Focusing On The Things That Keep Us Watching

Guilt and The Guilty

My 7th Grade English private school teacher, whom I tortured with my daily journal entries – which she used to say “read like a soap opera” (Hmmm…Is it really such a surprise that I’m writing this blog?), once wrote in my journal:  “Guilt is regret for what we’ve done. Regret is guilt for what we didn’t do.” (I bet you’re really intrigued about what I was writing in 7th grade that would inspire her to such depth, but Sister, if you’re reading this, you know life back then really was like a soap opera.) If only Mrs. Chapman knew that I’ve never forgotten her tidbit of wisdom.

In fact, that quote ran through my head as I watched Thursday’s General Hospital, because it seems that each of our Port Charles residents is dealing with one of the many faces of guilt and regret.

Liz feels so guilty about sleeping with The Brothers that she’s a threat to patients’ safety and wellbeing, and now she obviously has a death wish. I say that because that ‘s the only reason I could think of for Liz to backtalk Epiphany and then, be nasty to her on top of it. Epiphany’s no joke! But, alas, in swooped Big Brother, Steve, who just happens to be the Chief of Staff, to his little sister’s rescue.

Every time those words come out of his mouth, Dr. Webber loses a couple of points with me. You know, the reason that Liz is a self-righteous, holier than thou enigma is because no one calls her out on her crap! Well, let me correct myself…NO ONE OF THE MALE POPULATION. Not Lucky, not Nik, not Jason, and now, not even her brother, who should care more than anyone that his “little sister” is a hot mess! Steve actually confronts Nik about their affair in his very zen way, and when Nik says he can’t just walk away, Steve asks, “When was the last time you heard Elizabeth laugh?”

Ummm…..give me a sec………

Okay…………WWWWHHHHAAAAAAAAAATTTTT?

Dr. Webber! Your “little sister” is cheating on her fiance, you know the one who forgave her after her ongoing affair with Jason, after she lied to him for over a year about the paternity of the son he thought was his. The same guy who has loved and taken care of both her bastard boys as if they were his own. And you’re worried about the last time she laughed?

Tickle her ass and get over it, Steve! Your “little sister” is a lying, cheating, conniving, manipulating and selfish woman who has very little, if any, concern for Lucky or even Nik, for that matter. I’d slap her myself if I saw her smiling, much less LAUGHING! Uuuuggggggghhhhhh!

Still drowning in guilt and regret is Maxie. She wants to find a way to make things right with Spinelli, and in her twisted little mind she believes that if she can convince him to transgress in the same way she did, her mission will be accomplished. Sam sagely pointed out to the both of them that infidelity can’t be equalized, and no one knows that better than Sam. I loved the moment when Sam “went there” and talked about her own personal failures, because it once again reminded us how far she and Jason have come. I believe Spinelli will be able to help Maxie deal with her regrets, and I even believe they’ll be okay…but I am a bit of a romantic, so that is NOT a spoiler. 🙂

Struggling with both guilt and regret is Jason. Now that he knows that Franco knows about Michael killing Claudia, he is back to feeling the weight of the world on his shoulders. Back to wondering about every choice he’s ever made for Michael. Poor Jason…he just can’t catch a break!  He goes to Sonny’s and tried to get some support and Sonny basically questioned his every move so far, and acted as though it was all Jason’s fault. Jason walked out and said, “I’ll take care of it”, and Sonny didn’t even offer any help! What he did do was call Dominic to check up on Jason…wow! It’s no wonder Sam has become his go-to person. Sam is the only one that reassures Jason when he second-guesses himself, and reassure him she should, as Jason is the only one who gets things done!

Even Rebecca’s Revenge took a backseat to  a bit of a guilty conscience, I think. When it came down to it, I think Rebecca realized just what family really means to Lucky, and she struggled with blowing it out of the water for him. So it appears that the “guilty” will continue to go unpunished for a while longer.

The guilt and regrets of our favorite Port Charles characters provide us with some fabulous distractions from our daily troubles, and sometimes, the lessons we learn onscreen are the catalyst which keep us from actions that might leave us with regret and guilt of our own.

And that, dear friends, is just a little part of The Beauty of GH!

3 responses

  1. samfan91

    Love, Love your point of view. Thanks, for not getting sucked up in Liz story. What happened to her was horrible but that was years ago and has nothing to do with today’s story line. Unless it causes her to try and go after men who belong to other women.

    December 19, 2009 at 9:54 am

  2. missingJASAMalways

    WOW! You always manage to say exactly what I am thinking! I completely agree with you on the Liz front. I really can’t wait to see this blow up in her face. It will be great for people to finally see she is exacty what Carly described her as when she found out she was pregnant! A manipulative little schemer! I just hope Lucky goes on to find a really great, beautiful, sexy woman who makes Liz look like the mouse she is!

    December 19, 2009 at 11:12 am

  3. tchrof6th

    Yes, I totally agree with your Liz rant…..I don’t understand why she cannot find guilt in her heart, and nothing proved it more as when her bro took up for her…Now, I have brothers and they love me quite a bit but they would never coddle me like that…I would have to own up to my ish!

    Maybe that is Liz’s problem, now I understand about her horrific rape and I would NEVER not take that into account but when she acts all smug and creates more more drama for herself…ie. still going to Windamere….then I am sorry but I have a big “slap”in the face for her! If ya play with fire your going to get burned and it will happen eventually!
    I thank you for your blog….because you put so many things into words I could not express myself…

    Thanks to God for your wonderful 7th grade English teacher….where ever she may be! 🙂

    December 19, 2009 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

