Liz’ bony butt off the pier towards Wyndemere. Let Nik have her. They deserve each other

    December 20, 2009 at 12:13 am

Leave a Reply

